San Diego apartment rental - Caribbean view from your own private terrace!
Caribbean view from your own private terrace!
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps6
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

San Diego Apartment Rental Photos and Description
2 Bedrooms, 2 full bathrooms and 1 half Bathroom + maids´bedroom Sleeps 6

This is a one of a kind property! Located in the ancient city center of World's Heritage colonial Cartagena de Indias, this luxurious Pent House boasts 360 degrees magnificent views over the Caribbean and the most important City monuments, Castillo de San Felipe, Cathedral the University old Tower, etc, etc. The ocean is so near that you can hear the waves leaping the beach.

While still an apartment, the only one located on the top floor of the building, the property really feels like a single family house, as it is surrounded by huge terraces of 900 sq. m ( 10,000 sq. feet ) and an additional roof-deck of 260 sq. m. ( 2800 sq. feet ). On this roof deck there is a built-in private infinity pool from where you can enjoy the most fabulous Caribbean sunsets.

The apartment has massive built-in gardens throughout, where flowers blossom literally every day.

The PH is fully furnished, with internet connection, DVD, CD, TV, Wash and Dryer, fully equipped kitchen, linen, etc, etc.

Other amenities include a castle-view outdoor Jacuzzi, imbedded on teak deck, and three gazebos plus outdoor cushioned platforms and beds.

Finally the PH includes two maids, one being a superb cook!

More Details
Hide Details

42 Reviews of Property 296944 San Diego, Colombia

Luxury Penthouse Facing the Caribbean in Cartagena De Indias
average rating of 4.8809524 based on 42 reviews
business
Luxury Penthouse Facing the Caribbean in Cartagena De Indias
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p296944
+34 690353029
San Diego Cartagena
Philadelphia, PA USA
5

Amazing Find!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 11, 2010
  • Stayed: Jun 2010
This home is without a doubt one of the nicest places I have ever had the pleasure of visiting. The location defies description, with the Caribbean on one side and numerous historic sites in plain view from almost every direction. The massive outdoor space and smartly decorated interior, with mature plantings everywhere, and the unique position within the historic walled center of Cartagena, set this home apart from any other I have seen. The location is utterly ideal, just near the entrance to the city when arriving and returning to the airport and within easy walking distance to the main attractions in the heart of the historic district. The house managers, Adelaida and Rodolfo, could not have been sweeter and more accommodating. I've already told a dozen of my closest friends and family to put Cartagena and this unique home on their short list of places to visit!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 6/6
business
Luxury Penthouse Facing the Caribbean in Cartagena De Indias
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p296944
+34 690353029
San Diego Cartagena
Bay Area, CA
5

Don't Pass This Rental Up

Don't Pass This Rental Up
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 20, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
THE place to stay when visiting Cartagena. We were a group of two couples visting Cartagena and we felt really lucky to have found this spot to stay while we were there. Chose this place because of the reviews posted here and we were not let down. Great view of the sunset on the huge patios, perfect location for walking to everything in the Walled City, crazy amounts of space and lounging areas, and Claudia and her helpers were outstanding. Owner was great to deal with while booking. Can't say enough great things about our stay. Highly recommended!!!
Owner's Response: Many thanks for your review. Claudia and all of us really appreciate your comments which impel us to continue searching for excellence and total client satisfaction. It was great having you with us and hope you come back soon.
Very best regards,
Alberto
business
Luxury Penthouse Facing the Caribbean in Cartagena De Indias
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p296944
+34 690353029
San Diego Cartagena
5

Amazing place!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 6, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
We recently stayed at Alberto's Penthouse and we were blown away by how beautiful it was! To begin with the outside space is unbelievable, you can have your breakfast in the many outside dining rooms- your choice! There is really NOT a bad view from the terrace! The house gets the breeze in from the ocean, so you get that constantly which is awesome! We never felt hot even inside the house. The rooms both have AC, so that was perfect. Claudia and Dilson were always on the property. Claudia makes delicious food (ask for the arepa de huevo! hmmmm), she made fresh orange juice every day too! We asked her the day we got there if it was ok to have breakfast at the house every day, and we would eat out the rest of the day. She was perfectly fine with that, and told us she would cook as much as we needed her to. So one day we did ask her to make something else besides sea food... she made us chicken and steak with rice and salad, her food is delicious! Dilson will always greet you with a big smile, and he's the one that will go get the fresh food from the grocery store. The house also comes with a massage table, so we asked and got a masseuse along with a lady that did nails on site. They got there on time, and we got our nails done at the house along with body massages- what else can you ask for!? Claudia also arranged for a taxi to pick us up at the house, he took us to Barranquilla and drove us back to the house and the end of the day. This couldn't be more convenient! Alberto we are coming back! Overall we will definitely recommend this place to anybody looking to go to Cartagena, we are already planning our next trip!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 0/1
business
Luxury Penthouse Facing the Caribbean in Cartagena De Indias
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p296944
+34 690353029
San Diego Cartagena
London, ON Canada
5

Better Than Description

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 28, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
My wife and I, along with her parents needed to find a place to stay in Cartagena for a wedding. We looked at many of the lovely properties along the coast in the new buildings, but decided to try Alberto's penthouse within the historic city,

As with all properties in the walled city, things from street level may not initially impress. But what we found at the top of the three flights of stairs was the most amazing oasis in the middle of paradise.

There is simply nothing to complain about. We were doubtful of the size of the outdoor spaces (claim to be 10,000 sqft), but I am sure they are actually larger. There are areas outside that we did not even get to use and we were here for eight nights.

I did read in some reviews that the pool was over rated. Well, let me tell you, we spent many a wonderful moment enjoying this sitting pool on the edge of the highest point of the condo. We watched locals move about their business, tourists enjoying this amazing city and the most wonderful sunsets. All from this wonderful small sitting pool.

The inside space is more than ample and is so clean. Alberto has wonderful staff on hand. Once we are home, we will certainly miss Claudia's bountiful breakfasts.

So Alberto - we could not say enough to convey our pleasure with your penthouse. Thank you for you attentiveness, you concern and speedy solution to the minor AC problem. We certainly knew from the outset, we were dealing with a professional.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Dear Dan,
It was a pleasure having you and your family with us and hope to see you soon. Claudia and Marco send their best regards,
Alberto
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Luxury Penthouse Facing the Caribbean in Cartagena De Indias
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p296944
+34 690353029
San Diego Cartagena
5

Great location - Really nice apartment!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 19, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
When we were deciding where to stay in Cartagena we were deciding between the Santa Clara Sofitel and this penthouse. We were a party of 4 people, 2 couples, and thankfully we decided on Alberto's penthouse. The pictures on VRBO do a good job of showing the beauty of the apartment and how ideal it is for entertaining in the huge terrace with patio furniture and hammocks. What can't be captured in a photo is how ideal of a location it is. It is in the northern part of the old city, across the street from Las Bovedas and hence a piece of Los Muros (the old wall). We never had to take a cab ride anywhere as we were within a 20 minute walk of the famous Castillo San Felipe de Barajas / 15 minute walk to the southern end of the old city and just about 4 or 5 blocks to a big supermarket called EXITO. The surrounding area is super safe, as is Cartagena in general - really one of the friendliest / safest cities I've traveled to, with great stores, restaurants and food cart vendors all within a few steps in either direction from the apartment. The live-in maid, Claudia, was very attentive and kept our place spotless serving us coffee every morning. Alberto made it known to me prior to booking that the pool is not a swimming pool and at it's deepest is about 2 feet deep, which was good enough for us to sit and wet ourselves on those really hot days. We enjoyed this place soo much that I already booked a second stay for June of this year. Looking forward to visiting again!!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Luxury Penthouse Facing the Caribbean in Cartagena De Indias
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p296944
+34 690353029
San Diego Cartagena
5

Wonderful place to stay; highly recommended!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 15, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
Our group had six people and we all had a wonderful time. Alberto and his staff, especially Claudia, went above our expectations in every way. The photos of the apartment itself set some high expectations, which were easily met.

We stayed for four days. If we return to Cartagena (which I hope we do someday), I know I would be disappointed if we weren’t able to stay here again. I would have a hard time listing my favorite amenities of this apartment as it had so many, but here are a few:

- the open air
- the air conditioned bedrooms
- the expansive rooftop deck complete with sofas, hammocks, a soaking pool (though we didn’t make use of the hot tub)
- the view, the location just inside the old city wall, and
- especially the staff. Claudia helped us with food, getting a local sim card, and helped us arrange transportation to visit other cities.

Just so that there are no surprises, the apartment is up a few flights of stairs (3 flights, I believe?). This was not a problem for us, but it could be if you have difficulty with stairs. Also, the pool is not a lap pool, but it is perfect for cooling off in and enjoying a cocktail while the sun goes down.

After corresponding by email and telephone, we had the pleasure to meet Alberto in person as well. Thank you for making our visit to Cartagena so memorable!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Luxury Penthouse Facing the Caribbean in Cartagena De Indias
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p296944
+34 690353029
San Diego Cartagena
5

Luxury Penthouse facing the Caribbean in Cartagena

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 17, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
Beautiful city. Unique property and probably one of the better vacation rentals in Cartagena. Fantastic views. Great location within walking distance to everything. Excellent house staff that caters to your every need. By the end of the trip we felt like we left our family behind in Cartagena. WiFi and a cell phone translator app helped us overcome the language barrier. Would highly recommend this unique property rental to anyone visiting Cartagena that doesn't want to stay in a hotel.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Luxury Penthouse Facing the Caribbean in Cartagena De Indias
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p296944
+34 690353029
San Diego Cartagena
San Francisco
5

Great Place to Stay in Cartagena

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 11, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
Our group of two couples loved the accommodations, the location, and the hospitality we received. Our biggest issue was figuring out which seating area to use on the expansive outdoor terrace - did we want sun or shade? did we want a breeze or be sheltered? We decided that that was an okay problem for us to have. I would recommend this apartment to anyone visiting Cartagena.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Luxury Penthouse Facing the Caribbean in Cartagena De Indias
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p296944
+34 690353029
San Diego Cartagena
Madrid
5

Cartagena penthouse

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 3, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
El apartamento es espectacular, tiene una terraza increible con vistas al mar, dentro del casco antiguo, con un servicio excelente y muy amable.

Ha sido una experiencia inolvidable, muy recomendable para gente de todas las edades.
Owner's Response: Muchas gracias!. Fué un gustazo teneros en casa y espetaos volver a veros pronto.
Saludos,
business
Luxury Penthouse Facing the Caribbean in Cartagena De Indias
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p296944
+34 690353029
San Diego Cartagena
Canada
5

thin slice of heaven

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 21, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
My third time back at Alberto's property and it's as great as ever. The relaxation I have while there is second to none. It's just a special place : )
Owner's Response: Many thanks for kindest remarks!. You know you are almost part of the family. Please come back. Dilson and Claudia send their warmest regards and appreciation.