Honokaa house rental - Wake up to this spectacular 180 degree ocean view!
Wake up to this spectacular 180 degree ocean view!
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps6
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 3 nights
 

Honokaa House Rental Photos and Description
House, 2 Queen Bedrooms + 1 Convertible bed, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 4-6)

This private home on the lush Hamakua Coast is a beautiful blend of past and present. Located just a block from the overlook of the sacred Waipio Valley, the house allows visitors to commune with nature and history, while enjoying all the comforts of the 21st century.

We invite you to experience all the wonders of Pele’s home as you explore the Big Island, or simply relax on the lanai and enjoy the simple pleasure of quiet days in old Hawaii. Hiking, ATV tours, and horseback riding are within walking distance, and the historic town of Honoka’a is just a 10 minute drive away. A two minute walk will bring you to the overlook of the revered Waipio Valley, with its spectacular views, thundering waterfalls and black sand beach. Whales visit our islands each winter, and are visible from the deck.

This home is filled with glass art, blown by the owner. The open floor plan and cathedral ceilings invite interaction and community, while two bedrooms and two baths offer privacy for couples or families. Lots of windows and sliding doors allow you to enjoy the spectacular 180° ocean view, as well as the Waipio Valley and Maui in the distance. It is a serene place to relax, and a great base from which to explore the Big Island. Guidebooks are provided to speed you on your way.

Keywords: house, views

More Details
Hide Details

We chose the Hamakua Coast because it gets just enough rain to be lush and green and enjoys lots of sun and amazing views. We chose to be near the Waipio Valley because we love the local people and their affinity for the 'aina, or land. For us, it is important to have our Hawaiian experience be one that honors both people and nature, and we fell in love with the true aloha spirit not always found in more populated areas.

Being on the northern tip of the Big Island, we enjoy the glorious colors at both sunrise and sunset. We love the spectacular views from nearly every room in our home, and learned to appreciate watching the changing colors of the ocean as the weather changes. The stars at night are spectacular!

8 Reviews of Property 296894 in Honokaa, Hawaii

Big Views From this Hamakua Home
average rating of 4.625 based on 8 reviews
business
Big Views From this Hamakua Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p296894vbi
720-326-8636
Honokaa Hamakua Coast
5

Great vacation place!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 16, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
This was an absolutely lovely house! Wish we could have stayed longer. It was equipped with just about anything you would need for a stay and the deck views are stunning. Thank you!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you for staying with us! This house was not simply an investment - we actually lived there for several years, and we love to share it with others. We're so glad that you felt welcome and at home, and that you loved the view as much as we do! Come back in whale season - you can see them from our deck!
business
Big Views From this Hamakua Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p296894vbi
720-326-8636
Honokaa Hamakua Coast
5

Peaceful with glorious view

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 11, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
We stayed at 3 vacation rentals on our visit to Big Island and this was our favorite. The view is stunning and you can spend many serene hours looking at the view and feeling the cool breezes. You can see Maui on clear days. The house is very well equipped with everything you need. The nearest village of Honaka'a is about 8 miles and is pretty quiet, although charming. Visit the People's Theater for a variety of entertainment. Waimea, about 20 miles away has a great grocery store and many terrific restaurants. This is a good location to explore the north side of the island.
We hiked into the Wai
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: We are so happy you enjoyed your visit to the Big Island, and that you found our home to be just right! Lots of people miss out on one of the nicest parts of our island when they skip the north end! We hope you visit us again soon!
business
Big Views From this Hamakua Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p296894vbi
720-326-8636
Honokaa Hamakua Coast
5

Great View

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 30, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
The view from this house was outstanding and the house was beautiful. Had eveything you needed and was located close to the valley and yet it was easy to get to the beach. It had good restaurants close by and lots of things to do coming from Hilo airport.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks, Mike! We love our location because it's close to everything, yet "away from it all." And the neighborhood is a great mix of local folks who have lived in the area for generations, plus some of us transplants - a taste of the "real" Hawaii!
business
Big Views From this Hamakua Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p296894vbi
720-326-8636
Honokaa Hamakua Coast
5

Best location near Waipio Valley

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 20, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
Wonderful location right on top of Waipio Valley. Accommodations very homey and pleasant and just as described in the listing. The owner was very helpful in recommending things during stay. I would stay here again if I came back to this part of the Big Island.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Many thanks for your kind words - we want our guests to feel at home in our house, and we always hope they love it enough to return! You were such great guests, we'll welcome you back anytime!
business
Big Views From this Hamakua Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p296894vbi
720-326-8636
Honokaa Hamakua Coast
4

Lovely Home

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 8, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
Truly charming peaceful home in a great location right on the rim of the Waipio Valley. Great location for exploring the north coast and the Waimea area.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Trisha -
We were drawn to the serenity of the area too. Sometimes it's good to just relax on the lanai and watch the clouds and the ships pass by. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay, and hope you and your family will visit us again soon!
business
Big Views From this Hamakua Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p296894vbi
720-326-8636
Honokaa Hamakua Coast
Santa Barbara, California
4

PEACEFUL HAMAKUA HOME

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 8, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
This is a wonderful little cottage right near the Waipio Valley overlook. The paddocks below the house overlooking the ocean, complete with horses, was an ideal home to pull back from the insanity of everyday life. The small lanai across the front of the house was lovely for sitting and reading, however during the winter months there isn't any direct sun, nor as the headline suggests either a sunrise or a sunset visible from the house. The owners keep the house very clean and up to date, everything in good working order, the kitchen well equipped.
Keep in mind when choosing this house, if you want to spend considerable time at the beach, there is driving to be done, as all the popular beaches are 30+ miles away. The small town of Honokaa is quaint with a few small but good eateries and a descent market. So, if you are looking to get away from it all this is the perfect choice.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Big Views From this Hamakua Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p296894vbi
720-326-8636
Honokaa Hamakua Coast
Santa Barbara, California
4

PEACEFUL HAMAKUA HOME

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 8, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
This is a wonderful little cottage right near the Waipio Valley overlook. The paddocks below the house overlooking the ocean, complete with horses, was an ideal home to pull back from the insanity of everyday life. The small lanai across the front of the house was lovely for sitting and reading, however during the winter months there isn't any direct sun, nor as the headline suggests either a sunrise or a sunset visible from the house. The owners keep the house very clean and up to date, everything in good working order, the kitchen well equipped.
Keep in mind when choosing this house, if you want to spend considerable time at the beach, there is driving to be done, as all the popular beaches are 30+ miles away. The small town of Honokaa is quaint with a few small but good eateries and a descent market. So, if you are looking to get away from it all this is the perfect choice.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Big Views From this Hamakua Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p296894vbi
720-326-8636
Honokaa Hamakua Coast
Ft Collins, Colorado
5

Peace on the Big Island

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 4, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
If you are looking for a home away from home, this is your house! From the moment we pulled into the driveway, we were welcomed by the peace and serenity of the property, inside and out. The house has the heart of a home and is inviting, comfortable, and very charming. The view is priceless and many hours were spent on the deck staring at the big blue. The sounds of nature soothed us to sleep nightly and the sound of rain hitting the palms made it seem like we were resting in a tropical rainforest. We were able to go to Waipio Valley several times and walk the black sand beach, which was absolutely breathtaking...and minutes away. We also traveled to Hilo and Kona and since we are used to city commuting, we thought the trips were enjoyable and easy to make ( an hour either way) and the scenery was enjoyable both ways. This was a perfect location to come home to and we personally enjoyed being in an area where locals reside. Marcie was a phone call away and extremely accomodating, however she has the house so well planned that we didn't lack or need a thing! Definitely a keeper on our list and a place we shall return to as often as possible!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks, Cindy! We are so glad you liked "living local!" It's the true Hawaiian experience, and why we chose that spot!
Helpful votes: 2/2