Elkins cottage rental - View of Cottage from across the Shavers Fork River
View of Cottage from across the Shavers Fork River
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps6
Minimum Stay nights
 

Elkins Cottage Rental Photos and Description
Cottage, 1 Bedroom + Convertible bed(s), 1 Bath, (Sleeps 6)

Bordering the Shavers Fork/Cheat River and the Monongahela National Forest, our cottage is truly a private, relaxing retreat.

The cottage, approx. 700 sq. feet, boasts two living areas – a bedroom and great room that can accommodate up to six people. The completely renovated Riverside Retreat has a full kitchen with stove, refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, cookware, dinnerware, dish towels and utensils. The bathroom has a shower and the bedroom is furnished with a queen size bed.

The great room has an alcove with bunk beds and a comfortable pull out queen size sofa bed. A TV with cable connection, DVD player, several games and telephone are all provided. The dining area seats six easily and there are stools along the kitchen counter. On the 360 sq. foot deck overlooking the river, there are chairs, a table and charcoal grill. The Retreat is fully heated for winter and air conditioned for summer occupants.

Sheets, pillows, blankets, and towels (for bathroom use only) are provided. It is the responsibility of the lessee to provide all food, condiments, paper products, towels for outside use and charcoal for the grill.

The Riverside Retreat is built on the bank of the Shaver’s Fork River. The river is well known for excellent fishing or a lazy float down stream. Across the road is the Monongahela National Forest which offers great hiking, cross country skiing, hunting and mountain biking.

The local area provides plenty of paths to hike, fish to catch and trails to bike. Horseback riding, four excursion trains, antique and art/craft shops, seven movie screens and five annual events are all close at hand. Elkins boasts its own play house, Davis & Elkins College, the Augusta Heritage Program, a rail trail and many excellent restaurants.

Seneca Rocks, Blackwater Falls and Canaan Valley State Parks, Spruce and Bickle Knobs, Dolly Sods and four ski resorts (Canaan Valley, White Grass, Snowshoe Mountain & Timberline) provide days of activities.

Minimum stay is at least two nights - longer on holiday and festival weekends. Suggest calling to discuss reservations - number listed below.

Keywords: Cottage

More Details
Hide Details

After a combined total of 53 years of being college administrators, we decided to get out of the rat race and settle in a beautiful, relaxing area where there was a college and the arts were celebrated. We owned a B&B just outside of Elkins for 21 years and now produce baskets and do volunteer work for the community. We love to hike with our golden retriever, bike the rail trails, the local national forest trails, the two music theaters and train excursions. We moved to Elkins thinking we would stay a few years - that was 22 years ago!

The Owner purchased this cottage in 2004

We purchased the Riverside Retreat incase we ever leave the Elkins area. We love this area and always wanted a place to come back to. We renovated the cottage into a place that we would want to live ine for six - eight months per year if we ever relocate. With such a wide variety of activites available in the area, we knew guests would love the location.

Sitting on the deck and reading or watching the water float by is one of the best benefits of the cottage. Being able to hike, fish, bike, ski, take train rides, go to concerts, rock climb and attend so many festivals just add to the benefits of the cottages location.

4 Reviews of Property 172574 in Elkins, West Virginia

Riverside Retreat Along the Shore of the Shaver'S Fork River
average rating of 5.0 based on 4 reviews
business
Riverside Retreat Along the Shore of the Shaver'S Fork River
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p172574vb
(304) 614-1328 (West Virginia, USA)
Elkins West Virginia
Hurricane, WV
5

Wonderful riverside getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 19, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
We just spent 3 weeks at this cozy little house and had a wonderful time. The house is snug, comfortable, and the setting in unbeatable if you like peace and quiet. It sets at the edge of the National Forest which offers great hiking, etc. The river flows gently by, a few ducks land in the river and paddle around, the setting is so serene and you feel like you are alone in the world, yet a lovely town with everything you need is just minutes away. The cabin is well outfitted, and if you need something, the owners will try their best to supply it. The property owners are exceptionally nice, interesting people and can give you all sorts of ideas of what to do in the area and there is indeed much to do, especially if you love the outdoors or the arts. We just never want to go anywhere except the deck! We have stayed here before and will keep coming back. There is a very nice quilt/sewing shop in Elkins as well as a nice health food store and outdoor outfitters. We love going to Calains restaurant, which is nearby. You almost need a guide dog to find it, but it is worthwhile. Also, in Elkins there is The Kisselstop Cafe, CJ Maggies, Beanders, etc. While you are in the area don't miss Seneca Rocks, about 20 miles east.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 11/11
business
Riverside Retreat Along the Shore of the Shaver'S Fork River
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p172574vb
(304) 614-1328 (West Virginia, USA)
Elkins West Virginia
Pittsburgh, PA
5

AWESOME!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 17, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
Just returned from a fabulous time at the Riverside Retreat. The Owner's are very accomodating. The cabin is very clean....Accomodations very comfortable. We had a great time. The river is very accessible...right out side your front door.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 7/8
business
Riverside Retreat Along the Shore of the Shaver'S Fork River
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p172574vb
(304) 614-1328 (West Virginia, USA)
Elkins West Virginia
Eldersville, Pennsylvania
5

Excellent getaway spot

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 31, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
Riverside Retreat is private, clean, comfortable, and very affordably priced. The cottage sits right on Shaver's Fork of the Cheat River. Plenty of trout are just a few feet away. Other nearby attractions include Blackwater Falls, Seneca Rocks, Canaan Valley, Dolly Sods, several excursion trains, and plenty of skiing opportunities. I look forward to getting back to the Riverside Retreat!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 7/7
business
Riverside Retreat Along the Shore of the Shaver'S Fork River
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p172574vb
(304) 614-1328 (West Virginia, USA)
Elkins West Virginia
Metro Detroit, Michigan
5

Riverside Retreat Indeed

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 6, 2011
  • Stayed: May 2011
How often do you get the chance to say a rental surpassed your expectations? In this case, it certainly did. My husband and I stayed at the Riverside Retreat over Memorial Day weekend and we couldn’t have enjoyed ourselves more. The cottage was very clean and comfortable – lots of space to store your groceries, clothing and outdoor gear. The owners did a fine job updating the property as everything was in great working order. We spent hours on the shaded deck enjoying the river and wildlife and keeping cool while it was 90+ degrees in the sun! Elkins is just a short drive away where there are lots of dining and shopping options, but we opted to buy food from the local grocery and cook our meals using the gas grill on the deck. Thank you Anne & Paul - we will definitely return to the Riverside Retreat.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 9/9