Our stay at this house was less than ideal. It became clear thought out the stay that they rent out the place when they are not there. Other rentals will be clean and furnished but empty of personal effects. When we arrived the kitchen cabinets were loaded with the owner’s food so our group ended up with our food crowding the countertops for the entire week. When the contact number was called to complain we were told to “just deal with it”. The house is furnished with LOTS of personal stuff, family photos, kid drawings as well as antiques. We had little kids and had to move more than a few things that were dangerous that were just left on the floor. Think old-sharp-metal. There is no water softener so the 1st load of clothes we washed three swim suits were ruined with rust stains. No one did laundry after that. The place was dirty... a good size piece of bacon (old and hairy) was found in the kitchen, all the plumbing fixtures are heavily stained with rust, and the bedding was thread bared. The stairs to the lake were numerous, steep, and uneven - dangerous. We didn’t even try them after the first trip down, we ended up having to drive to the public beaches in the area.
Owner's Response: Dear Guest,
Yes, our beach house is our family vacation home, lovingly decorated with items that are special to us and our children. It is not however, over-furnished, dangerous or cluttered. Our children have gotten older and busier in the last few years and we haven't had much time to enjoy our summer cottage, therefore we offer it for other families to enjoy. We do keep dishes, pots, glassware in the cupboards as well as some staple goods; which our guests are free to use if they choose. We strive to have the house very clean for our guests and also provide phone numbers if there is ever an issue we can help with. We encourage all guests to read the description thoroughly and ask any questions which may arise before reserving. The home and beach access are described accurately on our Home Away listing. If issues do arise we would also like to encourage all vacation home guests to try to resolve their problems with the home-owner before posting a review.
Helpful votes: 5/6
Did you find this review helpful?