Griante apartment rental - Balcony with corner lake view.
Balcony with corner lake view.
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps5
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 5 - 7 nights
 

Griante Apartment Rental Photos and Description
Two bedrooms ,TV SAT for children,Free Wi Fi,close to fast boat service.

Beautiful and welcoming, completely restructured, elegantly furnished apartment equipped with all technology.This is a great example of Italian Charme produced by tradition and inovation and coloured from a Radiant Orchid nominated colour of 2014 by Pantone Agency.Radiant Orchid blooms with confidence and magical warmth that intrigues the eye and sparks the imagination. It is an expressive, creative and embracing purple—one that draws you in with its beguiling charm. A captivating harmony of fuchsia, purple and pink undertones, Radiant Orchid emanates great joy, love and health.

The ideal way to discover this land and its beauty.Many reviews left from travellers suggest it for its design and convenient location ; at Central lake with ferry boat connection and just 23 kms away Swiss border.

Situated in a traditional stone building, this holiday home is located near the Hotel Britannia Excelsior, the Grand Hotel Cadenabbia and just 100 metres from the Lido di Cadenabbia, the Alberghetto La Marianna restaurant , the Anglican Church and John Kerry's Villa Maresi.Really, John Forbes Kerry - United States Democratic Senator for Massachusetts and Secretary of State keeps this fabolous villa at Griante Cadenabbia on Lake Como.

20 metres from the supermarket and the La Vecchia Torre bar, Glicine House is situated on the first floor, below another equally comfortable apartment called Azalea House and comprises a spacious, luminous living room with country kitchen area and a sitting area with flat screen satellite TV with SKY channels as Chris Wallace's Fox News Sunday , Bbc World , Sky News (also for chidren:Cartoon Network ,Disney Junior ,Disney English ,Planet Kids), ACER desk top computer with free internet access and WI FI connection. The room contains a magnificent hand-painted Palladium majolica pellet stove to make guests’ winter stays cosy and romantic, and opens onto a terrace furnished with a table for lunches with a view of the lake towards Villa Melzi in Bellagio.

The interior decor features a beautifully-finished niche where reflected light is amplified by the glass, floral shapes discovered in the stone by the creative Eugenio - a motif that symbolically ties the apartment with the surrounding area and its luxuriant public parks and private gardens that are a mass of blooms from the Spring onwards - and the arch created by the skilled hands of master craftsman, Livio.

The soft line and colour of the wooden beam set into the ceiling is the work of Raffaele and the curved stone used for the floors was artistically carved by Guido.

Glicine House has two bedrooms leading off the entrance hall where the walls are decorated with geometric patterns in an antique red that picks up the colour of the red larch parquet floor.

The double bedroom, overlooking the garden and with a side view of the lake, has air conditioning as well as heating for the winter months. The radiant orchid-blue colour makes for calm, relaxing atmosphere.

The second bedroom, with three single beds, also has air conditioning (and heating), as well as a ‘fifties terracotta working wood stove, which blends well with the pink-painted walls. The room overlooks a charmingly-lit courtyard which serves as a private carpark for guests.

In both bedrooms, the headboards and wardrobes feature decorative carving by master carpenters from Sutrio, custodians of a traditional expertise known throughout Val Badia, Val Gardena and the nearby Austrian Tyrol and Carinzia.

There is also a fine cradle from the Engadin decorated with colourful flowers in typical Austrian Tyrolean style.

Glicine House welcomes its guests with a variety of warm, vibrant colours emphasized by the mysterious, intriguing reflected light of Marrakesh, typical of the Arab world, a delight for the eyes of those seeking quiet and relaxation, or providing an ideal atmosphere for planning work commitments.

In the completely renovated, disabled-accessible bathroom with shower, sober but elegant stone and wood details recall the simplicity of country life in the high mountain pastures, the walls being the rust colour of iron or earth.

Linear shapes blend with the colourful floral wall decorations and emphasize the beauty of the different shades of colour ( radiant orchid ) that make for a warm welcome.

A detailed description of the area where Glicine House and Azalea House are located can be found in the ”Lake Como and Villa del Balbianello” a travel guide written by Belgian author, Mark Dermul.“A guide to Lake Como (Italy) to discover the film locations for the lake retreat on Naboo in Star Wars Episode II – Attack of the Clones.

Whithout forgetting that John Kerry, Senator from Massachusetts already a candidate for the White House in 2004 for the Democrats and the new Secretary of State in the administration of Barack Obama instead of Hillary Clintoon stayed in Griante two years ago.He has a fabulous residence which extends in a large park, Villa Maresi , close to the apartments at Griante . Villa Maresi more properly belongs to his wife, Teresa Heinz, widow of the king of kechup that already in the past had sold Villa Oleandra George Clooney.

More Details
Hide Details

Hi there, my name is Francesco. I work in Italian Motorway Company for only 13 days every month and sometimes when I have free time I buy and sell stocks in the Italian market. I like very much to travel around the world because I believe that different cultures teach to live better. I offer you this second holiday home hoping this place is an ideal accommodation to explore this wonderful area . Regards. Have a nice trip.

Francesco purchased this apartment in 1960

My father was a chef in Swizerland, at Lugano, and he bought two apartments in this old stone building . I renovated them because I think the lake is the right place to spend the holiday in the silence and relax, forgetting for some days all the problems.

By car: To Lugano, financial centre of the Canton Ticino situated on the lake of the same name, one hour’s journey away. To Melide, also in the Swiss Canton Ticino, site of the tourist attraction “Switzerland in Miniature”. To Madesimo in Val Chiavenna, ski resort well-known to mountain enthusiasts. To Saint Moritz in the Engadin, Canton Grissons - the internationally famous resort is 120 kilometres away, together with the quiet towns of Sils, Ardez, Guarda and Bever. In the area we suggest excursions on foot along the Segantini Trail and the Adventure Trail, suitable for families with children, and to Lakes Cavloc and Bitabergh near the Maloja Pass. To Tirano for memorable day-long train ride on the “Bernina Express” through incomparable scenery as far as Saint Moritz or the Alpine town of Chur. To Mendrisio, the FoxTown Outlet Factory - for lovers of the “shopping experience” - can be reached by the Como –Chiasso-Lugano motorway. To Campione d’Italia and the International Casino of the same name, for those who love to gamble. To Chiasso(CH), for singles who love the lake, its mystery and mystic silence, but don’t want to forgo the evening and night life at the Sixtynine Cafè, where they can enjoy a cocktail in the company of beautiful models. To Lenno to visit Villa del Balbianello, owned by the FAI (Italian Environmental Fund) and the location for scenes from “Star Wars”. To Piona Abbey, the home of Cistercian monks known for their handicrafts, reachable by ferry across the lake. On foot: To Sasso di San Martino, a 40 minute excursion to enjoy a walk to the church in company, from where you can see how Bellagio runs out into the lake and divides it. To Tremezzo to visit Villa Carlotta, its gardens and the Botanical Gardens. To Bellagio, crossing the Lake on the ferry from Cadenabbia, to discover the romance of the “Pearl of the Lake”, much loved by Americans for its Villa Melzi and Villa Serbelloni.

25 Reviews of Property 296553 in Griante, Italy

'GLICINE'.Italian Charme,Free WI FI,close to Pubblic Swimming Pool at Cadenabbia
average rating of 4.7647057 based on 25 reviews
business
'GLICINE'.Italian Charme,Free WI FI,close to Pubblic Swimming Pool at Cadenabbia
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p296553vbi
+39 010 251 4022 (Italy)
Griante Lake Como
4

perfect place

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 17, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
The place is fit for four or more person. The owner is really nice and considerate.2 mini market just 5 mins away. Very convient.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
'GLICINE'.Italian Charme,Free WI FI,close to Pubblic Swimming Pool at Cadenabbia
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p296553vbi
+39 010 251 4022 (Italy)
Griante Lake Como
Trier, Germany
5

Unforgettable stay in a beautiful town and best equipped appartment

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 22, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
We are a family from Germany (2 children 6 and 8 years old) and spend ten days at the Glicine House. Not only the Lake Como itself is really unique, but also the village Griante/Cadenabbia is one of the best locations at the west shore (the most famous and beautiful one). Griante has a beautiful historical centre with great a restaurant (La Vecchia Torre), a painter's atelier, a nice park and a church (you can also walk to the church San Martino on top of the hill - impressive view).

The typical stone-made house is only 300m away from the famous Villa Carlotta and 100m away from the Villa of the Konrad-Adenauer Foundation. From the balcony you can see the lake. There is a great pool on the lake's shore (Lido di Cadenabbia) - just 5min walk. Here you can eat, enjoy live music on the weekend and chill-out (entrance 5 euros/day, very good). Our children (6 and 8) could swim without any danger as there are lifeguards. Also 5-10 min walking distance to Menaggio (north) there is a great beach bar (Al Puunt) run by Ivan and Suzi (see website http://www.vecchiatorre.it/puunt.html). There you can eat typical bruschettas, drink aperol spritz or white wine, and rent canoe, boats and freely use surf-tables. This is very convenient!

The Glicine apartment is very clean and well equipped with two big sleeping rooms (air-conditioned), a bathroom with wash machine and a nice living / dinning with an open kitchen (very well equipped with modern high quality oven). Also two coffee machines are ready to give the best Italian coffee (coffee-pads included!). The kitchen is very clean and very well equipped. There is also a big flat-screen (SAT TV, DVD), a desk with a fast computer and a good radio with Bluetooth.

Last but not least: We received wine and an invitation to get a typical Italian dinner at the house. A friend of the owner came over and cooked for us a great typical regional dinner for free! Just amazing.

We highly appreciated the standard of the apartment that is far beyond other similar ones that we have rented in France and Germany. Especially all the personal attention and dedication of the owners made our stay in this great location an unforgettable one.

We look very much forward to coming soon again to the Glicine House and give our sincere thanks to Franco and Maria Gisela.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
'GLICINE'.Italian Charme,Free WI FI,close to Pubblic Swimming Pool at Cadenabbia
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p296553vbi
+39 010 251 4022 (Italy)
Griante Lake Como
4

Familie på 5 personer

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 30, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
Det er en rigtig dejlig lejlighed med god placering tæt på vandet. Det tager under 5 min. at gå ned til vandet. Der er mange store sten på stranden, som vi lige skulle vænne os til, men vandet var dejligt og udsigten helt fantastisk. Gæstfriheden og gavmildheden fra husets ejer er stor. Vi fik frugt, vin og en 3-retters middag. Lejligheden har udsigt uden at være prangende, men det er rigtig dejligt, at man kan gå til mange gode oplevelser og lade bilen stå... Vi savnede lidt en større balkon/terrasse.
Recommended for:  Families with Teenagers
business
'GLICINE'.Italian Charme,Free WI FI,close to Pubblic Swimming Pool at Cadenabbia
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p296553vbi
+39 010 251 4022 (Italy)
Griante Lake Como
Denmark
5

Perfect for a family!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 30, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
We most say that Glicine House fully met our expectations and even more.

It's spacious and can easily carry a family of 4-5 persons. But what we liked most was the atmosphere. When we came, Franscesco had made arrangement for a chef that came and cooked for us. A very welcome surprices for a little tired family! Furthermore everything is within range, a small but well assorted grocery, a bar, a playing ground for small kids. And the locals! they are SO nice!

But best of all is the view and the easyness with which you can get to Menaggio, Lugano, Bellagio and much more. In short: Try it - it has our warmest recommendations!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
'GLICINE'.Italian Charme,Free WI FI,close to Pubblic Swimming Pool at Cadenabbia
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p296553vbi
+39 010 251 4022 (Italy)
Griante Lake Como
Moscow, Russia
5

Russians in Griante

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 16, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
Hello. Sorry for my English) I was with my family in Griante. I have 2 children, 12 and 2. appartments with 2 bedroom, very nice furniture. Good view from terrace. Main feeling , appartment like home. I didnt fill like in rent flat, more like in my country house. Mr.Francesko Pini (own) present us many pleasent surprise. Some vine bottle was perfect. Shipping connection with Bellagio and other fantastic small town is very well. If you going to shopping in Milan, need a car, approximately one hour. Fox Town 40 min, Lugano 40 min. This place for quiet relaxing holiday, not for night life. If you travel a big company, you can ask same apartments 1 floor upper. we travelled 2 family and this was very good for us. When I will return to Como lake, my first request will be to Francesco.
Recommended for:  Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
'GLICINE'.Italian Charme,Free WI FI,close to Pubblic Swimming Pool at Cadenabbia
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p296553vbi
+39 010 251 4022 (Italy)
Griante Lake Como
5

winter/spring break.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 14, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
Listing description and photographs were accurate,The property was clean, welcoming and well maintained, and the pellet burner ideal on cold days, extra cleaning which we paid for as we were resident for four weeks was worth the extra and included clean bed linen and towels. The welcome pack was more than expected and as well as the wine there was coffee and tea in abundance.the local supermarket had everything we needed, most of our meals were eaten at home.There are also plenty of restaurants around, and the ferry service both car and passenger are good examples of a well run on-time service. Many more of the attractions were opening from the easter holidays onwards, and the area would be buzzing during the summer, Francesco the owner together with Mrs Fiametta the house keeper and Gisela, both local to the property, looked after our every need and were very kind, as were the locals. We truely hope to return to 'Glicine' in the not to distant future. Thank you, Francesco.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities
business
'GLICINE'.Italian Charme,Free WI FI,close to Pubblic Swimming Pool at Cadenabbia
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p296553vbi
+39 010 251 4022 (Italy)
Griante Lake Como
Ocean Grove, Victoria, Australia
5

Glicine House

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 20, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
We spent a week at Glicine House, Griante. Had a little difficulty finding the house as it is not clearly identifiable. After locating the landlady who had the keys, we were pleasantly surprised by the high standard of the apartment and the welcoming bottle of wine and coffee capsules for the coffee machine were most grateful. Got fit walking from the lake up to the apartment but it is not too difficult. Plenty of walks nearby including Greenway to Lenno which goes through some old sections of Mezzegra with its narrow streets and Griante itself. Took boat trip to Bellagio and Como on separate days. Climb up to S. Martino church is well worth it for the views. Apartment is well presented, very clean and comfortable and photos on internet are accurate. Walk from Menaggio and through Parc Val Sanagra well worth doing. Would thoroughly recommend this apartment as its central location to Lake Como and Bellagio is unbeatable.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
'GLICINE'.Italian Charme,Free WI FI,close to Pubblic Swimming Pool at Cadenabbia
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p296553vbi
+39 010 251 4022 (Italy)
Griante Lake Como
Australia
4

Loved Como

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 19, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
The property is in an excellent position and is reasonably priced. The facilities are excellent and the apartment is well appointed. Day to day management is close by and was very helpful on the couple of occasions when needed. We only used the eating facilities for breakfast but there are very adequate preparation and eating facilities.

Though the Apartment is only 200 metres from the bus stop, people arriving by train should be strongly advised to take a taxi whatever the time of arrival as the 200 metres is up a steep incline which is stepped all the way and takes an elderly person 10 to 15 minutes to negotiate. We arrived by taxi but if we had arrived by bus and tried to carry luggage up the steep incline we would have despaired, especially in the dark; I cannot stress this enough.

Otherwise we loved the whole atmosphere including the nearby little bar and the very close supermarket as well as the hotel and restaurants by the lake. I would have rated the property excellent except for the steep incline which we were not prepared for. But it is Lake Como after all and its appeal is of course the mountainous country as well as the lake.

The owner's tourist information provided beforehand was very valuable and the apartment was in excellent condition and cleanliness on arrival. I would recommend it to anyone within the limitations mentioned.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
'GLICINE'.Italian Charme,Free WI FI,close to Pubblic Swimming Pool at Cadenabbia
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p296553vbi
+39 010 251 4022 (Italy)
Griante Lake Como
5

Lake Como Vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 27, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
I stayed at this apartment with my husband and 81 year old great aunt. There is plenty of room to relax. The place was very nice and clean. We did laundry a couple of times and detergent was provided. There is a grocery store right up the street and one at the bottom of the hill. The path to the lake was a little hard for my aunt to walk back up the hill- she just had to stop and take breaks. There is a little balcony where you can enjoy the view. It was a quiet spot- you could hear a lot of church bells but if you close the shutters and turn on the fan you don't hear them a night. We had 2 good meals at The Company which is at the bottom of the hill. There are sidewalks to walk along the lake which there aren't in some of the other towns. One day we used the ferries to visit some of the local towns. We bought a day pass. If you want to go to Lake Como you need to get an early start since it takes about 2 hours to get there. We had a car and did a day trip to the Jungfraujoch - Top of Europe in Switzerland and Monte Carlo. They were both long days but doable. Parking can be tricky in many of the small towns. The roads are very narrow at times and you need to be cautious driving as sometimes there are tour buses and many blind spots around corners. We enjoyed our time there.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
'GLICINE'.Italian Charme,Free WI FI,close to Pubblic Swimming Pool at Cadenabbia
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p296553vbi
+39 010 251 4022 (Italy)
Griante Lake Como
Bettendorf, Iowa USA
5

Glicine house is the perfect vacation rental

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 13, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
We have just returned and I have to say it was one of the best rentals we have ever stayed at! The house is in a perfect location. We toured the whole area. The owner has lots of information on things to do and provided us with a full welcome basket that included lots of wines and cookies! The apartment is fully stocked and comfortable. There is even a computer that you can use. I would highly recommend this property!
Recommended for:  Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway