Petworth townhome rental - Living Room
Living Room
 
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps14
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 3 nights
 

Petworth Townhome Rental Photos and Description
Townhome, 4 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 3.5 Baths, (Sleeps 12-14)

The Illinois Avenue Suites is a newly-renovated, 3-level row house, with 4 bedrooms, 3 full and 1 half bathrooms. It comfortably sleeps 10-12 guests. The Master Suite contains a king-sized bed with a private bathroom and sleeping cot in off room. Suite 2 contains a queen-sized bed. Suite 3 contains a full bed. Suite 4 contains a queen bed. The main level has a full sized futon. There is also a temporary bed. The lower level has a 4th bedroom and futon. The property features a gourmet style kitchen, washer/dryer, stainless steel appliances, dishwasher, microwave, coffee maker, etc. Also provided, cable television and broadband Internet access.

The property boasts an open floor plan with gorgeous Aztec Cherry hardwood floors, fireplace, recess lighting with French doors leading to a large outside deck. Free off-street parking that accommodates 1 vehicle. The property is conveniently located just minutes from Downtown DC and Silver Spring, Maryland. It is also minutes from Adams Morgan, Historical U street, the new DC convention center, etc.

The property is with-in walking distance to Metro's Green line Georgia Ave/Petworth station. This gives you access to the greater Metro DC area including Maryland and Virginia.

We look forward to having you as our guest.

Welcome to our Nation's Capital.

There is a $150 cleaning fee.

40% deposit required at time of reservation.

Balance due 30 days prior to check-in.

There is a refundable $250 security deposit required.

View comments from previous guests.

Keywords: Modern Luxury, Jacuzzi, Fireplace, HDTV/suite, Nintendo WII, Great Location! Children, Metro, Washington, DC, Vacation Home, Vacation Rental, Washington DC Vacation Rental

More Details
Hide Details

30 Reviews of Property 296219 in Petworth, Washington DC

Modern Luxury, Warm Fireplace, Hdtv/Suite, Wii, Jacuzzi, Etc.
average rating of 4.366667 based on 30 reviews
business
Modern Luxury, Warm Fireplace, Hdtv/Suite, Wii, Jacuzzi, Etc.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p296219vb
+ 202-642-4944
Petworth Washington DC
5

Family christmas stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 30, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
The house was perfect for our group of 3 adult couples. The kitchen was great and fully equipped for family meals. On-street parking was very easy and groceries were fairly close (driving distance).
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Modern Luxury, Warm Fireplace, Hdtv/Suite, Wii, Jacuzzi, Etc.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p296219vb
+ 202-642-4944
Petworth Washington DC
Pacific Northwest
4

Review of December stay

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 29, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
We had 13 extended family members (couples, singles, a family with small children) staying at this property while in the DC area for a wedding. On the whole, our stay was a pleasant experience, and we are certainly thankful to have found a conveniently located rental that allowed so many of us to be together. I would stay here again if I were again in search of homelike accommodation for a large family group, and I recommend it to others in similar circumstances.

Things I liked about the rental:
-The neighborhood appeared safe and friendly
-We were able to park one and sometimes two cars on the street right outside.
-There was an organic grocery store in easy walking distance.
-The owner provided a detailed guide to the property and to the surroundings.
-The kitchen/dining area was well laid out. The stove was sturdy and clean, and there were refrigerators both in the kitchen and in the basement.
-The open layout of the ground floor allowed our family to be together for wedding preparations, game playing, meals, quiet work times on multiple laptops, etc.

Problems:
-When we first arrived, the heat was broken. The owner was out of town that afternoon, but he came over at night and worked on the heat until he fixed it. But we had to sleep elsewhere that night because of the cold. (The heat worked well for the remainder of our week-long stay.)
-The plates, glasses, utensils, cooking pots, etc., were ample for 8-10 people, but not quite enough for 12-14. Many kitchen knives were supplied, but most of them badly needed sharpening. Nor were there enough chairs for a large group around the table.
-The home would be unsuitable for people with mobility or balance challenges. The porch steps are steep and slippery, the basement stairs narrow and without a handrail.
Recommended for:  Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Thanks for the constructive comments, they are a real help.

We always keep extra supplies in the closet in our homes. And more have been purchased. Always remember we are at your service, please give us a call/email and we will see that you have what you need.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Modern Luxury, Warm Fireplace, Hdtv/Suite, Wii, Jacuzzi, Etc.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p296219vb
+ 202-642-4944
Petworth Washington DC
South Australia
4

Pleasant stay

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 27, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
Our team of 6 stayed in 3 houses during our 2 week trip to the USA. We agreed that this house was our favourite because of its size and comfort. We did have a few hiccups but the owner came to the rescue. Perhaps the most disconcerting was arriving in the freezing cold from summer in Australia at midnight and we couldn't get in. The code/door knob was not working. We finally raised the housecleaner who raised the owner. As we had been dropped off by shuttle, we were feeling a bit desperate. After an hour, crisis was resolved with the owner arriving and getting us in.

Location was a bit out of DC but we managed with public transport and taxis to all of our appointments. Columbia Heights isn't that far away for shopping and restaurants. The house itself is in a suburban residential area. In your budgeting as a traveller, allow an extra allowance to take taxis in the winter after dark.

Having multiple bathrooms available was a treat for our team of 6.

I would stay here again. A particular thank you to the housekeeper who took me up to the shops so I could buy some groceries. She was a real welcoming person for our introduction to the USA.

The house could have had a few more small items such as glasses, coffee, just a few more staple items for guests like us who hadn't driven in with anything.

But we are glad we found this house and certainly recommend for teams like ours who need both privacy and space.
Recommended for:  Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Modern Luxury, Warm Fireplace, Hdtv/Suite, Wii, Jacuzzi, Etc.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p296219vb
+ 202-642-4944
Petworth Washington DC
4

Lots of Room

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 2, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
I liked this house and the location...very quite and active neighborhood...we had a nice stay...
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 10/10
business
Modern Luxury, Warm Fireplace, Hdtv/Suite, Wii, Jacuzzi, Etc.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p296219vb
+ 202-642-4944
Petworth Washington DC
Midwest
4

DC Family Vacation

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 14, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
The property was as described in the listing and was a good value. Location was pretty average. The neighborhood is a mix of working class families and young professionals. It is about a 10-minute walk to the nearest grocery and 15 minutes to the Metro. The train was easy to use and we were able to get to most of the major sites in 20 minutes once we were on the Metro We didn’t have a car but there was always plenty of room in front to park if you needed that. There are not a lot of restaurants in the area so if that is important to you this is not a good location. The house has some wear and tear but was generally in good shape. The bedrooms were comfortable and there was plenty of sleeping space for our party of 8. The basement is not as nice as the rest of the house so you don’t want someone too picky staying down there. The kitchen had all we needed and we ate all our breakfasts there and most of our dinners. There were plenty of TV’s and a Wii, which was helpful getting the kids to wind down after some long days of sightseeing I would say the house met our needs and at a very reasonable price.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers
Helpful votes: 10/10
business
Modern Luxury, Warm Fireplace, Hdtv/Suite, Wii, Jacuzzi, Etc.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p296219vb
+ 202-642-4944
Petworth Washington DC
Washington DC
5

Mike Styles (Talent Agent) stay at this locations 5 stars

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 8, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
This location gets 5 stars from my team and I. Using this place for any business or personal situation is wonderful. I have stayed at this location on 3 different times and I have enjoyed each stay her. The place is in a quiet area of Washington dc. Is minutes away from downtown. The place is well kept inside with plush comfortable furniture. I highly recommend you book your next Washington DC stay at this location!. LOVE IT!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 10/10
business
Modern Luxury, Warm Fireplace, Hdtv/Suite, Wii, Jacuzzi, Etc.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p296219vb
+ 202-642-4944
Petworth Washington DC
4

Comfortable, large home

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 28, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
This house had everything our big, multigenerational family needed. We were thrilled that transportation was so close and easy to use (we all bought MetroPasses). We found out half way through our stay that the Columbia Heights metro stop has a Target and loads of chain restaurants (necessary while the new Safeway is being built). Thank you to the owners for this great place.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 11/11
business
Modern Luxury, Warm Fireplace, Hdtv/Suite, Wii, Jacuzzi, Etc.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p296219vb
+ 202-642-4944
Petworth Washington DC
Illinois
5

Comfortable Stay in DC

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 18, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
My family stayed here for two weeks. We had a young baby and grandparents with us. There was plenty of space for everyone. The rooms were comfortable. Street parking was no problem. The neighborhood felt safe. Olaf was quickly available when we had questions. I would recommend this home to anyone traveling to DC for business or pleasure.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers
Helpful votes: 11/11
business
Modern Luxury, Warm Fireplace, Hdtv/Suite, Wii, Jacuzzi, Etc.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p296219vb
+ 202-642-4944
Petworth Washington DC
Metairie, LA
4

Very Nice Experience! Very spacious, clean, and comfortable

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 30, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
Overall, this property was very nice. Very spacious rooms, clean throguhout the property, within walking distance of Metro station and close to sites within the Washington area. Not very close to grocery so plan to make arrangements to get grocery items but still a good experience.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Thanks for the kind words, we are glad you enjoyed our home. The Safeway was torn down and a new one is under construction, there is a Yes Organic just .48 miles away, however. Thanks!
Helpful votes: 11/11
business
Modern Luxury, Warm Fireplace, Hdtv/Suite, Wii, Jacuzzi, Etc.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p296219vb
+ 202-642-4944
Petworth Washington DC
Salt Lake City, Utah
5

A great place for a large family

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 24, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
My family of 9, consisting of myself and my wife, two adult children and their spouses, two single adult children and a grand daughter, enjoyed a wonderful week staying at this large and spacious house. We were able to use the house as our base of operations while we enjoyed numerous adventures in the Washington, D.C. area.

When at the house, each couple had their own bedroom on the second floor and the unmarried kids each had their own areas in the basement. The linens were clean and new. Each of the upstairs bedrooms had a very nice television in the bedroom. My wife and I had the master bedroom, which was surprisingly large with its own bathroom. Even with 8 adults staying in the house, we had plenty of room.

The neighborhood was very quiet. I had the opportunity to walk along the street and talk to some of the neighbors. They were very nice people. Given the size of our family, we rented two cars. We never had a problem with parking. There was always sufficient parking on the street for both of our cars.

With a modern kitchen, we were able to prepare and serve meals to the entire clan. After the meals, the family was able to gather in the commons area and around the table to play games, watch television and enjoy conversation. Almost all of us had electonic devices. The wifi was able to keep up with all of communications needs.

After being in Washington for several days, we were able to use the relatively new washer and dryer and clean our clothes. It was very nice to be able to clean our clothes without needing to travel to a laundromat.

We had to use our cars to travel to the nearest grocery store, a nearby Target store. We took a couple of trips to the store during our stay. Since it was a Target, we were also able to pick up all of the required purchases, both food and non-food items, in one stop.

Our family was able to stay together for a week in Washington and enjoy every minute of it. We felt safe and were very comfortable during our stay. I haven't mentioned the price. We feel the price was very fair. Would we stay here again? Absolutely!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 9/9