Humacao house rental - Just down the street, and seen from your porch, a sunrise to beautiful for words
Just down the street, and seen from your porch, a sunrise to beautiful for words
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps10
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 2 - 5 nights
 

Humacao House Rental Photos and Description
3 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, sleeps 10, Family Rm+ 2futons , LIbrary & full sofa bed

This beach home is truly a tropical escape. Bordering a nature sanctuary and private beach, this location is the perfect destination - for families, beach bums, adventure-seeking couples, and wildlife enthusiasts. The breathtaking paradise defines ultimate relaxation - with limitless adventures at your feet. 3 Spacious bedrooms with large closets,(2 queen beds in 2 of the rooms, and 2 two twin beds in the other). The library/game room converts to bedroom 4 with a full size sofa bed. Family room has 2 comfortable futons All linens provided - bed, bath and beach. 2 Full bathrooms - plus an outdoor shower! Large kitchen - complete with appliances, cookware, and utensils.Expansive living area. Large dining room with table that seats up to 8. Tropical backyard - spacious, adjoining nature sanctuary with a fabulous pool overlooking this tropical treasure. + a kiddie pool! * Complete with patio, seating area and BBQ. Washer and Dryer. Fully Air Conditioned. WIFI and Cable TV. Safe and Tranquil - Security monitored community. Outdoor sporting equipment - Kayaks and boogie boards. Pet friendly.

YOUR PERSONAL CONCIERGE GUIDING YOU TO SAFE, INTERESTING, AGE APPROPRIATE, ACTIVITIES, SITES & FOOD AROUND THE ISLAND!

Steps away from a private Caribbean beach

A stone's throw from a tropical Wildlife Reserve.

Walk to Hiking trails destined for secluded beaches and exhilarating ocean views.

Take a boat trip to Monkey Island with tour guide Paco and see wild monkeys, snorkel over exotic reefs, and ocean kayak.

A few minutes drive from El Yunque - Puerto Rico's natural Rainforest.

Kayaking in the Humacao Nature Reserve DIRECTLY FROM YOUR BACK YARD!

Short distance from fishing pier and authentic local cuisine.

Shopping center to suit everyday needs - a 5 minute drive.

More Details
Hide Details

21 Reviews of Property 296064 in Humacao, Puerto Rico

Tropical Escape Beach Home on a 3000 acre Sanctuary. Nature Lovers Paradise!
average rating of 4.45 based on 21 reviews
business
Tropical Escape Beach Home on a 3000 acre Sanctuary. Nature Lovers Paradise!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p296064
+1 845 800-2928
Humacao Puerto Rico
Cape Vincent, NY, USA
5

Wonderful Family Escape

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 24, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
We had been to Puerto Rico before, but not to this area. We were enticed by the description of the property that certainly met our needs - three bedrooms, a full kitchen and a close beach. It was exactly as billed and even more! The house had all the amenities we required, was clean and quiet, had a beautiful yard with a nice pool. The beach was just down the road and was to die for!! It was perfect!! Other pluses were very close to shopping and the autopista, a nature park next door, AND your own concierge! We were also fortunate that the owners were at their house next door and became instant friends. They were not intrusive in any way and endeavoured to make our stay as pleasant as possible. We would return in a shot!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: We describe our property as accurately as possible with comments from reviewers “It was exactly as billed and even more!” and photo’s substantiating a true representation of what the vacationer is getting. Yes, the “Cast A Way”/”Survivor” type beach, with its fine sand and gentle waves “was to die for!! It was perfect!!”, is special to us.. We as owners, by vacationing close by, protect the environment that all our renters expect to experience.
Helpful votes: 6/6
business
Tropical Escape Beach Home on a 3000 acre Sanctuary. Nature Lovers Paradise!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p296064
+1 845 800-2928
Humacao Puerto Rico
4

Family Vacation

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 2, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
Thank you for a wonderful experience.
Traveling with my wife, 2 girls 9,11 and a 2yr old I was somewhat apprehensive with the area. However, I guess it depends on persons frame of reference. We quickly realized the area is safe, very quiet, and peaceful.

The beach is about a 5 minute walk at most. We decided to be lazy and drive the rental car the 1/4 mile since we were on vacation. Pathetic I know but keep in mind we do have a toddler which made it much easier for us. It is for all intent a purpose, deserted. I mean nobody but our family was there. The water is clean, calm and shallow for about 30 feet out. Unlike a resort beach, the sea grass brought in from the tides is not removed by workers each morning. However, it does provide a nice hiding place for crabs and such to make their homes and our kids got a thrill catching and releasing them back into nature. The back yard of the home abuts the nature preserve. Take take time to lay in one of the hammocks and listen to the soothing sounds of nature. It is hypnotic. Our 2 year old was filled with wild wonder with all the calls, sounds and songs coming from the variety of birds, frogs, lizards and other things in the back yard and nearby preserve. He was constantly asking, "What's that noise" or "What's that thing". The pool was also a big hit. The owner had a new life vest for our 2 year old to use. The girls and I made a up a synchronized swimming routine my wife filmed which was hilarious to do and see. The house is modest yet roomy. The air conditioning units are excellent and cool the house.

Definitely do the rain forest EARLY, give at least 3 hours. Skip the welcome center, $4/adult admission go directly to the water fall. We got there right @ 9AM and nobody was there. By the time we left there was no place to park. Stop at the Tower, great views. Find the Sleeping Giant from the tower. We stopped by Loquillo beach(twice) on the way back which is very nice. Old San Juan is a must. Leave after 9:30A to avoid traffic. We went twice and loved it. The fort and castle provide cool photo ops as do the colors of Old San Juan. You can make a picnic at the fort and fly a kite or people watch. Kayak in the nature preserve but go early, it fills quickly. Walk the trails early.

Overall, if you enjoy nature and privacy this is a great spot as a home base. If you want nightlife and manicured beaches, you might be disappointed.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Tropical Escape Beach Home on a 3000 acre Sanctuary. Nature Lovers Paradise!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p296064
+1 845 800-2928
Humacao Puerto Rico
5

secluded getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 10, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
Thank you Julius for renting your home to us, and thank you Nancy for your help while we were there. Though the gated community seemed a little rough when we first arrived, the neighbors were nice, it was a quiet community, and we learned this was actually one of the nicer, local neighborhoods in the area. The house was plenty big for our group of 8 adults (2BR with 1 queen each, 1BR with 2 twins, den with full futon, and 2 full futons in living room). The house was clean, and had all amenities listed - comfy beds, clean linens & towels, toiletries, kayaks & life jackets to use, clean pool, patio chairs, and relaxing hammocks. The bathroom windows wouldn't close, so we had to keep the doors shut to conserve the A/C when we were home. We loved having the quiet and privacy your backyard provided. We hiked the Nature Preserve trails everyday, and were thankful it was nearby. Ralphs Super Market was about 10 min away, and was much better than Walmart in cleanliness & selection. Recent storms brought a lot of seaweed to the beach, and sea turtles were nesting while we visited, so some of the beach was quarantined, but it was nice to have nearby.

We highly recommend making the 15 min drive up to El Makito for seafood dinner, and going to the restaurant by the gated community entrance for excellent Mofongo. The hour drive north to Luquillo/Rio Grande (the south entrance was closed) to El Yunque Rainforest was well worth it - plan to spend a whole day there hiking and enjoying the waterfalls. If you want to do a Bio-Bay tour in Fajardo or Vieques, make reservations before you come, because they sell out weeks in advance. Kayaking to Monkey Island with a tour was also booked up, so we used the provided kayaks and went on our own from our beach. This took about 4 hrs round trip (going against the current & wind there), but was very worth it to see so many monkeys on the island and peeking at corals & fish in the shallows around the island. Deep-sea fishing with Capt Matt at Maragata Charters at Palmas del Mar was a lot of fun, but we recommend the Sea Mounts trip instead of the 4hr trip (you'll catch more fish!). Skip the Bacardi Tour (just video tours & takes a minimum of 2 hrs), and instead plan extra time for exploring Old San Juan's forts & historic buildings.

Everyday was beautiful, mid-80s, and only rained at night. We thoroughly enjoyed our first trip to Puerto Rico very much, and are thankful we had this lovely home to stay in.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Tropical Escape Beach Home on a 3000 acre Sanctuary. Nature Lovers Paradise!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p296064
+1 845 800-2928
Humacao Puerto Rico
New Mexico
5

Great 2 weeks in Puerto Rico

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 6, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
Our family of 6 stayed in the "Tropical Escape - Beach Home" for 2 weeks in December 2013 / January 2014. We do not like "sterile" resorts and chose this property because it is not in the traditional tourist area of San Juan / Isla Verde. We were all happy to have the chance to interact with the wonderful neighbors in Villa Palmira - everyone was really nice and helpful. The house was clean, the description is accurate, and we enjoyed working with the owner. (Thanks again for lending my mom your walking stick!)

We especially enjoyed kayaking, bird watching and running in the Humacao Nature Preserve, which can be accessed from a trail at the beach and (for kayaking) from the dock/canal at the back of the property. Our college-age sons also kayaked to Monkey Island for snorkeling - a 4 hour trip that they are still talking about. The swimming pool at the house, set against the rainforest, was great after running or hiking - I think we used it everyday.

We visited El Yunque National Rain Forest twice during our stay; once to the El Portal Tropical Forest Center area (including the tower and La Mina falls) and once to the Rio Sabana trail on the southern side. (Accessed from highway 191 in Naguabo, it's only about 30 minutes from the house.) Although the main "portal" area was interesting, it was really crowded. So, we really recommend the Rio Sabana trail - a beautiful hike through the rainforest to a river that is unbelievable! And, we only saw two other people while we hiked.

Three recommendations for others planning to stay at this property:
1. If your trip is over the winter holidays when most of the tourists go to Puerto Rico, make your reservations in advance for tours / expeditions to the biobays, snorkeling, caving, etc. We tried to book a trip from Palmas del Mar to the biobay on Vieques Island and they were booked for 4 weeks.
2. We found several great restaurants both close to the house and in Old San Juan. We quickly learned that eating out in Puerto Rico can take several hours and can't be rushed. So, relax, forget about your usual hectic schedule and enjoy the island!
3. When we stayed at the house in December, the ocean currents deposited a fair amount of trash in some areas of the beach for the Villa Palmira neighborhood. But, don't be discouraged, it's easy to find areas that are relatively clear - a little further east toward the water park or around the point adjacent to the Humacao Preserve.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Tropical Escape Beach Home on a 3000 acre Sanctuary. Nature Lovers Paradise!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p296064
+1 845 800-2928
Humacao Puerto Rico
Monroe, NY, USA
5

Satisfied Repeat Customer

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 17, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
My husband and I recently returned from our third stay in Villa Palmira. There have been many positive changes since our first visit back in 2010 - everything from new landscaping, furniture and linens to a refreshing pool! One thing that hasn't changed is the exceptional service and responsiveness from the property owner and concierge, Nancy. We are the type of people who enjoy independence and privacy in our vacations. We like to explore and spend most of our time outdoors in the tropical weather. We know that exclusivity can come at a price and feel that the value, service, and natural beauty we experience by staying in this home is something hard to find elsewhere.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Tropical Escape Beach Home on a 3000 acre Sanctuary. Nature Lovers Paradise!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p296064
+1 845 800-2928
Humacao Puerto Rico
Massachusetts
1

This was NOT a nice rental.

  • 1 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 5, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
I have many photographs to show that the posted photos are deceptive.
Mildew on awnings--they were black and rotting.
Mildew on life preserver for 3 foot deep above ground pool--unsuitable for laps
Mildew on outdoor furniture

Stains on furniture in living areas...had to put towels down to sit to feel comfortable.

Rust stained lamp bases...bugs in the light fixtures...
This is not how I live nor how I like to vacation.

Owner offered me money to not discuss this further with him or anyone else--I did not take it. It was insulting. I paid (in full) more than I would have to stay in a nice hotel during the lowest season.

I have over a dozen photographs that speak volumes.
Owner's Response: This renter, over a period of 4 months, attempted to extort monies from me from the discounted rental amount she paid. First it was her initial tale of hardship, then her inconsistent mixed messages of her likes and dislikes about our rental. There was the selective photography, where one outdoor chair, with a saltwater stain was photographed, among all the other outdoor chairs that were new. Her selective photography went as far as removing the custom covers on the futon to photograph a Clorox stain. The pool is a semi in ground pool, specially made to be installed in a slopping hill, shipped from the States, and costing more than traditional cement or fiberglass pools. It is 25 feet long, 15 feet wide and 52 inches deep.
I repeatedly asked and offered a reasonable sum of money to resolve this matter to avoid her implied threat of a negative review on all my web advertising sites. Her response was consistent; the amount of additional monies offered was an “insult”. Every comment this disgruntled renter made about our home was petty, picky and often the result of living on the windward side of the Caribbean Sea and at the edge of a tropical wildlife sanctuary. Her comments are disingenuous. I stand by my 22 positive reviews, the quality and service of the rental we offer and the integrity of the photographs that accurately represent our rental. I will not be held hostage to extortion.
Helpful votes: 6/8
business
Tropical Escape Beach Home on a 3000 acre Sanctuary. Nature Lovers Paradise!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p296064
+1 845 800-2928
Humacao Puerto Rico
5

Family and friend happy time

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 30, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
Thanks you, for the opportunity of stay in your Villa, everything was wonderful and happiness. Your Villa is very pretty and comfortable. I hope stay again in there with my family and friend. My son and his friends thoroughly enjoyed the pool and kayaking, ended exhausted.
Nancy is wonderful and nice hostess.

Fam. Cruz, Bayamón
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Tropical Escape Beach Home on a 3000 acre Sanctuary. Nature Lovers Paradise!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p296064
+1 845 800-2928
Humacao Puerto Rico
San German Puerto Rico
5

Nice relaxing atmosphere!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 5, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
Our stay at Villa Palmira was more than what was expected. Nancy is an excellent concierge. The directions to get to the house are right on the money. If you are not a local you should have no problem getting there. Once at the villa she is very helpful on getting you ready to hit the ground running. They have much info on local places to see and visit if that is your intention. However if you decide to stay at the Villa you will have plenty of leisure there as well. The Villa is big but not overwhelming. The atmosphere is beachy but yet still offers all the home comfort you need to make you feel at ease. You have Wifi, cable TV with a nice selection of channels to choose from and the A/C’s throughout the house keep you cool no matter what the heat is like outside. The rooms are large and have every comfort you are sure to have at home. The brand new stove is a dream for those who love to cook, my wife even used the oven…on vacation! The outdoors are private and have many inviting features. The gazebo is small but offers a nice refuge from the Sun’s heat. You even have outdoor electrical outlets to hook up you laptop or listen to music. There are two hammocks covered by enough trees to provide shade and give you a forest feeling. The centerpiece of the entire outdoors is of course the above ground pool. Surrounded by luscious greenery all around it provide a feeling of being in a lagoon in the middle of a tropical forest. The sun deck offers a nice spot to cool off with drinks and have a nice conversation even after the rays stop shining.
We were also able to use the kayaks that Julius includes as a special treat. Since you are so close to the Natural Reserve it only seems fitting. The Reserve is huge to cover all of it if you are not an avid kayaker. Nonetheless, it provides a fantastic opportunity to see raw nature. Turtles, birds, iguanas (big and small) and many fish jumping out of the water are part of what you can see. Of course you will find troublesome insects but even the dragonflies will bring you back to amazement of what nature has to offer. The Reserve also has many trails you can walk along. Just make sure to bring water since you might come across some sunny parts. The beach near the Villa is not recommended for swimming; however there is a public beach just a short 5 minute drive from the Villa.
We would definitely come back to stay here even for a short trip. If you have kids, are planning some time with your s
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: This unsolicited, detailed review, said it all! From the excellent customer service given by your personal concierge, to the comfort in the home and availability of technology for the tech savvy traveler, with a private and secluded back yard of 3000 acres that is truly a nature lover’s paradise with the amenities to satisfy the discriminating needs of singles, couples and families with children, this vacation rental has it all. Our “Cast A Way” beach, subject to natural weather conditions, randomly occurring, certain times of the year, is secluded, private, accessible and always swimmable in the clear blue green waters of the Caribbean Sea.
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Tropical Escape Beach Home on a 3000 acre Sanctuary. Nature Lovers Paradise!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p296064
+1 845 800-2928
Humacao Puerto Rico
4

Fun, fun, fun

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 15, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
We vacationed with my brother and his family and had a wonderful time. Kayaking, both in the mangrove swamp and in the ocean was one of the highlights. The house is simple, yet has everything you need for a pleasant escape. Julius and Nancy were quite accommodating, even arranging for perfect weather.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Tropical Escape Beach Home on a 3000 acre Sanctuary. Nature Lovers Paradise!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p296064
+1 845 800-2928
Humacao Puerto Rico
Rio Rancho, NM
4

Great for Extended family

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 19, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
This house was great for our extended family of 8 adults and 3 children, ages three and under. It was just as pictured, older but exceptionally clean, and the beach REALLY is a short walk. If you want the feel of a resort, driving a golf cart to the beach, sharing a pool with strangers after you've carried all your gear down an elevator, this is NOT the place for you. But if you want a feel of the island, kayaks and beach gear at your disposal in the garage ( and not rented be the 1/2 hour), and a crystal clear pool just steps from the back door and surrounded by a nature preserve ( beware of ant bites) then this IS for you. We had only 2 problems : 1) openers/keys -we had 3 rental cars and needed a second gate opener which Nancy, the terrific concierge, quickly resolved, and we made 2 more sets of keys and 2) internet service via an extender did not work. Nancy came by and checked it, but it was a more technical problem than just resetting. Enjoy your stay!
Recommended for:  Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: A true and accurate review that sets us apart from the condo resort style vacation. As said in a previous review on vacationrentals.com “A Tropical Escape...The Name Says It All” swilan (Morristown, TN). The vacationer’s comments are a testimony to the quality of rental we offer and the attentive service we provide. The technical problem, due to region wide power interruptions, has been repaired. Internet up and running!
Helpful votes: 4/4