Bald Head Island house rental - Shoes Off Front View
Shoes Off Front View
 
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps12
  • 4 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights
 

Bald Head Island House Rental Photos and Description
House, 4 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 4 Baths, (Sleeps 10)

Accessible only by passenger ferry boat, 20 minutes from the mainland USA, our home 'Shoes Off' on beautiful Bald Head Island is the perfect retreat for your family getaway. Over 180 degree views of South Beach and the Atlantic Ocean from two stories of huge decks, golf course views to the rear and just 38 steps to the boardwalk beach access. Walk to the Bald Head Island Club, offering gourmet and casual dining, championship golf, tennis, kid friendly pool with a waterslide, championship Croquet Greensward and delicious treats, sandwiches, ice cream and pizza from the “Pelicatessen”. Also within walking distance from Shoes Off is a large children’s playground, sand volleyball court and day camp facilities at the Bald Head Island Club.

Our home was first listed on VRBO in April 2010.

Shoes Off is a family home with the focus on just that…..Family.

Bald Head Island is the most family friendly place we’ve ever been.

Summer weekly rentals in our home include temporary memberships to BOTH the Bald Head Island Club and the Shoals Club. The Shoals Club is situated on the southeast tip of the island, where the convergence of South and East Beaches form the “Point” of Cape Fear, one of the most beautiful ocean views on the USA’s Atlantic coast. You can literally stand on a two-foot wide point of sand, with waves coming from both the southwest and northeast, on the very tip of the Cape.

Weekly rentals include all cleaning charges. Provided to all Shoes Off guests with our compliments are linens, bath and beach towels, bath tissue, paper towels and trash bags. We have a well-equipped kitchen with service for 12 people and seating for even more. We maintain an open guest cabinet in the kitchen with an array of cooking spices, oil, coffee filters and more. We’ve rented beach homes in the past that were completely void of most everything………Not a paper towel, salt-shaker or roll of TP in sight. We are pleased to offer you the opposite of that. Just bring your bathing suit, your flip-flops, your favorite refreshment, your iPad/Pod and a good book.

Our home is designed on a reverse floor plan with living, dining, screened porch areas and incredible ocean views on the 3rd floor. The home features two master suites, and two other bedrooms on the 2nd level, all with direct deck access and ocean views from each bedroom. One bedroom is specifically arranged for children, featuring bunk beds, sleeper sofa, a closetful of toys, DVD, VCR, Satellite TV and a selection of children’s movies.

We also provide one high-chair and two Pack & Plays.

On the deck, just outside of the 3rd floor kitchen/living area door is a 48” stainless steel gas grill than can handle outdoor cooking for the largest of families or groups.

We offer large flat screen monitors and satellite TV in all of the adult bedrooms. The children’s bedroom has a TV/VCR/DVD combo. The 3rd floor living area features a 50” Panasonic Plasma TV, Direct TV Satellite service and a Bose Lifestyle System audio and home theater. The system includes an easy access dock for your iPod or iPhone.

Our master suite includes a 24” iMac computer. Wireless internet access is provided throughout the home, with a signal that can reach the beach if that’s of interest. The fishing from the beach is sometimes excellent to outstanding. We recommend that you unplug and take a fishing rod instead.

Shoes Off offers an elevator. While not completely handicap accessible, the elevator makes the 3 story climb easy on the knees for anyone who might have trouble with stairs. We use the elevator primarily for hauling luggage, groceries and supplies to the 2nd floor bedrooms and 3rd floor living and dining areas. The elevator is exceptionally helpful in this regard.

We provide bikes for children and adults, a baby jogger, kids bike trailer, beach chairs, some beach toys, a few kites, sand spikes for your fishing rods and a small beach umbrella or two.

The loop road behind Shoes Off (Snowy Egret and Black Skimmer) is a fantastic place for children to bike and skate safely in an area with virtually no traffic. Two of our children learned to ride bikes there. Two of our children’s bikes have training wheels available. The entire Island is also a fantastic place to walk, jog, bike and skate. Some contractor vehicles are allowed on the roads during the weekdays but you’ll mostly just see and hear the quiet hum of the occasional electric golf cart passing by.

We can provide you with information for children’s day camps at the Bald Head Island Club and the Bald Head Island Conservancy. Both offer terrific children’s programs and can provide Mom and Dad with a few hours of peace and quiet, one of the real beauties of a vacation on Bald Head Island.

Vehicular transportation on the island is limited to golf carts. We offer one 6-seat cart and one 4-seat cart.

All Shoes Off weekly rental guests receive a discount for a professional family photo session, made on the beach or island location of your choice by Anne McGowan – Shoot Boutique. Your time here will be a time to remember. Anne’s talented work with children, families and weddings is fabulous. Our family photo here on VRBO is a testament to that.

The photographs of Shoes Off hardly do the place justice. It’s simply an incredible home for your family and friends to unwind, relax, retreat and recharge. Bald Head Island is unto itself. Come and feel for yourself. You’ve never seen the sunset like you will see it from here.

Please visit us online for more photographs, video tours, island guides and maps. Please email us for more information.

We hope to have you as our guest soon.

Steve, Madeline, Maxwell and Eleanor.

Keywords: beach house oceanfront family friendly

More Details
Hide Details

We hope to have you as our guest soon. Steve and Kids - Madeline, Maxwell and Eleanor.

It's the most family friendly place we've ever been. Having our extended family scattered from the Midwest to the northeast USA, Shoes Off has been very friendly to ours. The place is the ultimate magnet in our selfishly attracting friends and family to come and visit.

It's darker at night than any place we've seen. The sky at night is bright like you can't imagine. It's safe for our kids and the dog to run free. The Island is quiet. The Island's ecosystem is diverse, from oceanfront beach, extraordinary marine life, 12,000 acre old-growth maritime forest to the marshes and creeks of the lower Cape Fear River Basin. The fishing can be excellent most months of the year, with always something biting even in the warmest months. The focus on nature and conservation here is a terrific element for our three young children to experience.

13 Reviews of Property 296013 in Bald Head Island, North Carolina

'Shoes Off' - Oceanview & 38 Steps to Beach-Family Paradise
average rating of 5.0 based on 13 reviews
business
'Shoes Off' - Oceanview & 38 Steps to Beach-Family Paradise
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p296013vb
(704) 506-5899 (North Carolina, USA)
Bald Head Island Coastal North Carolina
Greensboro, NC
5

Great house with a great location and excellent sunset views

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 24, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
The house was perfect for our family with small children 8, 6 and 3, they loved the bunk beds and there was plenty of room for some other family to join in for part of the week. The location on the island was perfect with the beach across the street, the BHI Club a couple hundred yards away and centrally located about equal distances to the marina, grocery store and the Shoals club. The house has a well stocked kitchen as well as beach toys and bikes for the kids. Great owner to work with, was one of our best family vacations
Recommended for:  Tourists without a Car, Families with Young Children
business
'Shoes Off' - Oceanview & 38 Steps to Beach-Family Paradise
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p296013vb
(704) 506-5899 (North Carolina, USA)
Bald Head Island Coastal North Carolina
Tequesta, Fl
5

Great home with great location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 24, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
Our family of 5 stayed at this great property over the week of July 4th. All of our 3 kids wanted to sleep in the kids room which had 2 sets of bunk beds with a couch. Wish we would have brought some more family or friends with us because there was plenty of room. The home is steps from the beach and just down the road from Bald Head Island Club, which had many activities for both adults and kids. The house had many outdoor decks to enjoy but my favorite feature was the hammock that rocked you in the beach breeze. Also, the owner was great & really only a phone call away. The house was well stocked with kitchen basics and the garage full of toys, bikes, chairs, umbrellas, golf carts. We enjoyed them all.
Recommended for:  Families with Young Children
business
'Shoes Off' - Oceanview & 38 Steps to Beach-Family Paradise
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p296013vb
(704) 506-5899 (North Carolina, USA)
Bald Head Island Coastal North Carolina
Raleigh, NC
5

Great home with perfect sunset views, lots of deckspace, very close to BHI club

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 4, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
This home was perfect for our family with small children 2 and 4, and we had plenty of room for the in-laws to stay for part of the trip. Overall great location, excellent outdoor space, owner was great to rent from, and the home had everything we needed. We're already looking forward to our next trip, and will be staying in this home again.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: ......And we look forward to having you BACK!
Helpful votes: 0/1
business
'Shoes Off' - Oceanview & 38 Steps to Beach-Family Paradise
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p296013vb
(704) 506-5899 (North Carolina, USA)
Bald Head Island Coastal North Carolina
Erie, PA
5

Look No Further

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 12, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
I'll keep it short and simple, this is the best house on the island. It is the perfect combination of comfortable beach house and ideal location. And it has the best (or as good as any) views on the island. You can walk to the golf club which has fantastic food, great pool, playground, etc. We stayed at an oceanfront property last year, and this home was actually a shorter walk.

We had the good fortune of staying for two weeks, and had both sides of my family coming and going at different times and the house never felt crowded. We the great decks it felt like there was a whole additional house.

The owner is a great guy, this is a great house, and Bald Head is a great place. You can't go wrong.
Recommended for:  Families with Young Children
business
'Shoes Off' - Oceanview & 38 Steps to Beach-Family Paradise
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p296013vb
(704) 506-5899 (North Carolina, USA)
Bald Head Island Coastal North Carolina
New Jersey
5

Pure Relaxation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 15, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
This house you have to see to believe. Perfect for families. It had absolutely everything you would need. My kids didn't want to leave. We had one of our best vacations yet. Steve the owner was great to work with and we will definitely be back. Thanks
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
'Shoes Off' - Oceanview & 38 Steps to Beach-Family Paradise
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p296013vb
(704) 506-5899 (North Carolina, USA)
Bald Head Island Coastal North Carolina
Cleveland, Ohio
5

Raving Fan of Bald Head Island and Shoes Off!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 8, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
My family stayed at Shoes Off July 4th week (2011). This was our first visit to Bald Head Island and weren't sure what to expect. We absolutely loved the island and the house was fantastic. Very clean, well kept and full of everything you would need during your stay (and more!). I have 5 kids that range in ages from less than 1 year to 16 years old and the island and house accomodated all of our needs. I would recommend to anyone who wants a relaxing beach vacation.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
'Shoes Off' - Oceanview & 38 Steps to Beach-Family Paradise
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p296013vb
(704) 506-5899 (North Carolina, USA)
Bald Head Island Coastal North Carolina
Winston Salem
5

One of the best yet!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 28, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2011
We have been to Bald Head Island 7 times now and this was our second time at Shoes Off. It has just gotten better with time! We were so happy to be in this beautiful house again. The views are AMAZING! I can still not get over how close the freighters are to the shore!
We had everything that we could possibly need during a vacation in paradise including amazing weather! The house had enough bikes and other toys for everyone! ( we will always fondly remember this visit as our daughter learned to ride a two wheel bike!) The Montgomery family was wonderful to deal with and had an answer to every question we had. We will definitely be back
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
business
'Shoes Off' - Oceanview & 38 Steps to Beach-Family Paradise
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p296013vb
(704) 506-5899 (North Carolina, USA)
Bald Head Island Coastal North Carolina
Concord NC
5

A must return!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 27, 2011
  • Stayed: May 2009
My wife and kids have been to shoes off several times and it only gets better with each visit. We have brought the in-laws, friends and even hosted a wedding on the beach. The accommodations and seclusion from life's rat race are perfectly balanced. Looking forward to our next visit.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
'Shoes Off' - Oceanview & 38 Steps to Beach-Family Paradise
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p296013vb
(704) 506-5899 (North Carolina, USA)
Bald Head Island Coastal North Carolina
Pittsburgh, PA
5

Wonderful Sunsets!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 20, 2010
  • Stayed: Nov 2010
We spent the 2010 Thanksgiving holiday at Shoes Off...a beautiful week of sunny skies and warm weather! Shoes Off was a wonderful mix for our extended family from grandparents down to the 2-year old. Plenty of traveling space with 2 golf carts, bicycles for everyone in the family and a spectacular view of evening sunsets from the balconies. The Montgomery's were extremely helpful and easy to work with. We look forward to visiting again!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
'Shoes Off' - Oceanview & 38 Steps to Beach-Family Paradise
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p296013vb
(704) 506-5899 (North Carolina, USA)
Bald Head Island Coastal North Carolina
Charlotte, NC
5

It doesn't get much better than this!

It doesn't get much better than this!
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 14, 2010
  • Stayed: Apr 2010
My family and I stayed at this property and cannot wait to return! Our Bald Head Island experience was perfect, beginning and ending with our accommodations! We highly recommend this property if you are looking for a fair rental price that includes a clean and spacious home with a great ocean view! We enjoyed drinking our coffee on the decks each morning and dining on the screened porch while watching the sunset. The two golf carts that accompanied the rental were perfect for zipping around the island. My kids loved riding the provided bikes and using the beach toys. Thank you for a most relaxing and perfect stay! Oh, and the elevator made getting our belonging in the house a breeze! :)
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3