Galveston house rental - Front of House from the Street
Front of House from the Street
 
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps10
  • 3 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights
 

Galveston House Rental Photos and Description
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10

WHY BOOK OUR BEACH HOME:

• Location – Pirates Beach is a premier location with a private Country Club and very nice beaches.

• Spoonbill is a Premier Property – Three-and-a-half years of very satisfied guests.

• Layout – The layout is ideal with 4 bedrooms and three baths all on one floor, a private elevator from the parking level to the main house floor and wide hallway and handicap accessible bathroom in the Master the home accommodates elderly and handicapped guests.

NOTE: USE OUR BOOKING SITE FOR EXACT QUOTES

PRICES SUBJECT TO CHANGE WITHOUT NOTICE

• Accommodations - There are two bedrooms with private baths (the master with a king size bed and a guest room with a queen size bed. A third bedroom has two twin beds and the fourth bedroom has two double bunk beds. The hall bathroom serves as the guest bathroom and the bathroom for the two bedrooms that don’t have a private bath. It has double sinks to accommodate two people when appropriate. There is ample closet space with several large walk-in closets and a large linear closet in the master.

• Fully Equipped Kitchen – High End SS Induction Range, SS Bosch dishwasher, SS Microwave and SS French Door Fridge and all cook ware and utensils, one Keurig and one large coffee maker, blender and a Cuisinart

• Guest Access – to Galveston Country Club

• Laundry – Large washer & Dryer, ironing board an iron

• Numerous Extras – these include:

1. Beach chairs

2. Beach sun shades

3. Beach umbrellas

4. Two large coolers on wheels

5. Large Weber BBQ grill

6. Picnic table and seating in the carport area

7. Hammock

8. Swing chair

9. Teak dining set on Lanai

10. Several lounging chairs

11. Beach towels

12. Children’s sand toys

13. Inflatable toys

14. Boogie Boards

15. Apple TV

16. Sony Play Station 3

17. 50” Flat Screen TV in Great Room

18. 30” Flat Screen TV in Bunk Room

19. Blue Ray DVD Player in Bunk Room

20. CD Player in Master Bedroom

21. Amplifier and Speaker for iPod or other music players

22. Children’s toys and games in the bunk room

23. Free high speed Internet WiFi

Optional Extras – Available:

1. Our Beach Buggy style golf cart rental

2. Wash down and put away beach chairs, umbrellas and shades service

3. Dump ashes and clean up BBQ grill service

4. Beach towel Washing, Drying & Put Away service

5. Oven Cleaning Service

HOW TO BOOK

1. GO TO ONLINE BOOKING WEB SITE AT:

CoastalLivingVacation.com - copied and pasted into your

browser. (There is a link further down the page)

2. Select the desired property.

3. Select 'Booking & Availability' from the top row of

options.

4. Select your check-in date on the calendar

5. Select your check out date on the calendar

6. Click the 'Book Now' button

You will be presented with an instant exact quote including all fees and taxes. You can select any options you desire and the total amount will be recalculated. You can then decide whether to proceed and make a booking request or quit.

HOW OUR GUESTS DESCRIBE THIER STAY

Fabulous, Perfect, Relaxing, Nicest, all words our guests use to describe our beach home just 300 steps from the beach with a beach view from the great room.

More Details
Hide Details

I work for the Department of the Navy and my wife is a 4th grade school teacher. We both enjoy traveling, sailing and cruising and being close to the water. We like to relax in the warm tropics with friendly people, good music and a nice cold drink. Talking, story telling, laughing, dancing and having fun with other people or sometimes just sitting quietly and reading a good book are our ideas of fun.

We enjoy meeting new people and have found the folks in Texas to be friendly and charming. We both like warm weather and frequently vacation in the Caribbean. My wife likes being in the sun and I like being in the shade. This house accommodates us both nicely.

John or Karen Griffith purchased this house in 2010

Everyone always asks us, 'Why Galveston?' when you live in California with its beautiful beaches and great climate. Candidly, Galveston is one of the hidden gems in coastal living. We wanted beach property that was not too far from a major city because we are used to having large city amenities and access whenever we want it with Los Angeles and Orange County just 45 miles away from our home in California. With Galveston's close proximity to Houston, it made it ideal. We wanted a home that was modern but beachy and close to the beach without being on the beach with the additional risk for damage from hurricanes like Ike. Pirates Beach is upscale but relaxed with a good balance of rules that makes it a nice place to visit and live. We find the people to be friendly and whether one is going to the Spot for hamburgers or to Rudy & Paco's for a gourmet meal we have had fun. Now with Waterman's open close by we have another great place to go for evening entertainment. We looked at many Galveston locations and properties before finally settling on this property. The big problem that many properties have as you go further west is that they are too far from town and we didn't want to spend our vacation driving when we wanted to go out for dinner or a movie. We felt Jamaica Beach was as far west as we would consider.

We hope that those of you that choose to rent our home enjoy it and take care of it as it is our home away from home and one we may well retire to if conditions permit.

19 Reviews of Property 295467 in Galveston, Texas

'Coastal Living' Beach House with a Gulf View in Pirates Beach
average rating of 4.9473686 based on 19 reviews
business
'Coastal Living' Beach House with a Gulf View in Pirates Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p295467
+1 951 9515003833
Galveston Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas
5

Fabulous Beach House!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 24, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
We have stayed in several houses in Pirates Beach in the last few years and this was the best one yet! The house is one block from the beach and has beach views from the living room and deck. It is very hard to find a house with 4 bedrooms on the same floor (it is all on one story) which is what we needed for two families with small children. The decor was very nice and the kitchen fully stocked. The golf cart is a must and there are enough beach toys that you can leave yours at home. And the access to apple TV was an added bonus. We will definatly rent again!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities
Owner's Response: We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to your return visit!
business
'Coastal Living' Beach House with a Gulf View in Pirates Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p295467
+1 951 9515003833
Galveston Texas Gulf Coast
Birmingham, Michigan
5

Wonderful family vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 31, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
2 families with 4 young children thoroughly enjoyed this house and its amenities. We took advantage of renting the house's golf cart and that made it easy to transport items to the beach. The house is exactly like what the photos describe. We enjoyed the ocean breeze on the patio and the openness of the main living areas. We quickly realized how great the outdoor shower was so all the kids could come into the house clean.
The owner was helpful with all our questions. I would highly recommend this property and Galveston to families looking for a relaxing vacation spot.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
'Coastal Living' Beach House with a Gulf View in Pirates Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p295467
+1 951 9515003833
Galveston Texas Gulf Coast
5

Awesome Vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 2, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
What an awesome vacation! The house was everything as advertised and more.
Wonderful open layout, and the door between sleeping and living areas was almost soundproof, allowing babies to nap or go to bed at night while adults visited or played games. Everything we needed for cooking, enjoying the beach or just relaxing was provided, and everything was top quality (loved cooking on the range) The whole property is well maintained and so clean we were comfortable letting the baby crawl on the floor. The Griffith's were easy to work with and
went out of their way to be sure everything was satisfactory. Everyone agreed it was the best vacation rental we'd ever had and look forward to staying there again.
Owner's Response: It was nice to have these guests return. They were especially helpful to me last year when the handle on the range broke and they helped me put in the new range. We enjoyed some nice conversation and I am pleased that everything was working perfectly for them.
business
'Coastal Living' Beach House with a Gulf View in Pirates Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p295467
+1 951 9515003833
Galveston Texas Gulf Coast
5

Awesome

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 25, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
What a perfect house for a beach vacation! Everything was perfect, so clean--it was wonderful to feel comfortable about the baby crawling on the floor! The furniture was perfect, the beds extremely comfortable with high end linens. Everything you could possibly want in the kitchen was provided and we loved the floor plan, so open. The door connecting living section with bedrooms really made the bedroom area quiet so we could put the kids to sleep for a nap or at night and the adults could visit or play games in the living area. Everything we could possibly want was provided and the Griffith's were wonderful to work with. We would recommend this home to anyone, and are hoping to return. Thanks for the best vacation home ever.
Owner's Response: We have been very fortunate to have really nice guests and it really makes us happy to see that they had a nice stay. Our housekeeping service does an awesome job of keeping the place looking nice and spotlessly clean.

The layout of this home is one of the nicest most comfortable layouts and works well whether one or two guests or ten. Thank you all for your business and we hope to see you again.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
'Coastal Living' Beach House with a Gulf View in Pirates Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p295467
+1 951 9515003833
Galveston Texas Gulf Coast
Conroe, Texas
5

Cute, Comfy, Clean

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 15, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
The Spoonbill House in Galveston is a great house for a family vacation or a group of friends. It has everything you will need to make your stay super comfortable. The house is well maintained and spotless clean. There are extra towels and linens, dishes, pots and pans as well as little extras like bottled water and shampoo. It is only a short walk to the beach and a few minutes drive to the Seal Wall. You will appreciate the comfortable beds, large porch area. and the overall decor of the house. The owner, John, cares about his renters. He called shortly after our arrival to make sure everything was satisfactory. We will definitely be returning to this house.
Paula and her 6 AXO soriety sisters
Class of 1969
Sam Houston University
Owner's Response: It always pleases us to hear that our guests had an enjoyable experience and stay. We are always looking for ways to be a little better and a little different and encourage guests to provide us with personal feedback. Our objective is to add the little luxuries that take a vacation rental to the next level Thank you for your kind review and we look forward to having you return.

John & Karen
business
'Coastal Living' Beach House with a Gulf View in Pirates Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p295467
+1 951 9515003833
Galveston Texas Gulf Coast
Kerrville, Texas
5

Fun For All

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 12, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
This is a fabulous house and fit our family perfectly. The elevator was a must for my dad and my husband's bad hip. Plus it sure helped with bringing up all of our stuff. When you enter the house, you feel so welcomed and at home. It is beautifully decorated and very spacious. Plenty of room for young grandkids. It has all the things that you need and much, much more. It is well taken care of, very clean, and a first class rental. We rented the golf cart and really put it to use. The grandkids loved stuffing it full of beach goodies and riding down to the beach. The beach is beautiful, not crowded, and very easy to access. You can put up a canopy and leave it up the whole time you are there. Crab hunting is a must on our list of things to do and they had a blast. Be sure you have plenty of flashlights and good batteries. The carport was a perfect place to barbecue and have a birthday party. The kitchen is top of the line and very easy to use. It is stocked with everything you might need to cook that perfect meal. One day we used the swimming pool at the club and the guys played golf. It was fun for all. If you ever have any problems or concerns, it is so easy to call someone. They will call you back in a very short time, and are always there to help in any way. John is a great person to work with because he is so thorough. I would definitely recommend this house to anyone who's looking for a fabulous rental that has everything. Would love to rent it this summer but I'm afraid I waited too long. I should have known it would be rented fast. Maybe next summer.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities
Owner's Response: Nothing makes Karen and I happier than to see that we provided a great vacation experience for our guests. We continue to make improvements and add little special touches that take the hassle out of a vacation and let people concentrate on having fun.
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
'Coastal Living' Beach House with a Gulf View in Pirates Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p295467
+1 951 9515003833
Galveston Texas Gulf Coast
Tomball, TX
5

Great Summer Vacation Rental

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 3, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2011
We had a wonderful time at this beach house. It really feels more like a real home than a second home...nicely furnished, working appliances, high end knives and dishes, etc. The access to the beach is great and the front porch always has shade and a great breeze. We had a small problem with an odor in the kitchen when we first arrived and the owner had someone out quickly to deal with it. We toured several homes on Pirates Beach while we were there, and this one was by far the nicest. We would definitely stay here again.
Recommended for:  Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities
Owner's Response: We are always pleased when guests have an enjoyable stay. We encourage guests to contact us on arrival to let us help them in anyway we can to make sure everything is up to their standards and to take care of any problems or to help with operating instructions, etc. We try to go high end on all amenities and include extras that many homes don't offer. We have new beach chairs, EZ-Up, new high end range and washer dryer, etc. We are constantly upgrading to make your stay comfortable and enjoyable.
business
'Coastal Living' Beach House with a Gulf View in Pirates Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p295467
+1 951 9515003833
Galveston Texas Gulf Coast
4

Lovely, close to beach, nice amenities

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 3, 2011
  • Stayed: Oct 2011
The house was in a great location, close to beach, nice open layout, spacious rooms with plenty of beds to sleep. The inside is very well maintained and clean with extra toys for all the kids to play with- deck/patio had plenty of seating. Plenty of pots, pans, plates, cups, etc to use in the kitchen, however the oven & stovetop were difficult to use and took very long to heat up. Since we cooked all of our meals at home over the weekend, it was a slight inconvenience. Only other downside was that the trash by the garage smelled awful and was overrun with flies/maggots which made throwing away the trash a very unpleasant experience. Those details were minor in our overall experience though and we would definitely recommend this home to friends and family. If we take another family trip to Galveston would definitely rent again.
Owner's Response: We are pleased that our guests found our beach home to be a nice home in a good location and that they enjoyed their stay. However, I would like to clarify her comments regarding the range and trash. First, the range is a brand new top of the line induction range. It is anything but slow. We try and let guests know by both calling when they check in and by laminated instructions at the house along with the information I send them that if they have any questions or need any help that they should call us. We also inform guests where the owner's manuals are for all of the appliances.

I realize that very few people have any experience with an induction range and very few people want to read directions but as a person that likes to cook, I wanted the best range that I could buy in my house. I could have replaced the former range with a moderate priced range for less than $1000 but instead I put in a $3500 Electrolux Stainless Steel Induction Range. An induction range will cook faster than gas with the same type of temperature control. It may look like a conventional glass top electric stove but it isn't. There are no heating elements and the top only gets warm from the heated pans. All of the heat is generated in the pot/pan. There are two requirements. You have to use pots/pans that have magnetic bottoms and you must match the pan to the the circles on the glass top. It can't be too big for a given circle or too small. I also provide a top of the line set of stainless cookware designed to work with the range. The biggest concern I have is that it heats so fast and so high if one doesn't turn it down that it will burn or scorch anything in the pan and the pan.. If the guest had called I could and would have explained it.

On the trash, I provide three large city trash containers. They are normally empty when a guest first arrives and they are next to the garage. There are occasions (though I don't think this was one) where one or more cans may have trash due to arrival of a gust following another guests between trash pickups that are on Mondays. If she had called, I could have informed her that she was free to move the cans to the other side of the garage or even behind the garage. They didn't need to stay where they were if that was creating a problem. We work very hard to keep our home in excellent condition and I encourage guests to call us at any time there is an issue. We will do our best to resolve any issue.
business
'Coastal Living' Beach House with a Gulf View in Pirates Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p295467
+1 951 9515003833
Galveston Texas Gulf Coast
5

Wonderful Time with Family

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 25, 2011
  • Stayed: Sep 2011
The home is absolutly beautiful. Everything was neat and clean with everything we could need for the 4 days. We had 4 families and everyone had their own space. When we gathered in the kitchen and living room, everyone was comfortable. We were so close to the beach but because our daughter-in-law has had a stroke, we rented the golf cart, which was a life saver for her. The elevator was also very nice to have access to. Everyone is so excited about doing this again next year! Our 3 year old granddaugther told me that this was the best vacation ever!! Priceless!! We were far enough out of town that the beaches were not crowded, but close enough to run in if we needed something. The water was the best we have ever seen. The beach was clean. Loved, loved, loved the mini vacation.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We want everyone to experience the kind of vacation experience you had. We realize that things can go wrong, the weather can be bad or something can break but we work really hard to make sure the things we can control are as good as we can make them for our guests. We have been fortunate to have had mostly terrific guests like Lisa B that take care of our property but have a good time. This makes it nice for the guests that follow and for when they return. Thank you for the kind words.

John & Karen
business
'Coastal Living' Beach House with a Gulf View in Pirates Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p295467
+1 951 9515003833
Galveston Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas
5

This beach house will spoil you on renting anything else!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 17, 2011
  • Stayed: May 2011
My family and I spent the most amazing week at this Pirates Beach beach house this past Memorial Day week. I've been meaning to sit down and write this review ever since, but life got in the way, if you know what I mean. Anyway, if you are thinking about renting here, stop thinking and do it. The owner has thought of everything and is intent on making sure your stay is perfect. Attention to details in this rental is amazing. The house is extremely well-appointed, and clean as a whistle. The decor has a casual, yet elegant beach vibe, and the floor plan could not be laid-out better. The large great room area (kitchen, living, and dining area) is able to be closed off from the bedrooms via a hallway door which allows for some in your group to have quiet at bedtime while others may stay up playing cards or watching t.v. The pictures do not do the main deck justice as it is larger than it appears; plenty of room for the whole family and perfectly situated for a great ocean view, but without the direct sun like the tanning lanai. I don't have room here to say all I wish, so let me make sure to get in a few important things: make sure to take a shower in the master bath room (you won't believe the shower head), there is a large laundry room/pantry right off the kitchen, and the elevator comes in so handy. If you can afford to do it, rent the golf cart; it's worth it. Don't let all the initial registration paperwork scare you away. This owner takes as much care with the details of your comfort and experience as he does with the details of the legal protection of his property; be glad he does. This beach house has everything you could want and it's all in great shape. Trust me, if you forgot to bring it, don't worry, they have it there. Try the guest passes to the country club; the pool there is great. I’ve absolutely nothing negative to say, but if you are a "soft" mattress person, choose the "master", "queen", or "bunk" bedroom as the twin beds in the "twin" bedroom have firm mattresses on them, which work for people who like "firm" mattresses of course. All the linens are primo and lots of comfortable pillows and duvets, etc. The downstairs covered area with porch swing, picinic table, hammock, and beach chairs, etc. is like a huge outdoor room. Can't wait to stay again! Thanks!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the glowing review. It definitely makes us feel like the extra effort we put into keeping the house up to high standards is worth it. We have just upgraded and replaced the washer and dryer to large high capacity units to make it easy for guests to launder their clothes when they need to Detergent, bleach and softener are supplied. Each season as funds permit we try and add more amenities and improvements. We want everyone to have a truly wonderful stay and vacation. We know when we go on vacation that is what we want so we try and give our guest what we would want and expect. We look forward to your return. Don't forget that holidays can be fun times at the beach too!
Helpful votes: 1/1