Georgetown house boat rental - The Island 40 with 15' dinghy and 4 hp 4 cycle outboard
The Island 40 with 15' dinghy and 4 hp 4 cycle outboard
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps4
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 3 nights
 

Georgetown House Boat Rental Photos and Description
1 stateroom, 3/4 bath, 1 convertable dinette sleeper. Sleeps 4

Step: aboard the Island 40 and enjoy the peace, beauty and wonder of the waters of mid-coast Maine with no big boat responsibilities. No experience required. Training to operate the 15' 4 hp skiff is included.

Imagine: Your own floating island moored in pristine Robinhood Cove. Tie up your runabout, kayaks, and canoes (or sign out Riggs Cove Rentals' Cape Dory Typhoon) and use the Island 40 as a base camp for your sailing, fishing and exploring passions. Our dock crew is available seven days a week in season to provide you with outboard fuel, ice, daily newspapers and general assistance.

Wine: and dine (and spin a yarn or two) at the Osprey Restaurant and the Tavern at Riggs Cove or cook and eat aboard. The galley is fully equipped and there's a rail-mounted propane barbecue grill for steaks and the freshest, finest Maine lobster anywhere.

Anniversary? Birthday? Celebration? Relaxing! Refreshing! Renewing! Adventure and Romance, Rest and Play. That's Tessie Ann.

As part of the Robinhood Marine Center complex, you'll have use of all the amenities the marina provides in season such as use of the Typhoon Daysailer, the pulling boat Maid Marion, free wifi, the Osprey Restaurant and Tavern at Riggs Cove, a free library, Friday evening bands, and the Wednesday evening lecture series. A 15' skiff with a 4 hp outboard is included to access the Island 40 and to explore miles of protected coastline.

More Details
Hide Details

10 Reviews of Property 295122 in Georgetown, Maine

Unique, romantic, motorless floating island (Tessie Ann) w/ 4 hp skiff
average rating of 5.0 based on 10 reviews
business
Unique, romantic, motorless floating island (Tessie Ann) w/ 4 hp skiff
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p295122
(207) 371-2525 (Maine, USA)
Georgetown Boothbay Harbor Area
5

THE BEST idea for a Coastal Maine vacation getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 23, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
We hate to write this glowing review of our five days aboard the Tessie Ann as it will certainly encourage more folks to book their own getaway on her...and we don't need more competition for booking our own many returns there! ;)

Not enough "positives" can be said about this experience. From being met at the Robinhood Marina by Andy, the owner both of the marina and the Tessie (and her builder) in the pouring rain with his offer of loaner raingear for our transit out to the houseboat on the mooring to buying lobsters right from the fishermen hauling their traps fifty feet from our stern on the morning of our departure this was a phenomenal time!

Not to be confused with camping, life aboard Tessie Ann is comfortable and warm and even "plush"...! More akin to a condo on the water. Nice soft queen bed, hot running water, a shower, a stove, a fridge, central heat (!), lounge chairs, kayaks right on board for your personal use! Of course the skiff is included to get back and forth to the marina and to explore the local waters. The views!...as you swing gently on the mooring the vistas change through the many large windows. Do you enjoy living with the local "inhabitants"? Seals will swim by beside you and an eagle might glide overhead as well. You're immersed in it all!

Tessie Ann is provided to you in immaculate condition and the very friendly marina staff is just a very short skiff jaunt away or available by hailing them on the included marine VHF radio in the unlikely event you need something you don't have! We would say that a "must do" is to wander in one evening and go to dinner at the Osprey Restaurant right there in sight of your houseboat. Tremendously good food! And, while you're onshore, visit the marina library and Gallery...

Finally, although everyone won't do this, we brought our own nineteen foot boat along on our getaway and launched it nearby in order to tie it up alongside Tessie for our own aquatic transportation to various scenic locales. With some local knowledge you can navigate to the city of Bath, Boothbay Harbor, the unspoiled fishing town of Five Islands, or simply find a warm cove who knows where and throw out the anchor and picnic and "take it all in"...
Your home base of Robinhood Marina has boat fuel available so it couldn't be more convenient!

Plan your vacation around spending some quality time on the good ship Tessie Ann. Disappointment is impossible!

Mary Pat and Jim
September 2013
Owner's Response: Thank your for your Five Star review! We appreciate your comments and expect our guest to leave us highly satisfied.
business
Unique, romantic, motorless floating island (Tessie Ann) w/ 4 hp skiff
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p295122
(207) 371-2525 (Maine, USA)
Georgetown Boothbay Harbor Area
Hyannis, Mass.
5

Living the dream!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 31, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
The minute you step on the Tessie Ann your relaxed. The house boat was clean and had everything we needed for the five day stay. Andy the owner was very helpful and friendly. The location is not only beautiful but peaceful. We took the skiff out daily to explore the area, saw seals and fish jumping on a daily basis. The 5 Island restaurant down the street was yummy. I would recommend this to anyone who wants to really relax and have fun. We'll be going back.
business
Unique, romantic, motorless floating island (Tessie Ann) w/ 4 hp skiff
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p295122
(207) 371-2525 (Maine, USA)
Georgetown Boothbay Harbor Area
5

Peaceful, beautiful and fun!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 16, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
We loved our stay on the Tessie Ann! I was amazed how well equipped the houseboat was. It had everything - full kitchen including an oven, full bath, and all the amenities from kayaks to salt and pepper! Robinhood Marina staff gave us a thorough briefing on both the houseboat and the skiff. Even people who aren't boaters would enjoy this experience - its that easy! We had friends join us for a night and they didn't want to leave. The bedroom is very comfortable and had plenty of room for all our stuff. The windows make it perfect for
stargazing as the boat swings on the mooring. It was like being in a planetarium. Cool breezes, seals swimming by, and great views make this something really special and a unique way to enjoy the coast of Maine.
Kayaks are included in the rental and are a perfect way to explore the cove. The skiff is easy to operate and the dock staff was incredibly helpful as well. I'd recommend this to anyone who is looking for a coast of Maine getaway that's totally unique.
business
Unique, romantic, motorless floating island (Tessie Ann) w/ 4 hp skiff
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p295122
(207) 371-2525 (Maine, USA)
Georgetown Boothbay Harbor Area
5

Paradise afloat

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 13, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
Tessie Ann lived up to our expectations and more. The history and background of Riggs Cove and Robinhood Marina was an added bonus. All amenities were thoughtfully provided and the towels and linens were plentiful and lovely.We wanted to take the comfy bed home. We will definitely be back! By far, the most peaceful vacation I have ever enjoyed. We loved the quiet beauty.The Osprey was very nice and we loved The Love Nest in Georgetown.If you love to read,adore water and nature-this is a dream come true!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Unique, romantic, motorless floating island (Tessie Ann) w/ 4 hp skiff
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p295122
(207) 371-2525 (Maine, USA)
Georgetown Boothbay Harbor Area
5

Amazing romantic weekend aboard the Tessie Ann!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 31, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
My girlfriend and I stayed aboard the Tessie Ann for Memorial Day weekend to celebrate her birthday and had an incredible time! I really can't say enough wonderful things about our stay.

First of all, it's a freaking houseboat! How cool is that?! But beyond that, I have to say how impressed I was with the graciousness and helpfulness of the Robinhood Marine Center staff as well as with Andy the owner showing us everything we needed to know about the marina and our boat. The Tessie Ann is a wonderful and extremely well thought out little houseboat that truly had everything we could have wanted to make our stay comfortable including a stove, microwave, ample cooking utensils and dishes, very comfy bed, hot water, central heating for those chilly Maine evenings, a stereo, a grill, a TV/DVD combo, a skiff and kayaks to explore the cove with and even outside table and chairs on which to enjoy breakfast on the bow of the boat!

Robinhood cove is a beautiful area with a really interesting history that is well represented in several of the buildings located at the marina. We saw tons of wildlife as we explored the cove including lots of osprey and even a bald eagle! Robinhood Marine Center is also just down the road from Reid State Park and if you've never been, I promise it affords some of the prettiest views I've ever seen in Maine. The marina also offers a very nice looking restaurant called the Osprey which we did not visit simply because we were having such an incredible time either exploring the cove, hanging out on the beach at Reid or enjoying our time on the Tessie Ann that we just couldn't find the time.

I would recommend the Tessie Ann without hesitaion, especially to a couple as it affords plenty of space for two people to stretch out and relax or to cuddle up and enjoy each other's company. We can't wait to go back!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Unique, romantic, motorless floating island (Tessie Ann) w/ 4 hp skiff
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p295122
(207) 371-2525 (Maine, USA)
Georgetown Boothbay Harbor Area
Dighton, Massachusetts
5

Rest and Relaxation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 17, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
Dear Warren/Andy,
We have been aboard the Tessie Ann two years in a row and look forward to our stay each year. Jim and I work several jobs each throughout the year, have three children and an elderly mother to care for so you can imagine how much we need the relaxation when we get to the Tessie Ann. The scenery is beautiful, the food is delicious (love lobster) and the people are so nice. It is a wonderful time for Jim and I to reconnect and rejuvenate ourselves. I highly recommend this vacation for anyone who just wants some time to relax, rest and enjoy what Mother Nature has given us. I have already recommended this vacation to others and they actually went up toward the end of the season and LOVED it. I'm sure they will be coming back too. The only thing I would like to see is the WiFi capabilities on the boat. I know there is WiFi on the dock and 3G works well, but WiFi on the boat would be great! Looking forward to next July when we come back.
Thank you,
Debbie & Jim Howland
Helpful votes: 1/2
business
Unique, romantic, motorless floating island (Tessie Ann) w/ 4 hp skiff
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p295122
(207) 371-2525 (Maine, USA)
Georgetown Boothbay Harbor Area
Yarmouth Port, Ma USA
5

This is a must do!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 1, 2011
  • Stayed: Sep 2010
If you want a getaway that is beautifully scenic,restful,with lots of options to explore. It is a stay aboard the unique Tessie Ann at Riggs Cove. We loved being on board the "floating island" with all the comforts of home along with the simply spectacular sunsets,scenery and ambiance of classic Maine on the protected coastline which we explored in the skiff provided to us. The marina is pristine,welcoming and only outshined by the memorable people that work there. We also loved the close proxmity to the Bath Iron Works Museum and the Botanical Garden in nearby Boothbay Harbor. But the best part of this vacation was the time spent taking in the sights and sounds relaxing on the Tessie Ann.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Dear John and Deb,

Thanks for taking the time to write this great review. We hope to see you after we splash our second houseboat this summer.

Cheers,

Warren
Helpful votes: 6/7
business
Unique, romantic, motorless floating island (Tessie Ann) w/ 4 hp skiff
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p295122
(207) 371-2525 (Maine, USA)
Georgetown Boothbay Harbor Area
Revere, MA US
5

Marine get "away from it all" with Ritz service!

Marine get "away from it all" with Ritz service!
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 28, 2010
  • Stayed: Aug 2010
My husband and I, in our 70's, rented immaculate Tessie Anne for three days in August and had such a good time we went back in September. The cozy craft is in a lovely, quiet cove with all the amenities aboard. Two walking distance restaurants give the cook/dishwasher relief, if needed, but everything is aboard to whip up a grand dinner. The accompanying toys, skiff with outboard motor, sailboat, kayak and rowing boat are available if you get bored with reading, day dreaming and just watching the marine world go by. Not likely! As sailboaters we really appeciated not watching for fog, ledges and lobster pots. This is a boat where staff helps you get your luggage aboard!. If you have not lived aboard a boat this is a great little adventure. We will be back
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 13/13
business
Unique, romantic, motorless floating island (Tessie Ann) w/ 4 hp skiff
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p295122
(207) 371-2525 (Maine, USA)
Georgetown Boothbay Harbor Area
Swanzey, NH
5

Moored floating island review

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 24, 2010
  • Stayed: Aug 2010
My husband and I rented Tessie Ann for three days in August and just can't say enough about this unique experience. As sailors, we love being on the water but didn't have our sailboat in this season so we tried this rental to enjoy some relaxing time on the water. It met all our expectations and beyond. Even if you are not a boater, you'll love this little floating abode. It's a unique, fun idea for a get away or vacation that you will find very intriguing. The marina that offers this rental is a great place to visit. All staff were friendly, helpful and proud of the beautiful setting they work in. We were delighted to see a notice on their dock bulleten board inviting anyone interested to take in a lecture on eagles one evening in their library. It was excellent! The Osprey nest in the harbor that we could see from our rental's deck while having our morning coffee and evening cocktails was an added bonus if you like birds. If you're looking for something a little different that offers a relaxing get away, try this rental. We loved it.
Kathy and Bill
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 12/12
business
Unique, romantic, motorless floating island (Tessie Ann) w/ 4 hp skiff
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p295122
(207) 371-2525 (Maine, USA)
Georgetown Boothbay Harbor Area
Kingfield, ME
5

A wonderful mini-break

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 17, 2010
  • Stayed: Aug 2010
We had a very relaxing stay on the Island 40......it was clean and comfortable...and great fun...not our usual getaway. Customer service was top-notch. Location was perfect....spent a lot of time watching the Ospreys as well as using the kayak and motorboat. Have to admit the weather played a part as well...we really lucked out...sunny skies and coastal breezes. The whole experience was just what we needed: a few days of easy living.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 14/14