Belmonte Calabro house rental - Entrance hall to house which has two bikes for our guest's use.
Entrance hall to house which has two bikes for our guest's use.
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps8
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 3 nights
 

Belmonte Calabro House Rental Photos and Description
2 large double bedrooms + sofa bed + single bed in LR. Sleep 6 adults in comfort

Large south-facing terrace with table and chairs, having views of lush forested mountains and the Mediterranean sea. On clear days you can see Stromboli island and the the coast of Sicily.

The timeless elegance of Belmonte Calabro is sympathetically reflected in the house interior, where classic French furnishings enhance the architecture of this house enlarged in the 18th century for a local noble family.

Set within the walls of this Medieval town, the house is in harmony with its timeless surroundings: A place of peace, tranquillity and romance - ideal for a break from urban life and all its stresses.

There is a large and new bathroom which is clean, modern and stylish, tiled with Italian marble, having a large separate shower cubicle, hand basin and bidet.

Two large double bedrooms, a sofa bed in one living room and a single antique day bed in the other. Sleeping 6 adults and 2 children.

A modern kitchen with all the facilities that any Italian cook would enjoy!

The house here in Belmonte Calabro:

Our house is a beautiful, whimsical and very different house from the mass of rentals that can be found here in Calabria. It is unique as is the village and the other beautiful rentals in Belmonte. Read our reviews, many families and American Calabrians, have stayed all have had a wonderful holiday.

The house was originally build in the 14th c. The furniture is found in HOMES not rentals. 19th century chairs, mirrors, sideboards, commodes and tapestries. The antique day bed is a French 19th century. Chandeliers in 4 of the main rooms with sconce's. Large rooms.(entrance hall alone is 5mx5m)

The dinning table is mahogany and sits 6 people comfortably, the kitchen is equipped for easy cooking. (no dish washing machine) with the sink placed under the window for a good view as you wash.

We have a TV in the second bedroom which is only for playing DVDs (bring your children's favourite DVD's) as well as a sky dish with 32'TV and DVD/video.

The house has easy access to the SS18. You are able to leave the main SS18 then you can meander on more minor roads with incredibly picturesque country side. There is easy access to Lametzia Airport which is only 40 minutes by car. Car hire can be found at the airport.

This is a home to enjoy

Medieval Castles and towns.: Fumerfreddo or Longobordi are both only a few kilometres away. It would be ideal to have a car which would allow you access to the Amalfi Coast (3 hours away) Or, you could drive to the Adriatic coast to visit Crotone, all within a days drive. Please note that parking is very difficult in high summer.

The whole of Calabria is full of the most wonderful undiscovered treasures. There are churches everywhere, ancient historical centres, there is not much you cannot see in Southern Italy which has fallen into a beauty and charm stage.

Strolling along a medieval village street with your galato (ice-cream) in hand on a hot day is delight.

Shops in the village or Hotel.: There is a pharmacy open in the morning and a Doctor's office.

A butcher who sells fresh meat. His price's are slightly higher than the supermarket but the quality is better. Open am.

A grocers which is sells dry goods but also has artisan cheeses and cured meats. Open am.

A tabbacci. (tobacconist) which sell cold drinks, coffee, espresso, croissants, magazines. and gelato,

Post office is open 8am till 12 midday.

Down in Belmonte Maratino there are more shops as well as the main street in Amantea with is old style character housing top brand fashion shops.

Villaggio Albergo Belmonte. Is an excellent hotel near by us. You can check this hotel out by doing a google search.

Please note all shops across Calabria close between 2pm and 5pm, for afternoon siesta.

Oh and of course there is the restaurant below which also has live music in the summer months. Its all local, Calabrian folkloric. Ancient music that hits your soul, whatever nationality you are.

More Details
Hide Details

Hi to all. My name is George. My cultural background is Greek but see myself as British. I grow up in Liverpool moving to London for work after Uni. and have been here ever since. I love London and enjoy the lifestyle which I am lucky to have on my door step. I also have property here which I also rent out to holiday rentals.

George Ellinas purchased this house in 2007

I worked in Italy and fell in love with Calabria which to me was a jewel on the doorstep of Europe which has been missed. Its culture, food and living history is amazing. Its beautiful villages, beaches, hospitality is from another by gone world. Buying this small 'Palazzetto' and restoring it (the first time since 1733) was a wonderful experience. Which made me and my partner Douglas really feel as if we where saving something well worth saving. The house is now as we like it. An elegant comfort which is so different to the mass of rentals which are on offer in this part of Calabria. I enjoy renting to people who enjoy the whole experience of not only the village which is magical but the house and the unique area of Amantea.

The terrace was for me the best. The view is of a lush green mountain and the beauty of the blue sea. The woshing of the swallows and the tranquillity of the silence. Its a get away from the urban life. A place to read, sleep, eat good local food (mostly organic!) Explore the medieval village, I can send additional pictures of this beautiful village and of course exploring the local area. There are many old living medieval villages here. They are alive with history but are also lived in. There are not good museums here. Everything is a museum.

11 Reviews of Property 295119 in Belmonte Calabro, Italy

Spacious,charming elegance with magnificent views over mountains and sea.
average rating of 4.818182 based on 11 reviews
business
Spacious,charming elegance with magnificent views over mountains and sea.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p295119
+44 7466 983204
Belmonte Calabro Cosenza
5

A most wonderful place

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 22, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
I'm always a little nervous about arranging for someplace from a distance and paying in advance, but this was one of the most excellent places I've ever been. Perched on top of a medium-sized mountain, overlooking the Mediterranean, I couldn't have asked for more. Part of a medieval labyrinthe of castle, restored villas, unrestored villas in a picturesque village, it was like being on a movie set. With a party of six, I was afraid that it might not have enough room, but it was perfect. A lovely place, very nice people and a great experience. I would like to go back sometime. For the record, to respond to the prompted questions, the place was accurately described and clean. I would certainly recommend it to my closest friends and relatives. Bravo, Belmonte Calabro.
Owner's Response: Dear Sam and family,
I never thought to compare the village of Belmonte as a "movie set" but now that you say it...I agree. I am also happy that the house was perfect for your family of 6. You and your family and even close friends will be welcome back anytime.

With respect, George
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Spacious,charming elegance with magnificent views over mountains and sea.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p295119
+44 7466 983204
Belmonte Calabro Cosenza
4

Belmonte In August

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 6, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
The entire process of greeting our property managers, contacting them when necessary and departure was very smooth and professional. The apartment itself also lived up to our expectations. There were no surprises. The kitchen is small but functional. It was well stocked with any utensil a cook might need. The apartment itself is a charmingly refurbished 800? year old building in the older area of Belmonte Calabro. I estimate that about half of the apartments in the immediate area are empty awaiting a loving hand. The town itself has one bar, one restaurant (which looked and smelled good) and a small piazza. Realizing that we were in Calabria during a heat wave we were surprised that being atop the hill did not offer much repose from the heat, including at night. Thankfully, the apartment was well stocked with fans. The beach, and more night life was about a 10 min car ride down the winding road. It was too far to walk but there are plenty of cafes and gelaterias in the area. Amantea is the larger town in the area and it had some shopping as well as groceries and an open market for local produce.
Owner's Response: Hi Luigi,
So happy that you enjoyed Belmonte and also the surrounding area. Many thanks for the review. Its always good to hear that the property management company (Yvonne and Vince) are professional.
Great to hear that you made it to the open market too. Its a must for anyone to buy produce which is in season, fresh and grown in most case's, organically.
I do hope you return again.
Yours, George
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Spacious,charming elegance with magnificent views over mountains and sea.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p295119
+44 7466 983204
Belmonte Calabro Cosenza
Cambridge, Mass. USA
5

beautiful apartment, beautiful village

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 16, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
Belmonte is a beautiful little village. We all loved it. Our girls (6 and 2) loved exploring the "secret passageways"; we dined al fresco at Intru u Vico and on our balcony (eating their food); Francesco and Andrea (and the Mamma and Papa) were incredibly nice and helpful. Most days we went to the bar at the end of the village where the girls had their granita. Daniele gave us a guided tour of the ruined castle and would have guided me up Monte Cocuzzo if I'd found the energy, but I just couldn't. We visited many of the villages around: Lago, Terruti, Fiumefreddo, Amantea, Cleto and some other little ones up in the mountains whose names I've forgotten. We attended the swordfish festival in Fiumefreddo and ate (and drank) like royalty (off plastic plates). We took early morning walks through the countryside around the village. We chatted to many of the locals and were gifted wine, tomatoes, cucumbers, figs, and bread. We swam in the sea at Belmonte Marina almost every day. We drove to Cosenza and got happily lost in the centro storico then ate like royalty in Ristorante Calabria Bella, this time off real plates. We explored the castle at Cleto then had lunch in a nearby agriturismo and ate the finest spread of food I've tasted in a while. Afterwards we were treated to a guided tour of the farm (where all our food had come from) by the chef. Wonderful.

And the apartment was perfect. Very charming, lots of character, comfortable, fantastic terrace with views of the mountains and the Med. Your comment in a previous email ("The apartment is yours for those two weeks", I think you wrote) made us feel very comfortable and very much at home. Thank you for that. We were lucky enough to see Stromboli the first few days, which was a real treat. (Apparently the summer haze normally obscures it.) And Francesco was always a complete star downstairs. He and his family, and especially his restaurant, really added an extra richness to our experience (and an extra inch to our waistlines).

We never used the internet - we had no need, or wish, to be connected to the outside world! Olympics? What Olympics?

And now I'm hooked on Calabria. I think the Aspromonte next time, although Sergio in the little tourist agency office around the corner from the apartment advised against it - said it's too undeveloped. Sounds perfect.
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your review Andrew. It's always a delight to hear that Belmonte has been enjoyed as much as I too enjoy it. I am also so happy that your young girls enjoyed the exploring of this beautiful medieval village. If you don't make it to Aspromonte, you are welcome back to Belmonte. Thank you for the pictures too. Nice to put a face to the people that stay at our home.
With great respect, George
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Spacious,charming elegance with magnificent views over mountains and sea.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p295119
+44 7466 983204
Belmonte Calabro Cosenza
4

RELAXING HOLIDAY

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 16, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
We had a very relaxing holiday in Belmonte which is a typical mountain top village. The apartment was spacious and more than adequate for us with the terrace being a highlight with its beautiful views. The restaurant nearby was excellent and Francesco looked after us very well. We explored the surrounding area by car but be warned although the Calabrians are more than friendly this changes when they get behind the wheel.
However we were charged 60E cleaning fee which had clearly not been carried out before our arrival. The kitchen floor was dirty and crockery had been left to drain and not put away. There was mould in the fridge salad drawer. In the bathroom there was used soap and face cloths in the shower,dirty washing in the machine and a used half bar of soap lying in the shower plug hole. The towels were very old and worn. There were a number of bags of pot pourri on the spare bed.On the lounge balcony a stepladder had been left. There were various mops buckets and brooms left lying about.
We were also charged 60E for meet and greet but were a little put out by Yvonne who looked at the flower pots and noticed they needed watering and said as she left Oh don't forget to water them .
Overall we had a most enjoyable holiday but do expect when renting a holiday home which we have on many occasions that we would be renting a clean and tidy apartment, this was not the case as it was more like moving into someones home with their personal effects being left around
This would not prevent us from returning but George needs to review the cleaning and find somewhere to leave his personal effects out of view of guests.
Owner's Response: I am so happy that you had a good relaxing time at Belmonte. I always try to make sure that the house is clean and welcoming to my guests. Sometimes I get it wrong. I have already asked why the house was not left for you as expected and still waiting for a response.

We will of course make sure that our rental property is is excellent condition from now on. We all drop the ball sometimes. I am glad that it did not effect your holiday and that you all had a relaxing time.

Thank you for your honesty but also for the 4 stars too. I did need to know and thank you.

George
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Spacious,charming elegance with magnificent views over mountains and sea.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p295119
+44 7466 983204
Belmonte Calabro Cosenza
5

What the Greeks found in Italy and shared with us

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 11, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
A???? ??? ??????, ?????, ??????????, ?? ???? ?????
???????, ???? ?????? ????? ?????????? ??????·
?????? ?’ ???????? ???? ????? ??? ???? ????,
????? ?’ ? ?’ ?? ????? ????? ????? ?? ???? ?????,
????????? ?? ?? ????? ??? ?????? ???????.

Staying at this gorgeous place in Belmonte Calabro gave us a clear feeling and idea (which was just an assumption until then) as to why Odysseas went out defying the perils of the sea to arrive at this unmatched place on earth.
A great Thank You to Yvonne, George and Doug! - who helped us 'onboard' in the most friendly and easy way one would expect. We loved the sun and the full moon, the terrace, the view of the sea and the Stromboli, the tastefully furnished rooms, the kitchen which made us become a cook twice a day, the silence, the spirit of all the centuries and stories embedded in this unique site.
And - on a cultural and political note - if you want to understand what makes up Europe in a historical, cultural, religious and contemporary perspective: this is the place to go. Not the financial districts and - sorry to say this - the Internet.

Tom & Arkadi & Vitus
Owner's Response: Dear Tom, Arkadi and Vitus,

I think that this is one of the best ever reviews we could have expected. The words encapsulate the feelings I have for this part of Italy. You must be a writer or just a man who with his two sons is able to ride the waves of the ancient past and appreciate how it belongs to all Europeans.

Yvonne, Douglas and I where all so happy that you came to our home and to bring your young son's to share such a beautiful time together.

I personally thank you for being the father that you are, your son's are both amazing.

With respect. You are always welcome back here. George

The review did not come out in German, which is a shame but I hope homeaway will take notice and allow it to happen...
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Spacious,charming elegance with magnificent views over mountains and sea.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p295119
+44 7466 983204
Belmonte Calabro Cosenza
Moscow, Russia
5

Amazing apartment

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 13, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
??? ????? ?????? ???????????. ??? ??????????? ?????????. ????? ???? ???????? ? ?? ????? ?? ????? ???????????. ?? ??????? ??? ??? ?????? ? ?????? ?????? ????? ? ??? ?????? ??? ???? ?????????.
??????? ????? ??????: ???? ??? ?????????????, ??? ? "?????" ?????, ??? ??????????? ??? ?????, ? ???? ? ???? ????? ???????. ???? ?????????? ????? ???????? - ??? ????????, ?? ?????? ? ????? ??????. ????????? ??? ?? ???????. ??????????? ??????? ??????? ? ??? ? ???. ? ???????????? ??? ???????. ? ?????????????? ? ????? - ????????, ? ?? ??? ????? ???????????????? ? ??????????.
The city itself is fantastic. There's an incredible atmosphere. Very few tourists and this is very authentic. We stayed there for two weeks and walked every evening and every time it was interesting.
A good selection of beaches: there are as equipped as well as "wild" beaches, where almost no people, and the entrance to the sea is very convenient. Apartment is very stylish - all exquisite, tasteful and very comfortable. Thought out every detail. Incredibly beautiful terrace and the view from her.
There are two owners. I was in contact with one of them - Douglas, and he was very friendly and responsive.
Owner's Response: Thank you Enkaterina,

I am happy that you and your family enjoyed the house so much. It was a pleasure to have you come to our home and enjoy the delight of an area which has been let to be ancient and used. The very fact that there are so few tourist's is why it has kept its authentic feel.

It is a beautiful unspoilt genuine part of Italy...Viva CALABRIA.
Helpful votes: 11/11
business
Spacious,charming elegance with magnificent views over mountains and sea.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p295119
+44 7466 983204
Belmonte Calabro Cosenza
5

ideal - perfecto ))

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 16, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
I recommend this charming place, for two of for a whole family.
The house is so nice, welcoming... and the village is an enchantement

Very confortable, warm enough in summer ))
with a nice view from the Terrace !
What to say more ? .... try it !
Christophe
Owner's Response: Thank you Christophe for taking the time. It was a pleasure to have you at the house. I hope its not too cold in Moscow.

George
Helpful votes: 11/11
business
Spacious,charming elegance with magnificent views over mountains and sea.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p295119
+44 7466 983204
Belmonte Calabro Cosenza
5

Bella Belmonte Calabro

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 7, 2011
  • Stayed: Oct 2011
We were fortunate to have stayed in this beautiful home for one month and it is hard to express in words how beautiful this place really is. The scenery from our terrace overlooking the Mediterrean sea and the vast countryside was stunning.
Everything about this home is 5 star...spacious and all the conveniences that we are used to at home plus the bonus features....yes what can I say about that view! Eating on the terrace almost every day and night with the warm breezes The sound of the church bells at 0730 which was actually music to my ears got us up and going in the morning. We actually looked forward to the sound of those bells! The views were breathtaking from every direction.,wondering around the narrow cobblestone streets exploring and meeting the locals who were so friendly to us. I enjoyed cooking in the modern kitchen, dining on the terrace and If you are not in the mood to cook just below is a family run restaurant serving up delicious Calabrian style dishes. This home in the historic town of Belmonte Calabro is a vacation home that we would truly recommend for anyone wanting to experience the Calabrian culture and cuisine. Thanks to George and Yvonne for the excellent service you provided us which made us feel right at home.
Bella Belmonte!
Carmen & Paolo, Thunder Bay Canada
Owner's Response: Dear Carman and Paolo,

It is with delight that I read your review and your discription of our home-rental. We worked very hard to make it a pleasure for all our guest to enjoy and so far all have.

I find that the tranquility and the friendly and welcoming locals is from an age long passed but not here in Calabria where "tourist" are looked on with respect that they have chosen this part of undicovered Italy rather than the more known north.

Thank you so much for your wonderfull review and hope that we see you again here in Belmonte.

With respect,

George
Helpful votes: 10/10
business
Spacious,charming elegance with magnificent views over mountains and sea.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p295119
+44 7466 983204
Belmonte Calabro Cosenza
5

A rental exactly as presented in the announcement

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 8, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
Nous avons passé 4 nuits chez George et Douglas et nous aurions prolongé volontiers de quelques nuits ! L'appartement dans le centre historique est magnifique, meublé avec goût, avec tous les équipements nécessaires : les propriétaires y vivent quand ils ne louent pas et nous font profiter de leur confort...
Une terrasse surplombant la mer, les ruelles étroites "où ne passent que les hommes et les ânes", pas de voitures, un village médiéval que l'on arpente pour en découvrir chaque recoin. Les seuls bruits sont les pas des passants et les heures sonnées à l'église. Et la marina est à 5mn en voiture pour des plages peu fréquentées même au mois d'août.

Le soir, vous pouvez prendre l'apéritif au bar à 200 m de la maison et surtout descendre chez Francesco deux terrasses plus bas pour déguster les plats de la Mama, différents tous les jours selon les humeurs de la cuisinière. Cuisine surprenante, appétissante, plaisir des yeux et du goût, qu'il vous sera difficile de retrouver ailleurs avec un tel rapport qualité / prix. Et vous pouvez même vous faire livrer les antipasti à domicile pour les déguster sur la terrasse...

Et pour couronner le tout, l'accueil des propriétaires est des plus chaleureux à tel point qu'au moment du départ, vous avez l'impression de quitter des amis.

Nous reviendrons et vous reviendrez.

We spent 4 nights at George and Douglas'home and we would really like to extend a few days! The apartment in the historic center is beautiful, tastefully furnished with all necessary facilities: the owners live there when they don't rent and we enjoy their conveniences...
A terrace overlooking the sea, the narrow streets for "men and donkeys", no cars, a medieval village where we paced to find out every corner. The only sounds are the passers and hours ranging at the church. And the marina is 5 minutes driving to the beaches uncrowded even in August.

In the evening you can have a drink at the bar (200 m from the house) and, above all, go down to the Francesco's Osteria to taste dishes from the Mama, different every day, depending on the moods of the cook. Surprising cuisine, appetizing feast for the eyes and the taste, it will be difficult to find elsewhere with such a quality / price ratio. And you can even make you deliver the antipasti at home for dinner on the terrace ...

And over the top, the home owners are very friendly : on check out, you feel like leaving friends.

We will return and you will return.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: My Dear Bruno and family,

It was such a pleasure to have you stay at our rental property here in Belmonte Calabro. We both enjoyed your company and meeting your wonderful family. The medieval village of Belmonte is a gem with the tranquillity that has been lost in many towns. Its an escape from the real world and hearing the church bells in the morning is a delight.

Mama at the Osteria will be so happy to hear your comments..as will Franceso.

We thank you for your wonderful review. I have your daughters drawing in a frame on the wall. She can see it again when you return.

With respect,

George and Doug.
Helpful votes: 11/11
business
Spacious,charming elegance with magnificent views over mountains and sea.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p295119
+44 7466 983204
Belmonte Calabro Cosenza
Atlanta,USA
5

Thanks Doug...

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 1, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2010
We had an amazing time...a great "home" after our travelling from Morocco to Sicily and then up to Calabria. After staying in countless hotels we arrived to stay for 3 weeks in a real HOME...

Please add another bike.....one is not enough (the boys where in constant fighting mode...lol) It made the end of a long holiday into a major memory filled joy...As for your furnishings, beautiful and the detail in the kitchen was well thought out (surprized to even find a garlic crusher and pizza plates)

Franceso the owner of the Osteria was wonderful and the food was autherntic Calabrian seafood dishes.(the boys just ate pasta :( )

Thanks for making us feel at home in our ancestral country...

Mrs El Greco (Atlanta USA)
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: It was a pleasure to have you stay at our home/rental property. You enjoyed it as much as we do too. Its a shame the boys only had the one bike but we shall buy another. (Our idea was so that someone would be able to go to the local market and back in a few minutes and did not think that teenages would be just plain using it.:(

Thanks for the wonderful review too Maria. We are so happy we made your holiday a true "home from home" experiance.

With good wishes for the new year to you and your family.

Doug
Helpful votes: 14/14