Chatham farmhouse rental - Dining room with wood-burning fireplace
Dining room with wood-burning fireplace
 
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps6
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Chatham Farmhouse Rental Photos and Description
4 bedrooms + twin-bed sleeping alcove, 3-1/2 bathrooms, sleeps 8

Escape the city heat in this stately, charming, updated, exquisitely furnished classic farmhouse on 8 acres with in-ground pool. 4 BRs plus twin-bed sleeping alcove. Three bedrooms have private bath. Parlor with baby grand piano, library with pull-out sofa, dining room, computer office with hi-speed Internet. New chef's kitchen & family room, new master bath. 4 fireplaces. Elegant yet cozy. Perfect for relaxing and ideal for entertaining city friends. Close to Tanglewood and other Berkshires attractions, antiquing or simply enjoying summer's pleasures. No smoking and no pets.

Carefully restored with period antiques, the perennial gardens are thoughtfully planted and carefully maintained. The terrace is ideal for dining al fresco, and the porch is a welcome retreat. Summer kitchen garden ensures fresh herbs and vegetables in season.

9 Reviews of Property 294979 in Chatham, New York

Country retreat in the heart of Hudson Valley horse country with inground pool
average rating of 4.375 based on 9 reviews
business
Country retreat in the heart of Hudson Valley horse country with inground pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p294979
+1 917 597-6363
Chatham Hudson Valley
5

A beautiful getaway!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 27, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
This is a beautiful, spacious home in a gorgeous setting..
it was a pleasure to fall asleep under the plush comforter with the windows open to the autumn air..
and wake to the sounds of a country morning and the smell of coffee from the well-stocked kitchen.
Fireplaces (seemingly everywhere) take the chill off the evenings. A true retreat from the harried city.. yet not very far away..
business
Country retreat in the heart of Hudson Valley horse country with inground pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p294979
+1 917 597-6363
Chatham Hudson Valley
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Weekend with the girls

  • Submitted: Sep 19, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
Your home is gorgeous!! THank you so much. Perfect place for us to reconnect and find peace. The Girls
business
Country retreat in the heart of Hudson Valley horse country with inground pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p294979
+1 917 597-6363
Chatham Hudson Valley
4

our month in the country

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 17, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
This was one of those rare occasions when the description and the pictures matched the reality. For us it was a working vacation,and having proper phone and Internet access was a definite plus. The owner goes out of her way to deliver the property in pristine condition,and even provides a guide as to how to best enjoy the property. Access to the fresh naturally grown vegetables growing in the garden,next to the full sized in- ground pool was a real delight. Having 4 bedrooms and 3 1/2 baths made it easy to have guests without the feeling of being crowded,or competeing for the amenities. The house is decorated and furnished with an eye toward preserving and enhancing it's status as a 200 year old historic landmark. While the rest of the house is definitely a reminder of another place and time the kitchen is 100% modern and fully equipped with 2 ovens and dishwashers,...all done up in custom built bright red cabinetry and equipped with every possible cooking utensil.It is terrific
Since the house and its furnishings are antiques we would recommend this lovely house to adults and their well behaved children and guests.
If you're not willing to help maintain the ambiance created and maintained by the owner this is not a property to spend a month or more in the country. Another big plus is the houses easy proximity to charming Chatham,NY it's friendly people, and three restaurants of note Blue Plate,Chatham House,Destino. It's really nice to have civilization so close to country living.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Country retreat in the heart of Hudson Valley horse country with inground pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p294979
+1 917 597-6363
Chatham Hudson Valley
5

Charming home in beautiful Columbia County

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 10, 2011
  • Stayed: May 2011
I have been a visitor in this charming federal-style home on many occasions and in all seasons. It is a delight: perfectly scaled, ideally situated, and impeccably maintained. From North Chatham it is but a short distance to the Catskills, the Berkshires and southern Vermont. Fall color in the area is exceptional. For skiers and all who enjoy the outdoors the options are many. There are many restaurants, galleries, and antique stores in the vicinity, including those in Hudson, Great Barrington and Bennington. The house itself is designed for informality or formality, as you choose. The kitchen is well equipped in every respect, as are the bedrooms and bathrooms. Every room is comfortable and thoughtfully decorated. I have always enjoyed the ambience offered at this property.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Country retreat in the heart of Hudson Valley horse country with inground pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p294979
+1 917 597-6363
Chatham Hudson Valley
5

Fabulous place!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 6, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2011
This house is all that we could have envisioned, and more. Located in Northern Columbia County, it is beautifully landscaped and tastefully decorated with period antiques.

We lazed by the pool, took long walks along quiet country roads, slept late in the quiet and solitude.

The owner tended to every need, right down to setting the table for us and giving us full run of the pantry.

Bedrooms were clean, comfortable and more than adequate, and each had its own bath, something not often found in rentals.

We found it quaint to remove our shoes, believing we were helping to preserve a bit of history in this wonderful old house.

We visited in the summer and twice in the winter - we loved each time, and we'll be back this fall.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Country retreat in the heart of Hudson Valley horse country with inground pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p294979
+1 917 597-6363
Chatham Hudson Valley
5

Great time was had by all!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 6, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
My friends and I just rented this wonderful, 200-year old house nestled next to a horse farm and just minutes from the Old Chatham Sheep Herding Farm and 30 minutes from Tanglewood. From the very start, we loved it, and it only got better.

We were welcomed with a graciously set table with linens and country China, and a bottle of Champagne was chilled for us in the refrigerator.

The house has been renovated true to its historical period, filled with fine antiques and cozy nooks. It has 4 fireplaces, bedrooms with private baths and a welcoming porch with views of fields and gardens. The pool was warm and inviting and the terrace perfect for outdoor grilling. A few mosquitoes, but this is the country, after all.

The fully-stocked pantry made it easy to prepare meals, and we were only too happy to replace what we used (adhering to the "honor system") at the end of our stay. We never wanted to leave. We're planning to return for pumpkin picking and fall foliage.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Country retreat in the heart of Hudson Valley horse country with inground pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p294979
+1 917 597-6363
Chatham Hudson Valley
5

lovely house

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 3, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2011
My family and I just rented this beautiful, pristine, period farm house nestled on nearly 9 acres, and fell in love. It is stately, beautifully furnished and has been carefully restored to its 1813 origins.

We arrived and found the table set for us, a fully-stocked pantry and were delighted with the "honor" system, since it saved our having to make a mad dash to the store after arriving tired from the West Coast.

The experience was like stepping back in time, although with all of the modern conveniences, including a newly renovated kitchen, two dishwashers, professional-quality stove and a fireplace that made us yearn to return in wintertime.

The house had beautifully appointed bedrooms and baths, and although one room with bath had not yet been redone, it was clean, fresh and more than adequate.

The lawns and perennial gardens were a visual delight, leading to the pool where we could lounge amid views of distant fields and farms.

It was most pleasant to relax on the covered porch, glass of wine in hand, where our biggest decisions were what time we wanted to swim and dine. There was even a vegetable and herb garden, making our meal preparation a fun experience.

While old houses do have quirks, a quick call to the owner resulted in the caretaker being on the property within an hour.

We have told our friends and already we are planning our return visit.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your glowing review. As an owner of a property, I take pride in my guests' comfort, and I am delighted that you and your family enjoyed being at Merrywood on several occasions. Please come visit us in winter, when you can curl up with a glass of wine beside one of several roaring fires.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Country retreat in the heart of Hudson Valley horse country with inground pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p294979
+1 917 597-6363
Chatham Hudson Valley
Milford, Pennsylvania
5

Elegant Exception to Frumpy Farms

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 2, 2011
  • Stayed: May 2011
I have stayed at this house several times, and each time I enjoyed myself. The dressy antiques,numerous fireplaces, custom murals, and exceptionally well-equipped eat-in kitchen make it an easy -- and impressive -- place to gather and entertain on a country weekend. It is quite a contrast to the typically available country rental houses with their "good enough for renters" worn furniture and shabby carpets.

This home is ideal for the person who likes hiking, biking and the great outdoors, but wants to come home after a day of enjoying natural beauty to a clean bath and an elegant meal (and almost anything one serves feels elegant in the dining room).

On days when all casual is the way to go, returning to an early evening swim and a barbeque in the ample back yard garden is always an option.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Country retreat in the heart of Hudson Valley horse country with inground pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p294979
+1 917 597-6363
Chatham Hudson Valley
New York, New York
1

DO NOT RENT THIS PROPERTY!!!

  • 1 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 29, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
Most uncomfortable home we’ve ever rented. Several amenities listed didn’t exist. And the owner charged us for damage we didn’t do and beverages we didn’t drink. When we called her to discuss the charges, she actually hung up on us before we could finish. We’ve rented numerous vacation homes, including three last summer alone, and have never had any portion of the security deposit withheld. We were so disappointed with the house and its lack of comforts that we considered leaving and trying to get our money back. Despite its shortcomings, we treated the house and its furnishings with respect, even adhering to the owner’s nonsensical rule of not wearing shoes to protect the hardwood floors (which need serious sanding and refinishing). We left the house as we found it, neat and organized with clean dishes in dishwasher and used towels placed in washing machine.

THE HOUSE:
• No more than two people could sit comfortably on very small upholstered couch; chairs were antique wooden or metal, only a few with cushions.
• No A/C or ceiling fans (it was 94 degrees and humid), just portable fans (for which we had to bring our own extension cords.) One box fan was too dirty to use. We had to open old wooden windows and put in screens ourselves.
• Wireless Internet works downstairs only but not in all rooms
• Filthy gas grill, which we cleaned but grease on bottom caught fire even after cleaning.Picnic table with hole in top from rotting wood, with one broken bench in firewood shed.
• Pool had green, cloudy water when we arrived, slippery bottom clean from algae; no lights in or around pool, so can’t use pool after dark.
• Dirty, cobweb-covered “garden chairs” had to be hosed down and scrubbed.
• Pool lounge chairs were faded and moldy.

THOUGH LISTED ON WEBSITE THERE ARE NO:
• Outdoor hot tub.
• Balcony.
• Outdoor grill charcoal.
• Outdoor grill electric.
• 2 bicycles—there but unusable

THE SECURITY DEPOSIT
• Charged $65 to repair cracked kitchen tile we did not break. Handyman said the owner had broken some previously.
• Charged $14 for one beer drunk from refrigerator
• Charged $8 for ¾ bottle of citronella oil used for insect torches
• Charged $125 for cleaning that she does herself; says if it takes more than five hours to clean she’ll charge more. Charged $20 extra to clean candle wax from floor where candles were never used by us, If she paid a professional cleaning service, it wouldn’t take even five hours.
Owner's Response: There are at least two sides to any story. As the owner of a beautiful 1813 house with period features and valuable antiques and furnishings, I take pride in the way it is maintained.

I operate the property on the honor system, which was outlined in the House Rules sent to the renters before they arrived, and reiterated upon their arrival. They were also informed that outdoor shoes are not allowed inside, a policy that is very common among homeowners of older houses with original floorboards, and one that even Martha Stewart maintains.

These renters originally contracted for a party of 4, then after they signed and returned the agreement and paid the fee, informed me they would be a party of 6. I knew then that there would be additional wear and tear and usage expenses for which I was not being compensated.

When they arrived, the premises were in pristine condition, and as I showed them around the house and grounds, they were effusively positive about everything. They were at the pool when I left, and never mentioned anything about its condition. My pool is maintained by my caretaker, who does not work on Sunday, the day these renters arrived.

I require a security/damage deposit to protect me from any damage or usage of items not covered by the rental agreement. While they deny breaking the tile, I find it strange they thought to discuss broken tile with my caretaker. If no tile was broken, why did they claim to have spoken to him about it? There actually were two broken tiles, although I charged them only for one. They informed me of a broken decanter 2 days after they departed, which they had tried to repair themselves and which leaked contents all over the counter and kitchen sink.

The renters were informed ahead of time that there would be only one bicycle. The grill was an oversight, and I apologized to them.

The renters left a nice note upon their departure, stating the house was lovely and that they had a wonderful time.

It appears that when I exercised my right to deduct from their security deposit for damage and for items they used not covered by the rental contract, they changed their mind. It is unfortunate, and I am sorry they were unhappy.

As an owner of a lovely property, I take great care to ensure my guests are comfortable and that any problem that arises is quickly corrected. I am sorry these guests were unhappy.
Helpful votes: 1/2