Cape Haze house rental - Beach is only 50 yards from your front door.
Beach is only 50 yards from your front door.
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps5
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 4 nights
 

Cape Haze House Rental Photos and Description
House, 2 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2 Baths, (Sleeps 4-5)

Coquina Cove is your very own private tropical oasis in the sun. This wonderful, very well kept, two bedroom, two bath lagoon-front home offers great Gulf and water views from every room, warm Gulf breezes and your own private dock. Decorated in a tropical island style you’ll enjoy quiet walks down the beach with hardly a person in sight!

No crowds here, just miles of unspoiled, 100% natural Florida (the way it used to be!). World renowned shelling, fantastic sunsets, bird watching galore, kayaking right out the back door, dolphins, gopher tortoise, and a lively lagoon where fish jump all day long. Don Pedro State park is a short walk down the beach. You’ll want to capture the Island’s charm by traveling via golf cart, we rarely use cars here. Golf cart rental is available.

Bring your boat or rent one for the ultimate in Florida lifestyle. The private dock will accommodate a single boat up to 22 feet. Like to fish? Fish right off the dock or try your luck surf fishing or book a charter with one of the local guides for a thrilling day of sport fishing or backwater challenges. Trout, Redfish, Snook, Tarpon and Grouper are just a few of the many species that call our waters home.

Don Pedro Island (Palm Island) is a barrier island and a stones throw from the mainland. You’ll arrive via a short car ferry ride that takes about three minutes. Our island has a terrific resort that offers a casual restaurant, ice cream/deli shop, sundries store and a pirate show for the kids. The island is almost all single family homes so you’ll quickly find it has a pristine 'non-commercial” family feel. There are no large high-rise resorts, beach bars or traffic and noise. If you’re looking for that place in the sun that you can actually hear the wind whistle through the palms - you’ve found your place.

Off island you’ll be close to restaurants, shops, golf courses and world famous Boca Grande as well as other attractions. As we like to say... civilization is close but not too close. Boca Grande offers exclusive shopping, dining and sightseeing. By boat you can reach Cayo Costa Island State Park and Cabbage Key where Jimmy Buffet was inspired to write 'Cheeseburger In Paradise.' Do it all, or do nothing at all, that’s the “island” lifestyle. It’s laid back, always casual (leave your tie at home) and Florida at its best.

Sleeps four - five comfortably. No smoking. Pets allowed with owner's permission, additional pet deposit and $50 per pet fee. Fenced area for your convenience. Open floor plan. Fully equipped kitchen. Nice screened patio that opens into the living room. Master bedroom with private bath. cable TV, wifi, hammock, hot tub and more!

Don Pedro is an island experience like no other. Come to our island and see why so many have fallen in love with this little 'slice' of paradise!

Keywords: Beach House, Cottage, Casa, Bungalow, Unit, Town Home, Townhouse

More Details
Hide Details

I grew up in Florida and as a child and teenager we would always head over to the Gulf Coast beaches for our recreation and vacations. It was a lot of fun and holds a bunch of fond memories for me. Back then, the Gulf Coast was less discovered and certainly less developed. Today, it's hard to find a beach with so few people and so underdeveloped. Quite refreshing to say the least. We chose Don Pedro Island (Palm Island) for the natural beauty and 'Old Florida' feel. This chain of islands just may be the last true Florida beach you can walk down (7 miles long) and hardly see another person. We also liked that there are no beach bars and high-rise buildings. It is the best of Old Florida, natural, unspoiled and a genuine paradise.

Julie purchased this house in 2003

We bought here for the unspoiled beauty of the island and the area in general. Englewood is a low-key Old Florida 'beach town' that reminds you of how Florida looked many years ago, without the huge high-rise condominiums and massive hotels clogging the beach. There are plenty of local 'home-grown' shops and restaurants and the fishing is some of the best in world. The beaches are fantastic and the boating is world-class. If you are looking for a great family area that is close to everything, but far away from the congestion, traffic and noise, you'd be hard pressed to find a better place. The only way to get on and off the island is by a 3 minute car ferry ride. Having no bridge to the island allows for a semi-private atmosphere and keeps beach going traffic to an absolute minimum. The island is all residential other than the resort area at the north end of Palm Island which offers a quality restaurant, ice cream/deli shoppe and sundries store. Most all of the island traffic is by golf cart.

Staying on the island is not for everyone. If you like lots of places to shop, tourist attractions, beach bars and chain restaurants, this isn't the place for you. On the other hand, if you are looking for un-crowded and un-spoiled beaches, great kayaking, fishing and swinging in a hammock under some breezy palms, this may be just the place. It's for a couple or family that wants some serious down-time ... a place to unplug and recharge your batteries and enjoy some great family time. Our house is pet-friendly with tile floors throughout, a private outdoor shower (which is great for pets!) and one of the only island homes with a tasteful fenced in yard. We always travel with our pets and we know many of you won't leave home without yours either. After all, they're part of the family. There's an entertainment area under the house with a very nice gas grill, bar area, table and chairs and a hot tub. Out back, you'll enjoy a private dock overlooking the lagoon with dock lights and water. On the property you'll see plenty of Gopher Tortoise and native birds. Our landscaping is all Florida native and offers a very private environment.

56 Reviews of Property 294969 in Cape Haze, Florida

Great Gulf Views! 100% Old Florida! Pet Friendly! Low Rates!
average rating of 5.0 based on 56 reviews
business
Great Gulf Views! 100% Old Florida! Pet Friendly! Low Rates!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p294969vb
(920) 664-1089 (Wisconsin, USA)
Cape Haze Florida South Central Gulf Coast
Florida
5

Wonderful Relaxing Vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 14, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
According to Murphy's Law, we got hit with the Arctic Vortex during our mini-vacation, but the stay was wonderful even in the chilly weather.
The house is very well maintained, furnished and supplied. They had just about everything possible for us to include kayaks, beach bikes, golf cart, hot tub and lots of beach to explore.
The owner's were very nice, personable and easy to work with.
Definitely recommend.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks Jessica. I'm glad you had a nice time, in spite of the Arctic Vortex. LOL
business
Great Gulf Views! 100% Old Florida! Pet Friendly! Low Rates!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p294969vb
(920) 664-1089 (Wisconsin, USA)
Cape Haze Florida South Central Gulf Coast
South Haven Michigan
5

A Wonderful Delight in a Busy World :-)

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 2, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
My husband and I spent two weeks at this home on Don Padro Island. First off I would like to say that Julie was a delight to work with. We had to arrive 2 days late because of a personal matter and she was so accommodating. The home is warm, comfortable, very clean and beautifully appointed. Our small dogs loved the yard and the dock. The neighbor is quiet and perfect for a relaxing get away from the hassle of daily life. This is definitely a place we will consider returning to. Thanks for everything.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Great Gulf Views! 100% Old Florida! Pet Friendly! Low Rates!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p294969vb
(920) 664-1089 (Wisconsin, USA)
Cape Haze Florida South Central Gulf Coast
New Hampshire
5

Outstanding! Better Than We Could Have Imagined!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 2, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
Coquina Cove was the perfect home away from home! The house was better than advertised in every way! This house has everything you could ever need! The kitchen is furnished with every kind of dish and utensil you can imagine. We usually rent homes and your lucky to get two wine glasses I could not count how many wine glasses, drinking glasses and, coffee mugs there were! The place has a dishwasher and plenty of dish towels making cooking and clean-up easy. It was fully equipped with plastic ware as well. I found this a nice touch as we found ourselves having snacks on the screened in porch or in the patio area under the house when playing cards a few afternoons! And I did not need to pull out the cards I packed as the sideboard in the kitchen had cards, games, books and area info! Every room has comfortable upscale furnishing's and art truly making it feel like a home.
The bed's are super comfortable and very clean as are the bathrooms! There was more than enough towels to stay for a month and not have to worry about running out. But there is a wonderful washer and dryer should you need to use it.
The house is the perfect size for to couples or, as with us our adult son came for a few days. The patio under the house with the Tiki bar is fantastic! Even though there is a great hot tub there we only used it twice during the week as we found ourselves on the dock almost every night just listening to the quite and watching the fish jump! Talk about relaxing!
The beach is awesome! Don't worry about bringing beach chairs. This place has them! As well as beach toys, towels and even a cooler! We only took the chairs to the beach, your just across the street and don't have far to go if you left something behind. The outdoor shower was great for washing the sand off the dogs after a run on the beach! We never got to use the great bikes that were provided as we would take a run around the island every morning. We rented the golf cart and only used it three times it sure was nice to drive it to the Rum Bay Restaurant for dinner!
I could go on and on about how great this place is! If your looking for a quiet place to rest and relax this is the place! Julie was great and very attentive. The place is well taken care of and you want for nothing! Can't wait to return! Fell in love with this place and the island! Thank-you Julie for providing such a wonderful relaxing home!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks Dan and Ruth for the fantastic review! We're so glad you enjoyed your stay on the island. We hope you make it back to Coquina Cove again real soon. Take Care! Julie & Dale
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Great Gulf Views! 100% Old Florida! Pet Friendly! Low Rates!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p294969vb
(920) 664-1089 (Wisconsin, USA)
Cape Haze Florida South Central Gulf Coast
naples florida
5

Absolutely A+

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 31, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
Absolutely A+. We stayed at Coquina Cove in mid October for a combined sister birthday long week end, and were sorry to leave. Coquina Cove was perfect for our needs, and Julie and Dale have seen to every comfort, toys, bikes, and amenity possible. We had so much fun on the beach, that we never got to use the kayaks or bikes. The golf cart was perfect to scoot around the Island and check out the streets and homes, but the best part was returning to Coquina Cove. Out trip is going to be at least an annual event. The outdoor shower is great for bathing a dog after a day of beach play, and the kitchen is beautifully equipped. We are looking forward to returning and fishing from the dock, and having another restful stay at Coquina Cove. Kudos to Julie and Dale....It's a fine place!
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Great Gulf Views! 100% Old Florida! Pet Friendly! Low Rates!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p294969vb
(920) 664-1089 (Wisconsin, USA)
Cape Haze Florida South Central Gulf Coast
Tampa, FL
5

Absolutey Perfect

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 3, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
This place is the best if you want to kick back and get away from it all. We have stayed at several different places on the island over the last 20 years (including the resort), but Coquina Cove is by far the BEST! The home is so well maintained and comfortable. Amenities such as the kayaks, hot tub, outdoor shower, hammock and grill, pretty much everything you could possibly want are at your fingertips. All you need to bring is your food and drinks. We hated coming back to reality but we are already planning our next visit. Oh, BTW, you can save a few $$ by renting the golf cart and purchasing the ferry pass the home owners.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Great Gulf Views! 100% Old Florida! Pet Friendly! Low Rates!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p294969vb
(920) 664-1089 (Wisconsin, USA)
Cape Haze Florida South Central Gulf Coast
Fort Myers, FL
5

Amazing

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 17, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
You can not find a better place to stay! We have two dogs and they loved being able to have a little freedom in the yard. Julie was super attentive for anything we needed. The house comes well equipped for cooking, great beach toys and the kayaks were a blast. It was a perfect place for our family vacation. Very close to the beach, but has a great dock for fishing. Seriously, I won't rent from anyone else on Palm Island.
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Great Gulf Views! 100% Old Florida! Pet Friendly! Low Rates!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p294969vb
(920) 664-1089 (Wisconsin, USA)
Cape Haze Florida South Central Gulf Coast
Weston FL
5

Beautiful...spotless...impeccably maintained...friendly helpful owners..overall outstanding

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 13, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
If you are looking to chill out and relax and get a feel for how old Florida used to be...away from the maddening crowds....then it would be hard to beat this island and the Coquina Cove house. Beach, fishing, kayaking or boating....if your looking for restaurants, nightlife and crowds this is not the place but if you want to get away from it all..it is the place. The residence was impeccably maintained...spotless in every way...modern.. updated..tasteful island decor. This was 2nd trip to Don Pedro and both were so much better than the years spent going to Sanibel and Captiva. The owners were a pleasure to deal with and I would highly recommend to anyone. We are going back next year.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your kind words. We look forward to your next visit. :)
business
Great Gulf Views! 100% Old Florida! Pet Friendly! Low Rates!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p294969vb
(920) 664-1089 (Wisconsin, USA)
Cape Haze Florida South Central Gulf Coast
Venice,fl
5

Great get away!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 30, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
We had a great time at Coquina Cove. The house was adorable and super clean. We enjoyed the beautiful beach, fishing on the lagoon and spending time with family and friends.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Great Gulf Views! 100% Old Florida! Pet Friendly! Low Rates!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p294969vb
(920) 664-1089 (Wisconsin, USA)
Cape Haze Florida South Central Gulf Coast
Carmel, Indiana
5

Relaxing and Scenic!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 24, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
We stayed at Coquina Cove for four nights and days and enjoyed every minute. The house was just as described. Very clean and cozy. There was a very short walk to the beach, which was clean and secluded. We could hear the ocean waves from the screened in porch. We took the golf cart around the island but mostly stayed at the house and relaxed with our dogs. The owners were very attentive to our every concern. Highly recommended! We look forward to returning next year!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks Cynthia and Barbara! We look forward to having you as guests next year.
business
Great Gulf Views! 100% Old Florida! Pet Friendly! Low Rates!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p294969vb
(920) 664-1089 (Wisconsin, USA)
Cape Haze Florida South Central Gulf Coast
Murfreesboro, TN
5

Extended Family Vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 3, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
The owners were awesome/very friendly as well as helpful and the property was adorable with several amenities that really made it easy to accommodate my extended families needs for a stress free family vacation. The additional activities we scheduled were easily accessed due to their help as well, making for an absolutely fantastic experience. The boat rental & fishing was a super experience that went very smoothly as well. Over all the house rental provided an excellent environment to spend quality time together under one roof & felt a bit like home. We had access to a boat ramp on the intercostal and private access to the beach as well which was in a lovely natural park or nature preserve environment. Beach equipment such as chairs/umbrella, snorkeling equipment, fishing poles, and my personal favorite was the hammock (major kudos' for that one). Our overall experience was spectacular.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway