McConnellsburg house rental - The Tenant House at Shady Spring Farm
The Tenant House at Shady Spring Farm
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps6
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

McConnellsburg House Rental Photos and Description
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bath with pastoral and mountain views (Sleeps 6)

After four years of restoration, The Tenant House at Shady Spring Farm is available for our guests to enjoy. Step back in time in this charming home located on our family-operated Black Angus cattle farm. Originally built in the 1880s for the resident tenant farmer and his family, the house has been lovingly restored to the 1930s era. Enjoy cooking breakfast in the farmhouse kitchen, with it's 1935 monitor top refrigerator and restored 1911 cast iron & chrome electric range on cabriole legs. Use the 1920's oak-cabinet wall telephone with hand-held receiver and brass bells for free local calls. Modern amenities include central heat and air conditioning, high-speed wireless internet access and cable television with built-in DVD player and a selection of DVDs.

Slow down a bit, relax, read a book or visit with friends while sitting in the rocking chairs on the broad front porch. The enclosed back porch overlooks a meadow and pasture area and has seating for two - a great place to read in the morning or sip a cup of tea while taking in the beautiful scenery of the Great Cove valley.

Each of the three bedrooms has a double bed and is decorated with antiques. We provide all linens - the beds are made and ready for you to snuggle in. We use crisp line-dried linens when weather permits, and the beds are dressed with high-loft goose-down comforters on chilly winter nights. In the bathroom you'll find fresh towels, a mahogany sink base with a French waterspout faucet, and a claw-foot bathtub with shower.

We invite you to stroll the grounds, explore the farm's 130 acres, and enjoy the fresh country air. Walk our private lane or make use of the two picnic areas on the farm. Ask to feed the dozens of golden trout that call our limestone springhouse and spring waters home. A romantic retreat or great vacation get-away, The Tenant House at Shady Spring Farm awaits you and your family. Come and enjoy.

Keywords: House, cottage, private home, farmhouse, historic, get-away, romantic, family,

More Details
Hide Details

While on the farm there are endless things to do... repairing and maintaining buildings, upkeeping fences and keeping the grass and weeds in check. We're kept company by our dog Max, a fantastic little rescue dog who absolutely loves having the run of the farm. When there is a little spare time we enjoy riding our horses, two of whom are rescues as well. The farm is a treasure; in my husband's family since 1922. We are compelled to share it with others. Hence, The Tenant House was born.

Barbara Onorato purchased this house in 2004

While growing up Tony spent his summers here 'helping' to tend the cows, the chickens and the sheep. After 63 years of farming Tony's grandparents were thinking of retiring. Tony and I were looking to purchase a historical property near Gettysburg - our favorite weekend getaway. The timing couldn't have been better, his grandparents didn't want the farm to be developed and our goal was to restore an old property. One year later we signed the paperwork and purchased the family farm that has been in Tony's family since 1922.

Shady Spring Farm feels far removed from the busy I-95 corridor where we travel to our jobs. While it sounds a bit cliche, life on the farm slows down. Every season brings new sights and new scents. Early spring brings daffodils and crocus. April into May is calving season when 80 or so black angus calves are born. May is the first cutting of hay and the blooming of tiger lilies around the springhouse. The warm nights in late June are lit with thousands of fireflies. For two years now we've had both bald eagles and golden eagles visit the farm in the month of July - soaring over the field behind the farmhouse. August is lazy, it seems even the trout in the springhouse take it easy. Every season brings it's own wonder. When Tony wants to play a little golf he heads to the Great Cove Golf Course, just two miles from the farm. Whitetail Ski Resort (with snow tubing!) and historic Berkeley Springs, WV are within 30 minutes. East Broad Top Railroad offers rides on restored steam engines, and one can enjoy a trolley ride at the Old Tyme Trolley Museum nearby. When in the mood for outlet shopping we have two choices within an hour - Prime Outlets in Hagerstown MD and the outlet center in Gettysburg, PA. Two battlefields are within an hour, Gettysburg and Antietam, and we enjoy visiting both.

31 Reviews of Property 187393 in McConnellsburg, Pennsylvania

1880's farmhouse on 130 acre family farm, 30 mins to Whitetail Skiing
average rating of 5.0 based on 31 reviews
business
1880's farmhouse on 130 acre family farm, 30 mins to Whitetail Skiing
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p187393vb
+1 (571) 215-3900 (Virginia, USA)
McConnellsburg Pennsylvania Dutch Country
Charleston, SC
5

Great house

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 29, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
Just stayed for the weekend but the house was wonderful for our ski weekend. A great place to enjoy relaxing after a day on the slope. My husband is already talking about coming back in the spring so we could enjoy the quaint town nearby. Thanks again!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Beth, Thanks so much for being great guests and for choosing the Tenant House for your getaway. We're happy you enjoyed the farm & the area. We'd love to have you back again. Looking forward to seeing you this spring! Barb and Tony :)
business
1880's farmhouse on 130 acre family farm, 30 mins to Whitetail Skiing
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p187393vb
+1 (571) 215-3900 (Virginia, USA)
McConnellsburg Pennsylvania Dutch Country
York, PA
5

Delighted beyond belief

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 9, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
Barb and Tony are fantastic hosts, with a great eye for detail. The Tenant House is meticulously clean and utterly charming; it went far beyond what we could have expected from the description, we were delighted from the moment we opened the door. We could not have asked for anything more and had a fantastic time unplugging from our hectic lives. We would not hesitate to recommend this property to anyone and hope to be returning ourselves.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
1880's farmhouse on 130 acre family farm, 30 mins to Whitetail Skiing
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p187393vb
+1 (571) 215-3900 (Virginia, USA)
McConnellsburg Pennsylvania Dutch Country
Langhorne, Pa., Bucks County
5

Perfect for Us

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 29, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
When my husband and I stayed at Shady Spring Farm, it was so enjoyable we immediately scheduled another. The lovely Tenant House is very cozy, very clean and sits in the beautiful rolling hills of historic McConnellsburg. (Something us city folk certainly appreciate!) The owners are very accommodating as well. Thanks, Barb and Tony, for the perfect getaway!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
1880's farmhouse on 130 acre family farm, 30 mins to Whitetail Skiing
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p187393vb
+1 (571) 215-3900 (Virginia, USA)
McConnellsburg Pennsylvania Dutch Country
Minnesota
5

Beautiful home for the 1800's

Beautiful home for the 1800's
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 17, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
The furnishings were wonderful and pretty. This house was so CLEAN it was spotless. The beds are tall and coverings just gorgeous. The furniture and kitchen appliances were just like stepping back into time.
Lots of love and attention went into making this home special.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
1880's farmhouse on 130 acre family farm, 30 mins to Whitetail Skiing
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p187393vb
+1 (571) 215-3900 (Virginia, USA)
McConnellsburg Pennsylvania Dutch Country
Cape May, NJ
5

Wonderful Time and Visit in this Beautiful Home.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 17, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
We had such an enjoyable time at Tony and Barbara's farm house. It was so clean and the sheets were so soft. Seeing the antique fixtures was an added bonus. We really enjoyed watching the cattle and sheep. At night, we loved the thousands of fireflies around us as we sat on the porch. The house is gorgeous inside and out and it's a very relaxing stay. The breeze while sitting on the porch is breathtaking.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
1880's farmhouse on 130 acre family farm, 30 mins to Whitetail Skiing
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p187393vb
+1 (571) 215-3900 (Virginia, USA)
McConnellsburg Pennsylvania Dutch Country
Jonesboro, Arkansas
5

A Charming Piece of America

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 7, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
We spent a relaxing two nights in the Farmhouse. It was wonderful to sit on the front porch and listen to the sheep across the road. The vintage 1940s furnishings took us back to a slower, simpler life. The house was clean as a whistle. It was so much more than the listing described; we will definitely be back.
Recommended for:  Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
1880's farmhouse on 130 acre family farm, 30 mins to Whitetail Skiing
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p187393vb
+1 (571) 215-3900 (Virginia, USA)
McConnellsburg Pennsylvania Dutch Country
5

Very relaxing!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 28, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
We can't thank you enough for the relaxing getaway! The house is absolutely beautiful, as is the scenery. For the first time in recent memory we went away with friends for a long weekend and NOT ONE of us turned on the TV. Sitting on the porch and watching the clouds go across the blue sky, the wind blow the trees and grass, and the sheep and cows was more than enough entertainment. Barb and Tony are incredibly hospitable. Their warm and welcoming demeanor makes this a truly enjoyable and stress-free place to visit!
Recommended for:  Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
1880's farmhouse on 130 acre family farm, 30 mins to Whitetail Skiing
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p187393vb
+1 (571) 215-3900 (Virginia, USA)
McConnellsburg Pennsylvania Dutch Country
Harrisburg, PA
5

Charming

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 1, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
This was absolutely refreshing to me as I grew up in this area. We had a wonderful time taking pictures and relaxing in this home and enjoyed the birds chirping in the mornings and listening to the water in the stream. The owners were always a call away and were very friendly and hospitable. We will be back very soon. We have told a lot of our family abou this, but want to make sure it is for me and my husband.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
1880's farmhouse on 130 acre family farm, 30 mins to Whitetail Skiing
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p187393vb
+1 (571) 215-3900 (Virginia, USA)
McConnellsburg Pennsylvania Dutch Country
Hershey, PA
5

Scott

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 27, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
The house was very clean. Enjoyed the period decor of wall paper, furniture, old style push button light switches, old stove and fridge. Very cozy and quiet. Also liked having the modern wireless internet. The old radio in the living room was great for quiet music. The settings are very nice with pasture and mountains. Did not want to leave. Hope to come back again.
Recommended for:  Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
1880's farmhouse on 130 acre family farm, 30 mins to Whitetail Skiing
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p187393vb
+1 (571) 215-3900 (Virginia, USA)
McConnellsburg Pennsylvania Dutch Country
Kensington, MD
5

A charming place to stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 25, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
We spent two nights at the Tenant House with our 2 children as part of a ski weekend. It was a wonderful place to come "home" to after days on the slopes and had EVERYTHING there that we needed. Our kids loved the olde timey furniture and appliances as well as the modern cable tv and wireless. We found some cute restaurants near by for eating in and take out. Everything was clean and neat and top notch. Best of all, the hosts were very responsive and made us feel like we were the most important guests ever. This is a great spot for truly getting away and relaxing.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1