York Beach house rental - Front of house
Front of house
 
  • Bedrooms5
  • Sleeps10
  • 3 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay nights
 

York Beach House Rental Photos and Description
House, 5 Bedrooms, 3 Baths, (Sleeps 10 max) close to both beaches.

Seagulls Nest is a family friendly home in a quiet residential neighborhood. Located at the beginning of the Nubble, it is just minutes to Long and Short Sands beaches. Park the cars and put the keys away! There are 2 bedrooms and a full bath on the 1st floor, along with a large family room, eat-in kitchen and screened 3 season porch. There are 3 bedrooms and 2 3/4 bathrooms on the 2nd floor. The house is spotless, and offers all the conveniences and amenities a large or extended family needs to enjoy a memorable vacation.

Start your day with a run on the beach or early morning coffee in the screened 3 season porch. Less than a 10 minute walk to either Short Sands or Long Sands beaches, enjoy all the activities and excitement both beach areas offer including an expanded playground at Short Sands your little ones will love. Spend the day at the York Wild Kingdom amusement park and zoo. Play croquet or horeshoes with your family in the private, spacious back yard. Take advantage of the eat-in kitchen, grill and large picnic table or walk to area restaurants.

In the evenings, take the family for a walk to the bandstand to enjoy live music, the arcade, watch salt water taffy being made or get ice-cream at the Golden Rod, or shop in the quaint village. Play a game in the screened porch. Watch a ball game or movie in the large family room.

If you want to venture out, Stonewall Kitchen, Mount Agamenticus, Ogunquit Playhouse, Perkins Cove, Marginal Way, Kittery Outlet Mall, Kennebunkport and historic Portsmouth, NH are all close by. Boston and Portland are less than 90 minutes away by car or commuter bus. Those tempted by golf, hiking or antiquing will find plenty to entice them.

Whether you are looking to relax or play, Seagulls Nest will help your family re-unite and re-charge.

Linens can be provided for an additional fee. Linens include bath towels, beach towels, sheets, bath mat and dish towels.

Keywords: York Beach rental, cottage, nubble, short sands beach, long sands beach, family, vacation

More Details
Hide Details

We have been visiting the York Beach area for years and waiting to find just the right house to enjoy with our family. We finally found it in our 'Seagulls Nest'.

York is a quaint beach community within 90 minutes of Boston, Manchester, NH and Portland, ME. It has 3 well maintained beaches, a world famous lighthouse, cliff walk overlooking the ocean, museums, historical sites, shopping, dining and several in-town recreational options. While there is plenty to see and do, York is not over-developed or congested.

The house has become a gathering place for our extended family and friends. We can walk to either Long or Short Sands beaches in less than 10 minutes. Our family really enjoys the screened 3 season porch and playing in the large private backyard. It’s large enough so we can play and hang out together when we want to, but also provides us privacy and the flexibility to do our own thing. As we get older, we wanted a house that offers '1st floor' living. The floor plan eliminates the need to deal with stairs if we don't want to.

10 Reviews of Property 294858 in York Beach, Maine

Affordable Family Vacation. Walk to Long & Short Sands Beaches
average rating of 4.9 based on 10 reviews
business
Affordable Family Vacation. Walk to Long & Short Sands Beaches
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p294858vbi
+1 (603) 560-2931 (New Hampshire, USA)
York Beach Southern Coast of Maine
FL
5

Great Family Vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 24, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
Hi

We want to thank you for use of your house in York Beach. It was just as you described. Comfortable clean and roomy. We have rented many times In many different areas and this was without a doubt one of best we have ever been to. The location was excellent and our children young and old could just walk to beach. The yard was spacious so kids could play in backyard if they so desired. The owners were great to deal with. We would highly recommend it.

IS Delray Beach Florida
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Affordable Family Vacation. Walk to Long & Short Sands Beaches
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p294858vbi
+1 (603) 560-2931 (New Hampshire, USA)
York Beach Southern Coast of Maine
Litchfield, NH
5

Exceptional beach house

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 9, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
This is an incredibly clean and roomy beach house that provides all of the comforts of home. We vacationed with another family for the week. In total, we had 8 people, and there was plenty of room. We used the whole house fan to keep cool at the beginning of our stay, as the temps were in the 90s. Window fans kept us cool at night. The laundry facilities were a wonderful asset as we did not have to pack a lot. The location of the house was perfect. It was located in a quiet, clean neighborhood. It was right between the 2 beaches, which was an easy walk to either locale. We enjoyed being able to walk to the beach(es), and the wagon and cart provided to us allowed us to bring plenty to stay at the beach(es) for the day. We enjoyed visiting the shops and restaurants that were also within walking distance. The owners were very easy to talk to, responding quickly to emails and voicemails. We will definately stay at Seagull's Nest again in the future and have recommended it to many friends. It truly felt Iike home away from home.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Affordable Family Vacation. Walk to Long & Short Sands Beaches
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p294858vbi
+1 (603) 560-2931 (New Hampshire, USA)
York Beach Southern Coast of Maine
Quebec City, Canada
5

Great vacation spot for a family

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 4, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
We had a wonderful time in York this summer. We were 6 adults and a 2 year old girl. Everyone couple had their own room and bathroom. Our daughter also had her own room and there was still a room to spare. The house was clean and exactly as described and as seen in the pictures. We liked the eat-in kitchen. We also had meals outside on the picnic table and on the back porch. We loved having access to the laundry facilities which was very convenient with a child. We went to the beach everyday (mostly Long Sands and sometimes Short Sands for the playground). It's a 10 min. walk to Long Sands beach and 8 min. to Short Sands. Sometimes we took to car to the beach so we could bring more stuff with us and stay longer. We went to York's Wild Kingdom which was great for young children. We also liked shopping in the stores around The Goldenrod and at the Kittery Outlets. We enjoyed our visit of the Decorator Show House in York Harbor. We went to the Nubble Light and Brown's for ice cream. The weather wasn't too hot for most of the week. The window fans were used only for our last night in the house. The mattresses were very comfortable and there was good quality bedding and towels (even beach towels) for everyone. The house is good size enough that everyone could go to their room to relax, take a shower or change will the others chatted in the living room, the kitchen or back porch. We definitely recommend it to anyone who is looking for a place for a family to enjoy all the activities of York Beach. The owners were very helpful in the planning of our trip and always replied to our e-mail/phone calls quickly. They are very nice people who obviously take good care of their property. The neighbourhood is extremely quiet which was welcome after an intense day spent at the beach.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Affordable Family Vacation. Walk to Long & Short Sands Beaches
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p294858vbi
+1 (603) 560-2931 (New Hampshire, USA)
York Beach Southern Coast of Maine
New Berlin, Wisconsin
5

Great Place to Stay!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 25, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
We recently stayed at the Seagulls Nest and it was AWESOME!!! The house was very spacious and VERY CLEAN! All the rooms were spotless and well maintained. We enjoyed the three season room in the back of the house and spent most of our time there talking and relaxing. The house is a perfect walking distance to either beach. There was a wagon and beach chairs for us to use, which made it easy to pack lunch/coolers for the beach. We could pack light since the house had a washer and dryer for our use as well. Three bathrooms all with showers made it easy for everyone.
We HIGHLY recommend staying at the Seagulls Nest, it was the best vacation we had in 10 years. We hope to come back soon!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Affordable Family Vacation. Walk to Long & Short Sands Beaches
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p294858vbi
+1 (603) 560-2931 (New Hampshire, USA)
York Beach Southern Coast of Maine
Guilford, CT. USA
5

Great Home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 6, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
This was a great house. Very clean, well equipped kitchen. Bedrooms were large, and comfortable. It was great to have use of the laundry facilities. We spent great time on the enclosed porch on the one rainy day that we had, and in the evening.
I would definitely recommend this house. Close to both long and short sands beaches.
I like soft pillows, so if that's what you prefer, bring your own, I did.
Owners were extremely accommodating, answering all of our many questions promptly.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Affordable Family Vacation. Walk to Long & Short Sands Beaches
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p294858vbi
+1 (603) 560-2931 (New Hampshire, USA)
York Beach Southern Coast of Maine
Belchertown, MA
4

Wonderful time in Yorkk Maine

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 13, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
The owners Jean and Mark are very friendly easy to work with. It made the experieince even better.
The property was clean and comfortable. The backyard is good size, the kids had a nice time playing catch and bocce. The inside of the house was clean and very roomy. There is more than enough space to sleep an entire family plus.
The house is in the perfect location. You are close too everything but not right in the center allowing for quiet downtime at night. The walk to short sands beach is exactly that, short. Going to Long Sands and Nubble Light are also quiet quick.
The only draw back is there is no AC, only fans and when it is 90 outside it is a little sticky.
Overall the place is lovely and I will absolutely be back again and the next time I will bring some extended family since ther eis so much room to spread out.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Affordable Family Vacation. Walk to Long & Short Sands Beaches
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p294858vbi
+1 (603) 560-2931 (New Hampshire, USA)
York Beach Southern Coast of Maine
NH
5

A wonderful family vacation in a wonderful home away from home...

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 8, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
The home was everything the listing claimed it to be and more. When we arrived we fell in love with the backyard and the porch. There is plenty of seating in the living room, it's perfect after a long day at the beach and a great meal cooked on the GAS grill (most other places have charcoal). The walk to the beach to either beach was nice, and the evenings with the windows open you could still smell the ocean. The house is very clean and well maintained.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Affordable Family Vacation. Walk to Long & Short Sands Beaches
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p294858vbi
+1 (603) 560-2931 (New Hampshire, USA)
York Beach Southern Coast of Maine
Northborough, Ma
5

Wonderful vacation!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 11, 2010
  • Stayed: Jul 2010
I spent the last week of July at the Seagull's Nest. It was everything Mark and Jean said it was and more. The first thing I noticed when I walked in was how immaculate the home was and how clean it smelled. My children and I walked to the beach every day. Some days we would walk around town and go in all the shops, the arcade or just have a nice lunch in one of the many restaurants. On those days, we went to the beach in the afternoon when the air was a little cooler and the beach a little less crowded. One night we joined another few families in a wiffle ball game that lasted hours! It was the most relaxing vacation I have ever had since becoming the mom of four...13 years ago. My two older children loved the freedom of walking around independently while I felt extremely comfortable with their well being. My younger two loved lying on a blanket or dancing to one of the bands that played at the gazebo at Short Sands nightly. And there was no shortage of trips for ice cream either! Great vacation.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Affordable Family Vacation. Walk to Long & Short Sands Beaches
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p294858vbi
+1 (603) 560-2931 (New Hampshire, USA)
York Beach Southern Coast of Maine
MA
5

Great Beach Week For Eight!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 20, 2010
  • Stayed: Jul 2010
This house was perfect for us grandparents, our daughter and her husband and their four young children with two floors and 5 bedrooms. We all particularly loved the closed in sun room, picnic table with umbrella and the back yard. York and surrounding towns have so much to offer! Going to the beach at least once a day was the highlight for our clan and no matter the child's age, they always found something to enjoy doing. Our favorite was Harbor Beach; (10 minute drive) great for young families because its small, with a more private feel as compared to Short and Long Sands beaches, which were both only a ten minute walk away. There are no rocks to contend with at HB and they have a clean bathroom and outdoor shower. Although there is only permit parking, most families just have someone drop them off and park their car a five minute walk away. Best of all, York beaches are free and the water temp. was much better than we anticipated and there's a great passion for surfing and boogie boarding here!

Getting out to a restaurant is not the most desirable when you have four small children so we can only recommend a few places we've tried. When our company came, we took them to the Cape Neddick Lobster Pound and had an unexpected, tasty seafood meal. My husband and I have eaten there once before but I don't remember it being that good. We also recommend Wild Willy's burgers and Flo's Dogs on Route 1. Our neighbor suggested we try the new mexican spot, Guac and Roll, which she said was excellent. As for activities, on our sole rainy day, we shopped around Ogunquit's Perkins Cove and had a much needed bout of exercise on Marginal Way . The kids also enjoyed a day at the zoo and some rides at Animal Kingdom. For us grandparents, our fun was of a more quiet nature like taking a ride along Shore Road which has stunning coastal vistas from York to Ogunquit; not to mention gorgeous homes to drool at. We also drove up Mt. Agamenticus which gave us a decent view of the sea and mountains and trails to hike if that appeals. Other favorites were Brown's Ice Cream on the Nubble, Stonewall Kitchen and When Pigs Fly bread store and I must not forget York's very own Golden Rod Candy Store, with a delightful array of chocolates and penny candy for all ages!

I would highly recommend renting from these owners as they were very helpful, informative and accommodating. This rental cannot be beat for proximity to so many places! Hope you have as memorable a vacation as we did!
Recommended for:  Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Affordable Family Vacation. Walk to Long & Short Sands Beaches
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p294858vbi
+1 (603) 560-2931 (New Hampshire, USA)
York Beach Southern Coast of Maine
Boston MA
5

Wonderful Vacation Home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 14, 2010
  • Stayed: May 2010
My family and I have greatly enjoyed our time at this spacious, clean, and conveniently located house in York. It is within short walking distance to both Long and Short Sands beaches, the York downtown area, the Nubble Lighthouse, and Brown's Ice cream (which we visited more than once!) It was also a short drive to the grocery store and the outlet mall. It comfortably accommodated my large family. There was plenty of space in the common areas for us to just hang but everyone had a bedroom, and the rooms were clean. We also enjoyed eating and playing in the backyard and relaxing in the screened-in porch at night. We actually got to relax on this vacation!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities
Helpful votes: 1/1