Marshall house rental - View of High Tide Cottage from Tomales Bay
View of High Tide Cottage from Tomales Bay
 
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps10
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay nights
 

Marshall House Rental Photos and Description
Marshall Cottage - 4 Bedroom 2.5 Bath Home (Sleeps 6-10*)

Come explore Point Reyes National Seashore and beautiful Tomales Bay from High Tide Cottage, perched directly over the water. Listen to the waves lap gently below you. Watch pelicans dive for fish. Fall asleep to the sound of ocean waves breaking in the distance, the festive barking of seals, and the plaintive cry of loons.

At High Tide Cottage you will find a welcoming blend of contemporary style and comfortable charm for your vacation getaway. The main house has two private bedrooms, an additional glassed-in porch bedroom and 1.5 baths. With this arrangement, High Tide Cottage will comfortably sleep 6 people. The Boathouse Annex option provides sleeping accommodations for 2-4 additional guests and an added bathroom.

Main Cottage: The open-style living room/dining area/kitchen is a perfect gathering place for family and friends to enjoy time together, surrounded on three sides by spectacular Tomales Bay water views.

The modern kitchen, hosts a Viking 6-burner gas stove, refrigerator, ice maker, microwave oven and dishwasher. The house comes fully equipped with pots and pans, cooking utensils, dishes, silverware and basic herbs and spices. Three bar chairs pull up to the unique red eucalyptus slab bar, allowing the chefs in your party to interact with the rest of the group.

The living room area has a thermostat-controlled gas fireplace and TV with DVD player. Steps from the living room lead to three outdoor decks and to a meadow trail and stairs leading to private pasture land directly across State Route One. Board games, books, ipod player and movies are available. The ever-changing picture of sea life directly out your windows will enchant you. Wifi (5MPS) throughout.

Stairs just outside the front door lead down to the private beach. It's a great place for kids and adults alike to explore the teeming sea life in one of the Pacific Coast's most pristine estuaries.

A public boat launch is located at Miller Park, just 1 mile north on Hwy. 1, next door to Nick's Cove Restaurant and Cottages. Kayaks can be rented in the nearby town of Marshall.

The quaint and charming town of Point Reyes Station is 12 miles south and the beaches of Point Reyes National Seashore and Bodega Bay are a 30 minute drive in either direction (or a 15-minute kayak paddle). Make High Tide Cottage your home base for exploring western Marin and southern Sonoma counties.

Keywords: Cottage, cabin, water front, private beach, pets, bird watching, oysters, artisan cheese, whale watching, wineries, organic, farming, sustainable economy, renown artists, eco tourism, music, fine dining, bicycling, kayaking, bird watching.

More Details
Hide Details

23 Reviews of Property 294759 in Marshall, California

Relax above the waves
average rating of 4.9545455 based on 23 reviews
business
Relax above the waves
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p294759vbi
(415)509-1507(California, USA)
Marshall The Bay Area
4

A little piece of heaven

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 30, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
This cottage is like a dream come true. We live in SF which is already an oasis as far as I'm concerned, but to know that a tranquil, beautiful, quiet place like this is a mere hour and a half drive away, wow, I love the bay even more. The multiple bedrooms are great even for a couple. We rotated beds during our two night stay and it was magical waking up to the view of the bay in the outside room. The kitchen too is a dream! I love to cook and getting to play with the Viking stove was awesome!! It's a well equipped kitchen as far as utensils. I brought a bunch of my go-to things since I like working with my own knives but if you aren't weird like me, it will suit you just fine.

The only reason I didn't give it an excellent five star rating was the last day. Check out is at noon. I travel a lot and know that noon means noon and I expect to have the place til noon. Instead the cleaning ladies showed up at 10:45am and just awkwardly sat in the living room as we packed. We really would have liked to enjoy our last hour sitting and having coffee and taking it all in, but instead it felt very rushed. We said we need more time and even acknowledged that they were early, but that didn't seem to phase them, they just went about taking cell phone calls and waiting on us. Definitely killed the buzz of zen we had from the weekend.

Other than that, it's a magical place and if you want a place to detach from the world for a weekend, this is it. :)
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Hi Stephanie,
I'm so glad you had a nice relaxing weekend and enjoyed High Tide Cottage and Tomales Bay. It is definitely a "slice of heaven" and easily reached from San Francisco within an hour's drive.
Our check out time is 11:00am but we are often able to accommodate requested later check outs or earlier check ins with advance notice. I apologize for the confusion. Please come back and visit again.
Sincerely,
Meg
business
Relax above the waves
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p294759vbi
(415)509-1507(California, USA)
Marshall The Bay Area
5

GREAT PROPERTY

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 2, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
Beautiful home above the bay...super cozy and clean home right above the water can't be beat! Situated at the end of a lane, home has gorgeous views. Great location right between Nick's Cove and Hog Island Oyster Company. Great picnic table outside to enjoy the views on a sunny afternoon...
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks Kirsten! We were so glad to accommodate your group. I am so glad you had a wonderful time, please come back and see us again for a return guest discounted stay! Sincerely, Meg
business
Relax above the waves
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p294759vbi
(415)509-1507(California, USA)
Marshall The Bay Area
Boston, MA
5

Family reunion

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 4, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
We had a large group attending a family reunion in this wonderfully situated and welcoming home. We thoroughly enjoyed checking out the local spots in Point Reyes Station and visiting wineries in Sonoma, exploring the trails and beaches of the national and state parks, preparing meals and hanging out in the evening at the house. The flexibility of renting the house and annex is a great plus—we went from fully occupied to just three for the last two nights, and the house always felt very comfortable and accommodating. The owner is very responsive and quick to address questions and requests. The house was immaculate when we arrived.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks Kathy! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. Please come back any time! ~Meg
business
Relax above the waves
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p294759vbi
(415)509-1507(California, USA)
Marshall The Bay Area
Carmel, CA
5

Wonderful respite

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 3, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
A great, sizable "cottage" with striking views. Loved our time here and found both the property manager and landlord to be wonderful people to deal with.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you Brooke! We were so pleased to host you and your family!
Take care. ~Meg
business
Relax above the waves
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p294759vbi
(415)509-1507(California, USA)
Marshall The Bay Area
San Francisco, CA
5

A Quiet and Peaceful Retreat

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 4, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
We spent 5 amazing nights here between Christmas and New Years. Our goal was to get away from the city, relax, and recharge. High Tide Cottage was perfect for that. Located on the water North of Marshall, it's super-quiet. There's very little traffic (i.e., street noise), so all you hear is the lapping of the waves on the shore. Plus, with minimal to no cellphone coverage, it feels very remote (in a good way). Be aware that it's very easy to miss the driveway. In addition the directions you'll be given, look for mile marker 40.5.
Overall, the house was great. The interior is much larger than I expected from the photos, and the furnishing (beds, couches, chairs) were all very comfortable. The best feature was the faux wood burning (i.e., gas) stove that heated the house. It's perfect for the winter — although the "sun room", which is an extension of the house (a well finished enclosure of the deck) can be quite cold, since the heat doesn't circulate that way. Beyond that, the kitchen (especially the stove) was great to cook in. Keep in mind, however, that it's a half-size refrigerator and small freezer.
Our only criticism (which is very minor) would be that the exterior — especially the decks — could use a little work.
Beyond that, Meg was very responsive, and we felt like we were well taken care of. We definitely look forward to staying again.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks for your feedback and comments Jack! We really appreciate your suggestion about the deck and are working on this repair and general maintenance and upkeep. Please come back any time! ~Meg
business
Relax above the waves
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p294759vbi
(415)509-1507(California, USA)
Marshall The Bay Area
United States
5

Lovely cottage

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 24, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
My family and I enjoyed our stay at this cozy cottage right on the waters of Tomales Bay. There is a rock just a few feet away from the back deck which at low tide becomes a nice perch for the various types of birds (blue herons, egrets, many others). We saw a family(?) of seals (at least 6 or 7 of them) swim along just a few feet away from the deck. So much fun just to sit and watch the wildlife! In addition to wildlife watching, we cooked meals over the 6 burner Viking stove in the well-stocked kitchen, and BBQ'd oysters on the propane-powered gas grill at the front of the cottage. Although the weather didn't cooperate (foggy and rainy) while we were there, we're so glad to have found this well-appointed, and wonderfully-situated cottage!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks Jenny! I'm so glad you had a chance to enjoy the cottage and Tomales Bay!
business
Relax above the waves
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p294759vbi
(415)509-1507(California, USA)
Marshall The Bay Area
N.Calif
5

Perfect Cottage

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 23, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
After looking at 100's of ordinary, & quite sad places in the North Central coastal area we found the 'perfect cottage'! No Naugahyde furniture on dark green wall to wall carpets. Just a fresh, clean home with spectacular views. The kitchen has a terrific chefs stove and everything necessary for whipping up a groovy meal. Loved our time there.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks Julie! We loved having you, please come back anytime! ~Meg
business
Relax above the waves
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p294759vbi
(415)509-1507(California, USA)
Marshall The Bay Area
Santa Cruz, Calif.
5

32nd Honeymoon

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 20, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
As we try to get away in our busy lives to have such a fantatstic place to go so close. It's at the end of the lane. Very private and just a lovely setting between Hog Island "The Best Oysters on the Bay" and Nick's Where Breakfast, Lunch, or Dinner are always good. Plenty of room for wine and oysters in the kitchen. Cooked a great seafood stew and they had everthing available in kitchen gear needed. Our friends who have stayed with us before on the bay remarked that this was the best they had stayed at. Next time we will stay in the sunroom bedroom right over the water. When you wake up and look out you can see the oyster boats making there trek for more goodies. The house is a little hard to find especialy in the dark but pay attention to the instructions and no problem. The living room with fire place is a great place to sit back and just relax. We will be going there again for more R & R. I highly recommend this to any one.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks Ed! We hope to see you again!
business
Relax above the waves
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p294759vbi
(415)509-1507(California, USA)
Marshall The Bay Area
Vacaville,Ca
5

The perfect getaway!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 13, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
We stayed at this Cottage 2 nights/3 days and had a wonderful time! Perfect weather, great sunny deck right over the bay. Indoors is cozy and spacious,chefs will love the huge Viking Stove/Oven, and wooden bar area. Gas fireplace was perfect....just set the thermostat and the place was very comfortable. Was great to wake up in the bedroom overlooking the bay....can actually hear the waves gently splashing under the cottage.
We took full advantage of the gas BBQ to grill our favorite Hog Island Oysters, also grilled freshly caught fish from Pt Reyes Market.
Great location to drive a few miles in any direction for many activities. A few miles up the coast to Bodega Bay, or south to Pt. Reyes, Bolinas, Stinson Beach, etc. We always make a stop at the Petaluma Marin French Cheese Company when we are in the area.
Will certainly look forward to staying here again soon, and Meg was an absolute pleasure to deal with! Loved the complimentary bottle of wine and gourmet chocolate upon arrival, that really set the tone for the whole vacation.
Thanks again Meg!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks Bill, we're so glad you enjoyed your stay, please come back any time!
business
Relax above the waves
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p294759vbi
(415)509-1507(California, USA)
Marshall The Bay Area
Sacramento
5

Very peaceful and relaxing place to stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 12, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
My sister and I take an annual trip to Marshall. We have stayed in other places in Marshall, but this is, by far, our favorite. We have now stayed at High Tide 4 times and will definitely return. Property is clean and price is reasonable. We have only had a problem one time which was quickly remedied with a call to the property management. There are lots of things to do around the area, but we generally just enjoy the quiet, the view and ability to do nothing.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Hi Martha,
Thank you for your great review! We are so glad to have you return year after year! Please let us know how better we can enhance your stay, we appreciate your feedback. ~Meg