Front Royal cottage rental - Hot Tub overlooks the river from one of two back porches.
Hot Tub overlooks the river from one of two back porches.
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps10
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 2 - 4 nights
 

Front Royal Cottage Rental Photos and Description
Three Bedrooms, 2 Full baths, 1 Half Bath. Sleeps 10. 3 covered porches + deck

Stunningly Designed Cottage on a private corner of a historic 100 acre farm. Situated on a scenic bluff overlooking the legendary Shenandoah River and Blue Ridge Mountains this 'cottage' has a stone fireplace and wood beamed ceilings through the main floor. In addition to three covered porches (including one with a Hot Tub) there is a 34' second floor deck overlooking the river. At river level there is a multi-level deck and 30' floating dock right on the water. Perfect for boating fishing, swimming or just enjoying the sun and water. Less than one hour from the Washington Beltway and Dulles Airport. There are numerous restaurants, shops, golf courses, wineries, National Parks (Skyline Drive, Shenandoah National Park, George Washington National Forest), hiking trails (Appalachian Trail), battlefields etc are literally ten to twenty minutes away. Then, of course- best of all, your own piece the Shenandoah River!

Please Note: Location Map shows gate location and not the house. The Private Driveway is a quarter mile long!

To quote a renter from Texas... ' We have been from Maine to New Mexico and this is the best we property have ever stayed in!

More Details
Hide Details

My wife Angelique and I bought this historic property from a family that had owned it for 155 years! This once in a lifetime chance (several lifetimes actually) was simply too much to miss. With such a spectacular riverfront location, our goal was to create the most memorable vacation retreat in the Shenandoah Valley. After years of planning and design for a river cottage, to compliment the existing renovated farmhouse (a ten minute walk away through the woods and rolling fields), the results are yours to enjoy. One of our sons Sean took over online reservations in 2012 but dad Frank is still the 'boots on the ground' and will be on the other end of the phone if you call. Our family never tires of it and it is our joy to share it with you.

Frank O'Reilly purchased this cottage in 2005

After 30 years of living on the Shenandoah River, enjoying it's beauty and recreational possibilities, we were still awestruck by the sheer magnitude and combination of nature's bounty possessed by this farm...thousands of feet of River Front, sweeping views of the Blue Ridge Mountains, acres of rolling hills and woods, sunrises, sunsets...the list goes on and on.

'Peacefulness without loneliness' is an old Irish expression that captures the private wooded riverside retreat yet convenience of so many attractions, shops and restaurants nearby to the River Overlook Cottage at Rolling River Farm.

22 Reviews of Property 294014 in Front Royal, Virginia

Spectacular Cottage Overlooking the Shenandoah River and Blue Ridge Mountains
average rating of 5.0 based on 22 reviews
business
Spectacular Cottage Overlooking the Shenandoah River and Blue Ridge Mountains
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p294014
Front Royal Shenandoah Valley
5

Practically Perfect

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 2, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
The pictures online will give a very, very good representation of what you get when you enter this cottage. However, they cannot capture it completely. It's even better!

This vacation rental is the best decorated I've ever seen, and the function is not sacrificed for fashion. The dining table is big - and can be made bigger, the living room furniture is inviting and conducive to conversation. The beds (OH MY, The Beds) are incredibly comfortable and the linens are scrumptious.

The kitchen has almost everything you could possibly need. We did bring a few things with us in our party (waffle iron and crock pot) but you cannot expect every single thing from your own kitchen to be in a vacation rental. Like the rest of the house, what is in the kitchen is very good quality.

The hot tub is not to be missed on a starry night. We turned out all the house lights so as not to dull our view. Gorgeous. It is steps away from the sliding door and it was little to no temperature shock and it got nippy and windy.

The privacy you get with this charming cottage is the best. My husband, our 4 friends and I are already checking our calendars to see when we can go back. It was amazing!

One little tidbit: We went to unpack our vehicle first, and surveyed the cabinets for what was there (i.e., spices, herbs, oil, sweeteners, etc...). It would seem that people have left a bit of this and a bit of that along the way. We had forgotten a few spices for our cooking back home so we picked them up on our shopping trip. Once we had finished our cooking we put the newly purchased spices up in the cupboard to join what was already there. It's kind of a way to give to those yet to visit the Overlook. And the next time we go I'll be checking to see if ours is still there, and what's been added. :-)

Enjoy!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Spectacular Cottage Overlooking the Shenandoah River and Blue Ridge Mountains
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p294014
Front Royal Shenandoah Valley
5

Best cabin I have stayed in yet!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 4, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
This place is wonderful. So clean, modern, new, fully equipped, etc. It is so much more spacious than the photos look with an extra sitting/TV room upstairs with a fold out couch. The porches are gorgeous, views unbeatable, nice walks around the property, huge hot tub, all new appliances, i could go on! We loved it and the owners were wonderful.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
Spectacular Cottage Overlooking the Shenandoah River and Blue Ridge Mountains
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p294014
Front Royal Shenandoah Valley
5

Perfect location for quiet retreat

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 19, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
Since 2002 our small group Bible study has gone on a retreat each fall. This was the PERFECT place. We were all delighted by the coziness of the cottage - nicely decorated, warm & inviting. None of us wanted to leave the deck overlooking the river - so peaceful - a quietly beautiful place for relaxing. We enjoyed our walk around the property.
All of us want to return next fall! Thank you!!
business
Spectacular Cottage Overlooking the Shenandoah River and Blue Ridge Mountains
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p294014
Front Royal Shenandoah Valley
Johnson City, TN
5

beautiful destination

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 29, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
This is a wonderful vacation destination. We all enjoyed the property, both kids and adults . I can't recall a vacation when everyone seemed sp refreshed.
business
Spectacular Cottage Overlooking the Shenandoah River and Blue Ridge Mountains
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p294014
Front Royal Shenandoah Valley
5

Exceeded our expectations!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 9, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
As we entered the cottage to begin our week-long stay, we knew we had chosen the right property. The view of the river and mountains we matched in beauty by the interior of the house.

Shortly after our arrival, the owner checked in with us to make sure that everything was to our satisfaction--and was it ever! The house and property were clean and well-maintained, with tasteful decorations, comfortable (and ample) furnishings, and everything else we would need for our stay.

Cozy, but not cramped, the cottage comfortably accommodated our family--four adults and two children. With sitting areas upstairs and down (and two televisions) there was plenty of room to spread out for those few hours when we were not enjoying the hot tub, the river, or the surrounding area.

It is worth noting that the walk down to the river is a little strenuous--and the walk back up doubly so! At the dock, the kids swam and enjoyed the provided kayaks. With the view from the cottage and its second-floor deck being so wonderful, athletic pursuits would be the only reason to make the trek down to the dock.

While the property is secluded, it is really only minutes from route 340 and I-66. We took advantage of the location to make excursions to Front Royal, Winchester (where we visited Bonnie Blue from some amazing BBQ!), Luray Caverns, and the outlets in Leesburg. We also made the trip east to Washington, DC. Using the HOV lane, we made it to the Smithsonian in well under 90 minutes.

When our week was over, we were really sorry to go. It didn't feel like we were leaving a rental property, but rather the home of a friend.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Spectacular Cottage Overlooking the Shenandoah River and Blue Ridge Mountains
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p294014
Front Royal Shenandoah Valley
Mryland
5

Pleasant surprise at the end of a gravel road.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 8, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
While the drive to get to the home is a bit bumpy...what waits for you at the end is worth it. The home was clean and beautiful. Lots of space to find a quiet corner to relax. While the path to the river dock is a bit steep (definitely gets the heart pumping), it too is worth the effort.

The only negative was a strange beeping noise that we noticed our first night. The owner was responsive and came out to help us problem shoot where the sound was coming from but it remained elusive. It was thought it might have been coming from the crawl space. Unfortunately it was locked and he didn't have a key with him. It would have been appreciated if he would have come out the following day to check the crawl space. (We spent 2 nights). However, he didn't and we had this strange noise our entire stay.

In spite of the strange beeping, I would still highly recommend this home.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Spectacular Cottage Overlooking the Shenandoah River and Blue Ridge Mountains
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p294014
Front Royal Shenandoah Valley
Melbourne Beach, Florida USA
5

Beautiful house in a lovely location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 3, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
My family enjoyed a 3 day stay at the River Overlook house. The house has a large well equipped kitchen where we cooked all our meals. We purchased all the food we needed at a nearby market. The rooms are large and clean. There is a gas fireplace in the living room off the kitchen. The dining area has a large table. There is ample porch space with chairs around the house and the hot tub was wonderful.....clean and hot. Our granddaughters enjoyed fishing off the pier in the river and barbecuing hot dogs over the fire pit. And the wifi worked well. The only problem was we did not have heat the first evening.....the owner responded to my text very quickly and was out to the house to check on the issue. He also called a repairman to check the system. After the removal of a clogged filter, the heat worked well. We highly recommend this property.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Spectacular Cottage Overlooking the Shenandoah River and Blue Ridge Mountains
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p294014
Front Royal Shenandoah Valley
Chapel hill nc
5

Great rental

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 2, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
We spent a family Thanksgiving here and really enjoyed it. The house has wonderful river views and is very comfortable and well equipped. Beds and linens are great and kitchen had everything we needed.There was plenty of room for our family of 8 which included a two toddlers and a dog.This is a great rental very thoughfully planned and decorated. Highly recommended. Owner is very responsive and let our daughter who was travelling a long distance with two small children check in early which was a big help.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Spectacular Cottage Overlooking the Shenandoah River and Blue Ridge Mountains
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p294014
Front Royal Shenandoah Valley
Vancouver, B.C., Canada
5

Overlook Cottage

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 21, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
This "cottage" was much more than that: it is a beautiful, new, well-designed house nicer than anything we will ever own! It accommodated our family of four adults and two children very comfortably, and had enough space for us to offer lunch to 15 family members on one day that we were there. The location is spectacular, on a bluff overlooking the Shenandoah River and the mountains beyond, and the view can be enjoyed from the porches, the hot tub, and the second-floor balcony. The house came equipped with all amenities as well as basic staple foods and cleaning products. We were there for a family wedding, and the other house on the property offered accommodation for 6 other family members. We could reach them via a 10-15 minute walk through woodland and a field. They enjoyed the can that was near our house, and the younger members of our family also would have done so if we had had one.
The property was very clean and well-maintained. The only problems were the drain in the kitchen sink, which needs a new strainer, and the lack of an outdoor garbage can and recycling containers.
As we arrived on a dark and rainy night, we had great trouble finding the house, as it is the end of a series of very small gravel roads. The main problem was finding the right turn onto Benny's Beach Road, as the sign is hard to see. We finally realized that it followed shortly after the left turn onto Windy Ridge, and after that we had less trouble. It might be helpful if the owner could provide a map, or at least more detailed directions.
We would also like to suggest that he recommend Martin's Supermarket in Front Royal, in addition to Walmart, as they carry a good selection of organic foods and also have an excellent bakery that does custom-made cakes. We got a very nice one there for our granddaughter's birthday.
We would recommend the rental without hesitation, and hope to return there ourselves!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the kind words and helpful insights. It is always the best compliment when a guest wants to return and we hope you will. We appreciate suggestions for any and all improvements given. We do have a trash bin on the side of the cottage so not sure how it was missed (the cleaner was curious why it wasn't used!).
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Spectacular Cottage Overlooking the Shenandoah River and Blue Ridge Mountains
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p294014
Front Royal Shenandoah Valley
Owings, Maryland
5

Excited for our next visit!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 7, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
This is the cutest river/mountain cottage. A group of bridesmaids and our dates came to stay at the cottage for the weekend to attend the wedding about 30 mins away at the Marriott Ranch. The overlook cottage is adorable. Impeccably decorated and cozy. My fiance and I are looking forward to gathering a group of friends to come back and stay for a weekend because with all the wedding festivities, we felt that we couldn't properly enjoy this adorable house. Not only is the house decorated beautifully, the linens and beds are hotel quality and uber comfortable. The drive to the house is a little misleading, it feels like a scene from Deliverance for about a 1/2 mile by the river, but when you get the the house at the top of the hill you will be amazed. I definitely recommend this rental. Thank you Frank! We will be back!
Helpful votes: 3/3