County Londonderry house rental - Front view of house. Semi detached, Mullaghard is on the right.
Front view of house. Semi detached, Mullaghard is on the right.
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps6
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay nights
 

County Londonderry House Rental Photos and Description
House, 3 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 6)

The recently modernized house is steps away from the quiet golden sand beach and is in the centre of the quaint village of Castlerock. Shops, home bakery, bistro and two pubs. 100 meters from Castlerock Golf Course and 15 minutes from the famous Portstewart and Portrush Golf courses. The beautiful North Antrim coast and The Giants Causeway is 30 minutes away. The Village is on the main Belfast to Derry railway line with frequent trains. 15 minutes to the car ferry to Donegal, a 10 minute sea journey. Good shopping in nearby towns of Coleraine and Limavady.

Ideal base for golfers playing the Antrim and Derry links courses at Portrush, Portstewart and Castlerock. Ideal base to visit Londonderry, City of culture 2013, the starting stages of The Giro D'Italia in May 2014 and the annual North West 200 motor cycle race.

The house is on the edge of the National Trust managed Victorian estate of Downhill Castle and famous Mussenden Temple. Marvellous scenic walks through ornamental gardens, lakes and woods.

Scenic drives abound in this area with beach, sea and mountain views.

Beautiful sunsets not to be missed as the sun sets behind the Donegal hills.

Keywords: Beach House, great base for golfers playing the north coast links courses at Royal Portrush, Portstewart, Castlerock and Ballyliffen. Great base to visit the City of Derry, 2013 European City of culture and the 2013 all Ireland Traditional music fleadh in Londonderry.

More Details
Hide Details

This is a family home used by our family members when in Ireland. We are opening our home to give people the opportunity to visit and experience one of the most beautiful places in Ireland.

The day usually starts with a walk on the quiet beach or through the beautiful ornamental gardens close by. Enjoy breakfast on the balcony or back garden surrounded by beautiful scenery and views of Donegal and Scotland (Mull of Kintyre) in the distance. An abundance of golf courses surround you.

12 Reviews of Property 293551 in County Londonderry, United Kingdom

Beautiful Beach House Castlerock Village Golf Surfing Walks
average rating of 4.9166665 based on 12 reviews
business
Beautiful Beach House Castlerock Village Golf Surfing Walks
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p293551vb
County Londonderry Northern Ireland
4

September at Mullaghard

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 30, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
We rented Mullaghard for most of September. It was perfectly situated for our N.I. golf and driving tours. We were able to host family and friends in very comfortable and up to date facilities.The train station in Castlerock is very convenient for visits to Belfast and Derry. Our host prepared everything perfectly right down to a full booklet on tips for our visit. The beach is a block away and makes for a wonderful walk. The village is quiet and the golf club, food market, butcher, pharmacy and wonderful cafe are a two minute walk. We would definitely stay again and will recommend to others for any coastal Northern Ireland holiday for all ages.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Delighted that you and your guests enjoyed Mullaghard, Castlerock and the Derry and Antrim coast golf. Glad the home catering worked out so well. Hope to see you back again.
business
Beautiful Beach House Castlerock Village Golf Surfing Walks
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p293551vb
County Londonderry Northern Ireland
5

Donna

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 26, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
It was perfect! Only really needed to bring myself, clothes and toiletries along with purchasing. The home was very clean and comfortable. We enjoyed walking to the train station to catch a train to Belfast. Crusoe's was delicious as was the Temple Bar (Bistro). A new coffee shop opened while we were there... The Little Blue Beach Coffee shop, excellent for breakfast, scones and great coffee. A 5 minute walk to the beach was appreciated. Though the weather was less than spectacular, we enjoyed our stay. Remember to bring clothes for layering and a windproof jacket for walks on the beach and even in town. Thanks so much.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Dear Donna, Glad that you had a good vacation and enjoyed Mullaghard and the Castlerock area. I appreciate your review and advice to future guests. Hope you get a chance to return. I will return your deposit by mail when I have received the keys.
Regards, Bob.
business
Beautiful Beach House Castlerock Village Golf Surfing Walks
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p293551vb
County Londonderry Northern Ireland
Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
5

Mr. & Mrs

Mr. & Mrs
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 13, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
We had the pleasure of spending a week at this lovely, comfortable home in Castlerock. Castelrock is a charming, quiet ocean village we would highly recommend to anyone. The beaches are clean, beautiful and perfect for long walks. The village has a fine bakery and very nice Cafe (and other amenities). Th town of Coleraine is only ten minutes away by car and there is very good shoppping there, both for groceries and other items. The house is located on a street two minutes away from the ocean. The upper bedrooms have an ocean view. The house is very comforatable and immaculate. It has a well-equipped kitchen which makes entertaining a pleasure. The bedrooms are quiet and lovely. The backyard is beautiful with gardens full of hydrangeas, roses and lavender to enjoy. It is a very nice space to sit in for morning coffee or to enjoy a dinner outside. The house has all the comforts of home (laundry, high speed internet) and we are looking forward to returning for a longer stay.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Many thanks for the great review. Hope you get the chance to return now that you have family in the area.

Bob.
business
Beautiful Beach House Castlerock Village Golf Surfing Walks
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p293551vb
County Londonderry Northern Ireland
Kennebunk, ME, USA
5

Too Short a Stay for such a great place.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 22, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
The house was exactly as described, and maybe even better in person. Everything we could possibly need was available and the location was vry convenient. The kitchen was perfect for a gathering place and the bedrooms were not only comfortable but had great views.

The owner was helpful and everything went according to plan. I would recommend this property to anyone wanting a relaxing place to stay in a beautiful location.

Our favorite thing on the trip was the Giant's Causeway. The train station was so conveniently located it was easy to travel to Derry and Belfast for a day trip.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Many thanks for the great review. Hope you can come back again some time for a longer stay. Bob
business
Beautiful Beach House Castlerock Village Golf Surfing Walks
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p293551vb
County Londonderry Northern Ireland
Maryland, USA
5

A few months later the memories are still great....

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 1, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
We traveled to Northern Ireland in August in pursuit of relaxation and some genealogical explorations, and thought that this property and the tiny town of Castlerock would be a good home base. The house was even more appealing than the pictures and description suggested, everything in excellent condition and working well, the big open kitchen and large table an excellent home base for cooking, eating and planning. The bedrooms were comfortable, and the ocean clearly audible from the master BR. Castlerock is a small and friendly, and the surrounding area filled with places to explore and enjoy. We would certainly recommend this to others, and also look forward to a return visit in the near future.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing
Owner's Response: Many thanks for your kind review of Mullaghard, we look forward to a future visit of yourselves or friends.
Best wishes,
Bob and Lauraine.
business
Beautiful Beach House Castlerock Village Golf Surfing Walks
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p293551vb
County Londonderry Northern Ireland
London, Ontario, Canada
5

Exceptional Vacation Spot

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 8, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
Our family had a wonderful stay in Castlerock. The accommodation was superb and the beach house had everything we needed and more. Facilities and appointments were top notch and provided all the modern comforts of home, as per listing photos. Particularly enjoyed morning coffee in the lovely back garden. The village of Castlerock had a spectacular beach, a championship golf course and was only a few minutes walk to Mussenden Temple and the gardens of Downhill Demesne. The location was ideal for day trips to see the sights along the Causeway Costal Route as well we were able to take the train directly from Castlerock to Belfast one day and to Londonderry another. Local bakery, shops and pubs were all within steps of the beach house and the people running them were very helpful and friendly. Only wish we could have stayed longer! Would definitely return in future and would definitely recommend this spot to anyone planning a holiday in Northern Ireland!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Beautiful Beach House Castlerock Village Golf Surfing Walks
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p293551vb
County Londonderry Northern Ireland
Toronto
5

Great Accommodation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 10, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2011
We very much enjoyed our week in Castlerock and the Beach House was 'as advertised', and more. Everything we needed was close by, including the station for the train which goes between Belfast and Londonderry. The Castlerock golf courses are 2 blocks away and you can play the 9 hole course all day for a very reasonable green fee. If you are visiting Northern Ireland, this is a perfect home base for your day trips. It is roomy, bright and very comfortable. You will love it!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children
business
Beautiful Beach House Castlerock Village Golf Surfing Walks
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p293551vb
County Londonderry Northern Ireland
Toronto
5

Great Accommodation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 10, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2011
We very much enjoyed our week in Castlerock and the Beach House was 'as advertised', and more. Everything we needed was close by, including the station for the train which goes between Belfast and Londonderry. The Castlerock golf courses are 2 blocks away and you can play the 9 hole course all day for a very reasonable green fee. If you are visiting Northern Ireland, this is a perfect home base for your day trips. It is roomy, bright and very comfortable. You will love it!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children
business
Beautiful Beach House Castlerock Village Golf Surfing Walks
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p293551vb
County Londonderry Northern Ireland
France
5

Excellent Vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 4, 2010
  • Stayed: Aug 2010
My family enjoyed a wondeful week here. The house was extremely comfortable for my family of four, but would work just as well for a family of six. The property was exactly as it is described. It is well taken care of and very clean. We loved that we were right across the street from the beach. Castlerock is a cute little village. It wasn't crowded, which we appreciated. All of the cities and sites in Northern Ireland are easy daytrips. The owners were extremely helpful and answered all of the questions that we had. We would highly recommend this property.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Beautiful Beach House Castlerock Village Golf Surfing Walks
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p293551vb
County Londonderry Northern Ireland
Holland
5

We had a wonderful time at the Castlerock beach house

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 8, 2010
  • Stayed: Jul 2010
The house and garden are wonderfully maintained and 6 people fit very comfortably here. We enjoyed walking on the beach daily - as it is only a 3 minute walk away. The village is lovely and the corner pub has very tasty and fresh food. All of the causeway sites are well within day trip driving distances. We definitely recommend this property.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway