Tel Aviv apartment rental - Salon, large window faces north, sofa pulls out into Queen Size bed
Salon, large window faces north, sofa pulls out into Queen Size bed
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps7
Minimum Stay nights
 

Tel Aviv Apartment Rental Photos and Description
Apartment, 2 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 1 Bath, (Sleeps 6-7)

The perfect location to explore Tel Aviv and to relax from travel in Israel.

We are a 3 minute walk to the shops, restaurants and markets of Dizengoff Circle and 6 minutes to the beach. Although it is in a fantastic central location, the building is in a low traffic area and is significantly quieter than the typical noisy streets of the busy hotels.

This renovated apartment retains much of its original 1930's Art Deco character in its tiles, chandeliers and some furniture pieces. Is is one flight up in an International Style (Bauhaus) walk up building.

location:

type the following (sorry this website won't allow url addresses!)

maps 'dot' google 'dot' com

then search:

Mendele and Shalom Aleichem, Tel Aviv, Israel

Completely refreshed, very comfortable.

The apartment is has a master bedroom, a kitchen, a 4 piece full bathroom with tub and shower, a salon and a dining room both of which have sofas that sleep two. The salon and the dining room exit onto a rounded Bauhaus balcony that defines the look of the building.

The master bedroom has a double bed, a built in closet along one entire wall, a desk, a 32' LCD Satellite TV, and very fast DSL- WiFi internet. The Internet connection is the fastest available residentially; NGN super high speed @ 10Mbps.

The galley kitchen is fully equipped with a full size refrigerator, a gas stove top with an electric oven, a microwave, cookware, dishes, cutlery and cooking utensils (12 settings). There is also a bar for 2 (or 3) to eat at.

The salon has original 30's deco side tables, bookcase, chandelier and tiles. There is a sofa and two easy chairs. The sofa pulls out into a Queen sized bed. There is also a 42' LCD Satellite TV with a multi region DVD player.

The dining room has a 30's dining room table that seats 6 (with original chairs) and pulls out to seat 10. The sofa pulls out into two single beds that can be pushed together.

(Each of the salon and the dining room have doors that close allowing for privacy when they are converted to bedrooms.)

The patio has a cafe table and four chairs perfect for morning or afternoon tea and biscuits.

Within a walking distance of 5-10 minutes: Shopping,Dizengoff Shopping Centre, the beach, Antiques market, art galleries, live theatre and cinema & Rabin Square

Within a walking distance of 15-20 minutes: Tel Aviv Cinematheque, Carmel Market, Arts and Crafts Market, Tel Aviv Museum of Art, Old City Hall, Bialik House, Rothschild Boulevard, Habimah Theatre

Within a walking distance of 20- 35 minutes: Neve Tzedek neighbourhood, Florentine neighborhood and Sheinkin hipster stores, Jaffa port, Tel Aviv Port neighbourhood (the 'Namal'), Herz-Lillenblum Museum, Shalom Towers, Azrielli Towers / HaShalom Train Station, and so much more...

Amenities include maximum package of Cable TV, a local phone, NGN Wireless Internet (the fastest available in Israel). Linens and towels are included.

Smoking is not permitted inside the apartment.

For a picture of the building, please see VRBO#283643

Keywords: Tel Aviv Apartment great location

Mendele and Shalom Aleichem

More Details
Hide Details

We liked visiting Israel so much, we moved here with our family! This building has been in our family since my grandfather built it in the 30's. (On the original maps of Tel Aviv from the 30's our street was the last street before the beach!)

The Owner purchased this apartment in 1934

We will be happy to help you plan your stay in Tel Aviv. This suite allows you the luxury of being close to everything without the crush of tourists in a hotel or the noise of the busy tourist areas. So enjoy a bit of Tel Aviv history during your stay in Israel.

8 Reviews of Property 293452 in Tel Aviv, Israel

Renovated Bauhaus Apartment with Original Art Deco Details
average rating of 4.125 based on 8 reviews
business
Renovated Bauhaus Apartment with Original Art Deco Details
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p293452vbi
(647) 428-4328 do not call past 3pm EST (Ontario,
Tel Aviv Tel Aviv area
California
5

Excellent opportunity

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 15, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
My 16 year old son and I just got back from five months in Tel Aviv. We were more than lucky to have found this apartment. the apartment is roomy, quaint, and very functional. The location is ideal. You can walk everywhere, no need for a car at all. We felt completely at home. Both Ron the owner (and Paula the house cleaner) who manage the apartment were very friendly and most helpful. We did not have to worry at all about getting quick and accurate help from learning the small things in the apartment to where to go and how to get things done. If you are planning to spend time in Tel Aviv from a week or as we did to five months you will be fortunate if this apartment is available. We hope to return.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: It was a delight hosting you! As you said, you left with "a taste for more". Hope to see you again soon.
business
Renovated Bauhaus Apartment with Original Art Deco Details
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p293452vbi
(647) 428-4328 do not call past 3pm EST (Ontario,
Tel Aviv Tel Aviv area
Toronto, Canada
4

Bauhaus in Tel Aviv

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 16, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
I loved spending time at the apartment on Mendele, the location is incomparable. 10 minutes or less in any direction and I'm on the beach, in a great little bistro en route to the shuk or the buzz on Dizengoff. I very much enjoyed staying in a piece of living history, knowing the apartment was built by the owners grandfather somehow made this experience even more special. We enjoyed all the mod cons such as washer dryer etc and then walked outside and looked up at a Bauhaus beauty! The owners pre arrival manual was a very useful document for which we were especially grateful as we were able to hit the ground running and use internet immediately and find all of the info required to communicate with my office. The cleaning person was most helpful and efficient , So all in all I'd be happy to recommend a stay at Medele 26
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Renovated Bauhaus Apartment with Original Art Deco Details
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p293452vbi
(647) 428-4328 do not call past 3pm EST (Ontario,
Tel Aviv Tel Aviv area
Vancouver Canada
5

Frequent VRBO user

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 2, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
Apartment is as advertised. Excellent location for a wonderful holiday in Tel Aviv. Very comfortable and well equipped. Very friendly and concerned owner. Would definitely use again.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing
business
Renovated Bauhaus Apartment with Original Art Deco Details
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p293452vbi
(647) 428-4328 do not call past 3pm EST (Ontario,
Tel Aviv Tel Aviv area
switzerland
1

photos missing

  • 1 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 24, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
Our stay was cut short by the poor state of the appartment, updating bedding, pillows, towels, etc. would help. Also we were disappointed by the size and look of the bathroom (there are no pictures posted on the website so no way too know BEFORE you get inside the appartment.). Kitchen is very small too.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers
Owner's Response: Oh Poppycock and Fiddlesticks! (to be polite)!
Sigh. Where do I begin?
The bathroom is indeed as described; full bathtub w. shower, full size vanity and medicine cabinet, toilet and a stackable washer dryer. I have no idea how large a bathroom they expected (pictures available), but perhaps it was their intention to sleep their family in the bathtub. These guests assumed the kitchen was eat in, and were disappointed to discover it was a galley kitchen. There are two photos of the kitchen (more available), including a bar for 2 or 3 (the photo is on this site) to eat in the kitchen. There is a closet full of fresh and clean linens, summer, fall and winter and the pillows are new from earlier this year.(Pictures available)
So, here are the other complaints they had:
These guests did not know how to operate our plumbing to divert from bath to shower and decided our shower did not function correctly. (We have now included a note on this with a picture in the 5 page apartment users manual for future guests just in case.)
Three of the Art Deco tiles (from 1930, the same tiles are on display in the City of Tel Aviv Museum) in the apartment have bleached over the years. Accordingly, this made our floor unacceptable. (We have also included a note on this in the manual for future guests.)
The apartment's internal doors are the original 1930's Bauhaus doors. This made them unacceptable. (Seriously, this was one of their complaints. I couldn't make this kind of nonsense up if I tried.) In a corner of a hallway, 6' (2m) up near the ceiling, they discovered a chip of paint and plaster the size of a quarter that had been knocked off the wall (immediately remedied). This made our apartment "full of holes".
And on and on ... in other words, "Give us all our money back or else!"
Respectfully we responded to each and every one of their issues, ridiculous or otherwise and documented each issue with pictures and video. As a result, these "guests" backed off the rest of their claims and the result is the comments they left above. ( Oh, by the way, they left owing us money.)
Please see the reviews above and below that speak to the quality of care we take of both our apartments (our other VRBO is # 283643) and our guests. And please feel free to contact me with any additional photo's you may require or questions you want answered. We look forward to hosting you! Ron.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Renovated Bauhaus Apartment with Original Art Deco Details
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p293452vbi
(647) 428-4328 do not call past 3pm EST (Ontario,
Tel Aviv Tel Aviv area
boston
4

apartment

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 2, 2012
  • Stayed: Feb 2012
great location
very accommodating owner and onsite manager
very good internet
apt could be improved by updating bedding, pillows, towels, etc and the bathroom
our experience was likely influenced by the unusually cold weather
Recommended for:  Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Yes indeed you had the coldest and wettest weather Israel and Tel Aviv have had in the past 25 years! (Then again, thanks for bringing all this rain with you, as an arid country we appreciate every single drop!)
Re. the bedding: There were more linens etc. in another closet in the second apartment and of course we would have been happy to provide them if you had requested such. Of note, some guests are not aware that most towels and linens are sun dried in Israel and therefore not as "fluffy". This is a healthier way of treating fabric (the sun's UV rays are also quite cleansing) and a concerted effort to reduce greenhouse gases. I hope you were able to get out into the countryside to see the entire region in bloom, including the desert due to the prolonged rainfall. Looking forward to seeing you return in warmer weather!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Renovated Bauhaus Apartment with Original Art Deco Details
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p293452vbi
(647) 428-4328 do not call past 3pm EST (Ontario,
Tel Aviv Tel Aviv area
Waterloo, Ontario, Canada
4

5 Days in Tel Aviv

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 4, 2011
  • Stayed: Dec 2010
My wife and I wanted to experience Tel Aviv from a local's perspective. Walk anywhere, sit at cafes, visit the markets, the beach, and the shops, eat in when we wanted to, shop for groceries etc. This apartment allowed us to do just that. It was perfectly situated 5 minute walk to the beach, 5 minutes to Dizengoff Square in a quiet, tree lined, residential area. The apartment was quite comfortable and roomy, clean, with nice balconies to sit on while having your morning coffee. If we had any problems there was a lady one floor below to help us or we spoke to the owner. We stayed 4 nights and all in all found the accomodations quite comfortable. We would definately stay there again. Bialik Street, the Carmel Market, Nahalal Binyamin craft market, Neve Tzedek arts area, Dizengoff Square, The tree lined Rothschild Boulevard, The delicious coffee and pastry shops, The Beach boardwalk. We would recommend all this and more.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Renovated Bauhaus Apartment with Original Art Deco Details
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p293452vbi
(647) 428-4328 do not call past 3pm EST (Ontario,
Tel Aviv Tel Aviv area
Pittsburgh, PA, USA
5

Fabulous Bauhaus apartment in the heart of Tel Aviv

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 31, 2010
  • Stayed: Jul 2010
This historic Bauhaus building is everything the owner's listing said and much more! Location is tops--in the best most fashionable area of Tel Aviv, a few short blocks from the beach, 1 km from rental car agencies, short walk to groceries and restaurants, all major hotels overlooking beach. Easy walk to both the new port area to north, and historic Jaffa to south, some museums. Tel Aviv was called the White City because of the many Bauhaus buildings, so you're staying in history! But freshly painted and decorated. Mendele is a quiet street, with a school across the street, but a block away is a busy street where it's easy to hail cabs for going to airport (about 35 minutes away in AM rush hour). Designated neighbor with keys, who also cleans, lives upstairs and is very helpful. We found apt. immaculate, no bugs. Apartment's rooms very spacious, high ceilings, doors from both Dining Room and Living Room ("Salon") to balcony overlooking Mendele St. Each of those rooms has fold-out couches (couch in Salon unfolds into a queen bed, couch in DR splits into 2 twin beds). Plus doors on each room for privacy. It was fine for our family of four (including two college students). Fast Wi-fi Internet great for them. The one master bedroom is huge, with closets, drawers, TV, couch, desk, reading lights over double bed. TV in Salon too. All sheets and towels provided. Big eat-in kitchen, all the cooking equipment you could need (but there are amazing restaurants in Tel Aviv). Good Central AC (you need it in July!). Perfect in every way. I think the price is an incredible bargain in Tel Aviv. The only thing I would add would be folding luggage racks for putting your suitcase on, rather than the floor, for unpacking or if you're only staying a few days and don't want to unpack. Owner very accomodating when I preferred wiring money to his bank from my bank instead of using PayPal, and he e-mailed very detailed instructions before our arrival, he thinks of everything. I would recommend this to anyone except handicapped (no elevator, walk up two flights stairs to apartment). Tel Aviv is very cosmopolitan. Recommend Orna & Ella restaurant on Sheinkin!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Renovated Bauhaus Apartment with Original Art Deco Details
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p293452vbi
(647) 428-4328 do not call past 3pm EST (Ontario,
Tel Aviv Tel Aviv area
Toronto, Canada
5

Convenient location - close to beach, restaurants and markets!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 2, 2010
  • Stayed: Apr 2009
We loved our stay at this apartment. It was so centrally located, a great place to explore markets, cafes and restaurants. We were able to grab our towels and walk down to the beach only 10 minutes away. The apartment had everything we needed for a comfortable stay. It was spacious for my family of four and had air conditioning although we didn't need it, and a lovely balcony looking out on a quiet street. We warmly recommend this property.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 6/6