Oxnard cottage rental - Front on Camarillo Ave.
Front on Camarillo Ave.
 
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps8
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights
 

Oxnard Cottage Rental Photos and Description
House, 4 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 8)

Less than 1 block to the sand! Enjoy the mild beach climate of Central CA but close to all the attractions of Southern CA without the hustle and bustle of the city. Great value for 8 or fewer people--small house with premium conveniences does not require premium pricing!

Our home is located near the cities of Oxnard and Ventura, CA in the uncrowded oceanside community of Silverstrand Beach. Grab the kids and boogie boards and walk down our quiet street (400 ft) to one of the best beaches in Ventura County. The waves are awesome and there is a great sense of welcome and hospitality in this California retro community.

One of our favorite things about Silverstrand is hopping on our beach cruisers and going to our neighborhood eating spots. You really feel the local vibe while enjoying BBQ ribs or other great cuisine at Quincy's. Equally great is spending an afternoon/evening on the property's large patio barbequing your own feast.

Travel 25 miles north and enjoy fabulous restaurants, sight seeing and farmers markets in Santa Barbara. Travel 60 miles south and experience all that Los Angeles has to offer including Disneyland and Universal studios. 20 miles north/east is Ojai, one of LA's best kept secrets for golf and spa, not to mention star sightings.

If you want to look up the exact location, the address is 153 Camarillo Avenue, Oxnard CA 93035. This is a great family vacation spot that everyone will want to return to year after year!

Keywords: Beach, Four Bedroom, Cottage, Ventura, Oxnard, single story, quiet community

More Details
Hide Details

My wife and I are retired and live in the Los Angeles area near our three children and their families. Everyone loves to visit this house from young to old!

Lolan Pullen purchased this cottage in 1988

Our kids love the the surfing spot here and the beach and neighborhood are quiet and friendly. We also wanted a spot that was a safe walk to the beach. If they wanted to walk down to the beach they just let us know and headed down the street. There are none of the busy streets or scary traffic you find in other beach communities. When our children were young we had a comfortable stay because each kid had their own bedroom/privacy.

The best part of renting our home is the value. It is a comfortable four bedroom home that could be shared amongst couples or families to create a very reasonable vacation cost for a home located 400 ft from the beach. Also unique in this area is the large comfortable patio right off the kitchen. Outdoor living in Silverstrand is every bit as important as the inside and many homes don't have a great outdoor space big enough to seat everyone. You wouldn't want to do without it!

26 Reviews of Property 301440 in Oxnard, California

Charming Silverstrand Beach Cottage Just Steps to the Sand!
average rating of 4.923077 based on 26 reviews
business
Charming Silverstrand Beach Cottage Just Steps to the Sand!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p301440vb
+1 818-887-7214
Oxnard Central Coast California
5

Cute beach cottage! Excellent Location!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 8, 2014
  • Stayed: Apr 2014
My husband and I rented this beach cottage for a weekend getaway with his brother and nephew. In total, we were three adults and three children under the age of 3. This cottage is perfectly equipped for a weekend trip! The pictures very much reflect the quality of the property. It is clean with well appointed bedrooms and a nicely stocked kitchen that has pots, pans, basic utensils, and ample glassware, plates, etc. The interior common space is a bit small, but it has a nice, well furnished exterior patio. The proximity to the beach is excellent! It's about a block away, and Silver Strand is lovely - white, sands, good for surfing, if a bit windy in the afternoons. We did not explore much of Oxnard or nearby Ventura but did make a trip to Leo Carillo to see some tidepools, which were quite disappointing. My only recommendation for improvement would have been to swap out one of the king sized beds for a pair of twin beds just to increase the sleeping possibilities. My brother-in-law only brought one of his sons and we had a port-a-crib for our youngest so sharing beds was not necessary, but it's not always easy to have young children share beds.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Charming Silverstrand Beach Cottage Just Steps to the Sand!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p301440vb
+1 818-887-7214
Oxnard Central Coast California
Canada
5

A great family place for any needs.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 14, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
Our family of 6, grandparents, parents, and two teenagers. felt right at home. The four bedrooms served us well in size and comfort. A good nights sleep is important when away from home. We were there for a softball tournament in Ventura and the travel back and forth was a short easy distance. We originally chose this cottage as it is all on one floor for togetherness. The only thing that grandmother mentioned was that the cupboards, drawers, and baseboards were in need of deep cleaning. We would recommend to others and we would stay there again. We loved the area. Much better than a motel.
business
Charming Silverstrand Beach Cottage Just Steps to the Sand!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p301440vb
+1 818-887-7214
Oxnard Central Coast California
LA
5

Beach cottage

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 22, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
Charming beach cottage, just like it's pictured. Owner is a pleasure to rent from!
business
Charming Silverstrand Beach Cottage Just Steps to the Sand!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p301440vb
+1 818-887-7214
Oxnard Central Coast California
Los Angeles
5

Relaxing Getaway only an hour from LA

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 7, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
Went up for the Cinco De Mayo weekend and had a thoroughly relaxing stay. Very short walk to the beach, all the modern conveniences for a comfortable stay and a wonderful front yard to relax in. Dog friendly owners made the stay a bonus. Will definitely come back in the future.
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Charming Silverstrand Beach Cottage Just Steps to the Sand!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p301440vb
+1 818-887-7214
Oxnard Central Coast California
Asheville, NC
5

An excellent place to stay in Silverstrand

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 22, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
We came to stay in Silverstrand for a cycling team training camp, and this house was a perfect place to stay. Its an ideal location and the house itself is great. There was plenty of room for us, and the owners were very friendly and helpful. I'd thoroughly recommend this place to anyone, and when we return to Oxnard next year, we will definitely be coming back here if the house is available
business
Charming Silverstrand Beach Cottage Just Steps to the Sand!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p301440vb
+1 818-887-7214
Oxnard Central Coast California
5

Wonderful Beach Cottage

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 30, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
Our family of 4 spent Thanksgiving week at this wonderful beach cottage.

As previous reviewers have stated, everything you could possibly want is there:
the beach themed decor is truly charming, the enclosed front patio is such an enjoyable bonus, the neighbors are friendly, and beautiful Silverstrand Beach is only a brief walk away.

We hope to return for another vacation one of these days. If I could give our experience 10 stars, I would! :)
business
Charming Silverstrand Beach Cottage Just Steps to the Sand!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p301440vb
+1 818-887-7214
Oxnard Central Coast California
Woodland Hills, CA
5

PERFECT spot for a weekend getaway!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 19, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
This is the 2nd time we have stayed at this charming beach cottage in the past year. Will absolutely go back again!! Very charming for a nice little weekend getaway with friends. While the house is fairly small, it has 4 decent size bedrooms with a double bed in each one, and two bathrooms, so it was VERY comfortable for our 4 couple weekend "retreat". Clean sheets and towels and a fully well stocked kitchen. The fenced-in front yard was a perfect spot to sit outside in the beautiful weather and enjoy meals together. There is even a BBQ to grill up your steaks. We all walked down to the beach (about 10-15 houses away) several times for walks along the beach or to watch the GORGEOUS sunsets. While there, we even drove into the town of Ventura for a little downtown shopping and a beautiful picnic in a park overlooking all of downtown and 180 degree views of the ocean. We also had a wonderful breakfast at a place that was featured on the Food Networks TV show Diners, Drive-ins, and Dives called "Pete's Breakfast House". If you are looking for a nice charming beach cottage get-away, then look no farther. This place will do the trick. Enjoy!!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Charming Silverstrand Beach Cottage Just Steps to the Sand!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p301440vb
+1 818-887-7214
Oxnard Central Coast California
San Fernando Valley
5

Ideal Getaway Spot

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 12, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
This is an ideal getaway spot; immaculate and wonderfully decorated and updated. The bedrooms are very roomy and comfortable and the living space and kitchen are really perfect, including the phenomenal front patio. Best of all it's a quick 2 minute walk to the wonderful beach. We would return again and again; great rental opportunity for sure. Near everything; getting to Ventura downtown and the 101 freeway is a cinch.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities
business
Charming Silverstrand Beach Cottage Just Steps to the Sand!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p301440vb
+1 818-887-7214
Oxnard Central Coast California
West Hills, CA
5

Pristine Beach Home!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 10, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
My husband and I spent a fabulous weekend with 6 other adults at this property. With 8 adults in one home, we never bumped into each other. It was such a comfortable and beautifully appointed home with updated bathrooms and kitchen. The bedrooms looked like they were out of a very expensive Bed and Breakfast! We cooked out one night and loved the huge front patio. The neighbors were friendly and the neighborhood was quiet and safe. We loved the beach, so private and large. Sunsets on the beach were spectacular. Had a blast going to a restaurant in Ventura from TV Show, Diners, Drive-Ins and Dives, called Pete's. Shopping in downtown Ventura was charming and there were many places to picnic and hike. Owners are very accomodating and easy to work with. We will definitely be back!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
business
Charming Silverstrand Beach Cottage Just Steps to the Sand!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p301440vb
+1 818-887-7214
Oxnard Central Coast California
4

Quiet

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 21, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
Loved the quiet of the area and the cool temps. The next door neighbor was a little much - at 8:30 one night we were watching tv and laughing and she asked if we could keep it down because her boy needed to go to bed. Only complaint is the bedrooms need fans. We slept with sliders and windows open to keep comfortable but did not feel it was the safest thing to do.
Recommended for:  Age 55+