Rodeo estate rental - PPR Complex showing 3 Main Buildings, Events Building & Cabin in far background
PPR Complex showing 3 Main Buildings, Events Building & Cabin in far background
 
  • Bedrooms12
  • Sleeps40
  • 7 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
 

Rodeo Estate Rental Photos and Description
300+ acre high desert ranch, up to 30+ guests. Events Building, Pool, Hot Tub

A plush, comfortable desert retreat economically priced for Family Reunions, Business Retreats, Workshops, Conferences, Stargazing and Astronomy, Private Events and a Wedding Destination.

300+ acre high desert ranch situated in the San Simon Valley of SW New Mexico with breath taking panoramic views of two mountain ranges: Chiricahua and Peloncillo Mountains.

Accommodates up to 30+ guest in 12 bedrooms. Spacious 5 bedroom main house, 2 guest houses with 4 additional bedrooms, Rustic Cabin with 3 bedrooms, Events Building, air runway, 5 RV pads, cabana and courtyard with outdoor pool, outdoor fireplace and hot tub.

Various rental options are available starting with $500 per night for up to 6 adults. For all pricing options call the owner or go to the Owner's Web Site Link that is below just before the Photos where it says: CLICK HERE - Main web Site for Painted Pony Resort. No matter what rental option you choose you will NOT share the facilities with other renters. We only rent to one group at a time.

We've accommodated a wedding with over 40 overnight guests, a family reunion with 51 people, and a wedding with 80 guests for the day of the ceremony on our courtyard. Wedding Reception for 80 using our Events Building for the party.

Get unplugged and off the grid at Pained Pony Resort and Ranch, 'An Escape to Tranquility.'

* Ideal location for Family Reunion, Weddings, Workshops, Other Groups like: Astronomy and Stargazing Clubs, Painting Workshops, Biking & Hiking Groups, University Research Teams.

* Painted Pony Resort is rented to one group at a time. You do NOT share the Resort with other renters.

* Pricing based on the size of your group and how many buildings you desire. Children 12 and under stay no charge under the limitations of our Occupancy Policies as stated on our owner's web site.

More Details
Hide Details

We are a family with 4 boys living the American dream and very thankful for our good fortune to have this Resort in NM, The Land of Enchantment! We live in Northern VA and fell in love with the peaceful isolation of the NM desert in an area they call the bootheel of NM. The picture is from our own family reunion. The heated pool was a favorite hangout for everybody, especially the kids!

Glen purchased this estate in 2009

John McAfee put this property up for auction in the crash of 2009 with the auction was featured in an article in the NY Times where we read about the property. We decided to attend the auction and were absolutely blown away by the peacefulness of the area and the quality of the layout and construction of this estate. Believing it would make a great getaway resort we placed the winning bid for this former private estate and turned it into The Painted Pony Resort.

The Pained Pony Resort is a great choice for the budget conscious who want the Southwest Desert experience but not the commercialism and or prices of Tucson and Phoenix. Weddings can be done economically using locals for food and other services. For family reunions, it is a great place because everyone tends to stay on the resort and re-connect. We love PPR for its beautiful setting and the calm and peaceful spirit it promotes. This is a perfect place to get away from the rat race and get spiritually recharged. Small to medium sized groups, artists, astronomers and university staff on sabbatical have come to hold their meetings at PPR. They find that our facilities are economical and their members love the quite beauty. Several groups are returning each year at the requests of their members.

16 Reviews of Property 278896 in Rodeo, New Mexico

Family Reunions, Weddings, Workshops, Conferences, Stargazing
average rating of 5.0 based on 16 reviews
business
Family Reunions, Weddings, Workshops, Conferences, Stargazing
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p278896vbi
(703) 281-9559 (Virginia, USA)
Rodeo New Mexico
Montreal, Canada
5

Incredible place for astronomy

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 12, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
We are a group of Canadian amateur astronomers and we just spent two weeks in this incredible place. The property is extremely nice and well appointed. We were 13 people and the resort never felt crowded. For astronomy, the area around the hangar was ideal to setup our astrophotography equipment and also our two big 20-inch Dobs. There is even a nice bathroom at the back of the hangar so it was easy to remain outside all night without bothering our non-astronomer wives and friends sleeping in the main complex ! We were lucky and had 10 clear nights in a row. We chose the month of October for our visit to avoid the monsoon season that ends in late September. On most nights, winds were light and except for a couple dusty days towards the end of our stay, weather was perfect.

There are nice side-trips that can be easily done within the area: Chiricahua museum is a must, and astronomers should visit Rancho Hidalgo and see a restoration of Clyde Tombaugh personal telescope. We also liked the town of Bisbee, and the breathtaking Portal/Cave Creek Canyon area.

On-site manager Bruce is a very good man and such a nice guy. He was of great help and his knowledge helped us getting a better understanding of the desert. He also helped organizing a perfect cowboy cookout. We really appreciated his unobtrusive presence and kindness.

Dealing with the owner was always easy and straightforward. Glen answered all of my emails in no-time at all ! It was a pleasure doing business with him. No hidden costs or bad surprises.

Well, we had a GREAT time and I would highly recommend this place to anyone with a taste for an unusual and peaceful vacation. I sure would like to have a chance to visit again not too far in the future.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you! We loved having and your group at the resort. The pictures of the heavens you posted on your web site are incredible!
business
Family Reunions, Weddings, Workshops, Conferences, Stargazing
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p278896vbi
(703) 281-9559 (Virginia, USA)
Rodeo New Mexico
Portland
5

Magical Wedding Weekend

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 4, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
We chose The Painted Pony for a small wedding of 20 people and we couldn't have picked a better place. Upon our arrival, we were greeted by Bruce (manager of the property), who let us know that he would be nearby to tend to our every need during our stay. He also assured us not to worry about anything on the day of our departure and that there was no need to tidy up the place before we left. The presence of Bruce, making sure all the guest are happy and satisfied, is truly what earns the term "resort".

Our main goal for our wedding, was to have a relaxed event and to allow our families (most of whom had never met each other) to spend some quality time together. The pool table, ping pong table, pool, hot tub, and basketball court, gave people opportunities to bond, while relaxing and having fun. Also, Bruce was kind enough to take some of our guest on a hike in the mountains nearby. He was very knowledgable about the history of the area and the various plant and animal life.

We should also mention that all of the buildings on the property are impeccable. The accommodations made our guests' eyes pop when they first arrived. The humongous bathroom in the wedding bungalow is the perfect space for a bride to get ready for the ceremony. The beds are very comfortable and there were plenty of comfy chairs on the patio to allow everyone to enjoy time outside.

If you are going to have any event that involves doing your own food preparation, the Painted Pony has plenty of amenties to make this possible, including 2 full sized kitchens, a commercial freezer, ice machine, multiple refrigerators, and plenty of plates and utensils.

When I remember our wedding weekend at the Painted Pony, I actually get choked up, because our experience there was so euphoric and carefree. Everyone had an enchanting weekend where they could let go of their everyday stresses and appreciate everyone around them.

We are planning on returning to the Painted Pony on our 5th wedding anniversary and are hoping for a longer stay on our next visit.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much!! When we get reviews like yours it makes our day and it makes everything worth it. To know that you had such a great wedding and quality time with the family is so important. Thanks again for choosing us and do come back! Glen & Bruce
business
Family Reunions, Weddings, Workshops, Conferences, Stargazing
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p278896vbi
(703) 281-9559 (Virginia, USA)
Rodeo New Mexico
New Hampshire
5

A Special Place

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 23, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
Planes, trains and automobiles...no matter how you get to the Painted Pony Resort you will not regret your decision to go there. We were there to attend a family wedding and it was the perfect place for the 21 of us us to gather and spend some time together. The property is expansive so when you need some time to yourself you can simply walk the estate, tuck yourself into a corner at the pool or find a quiet room in one of the three houses on the property. Active time...let Bruce take you on a quided hike, share some local color or set you up with a telescope to view the night skies. The place is immaculate and extremely well cared for. No matter the reason that brings you to the Painted Pony - you will quickly realize that you found a slice of paradise.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much Jeffrey for your great review and for choosing the Painted Pony Resort for your wedding. It is very special for us to host family events and especially weddings! Thanks again and come back soon. Glen
business
Family Reunions, Weddings, Workshops, Conferences, Stargazing
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p278896vbi
(703) 281-9559 (Virginia, USA)
Rodeo New Mexico
Boulder Creek, CA
5

Fabulous, peaceful retreat

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 23, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
The Painted Pony Resort is an incredible find; we rented it for 5 days for our mother's 85th birthday reunion and it was way beyond our expectations. We had 20 people, ranging in ages from 18 months to 85 years, and there was something for everyone. We rented the entire complex, which provided everyone plenty of space to have some privacy while also ample large areas for mingling and getting together. Although it was in February, the daytime temperatures were lovely and the brisk nights made it great for a good restful night's sleep - which was amply helped by the extremely comfy beds which are better than those in our own home or at any hotel I've ever stayed.

Although it was too cold to use the pool, both the kids and adults didn't seem to mind as the hot tup instead got ample usage. There was also a lot to do in the area, both near and far; the 80+ acres of the resorts own property gave folks plenty of opportunity to take the youngest kids out for a nature hike and even the city-slicker adults got to explore the various signs of animal life, which included seeing road runners, hawks, and even a bobcat running down a rabbit! Although we had one day of a massive sand and wind storm that kept us from getting out, it was all part of an amazing experience that brought the reality of the southwest desert to life for everyone.

Of course, I have to also mention the star-gazing! Nearly all of our extended family are city dwellers, and most of them had never seen the milky way - so needless to say, the experience of an undiluted night time sky was mind boggling for them. The fact that the resort also has two telescopes for use was like icing on the cake - having the youngest be able to see the moons and ring of Jupiter as well as an up-close-and-personal view of the waxing moon's impact craters will be unforgettable. I think it made a significant impression on most of the adults, too!

We couldn't have asked for more - the on-site property manager was extremely attentive and helpful, and incredibly knowledgable about the local geography, history, and environment. We are already looking for an excuse to go back ;)
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you Paul!! You and your family were the perfect guests for us. From the beginning of our transaction you were a pleasure to work with always communicating well and coming through on your commitments. We enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again as we love to share our wonderful place with folks who appreciate and enjoy and experience what Painted Pony Resort the fullest.
business
Family Reunions, Weddings, Workshops, Conferences, Stargazing
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p278896vbi
(703) 281-9559 (Virginia, USA)
Rodeo New Mexico
Seattle
5

Fabulous location for our painting workshop!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 28, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
My husband and I hosted a painting workshop last week at the Painted Pony, and we couldn't be happier with the accommodations, the on-site manager and the gorgeous landscapes in every direction! There were twelve of us in total, everyone had their own room, we all gathered in the main house for meals, and scattered about the resort and surrounding area for plenty of plein air painting. Early mornings were perfect for sunrise walks, pre-lunch for a good dose of art, afternoons for painting, napping, or playing in the pool, and in the evenings we enjoyed sunset cocktails and post-dinner stargazing. Breathtakingly beautiful! Thank you Painted Pony for helping to make this, our first workshop in the American southwest, such a great success. I have happy guests and beautiful paintings to show for it.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for the great review. You have summed things up perfectly. We provide the great accommodations and on-site manager. The gorgeous landscapes and the weather we can't take credit for but they are there to speak for themselves. Thank you so much and we hope to see you back again!!
business
Family Reunions, Weddings, Workshops, Conferences, Stargazing
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p278896vbi
(703) 281-9559 (Virginia, USA)
Rodeo New Mexico
Vienna VA, USA
5

Three Days at Painted Pony

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 15, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
We drove south from I-10 for a half hour. Ours was virtually the only vehicle on the highway. On our left, the Peloncillo Range; on our right, the Chiricahuas. Painted Pony lies on flat land in the valley. We were greeted by the very knowledgeable property manager/guide, a former university professor, and we were escorted to the guesthouse, just the right size for a husband, wife, and two sons. It is a very comfortable, full-equipped residence. We used the pool and jacuzzi, which are adjacent to the main house. The property manager took us into the Chiricahuas on two successive days. The hikes were strenuous! Our only regret was that we did not pack hiking boots. One day he took us into the fields near the house and taught us to look for shards and remnants left by indigenous people a millennium ago. I enjoyed visiting the town of Rodeo, where there is a cafe open for lunch and a gas station open only on weekends. But we did not come to New Mexico to see malls and chain stores and other trappings of American life. By nightfall I was exhausted by the rigorous hikes, and so fell into bed, but my family members tell me that they can't remember anywhere else where the stars shone so brightly.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: This is a beautiful description of our wonderful area and we are so glad you had the chance to enjoy our getaway! Come back soon as you guys were the perfect guests.
business
Family Reunions, Weddings, Workshops, Conferences, Stargazing
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p278896vbi
(703) 281-9559 (Virginia, USA)
Rodeo New Mexico
Long Beach, California
5

Incredible Family Reunion

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 31, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
Our growing family gets together every year on Memorial Day weekend and it is hard to find a place that can house all of us comfortably. The Painted Pony Resort was perfect! We rented the entire facility and had plenty of room. There was something for everyone, young and old alike. With the pool table, ping-pong, basketball, swimming pool, jacuzzi, and huge patio nobody got bored and my parents could retreat to the bungalow when the kids/grandkids/great-grandkids got to be too much!

Bruce and Glen were absolutely amazing and accomodated our every need. Bruce was available day and night, and was so polite and considerate. He offered us a hike, which we weren't able to take advantage of this time, but hopefully will be able to next time.

Have no doubt, you will not be disappointed if you stay here. The views are magnificent, and the entire facility is beautiful inside and out!
Owner's Response: Thank you so very much for all the wonderful recommendations for the Painted Pony Resort. We enjoyed having you as our guest and hope to see you back very soon !!! We are so happy your family had a great reunion. This is our goal and what we like to hear. Glen
business
Family Reunions, Weddings, Workshops, Conferences, Stargazing
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p278896vbi
(703) 281-9559 (Virginia, USA)
Rodeo New Mexico
Henderson,TN
5

guest house

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 11, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
I stayed in the guest house,absolutely beautiful. This house has everything, three bedrooms, two baths, kitchen, living area. Fully furnished, everything you need, and beautifully decorated, sheer heaven. Every comfort you could ask for. Perfectly maintained, clean, looks and feels new. This is the one place I would recommend to everyone.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks Kathy for staying with us and so glad you enjoyed the guest house so much. Come back soon! Glen
business
Family Reunions, Weddings, Workshops, Conferences, Stargazing
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p278896vbi
(703) 281-9559 (Virginia, USA)
Rodeo New Mexico
Victoria, BC, Canada
5

Stars Stars Stars

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 8, 2012
  • Stayed: Feb 2012
A group of us had a star party here (the astronomy kind). What a great star party we had. Of all the places I have gone for astronomy parties this one really stands out. Comfortable lodging,
great food (provided by nearby caterers) and neat people in addition to fabulous observing and
imaging in pristine skies. The site is 4973 ft above sea level on the desert so the air is very clear and dry resulting in excellent visibility. The observing area is separated from the living quarters and plenty of trees in between render the house lights invisible. Wonderful hikes and drives nearby to round out a great week.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your review John. Your pictures of the stars at PPR are just awesome! We look forward to you guys coming again next year. Glen
business
Family Reunions, Weddings, Workshops, Conferences, Stargazing
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p278896vbi
(703) 281-9559 (Virginia, USA)
Rodeo New Mexico
5

What a wonderful place to spend my FAMILY THANKSGIVING!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 30, 2011
  • Stayed: Nov 2011
MY family and i had a wonderful time at the Painted Pony Resort in Rodeo, New Mexico. We consist of 5 adult sisters and we get our families together every Thanksgiving. Four of us live in Texas and one lives in Atlanta, Georgia. It was about a 900 mile drive from our Texas homes and some of them were whining about such a long trip, right up until we arrived and with one glance they all said it was more than worth it.
The pictures do not do this place justice. The words awesome and unbelievable came up a lot in my family discribing this wonderful place.
Glen the owner was very easy to work with on all parts of the transaction.
Bruce the caretaker of the property lives right there and if we even mentioned an idea, he made it happen. I don't know how much he makes, but i'm sure he is deserving of a raise. He took us hiking, he hooked us up with a ranch for horseback riding, he put wood in the fireplace, my family wanted to adopt him, talking about service with a smile.
The best compliment i think i can give to the Painted Pony Resort, is that we all want to get back there as soon as possible and i will be highly recommending this place to all my friends. It offered more than i was expecting and definitely more than i had even hoped it would. Surprisingly, there is plenty for all ages to do in the desert, the only problem is that you will not want to leave the property to do them.
Thanks BRUCE & GLEN for making this an unforgettable Thanksgiving Holiday for me and my Family!!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Vivian, thank you so much for bringing your family and sharing your Thanksgiving with us at the Painted Pony! You were the perfect guests. Really appreciate your review and think you have captured things perfectly. Bruce talks about how much fun you guys were and is still savoring "the sisters" cooking. Glen