Las Terrenas cottage rental - El Palomar Exterior
El Palomar Exterior
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps4
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights
 

Las Terrenas Cottage Rental Photos and Description
2 Bedrooms, 1 bathroom, Sleeps 4. Best for 1 couple or small family

El Palomar is nestled in beautiful tropical gardens only a very short 2 minute walk to beautiful beaches, a 10 minute walk from great beach restaurants and a 15-20 minutes walk from town. Originally it was built as a guest house for our larger house La Paloma but we have chosen it as our favorite retreat while in Las Terrenas. It is charming, colorful and simply furnished. It was designed using typical Caribbean materials, cana roof and colorful painted wood siding and partitioning walls, a quaint retreat for the young at heart. Our houses are private from one another but are connected by lush garden paths. Before you arrive we are happy to stock your refrigerator with breakfast items if you wish.

We first started traveling to Las Terrenas in 1982 when it was an authentic fishing village. After more trips we purchased our first property and then the land next door where we had El Palomar built from our own design by a trusted Dominican builder. Over the years we have enjoyed painting and decorating it so that it has the charm of a country Dominican house.

Leslie Honey purchased this cottage in 2005

We bought this property because of its wonderful location, only 2 minutes from the beach and a lovely 10 minute stroll along the beach to good restaurants, A twenty minute walk will take you to the center of town.

Our property is not for everyone. It is for the 'young at heart' and those who want to experience a casual colorful ambiance. The cottage has a cana roof, some walls are brightly painted wood (split palm) and some are stucco, the floors are pigmented cement. The veranda is large and open, surrounded by tropical gardens which are great for bird watching and sunbathing.

8 Reviews of Property 292774 in Las Terrenas, Dominican Republic

Robinson Crusoe Caribbean Syle Cottage, Simple Living 2 Minute Walk from Beach
average rating of 5.0 based on 8 reviews
business
Robinson Crusoe Caribbean Syle Cottage, Simple Living 2 Minute Walk from Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p292774
Las Terrenas Dominican Republic North Coast
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

"Best Vacation in Caribbean"

"Best Vacation in Caribbean"
  • Submitted: Mar 26, 2014
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
We have vacationed extensively in the Caribbean so it came as surprise that we would be so taken by this experience. Having long ago given up on boring all inclusive resorts, we now look for places where we can experience the local culture. El Palomar provided just that opportunity. We stayed at this lovely villa in Las Terrenas,Samana this last November and can not say enough good things about the facilities and our hosts, Leslie and Bill! Everything was pretty perfect!
Traveling by car around Samana was a real treat. Beautiful scenery..gorgeous beaches ..and the people were great ( we don't speak Spanish).. We frequented Luis restaurant/Coson beach (5 minute drive from town) Very beautiful beach..free beach chairs..bar/restaurant..with arguably some of the best food in the area..Not touristy either.
Went to the local fruit/vegetable stands and grocery store and cooked some incredible food using local ingredients.. The kitchen was very functional..
Definitely a vacation we will repeat soon.
business
Robinson Crusoe Caribbean Syle Cottage, Simple Living 2 Minute Walk from Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p292774
Las Terrenas Dominican Republic North Coast
Rockingham
5

Absolute "Best" Vacation

Absolute "Best" Vacation
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 26, 2014
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
Previous reviews provide an excellent description of El Palmar in Las Terrenas..and I am not sure I could provide more information other than to say the facilities were excellent and our host's Bill and Leslie ..simply delightful!
My wife and I really enjoyed exploring Samana and found driving in Samana, both lots of fun and easy to do. On several occasions we drove out to las Galeras and playa Rancor and had a wonderful time exploring this beautiful area..Other days we frequented Luis Restaurant...(five minutes away by car and a gem of a place!) We spent many a day at Luis Restaurant/beach because it is just such an incredible beach with very few people ( Luis is a little off the beaten track) There are free beach chairs..a bar.. and the food is excellent..possibly the best bargain in the area. Very relaxing place!
We bought food daily at fruit stands and the grocery store and prepared some really interesting/delicious dishes using local DR ingredients.
Although neither of us speak Spanish we really never had a problem communicating.. This was our second visit to El Palomar and we so enjoyed it we are hoping to make this an annual vacation . If you are not a fan of all-inclusive resorts..this is the place in the DR
Owner's Response: We encourage our renters to at least rent a car for a couple of days to explore the beautiful Samana Peninsula but a car is not necessary at El Palomar because of its location, tranquil and private yet only 2 minutes from the beach and 10-15 minutes from about twenty great restaurants. Las Terrenas has many tour companies (multi lingual) who provide interesting excursions to see the fabulous Humpback Whales in Samana Bay in January-March, the Samana Zipline, Los Haitises National Park and the beautiful waterfall at El Limon. The peninsula has vacant beaches to discover and many roads that are fun to explore..
business
Robinson Crusoe Caribbean Syle Cottage, Simple Living 2 Minute Walk from Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p292774
Las Terrenas Dominican Republic North Coast
Washington, DC
5

Love this place

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 7, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
We stayed a week here and loved it. The house is simple but very comfortable, and it is indeed not only minutes from the beach but close enough to town that everything is an easy walk. The garden is lovely and when you're inside, you feel completely detached from the world. We're always looking for the elusive combination of low-key and authentic, and this is it. The hosts are also wonderful people who helped us get our bearings, and figure out the town and nearby sites. We were charmed by our visit to Las Terrenas, and this comfortable, quiet little house with a gorgeous outdoor living room was a large part of it.
Recommended for:  Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We hope the weather wasn't too cruel when you got home, it was certainly lovely during your stay. If you come again don't forget to try to fly direct from JFK to El Catey as it will make your vacation feel longer by at least a day, it's only 35 minutes from the house. But then you would have missed the colorful bus ride back to Santo Domingo. Cheers to you both from Cow (our old garden cat) who is once again robust and charming tenants. Thanks.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Robinson Crusoe Caribbean Syle Cottage, Simple Living 2 Minute Walk from Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p292774
Las Terrenas Dominican Republic North Coast
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Family Reunion in Paradise

  • Submitted: Mar 24, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
We, an extended family group of 7, rented La Paloma for 10 days, and also rented the 2br, El Palomar cottage on the other side of the property. This was perfect for the grand-kids (2 and 5) who could safely explore the extensive gardens without need for close supervision and come visit the grand-parents in the cottage without leaving the 1/2 acre compound. This is an ideal property for a family or 2-3 couples in a lovely location, close to the beach and within walking distance to town. La Paloma has a wonderful outdoor shower off the master bath that was perfect to wash off the salt water after returning from the beach. Leslie and Bill were very helpful and great to deal with, particularly as our plans changed and got more complicated due to a big snowstorm delaying our various departures. We all got there eventually and loved it! The house and cottage are separated by extensive gardens, so you will have privacy if you only rent La Paloma. Make sure not to miss Restauant Luis at nearby Playa Coson for a beautiful beach and great food.
Recommended for: Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children



Owner Response
We were so glad when you all arrived from London, Boston and New York. That snowstorm certainly made things difficult but we admired your endurance and will to come. We have always thought that La Paloma and El Palomar (guesthouse) would make a fantastic venue for a family reunion and your family certainly proved we were right. I found some little stones laid in a pattern the other day in one of the gardens and thought of your grandchildren playing there. It was wonderful that you all got together and enjoyed beautiful Dominican weather while it snowed and blew up North.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Robinson Crusoe Caribbean Syle Cottage, Simple Living 2 Minute Walk from Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p292774
Las Terrenas Dominican Republic North Coast
5

Truly Charming & Relaxing

Truly Charming & Relaxing
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 21, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
There is not much to add to Marcel's review; just as he mentioned this place truly is charming.

It is perfectly located close to the beach (close enough to hear the waves by night), within a large beautiful relaxing garden in a quiet neighborhood and just within walking distance to restaurants and shops.

The simple yet charming Caribbean style is tasteful, definitely has a more than sufficient “standard” and comes with an awesome out-door terrace with a bar, a dining table, comfy easy chairs, a hammock and so forth – very comfy. You could easily seat plenty people there for a BBQ party . . .
The house has been very thoughtfully equipped with everything and I would even say a bit more. Everything functioned perfect (within the given Caribbean context) and the owners are very friendly and extremely helpful.

I already came back once and did recommend this place to my friends (who have been there and given thumbs up as well).

Las Terrenas is in my opinion the best place in the DR to visit (no mass all-incl tourism, nice beaches and atmosphere in town and Samana has plenty of nature to offer).

PS: If you like pools, AC, huge flatscreen TV, glass, marble and steel appliances – this is obviously not for you
Owner's Response: We certainly are glad that you found our tranquil oasis and liked it well enough to return and bring friends. It was a pleasure to meet you all. We appreciate all the good work you are doing around the world and hope to see you again when you need some R & R.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Robinson Crusoe Caribbean Syle Cottage, Simple Living 2 Minute Walk from Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p292774
Las Terrenas Dominican Republic North Coast
Copenhagen, Denmark
5

Highly recommended - also with kids

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 9, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2011
This place is one of the most charming places we've stayed. We booked the house for a week, ended up staying 10 days, but could easily have stayed for a month. This is one of the places you don't want to leave!

The house is amazingly charming with a unique Carribean feel to it with the thatched roof, the ceiling fans in every room, the open kitchen, the wooden walls in different pastel colours and the mosquito nets over the beds.

We started the morning by opening the kitchen, and enjoying a coffee in the tropical garden. Our two year old daughter went exploring in the big garden looking for lizards and frogs.

The garden is well maintained and full of palm trees, Hibiscus, wild ginger and other nice flowers (and even a flame tree if you are there at the right time). At night we always sat outside in the lounge chairs on the huge covered patio (you can hear the waves).

They even had beach towels and boogie boards to play with at the beach.

It's not a "perfect" house. You might find a dripping tap or a funny water heating system, but the owners Leslie and Bill are wonderful people who will do all they can to help you, and fix things right away. E.g. our coffee pot didn’t work properly so they brought us a brand new one the next morning. They made us feel very welcome.

We are seasoned travelers who have been around the world. We prefer charm over luxury, but things have to be ok. (according to Lonely Planet we are in the category Flashpackers).

Las Terrenas is a true gem. It's touristy but in a very relaxed way. Great food in the Fisherman Village 10 min walk away and lots of gorgeous deserted beaches around. You can manage without a car but do yourself a favour and rent one and go to the gorgeous beaches Playa Portillo and Playa Coson where you can have it all to yourself (hard to find these days).
From the house you can also go for a morning run to the end of Plays Ballenas and get fresh bread (one mile each way along the beach).

We highly recommend this place and hope to go back sometime.

Best regards

Marcel (CEO) & Birgitte (Marketing Manager)
Owner's Response: We truly enjoyed meeting you and only wished that you could have stayed longer. We hope that you will come again. We are always happy when our guest enjoy Las Terrenas and the cottage and its garden as much as we do.
Helpful votes: 6/6
business
Robinson Crusoe Caribbean Syle Cottage, Simple Living 2 Minute Walk from Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p292774
Las Terrenas Dominican Republic North Coast
5

Quiet and beautiful hideaway / perfect for family

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 7, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
We are a family with thee kids 10, 8 and 4 years old and were looking for a relaxing and peaceful spot somewhere close by the beach far away from all-inclusive tourism where I could recover from some serious health problems. I can only say this house was A HIT IN THE BULLS EYE for all of us!

After reading the other reviews it was the affectionate and very nice contact to the Leslie and Bill, who own this house, that made our choice to stay here for 12 days.

Location: The beach is 2 min away if you are not in a hurry. You can hear the ocean sitting in front of the house. It is a very nice beach especially for little kids, far enough from the hustle and bustle of las terrenas but close enough to walk there if you are in the mood for for some shopping and the bars. Alt least in the center of Las Terrenas (15 min by foot away) You will not make "best friend"- relationships as You are used to every 10 min. in the tourist centers of the all- inclusive spots in the republic. There are restaurants 10 min away directly at the beach that serve great food for a reasonable price.

House and Garden: The house is situated in a very big and nice tropical garden, very privately separated from the neighbor house. Our kids went hunting for lizards for a bird-safari every day as You can see and hear lots of tropical birds there- especially colibris. Sometimes we were just to lazy to go to the beach to enjoy ourselves inside this nice garden. The house is, as You can see on the pictures, an traditional build house with a Punta-Roof and very romantic. We loved the kingsize canopy bed, the open kitchen and the big and spacious terrace with that big hammock. All in all it is a 100% romantic colonial-style furnished house and we loved it. If You are more into luxury live and looking for aircondition and a pool this might not be Your place. We missed nothing and the free W-lan and all that fans under the roof made us feel comfortable.
Las terrenas appeared very save and secure to us. This property has walls/ to walk to the house You have to pass a hotel that has a guard by the small road. The neighbors dogs will tell You when somebody passes the house, so we just felt secure.
Although we´eve been traveling the world for quiet some years now, we haven´t met better hosts than Leslie and Bill. They treated us like family and spoiled us where ever they could. They will make You familiar with insider-tips and simply enjoy to make their guests live in comfort. THANKS A LOT !
Owner's Response: We loved that you were so spontaneous about your trip here and we enjoyed watching you all marvel at the warmth and colors of Las Terrenas after coming from snow in Berlin. It is definitely a place to rest tired bones and frazzled nerves. Hopefully you'll come again and bring some friends who are tired of cold, long winters.
business
Robinson Crusoe Caribbean Syle Cottage, Simple Living 2 Minute Walk from Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p292774
Las Terrenas Dominican Republic North Coast
5

Perfect romantic hideaway highly recommended

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 7, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
We are a family with thee kids 10, 8 and 4 years old and were looking for a relaxing and peaceful spot somewhere close by the beach far away from all-inclusive tourism where I could recover from some serious health problems. I can only say this house was A HIT IN THE BULLS EYE for all of us!

After reading the other reviews it was the affectionate and very nice contact to the Leslie and Bill, who own this house, that made our choice to stay here for 12 days.

Location: The beach is 2 min away if you are not in a hurry. You can hear the ocean sitting in front of the house. It is a very nice beach especially for little kids, far enough from the hustle and bustle of las terrenas but close enough to walk there if you are in the mood for for some shopping and the bars. Alt least in the center of Las Terrenas (15 min by foot away) You will not make "best friend"- relationships as You are used to every 10 min. in the tourist centers of the all- inclusive spots in the republic. There are restaurants 10 min away directly at the beach that serve great food for a reasonable price.

House and Garden: The house is situated in a very big and nice tropical garden, very privately separated from the neighbor house. Our kids went hunting for lizards for a bird-safari every day as You can see and hear lots of tropical birds there- especially colibris. Sometimes we were just to lazy to go to the beach to enjoy ourselves inside this nice garden. The house is, as You can see on the pictures, an traditional build house with a Punta-Roof and very romantic. We loved the kingsize canopy bed, the open kitchen and the big and spacious terrace with that big hammock. All in all it is a 100% romantic colonial-style furnished house and we loved it. If You are more into luxury live and looking for aircondition and a pool this might not be Your place. We missed nothing and the free W-lan and all that fans under the roof made us feel comfortable.
Las terrenas appeared very save and secure to us. This property has walls/ to walk to the house You have to pass a hotel that has a guard by the small road. The neighbors dogs will tell You when somebody passes the house, so we just felt secure.
Although we`ve been traveling the world for quiet some years now, we haven´t met better hosts than Leslie and Bill. They treated us like family and spoiled us where ever they could. They will make You familiar with insider-tips and simply enjoy to make their guests live in comfort. THANKS A LOT !!