Kitty Hawk house rental - Front of main house seen from the street view
Front of main house seen from the street view
 
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps10
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 7 nights
 

Kitty Hawk House Rental Photos and Description
House, 4 Bedrooms + Detached Unit, 3.5 Baths, (Sleeps 8-10)

Enjoy the peace and quiet of this luxury home called 'Edgewater' perched on the banks of Ginguite Inlet in the town of Southern Shores. This 4,800 sq. ft. property features two detached dwellings which are both included in the one rental fee. The main house has three bedrooms (each with its own separate loft area), gourmet kitchen, game room, and more. The guest house features one bedroom, a loft, and separate kitchen. Wide decks surround the property, offering expansive views of the landscape. This configuration is ideal for families who want to vacation together but still enjoy their own privacy.

During your stay you will have full access to the town's community beaches. Ride your bike or drive the short distance over. The rental packet includes parking passes good for use at Hillcrest Lifeguard Beach, among other spots. Also included are keys to the community tennis courts. And for boaters, you'll have privileges to use the Southern Shores Boat Club. Facilities include a boat launch for getting in. Then simply head over to Edgewater and the 24 ft. dock at the end of our pier.

The house is conveniently located just over the Wright Memorial Bridge as you enter the Outer Banks from Route 158. This convenient location means you won't need to fight traffic on your way in or out. Once you reach the Outer Banks, you're pretty much there!

As the photographs show, Edgewater is not your typical 'beach box' destination. Vistors experience the best of both worlds: Easy access to the beach and restaurants and shops, combined with the tranquility and natural beauty of the coastline against the backdrop of Kitty Hawk Woods. Watch the sunset over the marsh grass. Listen to the frogs sing. There's something to be said for open, undeveloped spaces. Soundside sanctuary. Edgewater is that.

If you'd rather, you can access the property from the water. We're just off the inter-coastal waterway on Albemarle Sound. The house has a dock measuring 12 x 24 ft. with sturdy mooring pilings and a wide pier leading to the house. The depth of the water is approximately 3 ft. at the shallowest. The channel is much deeper. Or bring your kayak or canoe and create your own adventure.

Here's a brief walking tour of the property:

When you walk in the front door you are met by the vaulted ceilings of the spacious great room, featuring enormous cross beams which were salvaged from an old Pennsylvania barn. The gourmet kitchen is here, with its granite countertops and stainless steel appliances. You'll notice the cabinets are made of wormy chestnut, an expensive wood which helps set the tone for the rest of the house. There's a dining table for eight, as well as bar stools at the kitchen counter for five more. The living room area has brown leather sofas and comfortable side chairs, arranged around a 52-inch flat screen T.V. with home theater surround sound. Edgewater is a 'smart home' and so you will also find WiFi, televisions, and stereo speakers you can control throughout the two houses.

Leaving the kitchen area there is a long hallway with three bedrooms and a separate half bath closer to the kitchen. Each bedroom has its own loft with either sleeper sofas or fold out beds. And the water views from each loft are incredible! The first bedroom on your left as you walk down the hall away from the kitchen features a pyramid bunk. This bedroom has shared access to a large bathroom, which adjoins the second bedroom on your left. The second bedroom offers a queen-sized bed. At the end of the hall overlooking the water view is the main house master bedroom, with king-sized bed and deluxe master bathroom.

Walking out onto the deck from the main house, you find the large hot tub facing the water. To your right, on the same level, you enter the separate guest house dwelling. Through the front door of the detached home, you can go either right or left. To the right is the living room and full kitchen, with spiral stairs leading up to the loft. Windows throughout the house face the water and the marsh, giving the feeling that you're floating in the nature space. Continue to the left, to the other side of the house, and you find the master bedroom with its king-sized bed and comfortable seating by the windows. The master bath is accessible from both the bedroom and the living room area.

On the ground floor is the in-ground concrete pool. During colder months, you may request to have the pool heat turned on for an additional fee. However, during late fall/winter the pool is closed for the season. Next to the pool you will find the tiki bar and outdoor grill. All is within easy reach of the game room, which boasts a pool table, television, wet bar, and more. There's plenty of parking, both covered and not. In fact, there's a two-bay garage at your disposal. Off the parking area behind the house is the long, wide wooden pier leading through the marsh area to the dock. This pier is a wonderful spot for enjoying sunsets and the natural beauty of the Nature Conservancy preserve.

Keywords: beach house, vacation rental, coast, outer banks, holiday, family, kid friendly, reunion, wedding, retreat, boat dock, waterfront, hot tub, wifi

More Details
Hide Details

We are two families whose sons have known each other since they were six months old. We started shopping for a beach house in 2009, and Edgewater is the end result of that search. We are so looking forward to spending time there with our two families. And we hope you'll enjoy your visit, too!

The Owner purchased this house in 2010

We've been coming to the Outer Banks on vacation for decades--and love it here. Buying property was our way of cementing our ties to the beach.

The amenities of Southern Shores are truly amazing. Golf, tennis, beach-going, boating, restaurants, coffee shops, you name it. And the convenience of everything couldn't be better. When you're in Southern Shores you have access to so many wonderful opportunities, which is not always the case in other Outer Banks locations. Southern Shores is a real community--and it welcomes seasonal visitors with open arms.

21 Reviews of Property 294927 in Kitty Hawk, North Carolina

Coastal Waterfront - Pool/Hot Tub/Dock - Now Renting for 2014
average rating of 5.0 based on 21 reviews
business
Coastal Waterfront - Pool/Hot Tub/Dock - Now Renting for 2014
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p294927vb
Email owner with any questions
Kitty Hawk Outer Banks
Richmond, VA
5

Great vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 4, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
This was my first time going to the OBX, and I thoroughly enjoyed my stay. A few notes about the house:

Our group was 4 couples in our late 20s/early 30s looking for a weekend beach getaway. The house has 4 bedrooms, which works great for a group that size! Yet while the house could fit a lot more than the 8 we had, the lack of private bedrooms (and bathrooms) would make that an issue. I could see how it would be great for families who don't mind putting kids up in the many lofts.

The kitchen was fantastic and had pretty much everything you would need. The grill is in need of repairs/replacement, but functions well enough to use for the week. The interior pool is fantastic and we spent a lot of our trip in that area. Not nearly as cold as the ocean and more refreshing. The hot tub is also a great addition and we used it frequently. The crab traps on the dock work very well and we had no trouble catching 5 within a 45 min period. If we had planned ahead a bit more we would have caught more and boiled them.

It is about a 10 minute drive to the beach, so if you are looking for direct proximity this isn't your house. But we didn't mind driving once a day to the beach for a few hours, so it was fine by us. As it was the end of summer there were a few maintenance issues, but nothing major and nothing that affected the trip at all.

I definitely recommend this home and would likely stay there again.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Coastal Waterfront - Pool/Hot Tub/Dock - Now Renting for 2014
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p294927vb
Email owner with any questions
Kitty Hawk Outer Banks
Charlotte Area
5

Great house for 10 people, on the water, and near everything yet in a very private setting

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 29, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
Water: a 100 yard long dock ending at a freshwater slow moving river that has access to the intercostal. Going the other direction, you can kayak or paddle for hours in a remote setting. The owners have as well 4 blue crab traps just waiting for you to buy some chicken necks and drink a few beers!
House: 4 bedroom huge home with one of the bedrooms in its own separate buidling only 10 feet away. Great kitchen with modern and new appliances. Plenty of pots/pans etc for those large group dinners. TV's throughout.
Pool: This is a U shaped house up in the air on stilts and it surrounds a nice new pool that has its own outdoor bar, pool (table) room with its separate frig and freezer, and garage (that I think is locked).
Parking: available for plenty of cars
Cons: A number of things were not functioning like door knobs falling off, doors not shutting, towel racks falling off the walls. The management company came withing a few hours to fix the stuff, but it happened a few times in the week.

Would I go back? Yes for sure. Beautiful home with great surroundings. The time with 3 families just chilling on the dock and letting the kids scare all the blue crabs away and us older kids drinking a few local brews was memorable. We rented some kayaks by phone and they came by water only 100 yards away.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Coastal Waterfront - Pool/Hot Tub/Dock - Now Renting for 2014
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p294927vb
Email owner with any questions
Kitty Hawk Outer Banks
5

Such a great place for the family to stay!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 3, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
Edgewater was a wonderful place for our family to stay. We had 6 adults and 2 small children (3 yr and 18 months). The house was incredible and we had plenty of room to spread out. The guys in the family really enjoyed the dock with fishing and crabbing. The pool was just right for all of us too. We grilled out almost every evening and enjoyed the hot tub once the little ones went to sleep. The beach was very close and the "bathing beach" that we had access to was incredible for the small children - lots of sand, very quiet, warm and shallow water. Very quiet and serene---we will be staying again.
Recommended for:  Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Coastal Waterfront - Pool/Hot Tub/Dock - Now Renting for 2014
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p294927vb
Email owner with any questions
Kitty Hawk Outer Banks
Tucson, AZ
5

One of a Kind

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 10, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
This was our first time to the Outer Banks area and it has been one of our favorite vacations to date. The area is unlike most places on the west coast, and it offered the much desired privacy and peace that our traditional vacation spots do not easily provide. This house is lovely! In our opinion, the pictures on this website do not do the property justice. Everything was clean, comfortable, and convenient. The neighborhood is very quiet and safe with kind neighbors. There are simply more things to do than there is time in one week. I could see the necessity to stay for a month to truly see it all. Needless to say, we have recommended this property to our friends and family, and look forward to returning soon. We are extremely happy to have found this place and this part of the country.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Coastal Waterfront - Pool/Hot Tub/Dock - Now Renting for 2014
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p294927vb
Email owner with any questions
Kitty Hawk Outer Banks
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Edgewater

  • Submitted: Oct 24, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
This is a thank you note regarding our stay at the Edgewater property this summer. We were able to spend two weeks to everyone's delight. My husband and I along with our two sons and their families had such a nice time.

The dock was certainly a focal point as was the pool. We were able to spend last summer at the property and loved it, thus our return this summer. I thought it would be nice to let you know what a great house you have.

Thanks for a great time!

All my best.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Coastal Waterfront - Pool/Hot Tub/Dock - Now Renting for 2014
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p294927vb
Email owner with any questions
Kitty Hawk Outer Banks
Bensalem, Pa - near Philadelphia
5

Our yearly week away

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 7, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
My family and I go away every year together, including my two sons, their wives and four grandchildren. We stayed in the Outer Banks three years ago but this year was by far the best vacation spot we've had and is all due to the comfort of the home. The pictures do the property no justice. It was spacious, immaculately clean and suited our family perfectly. The pool is located in the center of the property which can be seen from everywhere in the home. And the house has so many amenities. We were 10 and in no way did we ever get in each other's way. We would definitely come back to this home every year if it was not so far away for us. We do try to visit closer family vacation spots but this was the best so far. Since the families pack for the beach like no tomorrow, why is it necessary to be on the beach. My sons and grandsons were at the dock every early morning and loving it. We discussed whether we would rather be on a beach front or the dock and decided this was by far the best for us. If you decide to stay at this home, I know you will enjoy it especially if you are the grandparent and can retreat to your own quarters if you choose.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Coastal Waterfront - Pool/Hot Tub/Dock - Now Renting for 2014
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p294927vb
Email owner with any questions
Kitty Hawk Outer Banks
VA
5

Gorgeous Vacation Home! Great Location!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 26, 2012
  • Stayed: Feb 2012
This beautiful home has something for everyone. It is beautifully furnished and is centrally located. And, it is on the sound! Go kayaking....swim in the pool...play pool in the awesome game room. This home offers something for all ages. Great location...easy drive to restaurants, grocery store and only 1.5 hours from Norfolk!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Coastal Waterfront - Pool/Hot Tub/Dock - Now Renting for 2014
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p294927vb
Email owner with any questions
Kitty Hawk Outer Banks
Princeton, West Virginia USA
5

Our stay at Edgewater July 30 to Aug 7 2011

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 8, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
July 30th 2011 my family spent a week at this property. It was wonderful. The home was beautifully furnished and had the feel of a home and not a beach rental. The house itself is amazing. Plenty of secluded spaces for the entire family The location is private but close to everything. We left the week feeling rested and that we had experienced it all because of our relaxing stay here. Everyone we dealt with concerning this property was kind and helpful. I highly recommend this property although I would like to keep it a secret because we plan to return each year.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 2/3
business
Coastal Waterfront - Pool/Hot Tub/Dock - Now Renting for 2014
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p294927vb
Email owner with any questions
Kitty Hawk Outer Banks
Fountain Hills, AZ
5

Independence Day Getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 19, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
My daughter, grandson, and I spent a wonderful week in early July at this property. The home is beautiful, modern, and well maintained. The home is situated on a quiet street, away from the noise and congestion of the Outer Banks. The pool was a nice break from the crowds and parking problems of the Outer Banks beaches. As a matter of fact, after the first couple of days, we used the pool exclusively and avoided the public beaches.

The home is well suited for large families, with three bedrooms in the main house and another bedroom in the guest house, or can be just as easily used by a couple who want a little space and some quiet.

All in all, we felt very much at home with this wonderful house.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Coastal Waterfront - Pool/Hot Tub/Dock - Now Renting for 2014
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p294927vb
Email owner with any questions
Kitty Hawk Outer Banks
Norfolk, VA
5

Best Vacation Home at the Beach!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 12, 2011
  • Stayed: May 2011
My family has vacationed in the Outer Banks for years and we have never stayed anywhere with more amenities than here. With space for everyone including kids, grandparents, aunts, uncles - there was plenty of room to be together without being on top of one another in an absolutely beautiful setting. Truly the best get away with something for everyone right there at the house (pool, hot tub, fishing off the dock). And when we wanted to venture out, everything was conveniently located with easy access to the beach and restaurants. We were so impressed with how clean and well kept the home was and the location is ideal -- we will never rent anywhere else in the Outer Banks!! Can't say enough good things!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1