Manuel Antonio villa rental - Private Terrace with Ocean View
Private Terrace with Ocean View
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps2
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 3 nights
 

Manuel Antonio Villa Rental Photos and Description
Pool, Kitchenette with BBQ and Dining Area on a Private Terrace

Immerse yourself in the tropical lifestyle by renting a suite in this beautiful luxury villa. The Bird of Paradise Suite for 2 has views of the Pacific Ocean and Manuel Antonio National Park from your room and terrace.

Your rental includes use of the pool and your terrace with kitchen amenities, BBQ and dining table. After a day of touring, take a dip in the pool, then enjoy a sunset cocktail while watching our monkey visitors.

Our location offers a short walk to the park, beaches, stores and restaurants. The villa is located on one of the premier streets of vacation rental homes in the area. Wildlife is abundant around the property, with almost daily monkey visits. We offer a sustainable living property with solar electric and hot water. The property is smoke and drug-free.

We can arrange concierge services for tours, activities, or even a private massage or chef services.

Wildlife is abundant on our property and surrounding our property. While we cannot guarantee what wildlife you may see during your stay, this is a list of the kinds of species which have been observed on our property, and which you might encounter. Capuchin Monkeys, Titi Monkeys, Howler Monkeys, Sloths, Cotamundi, Jaguarundi, Raccoons, Porcupines, Mot Mot Birds, Toucans, Hummingbirds, Kiskadees, Wild Parrots, Wild Canaries, Iguanas, Jesus Christ Lizards, Frogs of various types and colors including chameleon frogs, Blue Morpho Butterlies, Geckos, a variety of “glow in the dark” insects, including fireflies.

See our website & 'more details' links below to learn more (further details section).

More Details
Hide Details

Manuel Antonio offers most of what tourists come to see in Costa Rica, the beach, the jungle, the wildlife, yet is a town with many services, stores, restaurants and tour operators to provide our guests with great vacation experience.

11 Reviews of Property 292521 in Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica

A Suite for 2--Relaxed Tropical Syle with Luxury
average rating of 4.7 based on 11 reviews
business
A Suite for 2--Relaxed Tropical Syle with Luxury
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p292521
+1 305 851-3518
Manuel Antonio Puntarenas
5

Wonderful vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 11, 2012
  • Stayed: Feb 2012
This is a review of both Bird of Paradise Suite and Canopy Suite.

We ( a retired couple from Western Massachusetts) booked our first week in the Canopy Suite, knowing we'd be moving to the Bird of Paradise Suite for our second week. The villa is indeed magnifico, with multiple levels, tropical motifs throughout, beautiful private pool with clear view of the beach (which can also be seen from various patios of both suites), daily visits by both capuchin and squirrel monkeys(many with infants riding on their backs), and pavilioned, open-air kitchen for the upstairs Canopy Suite. The house is on a steep street (mostly pedestrian, with any cars moving very slowly due to the terrain), with beautiful and unique villas on each side. We had absolutely no safety concerns, and almost all Ticos greeted us with a "Buenos Dias" or "Hola", accompanied by a broad smile. Our vacation provided the perfect mix of relaxation ( the pool was great after a day out ), and adventure. Highlights were ziplining through the canopy, parasailing, a sunset catamaran cruise, and tour of the Manuel Antonio Park (where a park guide pointed out animals we never would have seen on our own--well worth the price). Alberto, the villa manager, and his wife, Cynthia, who is an accountant at a local hotel, treated us as their guests/friends, introducing us to their favorite foods and local experiences. They were very gracious about our attempts to use Spanish, which we're sure were embarrassingly poor. We were delighted by the abundance of good restaurants within a couple of blocks of our street (prepare for the hike to the top--which had the benefit of burning off some of the calories of the great food). Also, the bus stops nearby, and it's a very quick and inexpensive trip to either the beach and Park areas, or to Quepos in the other direction. Great location! We highly recommend Mirador Magnifico as a base for enjoying the Manuel Antonio/Quepos area, and were sorry to leave after two weeks in paradise. Laura and Mike

See Your Review



Best Wishes,

Reviews Team
HomeAway






Date of Arrival
Feb 27, 2012

Review Rating

5 out of 5



Need Help
Owner's Response: We're so glad you enjoyed both our suites for different parts of your stay. You've described our location and what's readily available in the vicinity so well.
business
A Suite for 2--Relaxed Tropical Syle with Luxury
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p292521
+1 305 851-3518
Manuel Antonio Puntarenas
4

House is Fantastic, Overall Location only so-so

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 7, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
In a nutshell-- This house is fantastic, but the location is not. Manuel Antonio is becoming too touristy. The beaches and national park are crowded and overrated. There are so many other pristine beaches and parks in Costa Rica! I wish we had skipped MA and spent more time in Samara and Arenal.

My husband and I stayed in Bird of Paradise suite. As we were the only guests at the property, we had access to all of the outdoor terraces, including the infinity pool and the outdoor kitchen. We really enjoyed the privacy of having the place to ourselves. The outdoor kitchen was well equipped, however the grill wasn't working, so we had to prepare our food on the third terrace and then bring it down to the first terrace to grill it, then take everything back up to the third terrace to do the dishes. Not a problem during the day, but a pain when it was raining in the evenings, as the stairs and tile floors could get slippery. The views of the ocean and the jungle were spectacular. There are sloths living in nearby trees, and monkeys came through every morning and evening.

The photos in the listing are deceiving, as the house is much closer to other houses and a larger resort than it appears to be. There's some creative cropping and angles going on there. Noise, however, was not a problem.

I would NOT stay here with small children-- the terraces are beautiful, but there are too many ways for them to fall and hurt themselves.

Guest reviews said that Alberto was very helpful. He pointed us in the direction of some good restaurants and the bus stop, but other than that, he wasn't helpful. We asked about going finishing and he said he'd ask around and get back to us but never did. We rarely saw him.

It was easy to get to the beach by taking the bus for $0.50 each way. We also took the bus into Quepos and went to the grocery store there (Pali)-- it was much cheaper than the tourist grocery store in MA (Super Joseth), where even the produce was overpriced.

The national park was nice, but did not live up to my expectations-- it seemed overcrowded (even during the off season) and filled with loud, obnoxious people. It's difficult to spot wildlife when there's a woman screaming into her cell phone a few yards down the trail. We saw more wildlife at the house than in the park. The beach was nice in the late afternoon when the crowds thinned, but definitely not worth the hassle. MA was beautiful a few decades ago but is now overrun with tourists. Skip it.
Recommended for:  Tourists without a Car
Owner's Response: Manuel Antonio, and its National Park are one of the most visited locations in all of Costa Rica. Yes, it is different and much more popular than it was a decade ago. That also means more activities, more restaurants, and more options for visitors to Manuel Antonio.

The wildlife is still here. Most of the guests at our villa report seeing monkeys almost daily from the house.

I would still recommend a tour of the National Park, because of its natural beauty, and different wildlife than what you would see at the house. The guides also provide interesting information about the park and its inhabitants.

Our property manager, Alberto, is available as much or as little as guests request. He will, of course, respect guests' privacy, but is only a phone call away if needed. We want to provide these concierge services as suits our guests. If Alberto can help, please ask.

We try to represent our property accurately, showing photos of the views. Yes, there are other houses on the street. The description on the listing describes the property as being on a street with other vacation rental homes. Our property is not suitable for small children, and this is also stated in the listing.

We do our best to keep everything on the property working well. For any guest, we'd like the opportunity to address any concern while you are still there. If we only hear about it 5 months afterwards, we cannot make it right.

So please tell us if we can improve your stay in any way.

Hopefully, expectations will be met for a great vacation. We do our best to provide information about the property and the area ahead of booking, and before you arrive.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
A Suite for 2--Relaxed Tropical Syle with Luxury
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p292521
+1 305 851-3518
Manuel Antonio Puntarenas
4

Fantastic!

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 15, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
My partner David and I stayed at the El Mirador Magnifico this past week and it was amazing! The room was clean and spacious. Alberto 'the property manager' was very helpful, assisted us with all our needs, including reservations to local attractions and offered many helpful recommendations. The views from this property were magnificent.
Cheers,
Brian Mayer - Toronto, Canada
business
A Suite for 2--Relaxed Tropical Syle with Luxury
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p292521
+1 305 851-3518
Manuel Antonio Puntarenas
Tucson, AZ
5

The Magnificent Mirador

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 16, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
The views are fantastic. Much of the wildlife that is seen on guided tours passes right by the balcony and is easily seen and enjoyed right at the villa. Alberto, the host, is very friendly, knowledgeable, and helpful. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: So glad you were able to experience such great wildlife viewing right at our villa. We get frequent monkey visitors, many birds, and sometimes sloths.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
A Suite for 2--Relaxed Tropical Syle with Luxury
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p292521
+1 305 851-3518
Manuel Antonio Puntarenas
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
3

Far from the Ice and Snow of Iowa

  • Submitted: Feb 23, 2012
  • Stayed: Feb 2012
We had a wonderful time at Cindy & Jim's Magnificent house last week.
Although many seek thrills and adventures in Costa Rica, we were looking for some peace and quiet after my dental surgery in San Jose the day before we arrived in Quepos. We sat on the patio and enjoyed the view, fed the monkeys, watched the birds, and cooked most of our meals. We did venture out
a few times to close restaurants but preferred to stay on the deck and bask in the warmth, far from the ice and snow of Iowa.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
A Suite for 2--Relaxed Tropical Syle with Luxury
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p292521
+1 305 851-3518
Manuel Antonio Puntarenas
4

El Mirador Magnifico

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 10, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2011
Magnifico indeed! We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and everything exceeded our expectations. Customer service couldn't have been better from start to finish. The description and pictures were exactly as posted. All the activities, restaurants, etc., were thoroughly enjoyed ... even when it rained! Costa Rica truly is magnificent with very friendly people, gorgeous countryside and great food. We can't wait to return!
Owner's Response: We include full concierge services with our rentals, from advice on getting here before you book to helping with the bags when you leave. Our staff are available to recommend or arrange dining, activities and tours. We want our guests to feel they were truly "on vacation".
business
A Suite for 2--Relaxed Tropical Syle with Luxury
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p292521
+1 305 851-3518
Manuel Antonio Puntarenas
5

Highly Recommended!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 2, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2011
We stayed at the El Mirador Magnifico for 3-nights and it was a wonderful way to start our Costa Rica experience. The Villa and the surroundings are stunningly beautiful - an impeccable property with gorgeous views.
The property managers, Alberto and Cynthia, were very helpful with making our travel arrangements, booking the excursions and making recommendations for restaurants, etc. They are very knowledgeable about the area and available for help anytime.
Manuel Antonio is a truly wonderful destination and El Mirador Magnifico was a perfect home base to enjoy it from! Highly recommended!
Owner's Response: Our staff work very hard to maintain our property, and make our guests as comfortable and carefree as possible. We love to hear these comments to know how well we're doing.
business
A Suite for 2--Relaxed Tropical Syle with Luxury
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p292521
+1 305 851-3518
Manuel Antonio Puntarenas
Littleton, CO. USA
5

El Mirador Magnifico

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 2, 2011
  • Stayed: Mar 2011
Well this was an experience of a lifetime to visit Costa Rica. We had only a week but we felt like we truly relaxed. Jim and Cindy made it wonderful. Cindy booked every excursion for us and there was no disappointment in her choices. The Bird of Paradise suite was everything they said it would be. The property is probably one of the most unique in Manuel Antonio and makes you feel like you are in a dream--exotic with birds and monkeys trouping through daily. The staff was lovely and rooms were very clean. We did not rent a car and were able to walk everywhere for beaches, restaurants and touring the countryside. As always, one needs to be very careful of leaving unattended bags or electronics. We toured the National Park without a guide and were very satisfied with the wildlife we saw without having to pay the extra cost.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing
Owner's Response: I know these guests came hoping to do lots of wildlife viewing. They certainly got the chance on their tours, in the park and around the villa.
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
A Suite for 2--Relaxed Tropical Syle with Luxury
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p292521
+1 305 851-3518
Manuel Antonio Puntarenas
Tallahassee, FL
5

Dream Vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 16, 2011
  • Stayed: Feb 2011
Tom and I had such an amazing time on our first trip to Costa Rica. The villa was beautiful and the location was wonderful. It was so helpful having Jim and Cindy reserve our horseback riding and canopy tours. All we had to do was be ready at the time provided. Also, they were available to arrange transportation when needed. The staff at the villa were also very polite and helpful. It was a 5-10 minute walk to great restaurants with unforgettable views of such a beautiful country. We saw an abundance of the local wildlife around the villa each day. We can't wait to come back next year!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We look forward to your return on your next visit. We offer discounts to return guests or referrals of previous guests. Hope to see you back here again.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
A Suite for 2--Relaxed Tropical Syle with Luxury
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p292521
+1 305 851-3518
Manuel Antonio Puntarenas
upsate New York
5

Wonderful house, wonderful hosts

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 4, 2011
  • Stayed: Jan 2011
We loved our stay at Mirador! It was just about perfect. The photos don't do the house and view justice! It was wonderful. We did not have a car but both the beach and many wonderful restaurants were within walking distance or a short cab ride away.

Cindy and Jim were extremely helpful with restaurant recommendations and assisting with tour arrangements.

Fantastic vacation!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: It's great to hear how guests like these enjoyed so many local beaches and restaurants within close proximity of our villa. Come back anytime!
Helpful votes: 2/2