Telegraph Hill cottage rental - Dining and sitting areas
Dining and sitting areas
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps2
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 3 nights
 

Telegraph Hill Cottage Rental Photos and Description
Quiet Cottage in the heart of North Beack, 1 Bedroom, 1 Bath, (Sleeps 2)

The Telegraph Hill Cottage, on the west side of the Hill, is an easy walk from Fisherman’s Wharf, Coit Tower, Chinatown, North Beach, the Financial District, bicycle rentals, the cable cars and ferries to Marin County and Vallejo/Six Flags theme park. Dozens of restaurants, cafes and bakeries are nearby. We built the Cottage in front of our home in 1990 for visiting friends and family, and rent it when free. The Cottage is entered through a secure locked gate at street level and up eleven steps, past a garden of lavender and bougainvillea. Once inside, panoramic views - Coit Tower to the spires of Sts. Peter and Paul Church and Russian Hill - open up from the living, dining and kitchen areas. Located on a quiet street with true privacy in a secure setting, the calm of the Cottage is a contrast to the bustling activity of North Beach and Chinatown.

The Cottage is fully furnished with a mix of contemporary and antique furnishings, complete with all linens. The full kitchen, including dishwasher, has granite counter tops and is equipped with all cooking equipment including microwave and coffee maker. The quiet bedroom is in the back of the Cottage, away from street noise, and has a king bed and large closet. The Cottage has high speed wireless internet and cable television with a large choice of channels, a 30 inch flat screen TV and a DVD player. Laundry service is available at the corner and groceries nearby. The Cottage is suitable for a couple.

The Cottage is in the middle of San Francisco’s attractions and good public transportation is close, so no car is needed. Most of our guests come without a car and rent as necessary at nearby car rentals. Should you bring your car, a garage on the property can be provided at $20 per day.

The thoughtful design and excellent location of the Cottage make for truly special accommodations for your next stay in San Francisco. Please check our calendar for availability, as we keep it up to date.

Keywords: Apartment, view, sunny, light, airy, cottage

More Details
Hide Details

Mia and Bob built the cottage in front of their home in 1990 and been welcoming visitors since then. We have lived on the property for 30 years and raised our family here. We love North Beach and Telegraph Hill and enjoy introducing the area to our guests, many of whom have come back repeatedly.

Bob or Mia Morrill purchased this cottage in 1990

We built the Cottage in front of our home in 1990 for visiting friends and family and are pleased to extend a welcome to other visitors to San Francisco.

We enjoy the many restaurants and cafes of North Beach; taking city walks, including Telegraph Hill/Coit Tower and the San Francisco waterfront; riding the ferry or bicycling across the Golden Gate Bridge to Marin County; hopping on the cable car to ride downtown for shopping or theater.

40 Reviews of Property 292390 in Telegraph Hill, California

Telegraph Hill Cottage Ideal for Cafes Restaurants Sights
average rating of 5.0 based on 40 reviews
business
Telegraph Hill Cottage Ideal for Cafes Restaurants Sights
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p292390vbi
(415) 982-4850 (California, USA)
Telegraph Hill San Francisco
5

Lovely rental in great neighborhood

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 5, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
My husband and I just returned home from a week in beautiful San Francisco. We stayed at the cottage, and actually would love to live here! The cottage is spotless, the owners are very accommodating, the area is perfect. We rented a car (no need in SF), and were able to park in the garage below the cottage. The unit is very safe, has wonderful natural light, and is very quiet in the evening. The full kitchen is very modern, and would be great to cook in (but, with all the great restaurant choices, why bother). We felt right at home, and would love to return. A true gem.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Telegraph Hill Cottage Ideal for Cafes Restaurants Sights
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p292390vbi
(415) 982-4850 (California, USA)
Telegraph Hill San Francisco
5

Wonderful!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 29, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
We really enjoyed staying in this rental because the location is perfect for exploring SF. It's centrally located so you can walk almost anywhere. We especially loved the immediate neighborhood, Telegraph Hill. There was a beautiful little park, Washington Square, just around the corner and so many great dining options. My adult daughter and I felt safe walking in the area. The apartment was very comfortable and quiet. The owners couldn't have been nicer and offered great sightseeing/dining suggestions. Overall, we had an excellent experience.
business
Telegraph Hill Cottage Ideal for Cafes Restaurants Sights
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p292390vbi
(415) 982-4850 (California, USA)
Telegraph Hill San Francisco
Connecticut
5

Perfect mother/daughter getaway!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 24, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
This was the perfect place for our long weekend in San Fran. We didn't want to leave! Bob and Mia were absolutely lovely (especially when we made a mistake about check-out time -- sorry again!), and readily available when we added a guest and a car at the last minute (after we arrived, actually). The apartment was immaculate, and well-appointed. We found it to be even nicer than the pictures. It isn't large (1 bedroom, a large sofa, and room in the living room for an air mattress, but only 1 small bathroom), so I'm not sure I'd want to be there with more than 4 people, but since we were just 2 most of the time, it was perfect. It's nice and bright, and we enjoyed it so much that our first night we ordered take-away from a delicious restaurant in North Beach (and a piece of princess cake from Victoria Pastry for dessert), opened the windows to the beautiful views, and just stayed in! It's a great location to just head out for a walk, since you can get to Coit Tower, North Beach, and public transport in a heartbeat. We stumbled upon a great neighborhood cheese shop nearby, and Bob and Mia had a thorough list of restaurant suggestions.
They were helpful with trash instructions, since Cali is way different than my home state. Seems like a little thing, but since there are three different bins, I found this very helpful! I found the water to be a little hard, so ladies, pick your shampoo accordingly!
My friend stayed with us for part of the weekend, and having the option to rent the garage was wonderful. It also enabled us to pick up our rental car a day earlier without needing to stress about parking. Worth the extra! My mother has some significant arthritis, so getting to public transport wouldn't really worked for us, but the bus was not far away. If I stayed with friends we would probably not need the car.
All of us agreed that we would not stay anywhere else in SF if this apartment was available, and we will be back. Bob and Mia's meyer lemon tree is calling our names!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
business
Telegraph Hill Cottage Ideal for Cafes Restaurants Sights
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p292390vbi
(415) 982-4850 (California, USA)
Telegraph Hill San Francisco
5

Best Location and charming, clean cottage

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 20, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
We had a wonderful time in San Francisco. Staying in this cottage was the icing on the cake. The owners we very accommodating, friendly and quick to be helpful. Believe me, we want to return in the future. We appreciated how clean and modern it was and the owner's list of restaurant suggestions. The bed was extremely comfortable. Nice neighborhood close to cable cars, buses and stores.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Telegraph Hill Cottage Ideal for Cafes Restaurants Sights
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p292390vbi
(415) 982-4850 (California, USA)
Telegraph Hill San Francisco
Phoenix AZ USA
5

Telegraph Hill Cottage

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 16, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
This cottage provided us a true home away from home! It is a beautiful space, clean, comfortable, and a great location - so easy to get anywhere and the neighborhood had it all! Our hosts were accessible and so gracious and willing to be helpful making our stay very special. We are planning to return for another great time in San Francisco!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Telegraph Hill Cottage Ideal for Cafes Restaurants Sights
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p292390vbi
(415) 982-4850 (California, USA)
Telegraph Hill San Francisco
Virginia
5

The best place to stay in San Francisco!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 13, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
The cottage of Bob and Mia made ??our stay in SF a very comfortable and enjoyable. It has everything what we need, from dishes, baking foil and electric kettle to a number of books about San Francisco and even the latest issues of fashion magazines.
We were there with our baby and there were a portable crib and highchair in the cottage. It was very convenient! And the apartment was safe for our 15-month-old researcher.
District is perfect!
Everything is very close: bakeries, restaurants, post office, tourist attractions, public transport. And at the same time, it is very quiet at night, which is important for good sleep.
In addition, Bob left for us review of nearby restaurants and his recommendations. It was priceless to save time, money and good mood.
When we had questions, Bob was always available and very quickly helped us.
We only have one reason to regret that we had been there only a week.
If we go to San Francisco next time, gladly choose Bob's cottage to stay again.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Telegraph Hill Cottage Ideal for Cafes Restaurants Sights
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p292390vbi
(415) 982-4850 (California, USA)
Telegraph Hill San Francisco
5

Exquisite and delightful cottage with many amenities

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 6, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
My arrival in this wonderful apartment was full of oohs and aahs. Discovery after discovery from the well-appointed, fully-equipped kitchen with its granite counters, the dining-room area with its chandelier, the living-room with the TV cleverly ensconced in a well-designed bookshelf. The charming antique china armoire full of pretty plates and glasses. The light coming from its many windows bathing the entire place and at night seeing the full moon through the skylights in the entryway. The bedroom was a peaceful oasis. Above all. the attention to details: an umbrella, a folding shopping cart, an iron, a beautiful bathroom, a well-organized walk-in closet in the bedroom. It is exquisite. And so very conveniently located near the Italian area, Chinatown, walking distance to everything. The first night I was there, as I was sitting on the couch, I suddenly realized that I was facing the lit spires of St Peter & Paul's cathedral. From another window, I could see the Coit Tower.

It is impeccably spotless. You can tell that a lot of thought has been given to making it the way it is: lovely lamps, dimmer lights and attractive furniture. It could be featured in a magazine. There's a lemon tree behind the cottage.

Bob and Mia are friendly and kind. I had a wi-fi situation and Bob came to the rescue. They provided a very good list of nearby shops and restaurants of which there are many. There is also a collection of San Francisco guide books.

I took several photos of 'my' cottage to show family and friends. My dream, though, would be to live there year-round, that's how much I enjoyed my stay. I felt at home, or better! A charming oasis. Highly recommended.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Romantic Getaway
business
Telegraph Hill Cottage Ideal for Cafes Restaurants Sights
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p292390vbi
(415) 982-4850 (California, USA)
Telegraph Hill San Francisco
St. John's, NL
5

Shhh! A SF Secret Hideaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 17, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
Steps from Coit Tower and the dining/cafe scene of North Beach, this cozy cottage made an ideal base for our family of 3 during a recent visit to SF. Perfect for independent travelers who value both privacy and the reassurance of having the property owner on site, the set-up could not have been better. The furniture is tasteful and comfortable (king-size bed in the bedroom), and the apartment is light, sunny and has incredible views of the tower and SS Peter and Paul Church. We didn't do too much dining out with a little one, but the kitchen is well-stocked and there is a Trader Joe's within a 10-minute walk. Also really liked Little Vine on Grant, which sells wine and artisanal goodies. Easy booking and excellent communication with the owners, Bob and Mia. Thank you!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Telegraph Hill Cottage Ideal for Cafes Restaurants Sights
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p292390vbi
(415) 982-4850 (California, USA)
Telegraph Hill San Francisco
Calgary, Canada
5

Parfaite situation, superbe appartement et hotes adorables

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 24, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
L'appartement etait parfaitement situe pour visiter San Francisco, dans la petite Italie, tout proche de Chinatown et du Pier39. Tout est tres proche, les cafes, bars, restaurants, attractions ... Acces tres facile vers tout les transports en commun ou meme a pied. L'appartement est magnifique et tout le necessaire est present.
Nous avons passe un tres bon moment en grande partie grace a nos hotes qui ont ete remarquables d'attention et de conseils sur les differentes choses a faire, les balades dans la ville ou dans la region, les evenements... Je recommande ce cottage a tous ceux qui veulent profiter de la ville.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 0/1
business
Telegraph Hill Cottage Ideal for Cafes Restaurants Sights
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p292390vbi
(415) 982-4850 (California, USA)
Telegraph Hill San Francisco
Ottawa, Canada
5

Perfect place for a couple looking for quiet, modern and clean appartment near public transportation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 9, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
Open space concept surrounded by tons of windows, tall ceilings and skylights in hallway : all contribute to pleasant and spacious feeling in small but well designed and well furnished apartment. Separate bedroom has comfortable king size bed, good quality linen and adjacent walk-in closet. Large flat screen TV offers good variety of channels; Wi-Fi connection very good. Spotless kitchen equipped with good quality dishes, glasses, knives and all that's necessary to cook. Small bathroom has handy linen closet stocked with plenty of large, fluffy towels. Reliable and pleasant owners. Very quiet and safe area, 2 blocks (one uphill) from Powell-Mason cable car stop; 10 minute walk downhill to Fisherman's Wharf (uphill when you return!). MUNI bus stops 2 blocks away: no 30 & 8X take you to Market St. City Pass at 84$ a good investment for free public transport during one week (except BART) plus museums & Bay cruise. Stayed 5 days, really enjoyed it and would go back for longer stay if apartment had washer/dryer, although I know there is laundry facility nearby.
Recommended for:  Tourists without a Car