Gulf Shores house rental - South Side of When Pig's Fly
South Side of When Pig's Fly
 
  • Bedrooms6
  • Sleeps16
  • 4 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 7 nights
 

Gulf Shores House Rental Photos and Description
House,6 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 4 Baths, (Sleeps 16), Beachview, Private Pool,

You'll love the PRIVATE Pool & Short Distance to the Beach at our Gulf Shores Vacation Rental beach duplex When Pigs Fly!! We are lucky to have our own pool, just for our duplex, looking south toward the Gulf. We are only 2 houses from the Gulf, about 200 yards back from the beach.

When Pigs Fly is a stacked duplex, one floor over the other with the same basic floor plan except that the upstairs has stairs to the Rooftop Crow's Nest with Panoramic Views of the Beach & Little Lagoon. Each half has 3 Bedrooms, 2 Baths and sleeps 6-8.

Each half has:

*Spacious Living Area with French doors to a Wide Beachview Covered Porch

*Large Fully-Equipped Kitchen

*Spacious King Master Bedroom w/TV, Private Bath & French doors to a Beachview Porch

*2nd Queen Bedroom

*3rd Pair of Twins Bedroom

*Full-Size Laundry Room

*Smaller Lagoon-View Porch

*WIFI

The Upper Unit has a Jetted Tub in the Master Bath, a separate prep sink and Undercounter Ice Maker in the kitchen island and Stairs to a Rooftop Crow's Nest. There are Covered Porches on each floor for Enjoying the Wonderful Views, Gulf Breezes and Sound of the Surf. We have Covered Parking for up to 4 cars plus additional parking for a Boat Trailer or 2 more cars.

The Downstairs has Dining Space for Everyone with the Dining Table, Breakfast Bar and nearby Kitchen Table with Chairs.

Outside, around the Private Pool, there is also a Poolside Table & Chairs, Lounge Chairs, Charcoal Grill & a shaded Picnic Table under the house. You are welcome to use our assortment of Beach Chairs, Beach Carts & Pool Toys during your stay at When Pigs Fly.

Our duplex is conveniently located in the Family-Friendly West Beach area of Gulf Shores, 2.3 miles west of Hwy 59. This section of West Beach has no condos, no crowds, just 4 rows of houses between the Gulf on the South & Little Lagoon on the North and Beautiful White Sand Beaches. It is Close to Restaurants, Shopping including a Major Outlet Center, Attractions, and just a block to a Good Fishing spot.

More Details
Hide Details

We are a family with 2 school-aged children.

Susan purchased this house in 2005

In 2004 we discovered that OMG, Alabama had a beach--and it was a really beautiful beach. We fell in love with the sugar white beaches and family-friendly atmosphere. We liked that Gulf Shores was easier to reach than any other beach we knew of along the Gulf Coast (no 2 lane roads to get here but it is still not huge and built up!)

From the beach road we spotted the house & its big grassy pool area & porches and loved it, but couldn't really imagine that it was a possibility for us. We came up with a plan that calls for another 20 years of hard work, a lot of cooperation from Mother Nature, and the idea that other families like ours will continue to love Gulf Shores and want to come visit.

We love the West Beach area of Gulf Shores. It is low-key and very residential but you are just a couple of miles from restaurants, within 3 miles of Waterville and the Zoo, within 4 miles of several grocery stores.

Pool, pool, pool plus a nice BIG yard. Love the quiet location about 600' back from the beach, but also like have refreshing water right in the backyard. And maybe this is sacrilege, but it is really nice having a grass yard instead of sand! Our children were 3 & 5 when we bought the house and could manage the distance to the beach.

We try to have the things we like at the house for your stay, like a grill, beach cart, books, games, etc. Lots of houses don't have those sorts of things but we hope they add a little something extra to your stay.

24 Reviews of Property 33272 in Gulf Shores, Alabama

'When Pigs Fly' Beachview w/Private Pool
average rating of 4.9166665 based on 24 reviews
business
'When Pigs Fly' Beachview w/Private Pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p33272vb
+1 877 747-4787
Gulf Shores Alabama Gulf Coast
St. Louis, MO
5

BEST TRIP TO GULF SHORES YET!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 28, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
My entire family has been coming to Gulf Shores for about 25 years. We've rented A LOT of different houses. This one being my favorite. I REALLY hope to rent WPF again and again. We Rented both units and had almost the entire family with us. Ages from 70+ - 2 years old. EVERYONE loved it. It was so much fun. A trip we will remember forever!! House was in PERFECT condition. The pictures don't do it justice. Thank you so so much for making our stay AMAZING!!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
'When Pigs Fly' Beachview w/Private Pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p33272vb
+1 877 747-4787
Gulf Shores Alabama Gulf Coast
5

Best Vacation I've ever had

Best Vacation I've ever had
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 19, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
We had an awesome time! This is the first property we ever rented for a vacation and it was amazing. We had the whole family (8 adults and 5 kids ages 8 thru 14) and everyone was very sad to leave. So many wonderful memories were made. Thank you Susan and Geoff for everything you did to made our stay the very best experience possible. We will definitely be doing this again in the future. The kids and I loved going up to the crows nest!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
'When Pigs Fly' Beachview w/Private Pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p33272vb
+1 877 747-4787
Gulf Shores Alabama Gulf Coast
5

when pigs fly bottom unit

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 3, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
Had an amazing time @ when pigs fly. Susan and Geoff were amazing. They were very helpful and willing to work with us. Any issues we had they were there the next day.
Thank you both for allowing me and my family to have another wonderful vacation. Lemaster Family
Recommended for:  Families with Young Children
business
'When Pigs Fly' Beachview w/Private Pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p33272vb
+1 877 747-4787
Gulf Shores Alabama Gulf Coast
morrison tn
5

family stay for wedding

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 21, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
We rented this beach house for our daughters wedding and had her reception there at the house pool side .The house was amazing and the perfect place for us to have for all the activities we held.the house was beautiful and the pool and back yard was the perfect set up for our reception .the beach was beautiful as well . We could not have chose a more perfect place !! and The owners were so easy to work with they were wonderful!!! Thannks Susan and Geoff for letting us create such wonderful memories there with my daughters wedding and with all our family and friends !! It truely was the perfect place for us !!!
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
'When Pigs Fly' Beachview w/Private Pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p33272vb
+1 877 747-4787
Gulf Shores Alabama Gulf Coast
5

The only real problem we had was way out of the owner's control - traffic! Come & leave early

The only real problem we had was way out of the owner's control - traffic! Come & leave early
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 28, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
We loved our stay - both children and their families joined us for the week - plenty of room to gather together and to separate when we neded quiet moments. We had seniors to toddlers and all enjoyed it! Loved having two kitchens, utility rooms, and living areas. Wish the crows nest had been accessible - bet the view would have been something else. Weather was even great! So much to do in the area - needed a longer time, but young families can't be gone much longer than a week.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
'When Pigs Fly' Beachview w/Private Pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p33272vb
+1 877 747-4787
Gulf Shores Alabama Gulf Coast
Fishers, Indiana
5

Our Family Vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 18, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
My entire family, including eight grandchildren, stayed at this wonderful condo. Susan and Geoff were perfect hosts for our stay. We had a small problem with a stopped sink and Geoff was there in no time at all. They were very committed to making our stay a perfect one. This will be a vacation that we will remember for a long time.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
'When Pigs Fly' Beachview w/Private Pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p33272vb
+1 877 747-4787
Gulf Shores Alabama Gulf Coast
Antioch, TN
5

Loved When Pigs Fly!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 15, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
My family and I stayed there for the Memorial Day week and we had a great time. Owners are so friendly and helped us with anything we needed. House was beautiful. We loved the are the house is located. So close to the beach. We actually got up a couple of mornings and did some walking before everyone got up. Everyone we passed spoke like we lived there. We will be back again for sure.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
'When Pigs Fly' Beachview w/Private Pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p33272vb
+1 877 747-4787
Gulf Shores Alabama Gulf Coast
Michigan
3

Average

  • 3 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 20, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
The property does not show quite as nice as the pictures portray. It appears they were taken when the property was in better shape. The listing states the house is "200 yards back from the beach", which is true, however, the actual public access to the beach is a much further walk. In order to get to the beach in 200 yards you have to cut through private property so make friends with the renters actually on the beach. The beach cart and chairs are old and not exactly useable. The owners are nice and responsive, and the house is clean. Gulf shores is a nice place. The private beaches had seaweed issues which we were told was caused by a storm. The public beaches and those in front of hotels/condos are groomed and very well kept. Overall we had good weather and enjoyed our stay. Shopping, restaurants, groceries and entertainment are close by.
Owner's Response: We definitely are not used to hearing that our house doesn't live up to its photos, usually we hear the opposite. But we agree, our house was looking less than its best since we had to delay our pre-season spruce up from before spring break to after spring break. We had 2 weeks of fog & rain that meant we couldn't touch outdoor painting. The house was due for fresh paint on the decks and trim, and we managed to turn our lawn brown when we treated it. In this climate, our decks have to be painted every other year.

We think you'll be pleased with the house now with its fresh paint and fresh chairs/cart to start the season. We can't say how well our guests will care for them as the year wears on--which is why most owners don't try to have chairs/grills/etc for your use. That said, we periodically replace them (you can't buy new ones here in winter, the stores don't stock them) and you are welcome to use what we have while you are here. If you have specific wants or needs, it is always a good idea to bring what you like, or to visit one of the local stores.

West Beach has had a long tradition of being able to walk between the houses to reach the beach and that is how we do it unless we are taking lots more than we want to carry, or going with my father-in-law who really can't walk well. In that case, we'll take a car and park it at the end of our block at the public beach walkover. At some point things may change with our up-to-now laid back neighbors, but right now we love the direct route.

We hope you'll also read our other reviews to learn more about the house.
Helpful votes: 2/3
business
'When Pigs Fly' Beachview w/Private Pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p33272vb
+1 877 747-4787
Gulf Shores Alabama Gulf Coast
Galesburg, Illinois USA
5

September 2011, 1st level of "WHEN PIGS FLY'

September 2011, 1st level of "WHEN PIGS FLY'
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 25, 2011
  • Stayed: Sep 2011
PIGS FLY DOWN, 55+ vacation, 4 ladies,
Fun was had by all!!!
Can't wait to come back. There are no complaints. No false advertising. House, pool, beach and Gulf Shores were exactly what we were looking for. Great weather during stay. Pack less and use the washer and dryer. Property was clean and well maintained, could not tell there was a big storm the week before we arrived. I have already recommended this property to coworkers and my boss. There are all kinds of activities for young and older guests. The pool is actually the length it shows in the pictures as it is a lap pool. Water was great even without pool being heated. The owners respond quickly to any questions or concerns.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
'When Pigs Fly' Beachview w/Private Pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p33272vb
+1 877 747-4787
Gulf Shores Alabama Gulf Coast
denton texas
5

beautiful and sparkling clean duplex

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 18, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
All I can say is "when pigs fly" is the most wonderful place to stay ever! It looks just like the pictures on the website but even better in person. The owners are absolutely awesome. If you need anything at all, they take care of it immediately.
We had 16 people in our family. We rented top/bottom. Everyone had plenty of room. I would highly recommend anyone to rent this property. The walk to the beach was short and easy. We had the most wonderful family reunion ever. We bought a volleyball net for the pool and played water volleyball constantly. You cannot go wrong with this beautiful duplex.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway