Woodstock cabin rental - Very large bedroom with beautiful forest views. Writing desk & plenty of storage
Very large bedroom with beautiful forest views. Writing desk & plenty of storage
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps4
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay nights
 

Woodstock Cabin Rental Photos and Description
1,000 sq ft cabin, 1 Bedroom + Convertible bed, 1 bath, sleeps 2-4

This lovely Romantic Zen Cabin was featured in both NY Magazine and The NY Times as the spot to go to when vacationing in Woodstock.

Secluded, romantic, Japanese-styled designer's cabin is located down a private road, surrounded by acres of beautiful woods, with a small stream running down the hill beside the cabin, the perfect venue to become acquainted with nature.

This large non-Smoking cabin is over 1,000 sq ft and features wonderful views of the woods from every window. It has beautiful Asian slate floors, a cool slate shower and marble bathroom and the romantic claw foot bathtub in the living room which faces the deck and stream. The spacious bedroom has a writing desk with an old fashioned typewriter and is the perfect place to become inspired. The living area is furnished with an extremely comfortable futon sofa which folds out into a queen bed. The multimedia area, has a flat screen TV with basic cable channels as wifi is accessible throughout the cabin.

Wildlife abounds in the area, white-tailed deer (drive carefully at dusk), wild turkey and baby black bears are up and about. Not to mention the fox, squirrels and the dozens of species of birds that makes exploring this property very rewarding.

Only 1.7 miles to the center of Woodstock's famed shops cafes and Zagat rated restaurants. Take in a concert at the Kleinert, a performance at the Woodstock Playhouse or an independent film at Tinker Street Cinema. Hike nearby nature trails on Overlook Mountain, Poets Walk Park or the Ashokan Reservoir. This really is a year round destination: swimming holes abound in the summer, foliage in the fall is incredible, New York's best ski hills are only 30 minutes away for the winter, and the spring is simply magical. There are world class spas and restaurants, and fun shopping in the quirky town of Woodstock, America's most famous small town and birth place of the musical revolution of 1969. Check out our blog for exciting things to see and do in the area: http://www.barkerhudson.com/blog.html

Keywords: Spacious, Romantic Zen Cabin in the woods.

More Details
Hide Details

I've enjoyed a diversified life with careers in Environmental Science, entertainment, real estate and design. I live in New York but grew up in Canada and Bermuda, two wildly different climes! When it comes to property I tend to prefer the extremes....extreme country, or extreme city, and that's one of the things I love about Woodstock. It's less than two hours from New York City, but it's a million miles away with respect to it's ambiance, culture and attitude. Woodstock is a fabulous combination of getting away from it all while still having plenty to do.

Christine Barker purchased this cabin in 2002

Serenity and Privacy. Secluded yet not isolated. Just perfect! It has so many unique features, which include a claw foot tub located in front of the gas burning stove. Take a soak whilst enjoying beautiful wooded scenery. A spacious bedroom with writing desk (and even a typewriter if you want to feel inspired). An outdoor desk with grill and plenty of room to just relax.

Hike the amazing Overlook Mountain just up the road! Visit or hike up to the world-renowned largest traditional Tibetan Monastery in the US built into the mountainside.

Take a bike ride along the winding creeks and back roads, or explore the colorful local farmers and flea market in the center of town.

Find the numerous swimming holes around the area. This really is a year round escape, enjoy the wonderful fall foliage and enjoy skiing in the winter months.

11 Reviews of Property 22541 in Woodstock, New York

Spacious, peaceful Zen Cabin in the woods
average rating of 4.7272725 based on 11 reviews
business
Spacious, peaceful Zen Cabin in the woods
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p22541vb
Woodstock Catskills
Brooklyn, NY, USA
5

Lovely stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 25, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
We spent two nights at the Zen Cabin and had a lovely time.
The cabin is unassuming from outside. Inside it is spacious, comfortable, modern. In terms of isolation, as the leaves come down one can see other houses, but the place felt quite private and certainly serene. We loved the bathroom and its great shower as well as the old-fashioned clawfoot tub in the main room, soaking while feeling nearly outdoors. We relaxed on the covered deck.

Working with the owner/manager was great. They went out of their way to help us with arrangements and even searching for an item that I'd lost.

All in all, we loved it.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Spacious, peaceful Zen Cabin in the woods
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p22541vb
Woodstock Catskills
Jersey City, NJ
5

Zen Cabin Review for Agust Stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 18, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
This was our 4th time staying at the Zen Cabin and we can't wait to return! It sort of has become a "home away from home". The place is very cozy, extremely quiet, private and great for nature lovers and dog lovers. We have a handicapped dog (3 legged) and he loves coming up to the Zen Cabin, too! Woodstock is a great place to bring your dog. I can't recommend the Zen Cabin enough! Can't wait to come back when the fall foliage has turned and back again in the winter!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/2
business
Spacious, peaceful Zen Cabin in the woods
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p22541vb
Woodstock Catskills
Valley Stream, NY
5

Perfect Getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 16, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
We stayed at this cabin for two nights and I must say that everything about the vacation was perfect. The cabin was not far away from many of Woodstock's attractions, but it was secluded enough to give us a sense of privacy. The cabin itself was in perfect condition and was extremely cozy. I definitely recommend for couples. The owner was lovely to do business with and very friendly. Would love to stay here again!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Spacious, peaceful Zen Cabin in the woods
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p22541vb
Woodstock Catskills
4

Lovely cottage with a few dowfalls

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 5, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
I think this place is absolutely perfect for a romantic getaway for a couple who doesn't plan to cook a lot. The tub is lovely, the views from the windows are peaceful. The place is very clean and comfortable overall. I would not recommend it for people with small children as there is no place for them to walk around outside. The only flat ground is the driveway. The back of the house has a small veranda, but other than that the grounds are uneven. The kitchen was also unsatisfactory for us. It looks nice, but there are only 2 burners, so you can't cook a bunch at the same time. The listing mentions an oven, but there is only the microwave / convection oven combo, not a real oven. The sink in the kitchen is awkwardly positioned, so depending on your height, it may be uncomfortable to wash dishes.
The cottage is a perfect distance away from Woodstock and convenient for all that is has to offer. We would gladly return if it wasn't for the pitfalls.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Spacious, peaceful Zen Cabin in the woods
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p22541vb
Woodstock Catskills
5

The Zen Cabin has become our home away from home!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 11, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
This is the second time we've stayed at the Zen Cabin in Woodstock within a 6 month time span. We thought it was so great the first time that we had to try for a second trip. Best decision we made! Not only is the cabin super clean, it's modern, the appliances are up to date, and it has just about everything you could need for a peaceful romantic vacation away from the noisy city. Close to town with great neighbors waving you on in. Lots of restaurants, shopping, and outdoor activities to enjoy. All in all it's just the perfect little getaway! I recommend it to everyone!
business
Spacious, peaceful Zen Cabin in the woods
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p22541vb
Woodstock Catskills
Berkeley, CA
5

Idyllic cabin near Catskill highlights

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 7, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
This is an extraordinarily beautiful cabin that welcomes you from the first step in the door. The colors, the textures, the light all combine for an exceptional atmosphere. It helps also that the cabin offers all the comforts of life, including the world's most comfortable bed. The location, so close to the conveniences and culture of Woodstock, yet utterly peaceful, only adds to its charm. Christine has set up all the logistics to create a very restful visitor experience. Hopefully you will be lucky enough to spend your vacation here!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/2
business
Spacious, peaceful Zen Cabin in the woods
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p22541vb
Woodstock Catskills
Manchester, VT, USA
5

Excellent Getaway Retreat

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 17, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2011
I've stayed at the cabin a few times during the week on work trips instead of renting a hotel room - and I am SO glad for it. It is a quaint, getaway whose design is hip, up-to-date and modern - I felt like I was on vacation even though it was for a work trip!

Highly recommend, and so close to town with great restaurants as well. My favorite is the Red Onion, but they are all really, really good.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/3
business
Spacious, peaceful Zen Cabin in the woods
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p22541vb
Woodstock Catskills
5

Happy Cat Cabin is my Happyplace

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 16, 2011
  • Stayed: Nov 2010
My partner and I, and our 6 year old and baby stayed at Happy Cat and had such a beautiful respite from city life. The place is serene and artfully decorated. Despite cold weather the architecture brings the outdoor in, so we really felt IN nature. We had a blast exploring Woodstock, and then coming home for a hot soak in the soaking tub in front of the fireplace. And best of all, since the cottage is so close to town, its no problem to pop home for a nap, a change of clothes before dinner etc and then be back in town in minutes!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/2
business
Spacious, peaceful Zen Cabin in the woods
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p22541vb
Woodstock Catskills
Brooklyn NY
5

Highly recommend!! So Great

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 23, 2011
  • Stayed: May 2011
I can't say enough good things about this "Cabin" I went sight unseen thinking that it was what one would classically refer to as a "cabin"and realized when I got there it was more like a beautiful apartment. Everything from the furniture to the moldings to the fixtures are high quality an lovely. The completely tiled shower was sparkling and clean and felt brand new. The tub was spotless and there were flowers when we arrived.
The owners are obviously artists and have impeccable taste and style. My fiance and I were truly blown away and I would go as far as to say.. This "Cabin" made my home seem like a cabin. For those of you that think that quality is subjective, there is no argument that this zen cabin truly is zen. Our minds felt calm and clear. I know little of feng shui but I'm certain that this place rates highly on that scale. The vista from the large bedroom window was lovely (In face we awoke at first mornings light to the mist and a pair of deer calmly feeding in the brilliantly green meadow only 25 ft from the cabin).
Another great feature is that the proprietor was very helpful and friendly. This cabin sits in the shadow of a main house up on a hill, but you would never even know its there due to the window placement and foliage cover. Its very private and when you are in it you feel like you are very alone.

I can't say enough good things about this place and I will definitely (hopefully) be making it my yearly stay. That is if this hidden gem doesn't get discovered by the rest of the world..and booked up.
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 6/7
business
Spacious, peaceful Zen Cabin in the woods
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p22541vb
Woodstock Catskills
Brooklyn NY
5

Absolutely loved it!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 6, 2011
  • Stayed: Dec 2010
I found this place to be idyllic. It's private but not so secluded that I felt isolated; and all you see from the inside is the woods...it's beautiful.

It has a fireplace, soaking tub and shower with powerful rainhead...really nice after our day of skiing. We even grilled on the patio during a snowfall!

It was exactly what we were looking for in a romantic, quiet getaway and everyone we dealt with was very helpful. I don't usually write reviews, but I was looking to book it again and noticed the only review here was a negative one, so I wanted to share that was not our experience at all.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you Gerry! We go to great lengths to ensure everyone has a great experience. We hear from people all the time that they loved the cabin, but it's great to share your experiences online for others to see, so thanks again, and come back soon!
Helpful votes: 4/5