Bryson City cabin rental - Eagle's Perch
Eagle's Perch
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps8
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Bryson City Cabin Rental Photos and Description
3 bedrooms, 2 full baths, sleeps up to 8

Eagle’s Perch, rustic with many touches of simple elegance, sits high on a mountaintop, midway between Bryson City and Franklin, NC, overlooking the rushing Little Tennessee River. It offers magnificent mountain views with spectacular sunsets, the fresh smell of clean mountain air, where you may even see the eagles fly! The home’s layout, conducive to multiple-couple privacy, as well as family togetherness, provides large indoor and outdoor living spaces.

The center of your activities will be in the huge Great Room, featuring one wall of floor-to-cathedral ceiling windows, a large seating area, wood-burning fireplace and satellite TV/DVD. Off to one side is the dining area, with seating for 8, and kitchen area. The ultra-modern kitchen, equipped with a full complement of utensils and dinnerware, offers a high-end stove, refrigerator and dishwasher, as well as spacious pantry.

Eagle's Perch, situated midway between Bryson City and Franklin, is on a security-protected private drive leading from a gravel country road adjacent to the Little Tennessee River. The Little Tennessee River provides both fishing and kayaking while the surrounding mountains are ideal for hiking and ATVs. The Nantahala Recreation Center, located just down the road, offers the best white-water rafting, and kayaking, in all the Smokies. Nearby Lake Fontana provides boating and SCUBA activities. Horseback riding is also close by.

The towns of Bryson City, Franklin and Cherokee offer every conceivable vacation pastime, including gem mining, and Casino gambling. The Great Smoky Mountain Rail Road has train rides that delight both kids and adults. The nearby Great Smoky Mountain National Park offers additional family activities- and don't forget Dollywood, just on the other side of the park.

More Details
Hide Details

13 Reviews of Property 291943 in Bryson City, North Carolina

Eagle's Perch, PEACEFUL MOUNTAINTOP LOG HOME, Hot Tub, SatelliteTV
average rating of 4.8461537 based on 13 reviews
business
Eagle's Perch, PEACEFUL MOUNTAINTOP LOG HOME, Hot Tub, SatelliteTV
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p291943
+1 8282263229
Bryson City Bryson City Area
Cincinnati, OH
5

Beautiful cabin, very secluded.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 19, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
My husband and I and our 2 sons (aged 7 & 10) stayed at Eagle's Perch for a week. First, I must say the photos do not do the home justice. It is absolutely beautiful. Cathedral ceilings in the family room, gorgeous hardwood floors throughout, and kitchen appliances any cook would love. The back deck is very large and runs the width of the house across the back and has 4 sliding glass doors that lead out to it. The boys wanted to "take the house home with us". It is very wooded, and VERY secluded; there is 1 other house on the road and you can not see it at all from the road or the house. The furnishings are clean and comfortable; there were plenty of towels and bedding. The master bedroom has 2 LARGE closets, the bedroom with all the windows does not have a closet, but the room is quite large and does have a couple of chairs and nightstands, so there is room to spread out. The third bedroom (the one not pictured) has a king bed, nightstand, and a very nice antique looking desk with a chair; the closet here is quite large and has plenty of place to hang clothes as well as shelves and bins to put items in/on. The space in this room is tight, but it is still very comfortable. The driveway is a bit steep, especially at the very top, but our minivan had no problem getting in and out; however, I would imagine 4 wheel drive would be a necessity in bad weather. The river is at the bottom of the road and you can hear it from the back deck; it is a great place for the kids to play, swim, hunt for cool rocks, and fish.
Important things to note: there is no cell phone service, wi-fi, 3G, 4G, etc. for a good 15-20 minutes drive time from the cabin. It is also 20-30 minutes from what would be considered a "main" road; this is important for planning of day trips (ie: if the brochure says 45 mins. from Bryson City, it will likely take you an hour and 15 mins. to get there). The closest gas station/convenience mart is Needmore to Telico to R on 28. Take 28 into Cowee and there is a nice BP on the right with some groceries and a little hot food.
NONE of these things would stop us from wanting to stay at Eagle's Perch again; we recommend researching your day trips thoroughly before you stay and pick up some good maps of the area in advance.
Owner's Response: Cell service is hit and miss, but Verizon works the best, and can normaly get a signal.
Dave
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Eagle's Perch, PEACEFUL MOUNTAINTOP LOG HOME, Hot Tub, SatelliteTV
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p291943
+1 8282263229
Bryson City Bryson City Area
5

Perfect Getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 5, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
This was the perfect place to get away from it all. We had four adults and two children and wanted to just relax and spend time in nature. The house was plenty big for all of us and the views were great. We loved using the hot tub and sitting by the fire. Two days we drove into Bryson City and Cherokee for some short hikes, but the rest of the time we just loved being in the cabin. I would highly recommend Eagle's Perch!
business
Eagle's Perch, PEACEFUL MOUNTAINTOP LOG HOME, Hot Tub, SatelliteTV
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p291943
+1 8282263229
Bryson City Bryson City Area
Marion, Ohio
5

Beautiful fall colors

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 1, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
We had lots of color and great weather for our stay at Eagle's Perch. We saw the eagle fly over our first afternoon there and a pair of them were perched along the river during the week. We saw deer crossing the river and a flock of wild turkeys. The views from the back deck were amazing and the early morning fog floating above the river was fun to watch. At night we enjoyed the hot tub and watching the stars. The cabin is a great place to get away and enjoy the quiet and beauty of nature. The property is clean, well-maintained and has a warm cozy feel to it. The living room has comfortable furniture and a wood burning fireplace, the kitchen is a dream to cook in. The driveway is a little intimidating the first time up when you are from a relatively flat area of the country, but not hard to navigate. We would recommend it to our friends and relatives. The owners are great and very helpful.
There are plenty of activities just in the area, lots of fall festivals, interesting shops, rafting, and hiking.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Eagle's Perch, PEACEFUL MOUNTAINTOP LOG HOME, Hot Tub, SatelliteTV
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p291943
+1 8282263229
Bryson City Bryson City Area
5

Wonderful Weekend at the Eagle's Perch!

Wonderful Weekend at the Eagle's Perch!
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 3, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2011
We had a wonderful weekend at your cabin. The views were amazing, the hot tub was so relaxing and the beds were super comfortable! Our families so enjoyed the spacious family room where we were able to watch movies and play games. Everything was clean and well maintained.

We love being on top of the mountain and enjoyed exploring Bryson City, the Road to Nowhere (& the tunnel) and even walked part of the Appalachian Trail!

We felt so blessed to be able to relax in such beautiful surroundings. Great memories were made this weekend. An experience we'll not soon forget!

Thank you for making everything so easy for us (especially the escort to the cabin).

-Chessa Moore
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Eagle's Perch, PEACEFUL MOUNTAINTOP LOG HOME, Hot Tub, SatelliteTV
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p291943
+1 8282263229
Bryson City Bryson City Area
Charlotte, NC
4

Very Secluded Getaway

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 27, 2011
  • Stayed: Dec 2011
Our family of 5 enjoyed two nights at Christmas at this cabin. We expected great views, especially from the hot tub. What was better than expected was the size of the great room that continues into the kitchen. The appliances were much better than ours at home so I hope my wife didn't get too used to them! The large deck was great and the windows across the back of the cabin made for great views from inside as well.

Dave, the owner, met us for the drive to the cabin in his Miata which was good because I kept reminding my wife on the way up that if he can do this in a Miata, I can do it in the minivan! He gave us a quick tour of the house and we were ready to go.

Although there are a few small things mentioned above, this is a very nice cabin - better and bigger than the pictures indicate. If you want to get away from it all, this is a great spot.

A few bits of advice to future renters. We didn't get snow for Christmas (we are transplanted Chicagoans so this was our original reason for renting a mountain cabin) which may have turned out to be good for us. The single lane gravel road is pretty steep and the driveway up to the house is especially steep. If there is too much snow or any ice, I imagine a 4 wheel drive could be necessary to get to the top. The grill out front (picture it off to your right in the front view of the house) is a little inconveniently located, but more importantly it is charcoal, and you should bring your own. The main fireplace is wood burning, which was great and put out a lot of heat, but the wood supply was pretty wet and rotting, so you might want to bring a dry bundle or two to make sure you can get it started up. Because it is so remote, your cell phone might not work. There is a phone in the cabin, although we didn't try it. The hot tub doesn't get very hot. It was perfect for the kids although Mom and I would have liked it a little hotter for our last dip on a cold night. The outside grounds could use a little gardening and cleanup, but we didn't spend much time in the driveway so it is quickly forgotten once you are inside.

Chris
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Eagle's Perch, PEACEFUL MOUNTAINTOP LOG HOME, Hot Tub, SatelliteTV
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p291943
+1 8282263229
Bryson City Bryson City Area
5

Eagle's Perch

Eagle's Perch
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 10, 2011
  • Stayed: Oct 2011
The home was very nice and met all our expectations.

Neil Cagle
New Orleans, LA
business
Eagle's Perch, PEACEFUL MOUNTAINTOP LOG HOME, Hot Tub, SatelliteTV
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p291943
+1 8282263229
Bryson City Bryson City Area
Mount Dora, FL
5

Amazing views, privacy lovers dream

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 12, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
The incredible views from inside the home and outside have to be experienced to fully appreciate. The reality is better than pictures alone can convey. For anyone looking for a secluded private getaway away from the hustle and bustle Eagle's Perch is an outstanding choice. Hidden atop a forested mountain easing into vacation mode is quickly accomplished.

We had so many incredible experiences during our stay it is hard to list them all, but I'll list a few of our favorites. The Little Tennessee River just below the cabin is so relaxing and the views from its rocks rival any we witnessed. The water was pleasantly warm, gentle, and is easily navigated wearing creek shoes. My daughter loved sunbathing out on the large smooth flat rocks. I saw several trout among the rocks and water holes. Everyone should spend some time down by the river. Several easy access spots for parking vehicle and people to enter river. Masons mine collecting rocks and gems was a blast, whitewater rafting in Dillsboro (Mom approved rafting DRC) incredible, Gatlingburg (kids loved not my favorite but fun drive), saw an Elk and beaver just outside Smoky Mountains National Park near Cherokee, and we all loved whitewater tubing and hiking in Deep Creek.

Eagles Perch is a great base to start and end your days from. Close to Bryson City a charming mountain town and more modern Franklin. The drives to and from town offer incredible scenery and are a reasonable distance from the cabin especially if part of your planning for the day. Hot tube was nice relaxing finish from all of our exploring.

The cabin is well equipped, clean, and family friendly. Dave is a fantastic host and ready to assist with any questions you might have. The drive up is easier than it first appears and actually quite safe for anyone worried. We drove up and down everyday in our Pontiac Vibe with not trouble at all.

We hope to return someday for another visit.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Eagle's Perch, PEACEFUL MOUNTAINTOP LOG HOME, Hot Tub, SatelliteTV
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p291943
+1 8282263229
Bryson City Bryson City Area
4

Incredible Panoramic Views

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 2, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
We have stayed in many NC cabins over the last several years and this one was definitely the most secluded and had some of the best views. The driveway was a little tricky and I wouldn't recommend it for timid or first time mountain drivers, especially during wintery weather.

The house itself is a great house and it was very clean (with the exception of some bugs which we expected in such a wooded area). Definitely bring your bug spray and Benadryl!

There is a river that runs along the rural road that goes up to the house which our kids enjoyed fishing in. The house is about 30 mins from the NOC, the grocery store, and downtown Bryson City (a little further than we would've liked to be but we were okay with it since the house was so secluded). It is a dry county so BYOB :)

I gave the house a rating of (4) for a few reasons:
*I wished that the grill was on the back deck like most rentals. It is in the front yard making it a little hard to go back and forth to the kitchen.
*The front yard/garden needs to be manicured.
*The furniture in the house was older and out-dated and it made the cabin not have as much of a cabin feel. We are used to being in cabins with big, heavy wooden furniture, with bear throw pillows and nice mountain knick-knacks and pictures.

I debated whether or not to give the house rating of a (3) but decided to give it a (4) because of the views, seclusion, and the beautiful sunset.

The owners were helpful and actually drove us to the house since so many people have a hard time finding it. He gave us a tour of the house when we got there. We definitely felt that the house was priced well for what we got.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing
business
Eagle's Perch, PEACEFUL MOUNTAINTOP LOG HOME, Hot Tub, SatelliteTV
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p291943
+1 8282263229
Bryson City Bryson City Area
5

Perfect getaway place

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 19, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
After being used to book hotel rooms for our vacations and often find out that the photos are much nicer than the reality, I was so concerned how this cabin would be. Let me tell you not to worry a bit! The photos are not even close how gorgeous the place is and how comfy you will feel there.
This is the perfect place to get away from the busy everyday life.
The views are fantastic (ah, the morning coffee on that terrace), the hot tub is very relaxing and the cabin has much more to offer than we expected.
When I book something, one of my primary concern is the cleanliness of the place. We stayed in lots of hotel rooms (from 2 stars to 4) but this cabin was one of the cleanest places we stayed in.
It is secluded and nobody bothered us, yet it's a relative short drive from all the major attraction sites we wanted to visit.
The owners are very helpful and nice people, answered all my questions and concerns.
I think that the thoughts that we had: "We wanna live here" pretty much says it all.
The only negative thing was that we could stay only 2 nights, but next time hopefully it will be longer.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Eagle's Perch, PEACEFUL MOUNTAINTOP LOG HOME, Hot Tub, SatelliteTV
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p291943
+1 8282263229
Bryson City Bryson City Area
Central Florida
5

Winter Wonderland at Eagle's Perch

Winter Wonderland at Eagle's Perch
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 10, 2011
  • Stayed: Dec 2010
We booked our cabin stay for 4 nights at the end of 2010, including New Years Eve. Mother Nature decided to blanket the area with a foot of snow prior to our arrival - let's just say it was an experience we'll never forget! The amenities were much more than we expected, from the modern kitchen to the large master bathroom to the 4-person hot tub on the back deck overlooking the mountains. The wood fireplace was fantastic considering the cold temperatures this time of year, and with the owner supplying us with all the firewood we needed it was a treat. Our trip's intention was to relax and recharge from our busy lives so we did not partake in any of the local outdoor activities. Instead we treated ourselves to the wonderful views from the cabin's mountain-perched local and settled in. Words can not describe the hospitality given to us from the owner. He was always there to answer questions, provide helpful hints, and make sure that our entire stay was perfect. We would recommend this cabin to anyone and everyone, from a couple to a family. Thank you again Dave for the wonderful stay!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway