Deadwood cabin rental - Moonlit Mountain Crest
Moonlit Mountain Crest
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps5
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 2 - 5 nights
 

Deadwood Cabin Rental Photos and Description
2 Bedrooms + Other (See Description), 1 Bath (Sleeps 1-5)

'Mountain Crest', a beautifully hand-hewn, non-smoking, authentic log cabin, occupies five acres on a mountain top, about five miles northwest of Deadwood, off county-maintained, Maitland road, the 'backdoor’ road to Spearfish. It offers a large parking area suitable for multiple vehicles/guests to meet or visit, to conduct family reunions, etc.

Secluded, with dual access, well-maintained roads, this cabin is a great location to enjoy winter sports, delightful spring and summer activities, or to just 'escape' and 're-charge' one's self.

(Attention Snow Mobilers: Mountain Crest enjoys abundant snow fall. Given its relatively secluded location and being adjacent to national forest land and trails, it is ideally suited to have fun playing in the snow. Where else can one drive their snow mobile up to their front door?)

This unique log cabin can be a romantic getaway or a great location for enjoyable get togethers with friends or family. It is very clean and well maintained and offers guests complete privacy.

The cabin provides excellent support to its guests. They are greeted and provided an orientation, and while delightfully secluded, the cabin support staff/maintainers are available to answer area questions and assist.

Why the Owner Chose Deadwood... Since the Air Force assigned me to South Dakota in the late 80's, I have loved the Black Hills. The are always open and accessible (public land), safe (no bears), and the people here are so very friendly and welcoming. They appreciate visitors. The northern 'hills' are especially beautiful and have so much history and fun things to do. I very much enjoy my stays at Mountain Crest. I take great interest in making sure my visitors are able to enjoy and appreciate it as much as I do.

The special appeal of this cabin... I bought 'Mountain Crest' in 2005, a dream come true. The trees that grew on my mountain top are still there. They repose as a part of this handmade log cabin. Watching eagles soar, deer graze, chipmunks play, or turkeys strutting is something I always yearned to be able to do. You can too by simply sitting on the veranda or looking out of the kitchen window. I love having the freedom to adventure out and not come across barbed wire limitations.

A Chance to See It On a Video: A recent guest with his family shot a You Tube video of their stay. If interested, here is the link: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BQlvJr6HZ38

More Details
Hide Details

Since the Air Force assigned me to South Dakota in the late 80's, I have loved the Black Hills. The are always open and accessible (public land), safe (no bears), and the people here are so very friendly and welcoming. They appreciate visitors. The northern 'hills' are especially beautiful and have so much history and fun things to do. I very much enjoy my stays at Mountain Crest. I take great interest in making sure my visitors are able to enjoy and appreciate it as much as I do.

32 Reviews of Property 291867 in Deadwood, South Dakota

'Mountain Crest' -One of a Kind, Secluded, Hand-Hewn, Incredible Views
average rating of 4.870968 based on 32 reviews
business
'Mountain Crest' -One of a Kind, Secluded, Hand-Hewn, Incredible Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p291867
520 360-2669
Deadwood Black Hills
Tomball, TX
5

Fantastic Thanksgiving Family Vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 4, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
Heavenly cabin with spectacular view off the city of Spearfish and Deadwood. Our boys enjoyed it so much. Wish we didn't have to leave. Tom is great to work with and very trustworthy which is difficult to find these days. Sharon and Chris were very hospitable and made us feel very welcomed. They showed us around and made recommendations on places to visit. We are so glad we decided to to stay at Mountain Crest and would highly recommend it. Thanks again, Tom, Sharon and Chris!
Recommended for:  Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Hey Dayren, Pleased to know that you and your family enjoyed your Thanksgiving on the mountain. Like you, I always feel a twinge of frustration when it is time to depart and return to reality. (smile) Maybe that is part of Mountain Crest’s special appeal. Thank you for your thoughtful and complimentary words. I will be sure and share these with Sharon and Chris. We always strive to be supportive of our guests and to let them know they are appreciated and welcome.
business
'Mountain Crest' -One of a Kind, Secluded, Hand-Hewn, Incredible Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p291867
520 360-2669
Deadwood Black Hills
New Berlin, WI
5

WOW!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 13, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
This cabin really is everything as advertised and more. After a long 13 hour road trip, we drove up the driveway and circled around the cabin. My first impression of the cabin and the view was "wow"! I couldn't believe we actually had this gorgeous property all to ourselves for 8 days. It got better as the caretakers, Chris & Sharon, showed us through the cabin and acquainted us with the layout and all of its amenities. The kitchen has everything you need for cooking and dining, plus they provide supplies that many other places don't, such as coffee filters, baggies, condiments, etc. It is indeed unique, clean and comfortable and we immediately felt very much at home. We totally enjoyed spending time on the wraparound porch, cooking out, relaxing and enjoying the peace and quiet of this wonderful mountain top retreat. The only sounds to be heard are the birds and the breeze rustling through the pines. Absolute heaven! Tom responded promptly whenever we had questions and was kind enough to allow us to bring our dogs along. They enjoyed the porch as much as we did and being able to go for long walks on the roads and trails close to the cabin. Chris and Sharon were wonderful and called during the week just to make sure that there were no problems. Many of the tourist destinations are within an hour or so of the cabin, so you have the best of both worlds. Our last day it rained/snowed all day. It was a perfect opportunity to stay in, have a fire in the wood burning stove and just relax and watch movies. We don't often get a day like that, so enjoyed it immensely. Sadly our vacation went by much too quickly, but we will definitely be making a return trip and wouldn't consider staying anywhere else. Thanks Tom for sharing Mountain Crest with us - it truly is a remarkable property!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: You are most welcome! Chris, Sharon, and I are pleased to know that you all enjoyed your stay and that Mountain Crest exceeded your expectations. Appreciate the feedback. I do try to describe it accurately and price it fairly. Likely, this mountain top cabin will never be considered opulent like many of those others seen on the various vacation rental sites. However, it is a unique setting, a ‘real’ log cabin, and we genuinely go out of our way to welcome and support our guests and to make it maybe just a little more comfortable and user friendly than perhaps some of those others. Do hope you come back and see us.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
'Mountain Crest' -One of a Kind, Secluded, Hand-Hewn, Incredible Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p291867
520 360-2669
Deadwood Black Hills
Wisconsin
5

Friends from Wisconsin

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 6, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
Had a Wonderful time. Close to everything we wanted to see!!! Mount Rushmore, Badlands, Crazy Horse, Devils Tower, which was all on our Bucket list. Loved the over look!! Saw deer and turkeys which our dogs enjoyed, LOL. The fire pit picture on the website does not do it justice!!! It is amazing. To bad when we were there it was HOT!!! But we still had some fires. And we even got to watch the packers play on friday night. To bad they did not show up to play that night. But we had beer, so all was good. Found a convenience store off the the mountain, towards Deadwood, Lead which helped supply our needs. We were told GPS does not work up there, and we were told. But we went off roading, Do not do that!! HAHA, but amazing enough we got off. The hosts were wonderful they could work for the chamber of commerce in the area, because they can tell you everything that is going on and how to get there. Tom was WONDERFUL to work with, you are the best, THANK-YOU !!! If we get a chance to take the whole Wham Dam family there some day it would be awesome!!! And Thank You for being pet friendly!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Owner's Response: What a fun trip you guys enjoyed. Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences. Having a chance to see wildlife in their natural setting always makes my day. (smile) Pleased to know that you all (including your four-legged family members) had a good time. I must still be 'old school' because I always have a good time off-roading on the various forest service trails and never use my GPS. Feels more like an adventure that way. :-) Really, seldom does anyone get lost in our beautiful/friendly hills. Would love to welcome you back and extend to you that repeat guest discount.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
'Mountain Crest' -One of a Kind, Secluded, Hand-Hewn, Incredible Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p291867
520 360-2669
Deadwood Black Hills
Regina,Sask
5

Outstanding!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 25, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
Mountain Crest is an incredible place to enjoy a vacation. Idyllic.Its total seclusion from the busy tourist areas, along with an incredible support system ( Chris & Sharon) ,who are the cabins caretakers, give this cabin an ambiance that is almost surreal.

Really, it reminds me of a Thomas Kincaid painting. The cabin; spacious ( family of 5),very clean, handhewn log cabin, with a wraparound deck. Fully furnished and very well stocked, ( you'll only need your food) with every convenience you could ever want, full washer and dryer, and a great BBQ, make it extremely comfortable.Ceiling fans provide wonderful airflow, for a really peaceful sleep.Wake up, and enjoy a colorful sunrise peering through the patio doors to the upper deck. Go out, greet the morning, and watch the deer graze in the meadows.So peaceful, you can hear your heart beat. Fabulous; a photographers paradise. View the City of Spearfish from the cabin; the view is breathtaking, and the word " Outstanding!" is really not enough to describe it.

Don't worry about the road, as we come from the prairies, and we had no trouble with the road, even in the dark. However, in the winter months, a 4 wheel drive would be necessary.

The owner of the cabin is very easy to deal with, as are his caretakers. Prompt, honest, efficient, and understanding, and after a few contacts with him/them, you will feel like you've been friends for many years.

We've been renting cabins in many places for over 30 years, and Mountain Crest is absolutely a first class experience. The only way for one to really understand Mountain Crest, is to experience it firsthand.We're already booking for next year.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Such a thoughtful and complimentary review! Thank you. I am very pleased to know that my cabin ‘stacked up’ well in view of all of your other experiences in renting cabins at various destinations. I genuinely do believe that Mountain Crest is a unique cabin offering a ‘one of kind’ type of lodging experience. Beyond that, the greeters and maintainers (Sharon & Chris) and I pride ourselves in the hospitality and support that we deliberately factor in when leasing the cabin. Seeing our guests enjoy a rewarding, carefree time in a fun, novel, genuine log cabin on a mountain top makes us feel good, too.
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
'Mountain Crest' -One of a Kind, Secluded, Hand-Hewn, Incredible Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p291867
520 360-2669
Deadwood Black Hills
5

Our getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 23, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
We arrived at the cabin on May 25, 2013. We were greeted by the most amazing people (Bob and Lynn). I must say the cabin was absolutely stunning. The pictures just don't do justice! We are a family of 6 and the cabin was plenty spacious for us. There was even Mule Deer grazing in the yard our first morning there.


We did so much while we were there. We went to Mount Rushmore, Devils Tower, Crazy Horse, 1880's train, Mt. Rushmore Cave, Alpine Slide, D.C. Fish Hatchery, Custer State Park, Broken Boot Gold Mine and much more.

The Thursday and Friday we were there it rained. Friday, I refused to let it get the best of us.

Tom was super easy to work with in regards to the booking process. He was very prompt in answering all my questions.

After we got back home, we told our friends all about our stay. Some of our friends want to stay at Mountain Crest after hearing about our vacation and seeing the pictures. We will also return.

Thank you for sharing your cabin with our family, we had an AWESOME time making memories.
Owner's Response: Delighted to know that you enjoyed your visit to the hills and your stay at Mountain Crest. Certainly sounds like you and your family really made the most of your trip. Such thoughtful and complimentary words… appreciate you taking the time to give us some feedback on your ‘cabin experience’. Thank you. We all genuinely work to insure that our visitors are treated like most welcome guests. Beyond that, we try to imagine what our guests are experiencing and to be just one step ahead in anticipating their needs and preferences. We know how we would prefer to be treated and apply this to our visitors. Would love to welcome you back and extend that repeat guest discount.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
'Mountain Crest' -One of a Kind, Secluded, Hand-Hewn, Incredible Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p291867
520 360-2669
Deadwood Black Hills
5

Beautiful Serenity

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 19, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
My family loved our stay. This cabin is everything that is advertised and more. The scenery is beautiful with amazing views stretching all the way to the western South Dakota prairies. I enjoyed waking up every morning and listening to the ruffed grouse drum around the cabin. That was an amazing spring sound that I had never experienced before. All that peace and quiet while being so close to all kinds of activities in the northern hills. The cabin itself is beautiful with much charm and character. We will be returning for another stay at Mountain Crest.
Owner's Response: Pleased to know that you loved your stay on the mountain. It is always a challenge to effectively communicate and describe what a guest might reasonably expect while candidly answering their questions and concerns. Thank you for letting me know we succeeded. Peace and quiet, charm and character… those words do describe Mountain Crest. We think alike.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
'Mountain Crest' -One of a Kind, Secluded, Hand-Hewn, Incredible Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p291867
520 360-2669
Deadwood Black Hills
Chicago il
5

Nothing but peace

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 9, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
What a great cabin! The views are unreal and beautiful. It was so nice to get so far away from any kind of big city and still have all the small touches of home. The kitchen was great and has any appliance that you would need. The fireplace and fire pit are well stocked with wood. The washer and dryer is great so that we didnt have to travel back with loads of dirty laundry. Bob and Lynn, the caretakers, were so nice to talk with and get a feel of what else we should do.
Tom, thanks again! From my initial email everything was so smooth. When I first found this place I didnt know what to expect on the rental end. You made it so easy and I thank you for quick responses.
This was mine and Katie's first big vacation together, and my first trip in over five years. We were both exhausted from nonstop work and needed to get away. This was the perfect place. There are no distractions here. Just relaxation. And the cabin is so close to Deadwood/Sturgis so you have a lot of places to go. Crazy Horse and Mt Rushmore are pretty close and have really nice scenic drives. We also went to Devils Tower in Oregon and that was a really nice drive up 14a through the Black Hills. We ate at the Gem Steakhouse in the Mineral Palace in Deadwood one night and the steaks were really good. One afternoon we ate at the Loud American in Sturgis, and even though it was a burger, it was one of the best burgers we have ever had.
We cant thank you enough for how smooth this all was, how perfect it was described, and how great of a time we had!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Hey Brian, Appreciate you taking the time to share your observations and experiences of your stay at the cabin and your time touring in the Black Hills. Very pleased to know that you genuinely enjoyed your visit and that the cabin met all of your expectations and more. Bob, Lynn, and I sincerely do want our guests to thoroughly enjoy their time at Mountain Crest, feel like they are ‘lightening their stress load’, and when that time comes that they must depart, leave feeling refreshed, recharged, and maybe with just a little more energy to reengage life’s issues. From your narrative, sounds like we achieved that. (smile) Would love to have you come back again!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
'Mountain Crest' -One of a Kind, Secluded, Hand-Hewn, Incredible Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p291867
520 360-2669
Deadwood Black Hills
5

We loved everything!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 4, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
We thought this cabin was wonderful! If you are looking for seclusion this is the place! We loved the wood burning stove and peacefulness of the area. Bob and Lynn were knowledgeable about the area and very welcoming! We also enjoyed the adventure of traveling up and down the mountain. The kitchen had everything we needed to cook meals and we loved that the cabin had games available to play. The only surprise we had at arrival was that there is little privacy in either bedroom, the main bedroom has no door (only a drape across doorway) and like stated in the description the other bedroom is in the loft. This was so big deal for us but other couples may want to be aware of that. WE LOVED, LOVED, LOVED this cabin, we will definitely come back again!
Also, if you are looking for a great place to eat while visiting go to Lewie's in Lead...AMAZING burgers! The cabin was close to Spearfish where there is a Walmart and any other store you would need for groceries. Thank you again for a great stay!
Owner's Response: You are most welcome. Pleased to see that you ‘LOVED’ the cabin and enjoyed your visit on the mountain. Thank you for sharing your experiences. Your fellow travelers will appreciate your suggestions. I recall my first visit to that Wal-Mart surprised me. Knew that some Wal-Marts sold groceries, but was more used to a traditional store. This one is very well stocked. Incidentally, nearby lead also has a smaller, traditional grocery store. Would love to welcome you back for another visit and extend to you our repeat guest discount.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
'Mountain Crest' -One of a Kind, Secluded, Hand-Hewn, Incredible Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p291867
520 360-2669
Deadwood Black Hills
Mobridge, SDS
5

My Birthday Weekend

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 20, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
My girlfriend and I decided to take a trip and have a getaway for my birthday and that is exactly what we did!!! First of all I have to say that the pictures here on the internet do not even come close to the AMAZING beauty this place has to offer. If you like to be secluded and have complete nature surrounding you, than this is the place for you. Bob and Lynn, the caretakers of the cabin met us with the most warming and sincere welcome and made everything so easy! They were very informative about the area with things to do, where to shop etc. They were GREAT!! The cabin was modern but yet gave you the cabin feel, which is what we were hoping for. I would highly recommend this place to anyone, it would be fantastic for family get together's, friend's to come and hang out and of course romance. We are already talking about when we can come back to Mountain Crest and enjoy it once again. Thank you to Tom for letting us have this wonderful experience and of course a thank you to Bob and Lynn for everything they did. We made many memories and are looking forward to make more in the future.
Sincerely Jeff and Sierra
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: How fun! Bob, Lynn, and I always appreciate knowing that we ‘hit the mark’ and provided a enjoyable and special, little ‘escape’ for our guests. Jeff, Sierra, thank you for taking the time and making the effort to share your experience on the mountain. Should life point you back in this direction, would love to help you work on more good memories and extend to you a repeat guests discount.
business
'Mountain Crest' -One of a Kind, Secluded, Hand-Hewn, Incredible Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p291867
520 360-2669
Deadwood Black Hills
5

Excellent Stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 5, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
Wonderful stay, will definitely return! The owner was very easy to work with and very professional and friendly. The caretakers were extremely nice and helpful. The cabin was very clean upon arrival and was equipped with everything we needed! Fully equipped kitchen, extra bedding, ironing board, games, laundry detergent, extra towels, garbage bags, wood for the wood burning stove, even sleds for the beautiful snow. Absolutely gorgeous view of Spearfish, the property was private and serene. Great hiking, snow shoeing, and sledding all around. You do need a four wheel drive vehicle in the winter, we had our truck thankfully- the minivan never would have made it! We traveled to Deadwood for dinner at Jakes (in The Morning Star) for New Years Eve and it was expensive, but excellent. We did the majority of cooking in the cabin and it was comfortable and convenient. We loved the wood burning stove, and the comfortable and large living area. The weather was crisp and cold, mostly sunny and we enjoyed a couple bonfires outside too, even one while it was snowing! An unexpected blizzard kept us there an extra night and both the caretakers and owner were concerned and helpful. The owner was prompt at returning our deposit and was excited we had a a great stay. It truly was a magical vacation, made even more so by the best part of all . . . a marriage proposal on a snowy, sparkling hillside!! We are so lucky to have had such a picturesque location for such an important day. We come to the Hills often and will definitely be staying here again, we would love to see it in the Summer, Spring, and Fall too!
Owner's Response: How fantastic! Congratulations on your engagement. Such a novel and fun way to propose. Happy to hear that Mountain Crest helped provide some wonderful memories for you to cherish. Delighted to know that despite a little adversity from nature, your stay at Mountain Crest was still so very special. Would love to have you see the cabin and enjoy the other beautiful seasons on this unique mountain top.