Spanish Wells cottage rental
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps10
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Spanish Wells Cottage Rental Photos and Description
Cottage, 3 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 8-10)

Western View Cottage is a one minute walk from the beautiful mile and a half long beach and crystal turquoise waters. This cottage is 1700 sq feet which is fully air condition with three bedrooms (2 queen and 2 twin size beds also an extra king size mattress) and two full baths, full kitchen, living room, laundry and computer room with wi fi Internet and vonage for free phone calls. There is cable TV in the three bedrooms and living room. The back yard has a picnic table and a BBQ grill where you can cook all your fresh caught lobster or fish! This cottage also comes with a FREE 4 Seater Golf Cart and a ocean kayak so you can enjoy the relaxed island life! I'm sure you will enjoy this wonderful spacious cottage.

Home Description

Western View Cottage located on 32nd street, last street on Spanish Wells, west end of the island. Three bed, two bath sleeps 8-10 people. Just a minute walk to the mile and a half white sandy beach with crystal clear water. Watch the beautiful sun sets.

Island Description

Spanish Wells is a unique place with a rich history dating back to the 1600's with ties to England. The island has a beautiful 1 mile long white beach on the north side of the island. Short walk to shopping and dining. Lobster fishing is the main industry on the island. You will find three churches on the island and no bars. A bike ride around the island will be about four miles. It is a peaceful place to get away from city life and enjoy island living. You can relax all day at the beach and soak up the sun or swim in the warm crystal clear water. If you are more adventurous it is a lot of other things you can do. A local fast ferry stops each day with connections to Harbor Island and Nassau. Golf carts and water boats are available for rent. Snorkeling, diving, deep sea fishing trips can be arranged at great prices because I do this my self. Excellent bone fishing to. If you like any kind of fishing this is the place to come. Spanish Wells is the Lobster fishing capital in the Bahamas.

Transportation

The island is easy to get to with daily air service to North Eleuthera from Ft. Lauderdale, Miami or Nassau airports. Flight time is approx. 1 hour. The airport is serviced by continental express turbo prop service with 19 and 30 passenger aircraft, Twin air has a 9 passenger flight 3 times daily. A cab cost about 25 dollars to pick up the local water taxi, which is about 6 dollars per person. Arrangements can also be made with Pinder's Taxi who will do both land and water taxi for 15 dollars a person. The water Taxi will bring you to St. Georges Cay where the western View Cottage is located and the community is called Spanish Wells. A great place for relaxing and enjoying the Bahamas!

Other Activities: Boating, Rock climbing, Basket ball court, shopping, Kayaking, Reef Diving, Cliff Diving, Bone fishing, Cave exploring, Snorkeling, Deep sea fishing.

Keywords: Cottage

More Details
Hide Details

15 Reviews of Property 305044 in Spanish Wells, Bahamas

Affordable Western View Cottage Free 4 Seater Golfcart & Kayak
average rating of 5.0 based on 15 reviews
business
Affordable Western View Cottage Free 4 Seater Golfcart & Kayak
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p305044vb
+242 2423334713
Spanish Wells Eleuthera
5

Outstanding experience

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 14, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
Peter & Pat (Maine USA)
Western View Cottage is an outstanding place to stay. Having read all of the reviews, we can only concur with previous guests and reiterate that Tyson and April are truly amazing hosts. We spent January 2013 at the cottage and are here now for the month of January 2014. We recommend this wonderful place on Spanish Wells without reservation.
For the price and the location Tyson and April offer a get-away that rivals any five-star resort. This is a resort. The reviews and the listing description are more than accurate and reflect a wonderful experience. You will not be disappointed.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Affordable Western View Cottage Free 4 Seater Golfcart & Kayak
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p305044vb
+242 2423334713
Spanish Wells Eleuthera
Eden, North Carolina USA
5

Real nice place, really nice and thoughtful owners

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 20, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
My wife and sons just returned from staying at Western View for over a week and write to highly recommend it.
Don't worry that it's not on a beach. Spanish Wells is extremely small, a golf cart is provided, and pristine beaches are literally one minute away. The neighborhood is quiet and safe, the breezes are nice, and the house--well appointed and spacious--is well cooled and comfortable. There are several flat screen tvs, WiFi, a washer & dryer, and a huge kitchen.
And, just in case there are concerns, the owners life a stone's throw away and are genuinely nice people very much interested in assuring that everything on your vacation goes like clockwork.
We highly recommend this property for a nice vacation.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Affordable Western View Cottage Free 4 Seater Golfcart & Kayak
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p305044vb
+242 2423334713
Spanish Wells Eleuthera
Alabama
5

Exceptional!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 7, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
My family and I stayed in this Western View house and loved every minute! It is clean, well-stocked, beautifully decorated and convenient to the pristine beaches. We had unlimited access to a golf cart and 2 kayaks during our stay. The owners,dear friends of ours, are gracious hosts and treat all of their guests extremely well.
The residents of Spanish Wells are very helpful and friendly with visitors, and there are so many things to do--shelling, fishing, snorkeling, boating, or just lounging by the ocean with a good book.
Watch the gorgeous sunsets every night a short stroll or cart ride from the house and wish you never had to leave!.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Affordable Western View Cottage Free 4 Seater Golfcart & Kayak
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p305044vb
+242 2423334713
Spanish Wells Eleuthera
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
5

Excellent Place to stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 21, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
Hello,
Just returned home from 2 weeks at the Western View Cottage. Tyson was an absolutely amazing host. We spent a day deep sea fishing with him where he went above and beyond to make sure we came home with fish, even though we were having a tough day fishing, all at a very reasonable price. The house was clean and very well appointed. We were greeted with what sounds like it's becoming a famous dinner (lobster, rice and coleslaw). It was delicious. Having access to the golf cart is a huge perk as it is a bit of a hike to the grocery store etc even though the island is small.

The beaches are beautiful and if you are looking for a place to relax this is it. There were very few days where you are not the only ones on the beach. Pink sand and turquoise water can't be beat. We found it much more appealing to buy groceries and eat at home rather than going out as the restaurants generally have the same menu (nothing special) and is quite expensive. If you want fish, go fishing with Tyson and cook it at home, or buy it at Ronalds seafood shop.

There are a lot of reviews I have read that say that this is a dry island. This is not the case. There is a shop to buy beer and liquor, it's on 12th street, called Budda's. There is also a liquor store in Jeans bay which requires a 8 dollar water taxi ride (4 bucks each way). I think its not advertised by the locals that there is a booze store on the island so the local taxi guys don't lose out on the fares. Go to Buddas unless you are buying a bunch of bottles right when you arrive as they are a couple of dollars more than the store in Jeans bay. Buddas does carry Sands beer ($40/24), which in my opinion is much easier to drink than Kalik, store in Jeans bay only has Kalik at the same price.

This is a very religious island and most locals do not drink (if not all) on the surface anyways. It is frowned upon , and none of the restaurants sell any booze at all. Having said that we did not have any trouble taking booze to the beach and enjoying it as we would anywhere else. Most businesses are closed Sundays (including the grocery store) other than the restaurants.

Overall this is a great place to relax, and we had an amazing trip, but there is very little to do if you are looking for tourist type activities you would find in a busier center. Ie: No night life, excursions (other than chartering a fishing boat or snorkeling boat). Also, there is no scuba diving unless you go to Harbour Island.
Recommended for:  Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 6/6
business
Affordable Western View Cottage Free 4 Seater Golfcart & Kayak
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p305044vb
+242 2423334713
Spanish Wells Eleuthera
Jamestown, New York
5

EXCELLENT!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 18, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
My husband and I have been renting houses in the out-islands for ten years. Western View Cottage is the CLEANEST place we have ever rented!! April is by far the best hostess we have ever had (Tyson was gone while we were there). Some places offer cheap rum we don't want or white bread baked in a sketchy looking house. April provides a hot lobster tail dinner with a rice dish and cole slaw! She is a delightful young woman who goes out of her way to assure that her guests are accomodated. The other reviews have covered the amenities and they are all more than accurate. April showed us a little cove on Russell Island where we could kayak and have lunch. There are chairs and a table and lounge chairs. It is very private and beautiful.

This was the best deal for the money that we have ever found! Don't let the price fool you, the amenities are excellent and the settlement of Spanish Wells is clean and safe.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Affordable Western View Cottage Free 4 Seater Golfcart & Kayak
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p305044vb
+242 2423334713
Spanish Wells Eleuthera
5

Two Months in Spanish Wells

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 6, 2012
  • Stayed: Feb 2012
We have just ret'd to Canada after spending Feb & Mar 2012 in Western View Cottage - one of the best winter vacations we've ever had! Tyson, April & family are the nicest folks you could possibly rent from. Tyson met us on the wharf with our golf cart - a bonus! very few places offer a free cart - and took us to the house where a delicious meal of lobster tails and peas & rice was waiting. Western View is a 4 - 5 min stroll from the beach, hardly missed a sunset during the whole 2 months. The beach stretches from the western end of SW down the northern side; walk the entire stretch at low tide. The cottage is very clean, roomier than we expected, kitchen is big & well equipped, and the beds are excellent! There is Vonage & local phone so no charges to stay in touch with family in both Cda & the USA. Spanish Wells is safe, clean & very friendly; we met some of the neighbours, incldg 8 yr old Dre next door who gave us tomatoes & demonstrated his skill with a football plus the group of walkers who came by most evenings. Look up Roy Roberts & his son in law at a nearby wharf; Roy is there most days waiting for the catch to come in & can tell you lots of stories about the island. His grandson runs the Ponderosa shell shop which also stocks Bahamian sauces, books & art. Tyson went to sea about a week or so after we arrived but before he left he took us & 2 visiting friends out fishing: we pulled in a 20lb yellowfin tuna, an 8 lb blackfin and a small grouper; Tyson filleted & bagged everything for us; before he left on Atlantic Lady he gave us stone crab claws & more lobster tails; in addition, another boat gifted us a bag of freshly caught conch: we had seafood in our freezer right to the end of our stay. We cooked our dinners at home but lunched out often. Comments have been made about the 'fast food only' at the local restaurants - you'll find its the best fast food you've had in a long while. Our personal favs were Anchor Snack Bar on the Wharf (say hi to Meredith - great all day brekkie & soups) & Norma's Seaside Takeway just up the road (their conch salad and apricot chicken curry wrap are out of this world). You can take day trips via the fast ferry to Harbour Is or arrange for Bain's car rental to meet you over at Jean's Bay & drive south down Eleuthera for more sightseeing: Preacher's Cave, Glass Bridge etc. We can't make it next winter but we'll def be back one day! Western View is the best deal avail - you won't be disappointed!
Helpful votes: 10/10
business
Affordable Western View Cottage Free 4 Seater Golfcart & Kayak
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p305044vb
+242 2423334713
Spanish Wells Eleuthera
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
3

A Month in Spanish Wells

  • Submitted: Feb 5, 2012
  • Stayed: Jan 2012
A month in Spanish Wells
Guest: Hilary (Ottawa, Canada)
Date of Stay: 01/05/12 Review Submitted: 01/31/12

I don't know if I like all these good reviews of Western View Cottage, as then it will become too popular and will be hard for us to rent again!! All of the above reviews are very true. We are just leaving after spending a month in this house and we were welcomed with the same delicious lobster dinner, and ride from the ferry, and we also had a great afternoon out with Tyson on his fishing boat. April made us a lovely banana cake as well as the lobster dinner, and we always felt very welcome and comfortable here. There were four of us here, all retirees, and Tyson and April call us "the Golden Girls"!! The house is literally only minutes from the beach shown in the photographs and we usually had it all to ourselves. Having the free golf cart and kayaks are a huge bonus, as we have been able to go wherever we wanted. The house was very comfortable and spacious, and is an excellent deal. Being able to made free phone calls to Canada was the absolutel best, as we all have families back home that we missed. The people of Spanish Wells are extremely friendly and everyone waves to you as you pass by. We tried to get to know them better and went to the Bingo night and the Karaoke which is held on a Saturday night. Many people insisted we come back the following week - so we did - and it was even more fun than the first time! We made friends with many of the neighbours on our quiet street, getting to know them and their pets, and came home one day and found some freshly picked tomatoes waiting for us on the doorstep! We also regularly visited a local fisherman who sits on a nearby wharf every day and he made us the best Conch salad we have ever tasted! Tyson took us on a great tour of Eleuthera one day, showing us all the famous spots like the Queen's Baths and some of the fancy new resorts. The day we went out on his fishing boat we caught four fish and he filleted the huge grouper right on the boat. We had it for dinner that night! We only ate out once or twice, but the food at the little restaurant on the wharf, is very good. We also had the opportunity to visit the island's museum one morning and hear about the fascinating history of the people of Spanish Wells and see all the photos and artifacts in an original house. We are sad to leave such a peaceful, friendly and beautiful island, and all its people.but hope to return very, very soon.
Helpful votes: 7/7
business
Affordable Western View Cottage Free 4 Seater Golfcart & Kayak
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p305044vb
+242 2423334713
Spanish Wells Eleuthera
Ottawa, Canada
5

A month in Spanish Wells

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 31, 2012
  • Stayed: Jan 2012
I don't know if I like all these good reviews of Western View Cottage, as then it will become too popular and will be hard for us to rent again!! All of the above reviews are very true. We are just leaving after spending a month in this house and we were welcomed with the same delicious lobster dinner, and ride from the ferry, and we also had a great afternoon out with Tyson on his fishing boat. April made us a lovely banana cake as well as the lobster dinner, and we always felt very welcome and comfortable here. There were four of us here, all retirees, and Tyson and April call us "the Golden Girls"!! The house is literally only minutes from the beach shown in the photographs and we usually had it all to ourselves. Having the free golf cart and kayaks are a huge bonus, as we have been able to go wherever we wanted. The house was very comfortable and spacious, and is an excellent deal. Being able to made free phone calls to Canada was the absolutel best, as we all have families back home that we missed. The people of Spanish Wells are extremely friendly and everyone waves to you as you pass by. We tried to get to know them better and went to the Bingo night and the Karaoke which is held on a Saturday night. Many people insisted we come back the following week - so we did - and it was even more fun than the first time! We made friends with many of the neighbours on our quiet street, getting to know them and their pets, and came home one day and found some freshly picked tomatoes waiting for us on the doorstep! We also regularly visited a local fisherman who sits on a nearby wharf every day and he made us the best Conch salad we have ever tasted! Tyson took us on a great tour of Eleuthera one day, showing us all the famous spots like the Queen's Baths and some of the fancy new resorts. The day we went out on his fishing boat we caught four fish and he filleted the huge grouper right on the boat. We had it for dinner that night! We only ate out once or twice, but the food at the little restaurant on the wharf, is very good. We also had the opportunity to visit the island's museum one morning and hear about the fascinating history of the people of Spanish Wells and see all the photos and artifacts in an original house. We are sad to leave such a peaceful, friendly and beautiful island, and all its people.but hope to return very, very soon.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Tourists without a Car, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 6/6
business
Affordable Western View Cottage Free 4 Seater Golfcart & Kayak
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p305044vb
+242 2423334713
Spanish Wells Eleuthera
Boerne, Texas United States
5

Beautiful Thanksgiving paradise

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 9, 2011
  • Stayed: Nov 2011
Stayed two full weeks during November. Tyson and April were generous hosts and made us feel right at home. April prepared a lobster lunch for our arrival (awesome!) and Tyson even took us fishing (also awesome!) Friends and family visited during our stay and we had plenty of room. Beaches and fishing were amazing! Quiet, friendly island, perfect for relaxation. Will definitely return and highly recommend this rental.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Affordable Western View Cottage Free 4 Seater Golfcart & Kayak
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p305044vb
+242 2423334713
Spanish Wells Eleuthera
Florida, USA
5

HAPPY BIRTHDAY!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 29, 2011
  • Stayed: May 2011
My husband & I came for a week to celebrate my birthday and relax. We had an amazing time! Tyson & April are so accomodating and helpful! Tyson took us out fishing, snorkeling & exploring (Preacher's Cave). It was the most wonderful time! We got some incredible underwater pictures that we were able to post on facebook immediately, thanks to the wireless internet. My husband also got to speak to his family in Brazil every day thanks to the magic jack. Tyson and April had a wonderful dinner prepared for us upon our arrival & continued to suprise us with little extras all week. We LOVE the shells! One last thing, Thank God for the golf cart! Nothing like the island breeze blowing thru the open golf cart in the evening as we watched the sun set. We will definitely be back! Thanks Again Tyson & April for EVERYTHING!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 5/5