East End condo rental - Sapphire Beach Resort from the entrance to the resort
Sapphire Beach Resort from the entrance to the resort
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps6
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 4 nights
 

East End Condo Rental Photos and Description
Condo, 1 Bedroom + Convertible bed(s), 2 Baths, (Sleeps 2-6)

Our Caribbean Villa is an upgraded, two-story, two-lanai villa on the top two floors of the premier building on one of the premier beaches overlooking St. Johns, British Tortola, Jost Van Dyke, and Grass Cay. Your stay in our Caribbean Villa will truly capture the island spirit, trade winds, and beauty of the Caribbean. Our Villa has been personally decorated in a Caribbean-décor, and a list of the many features of our Villa and its location are noted below.

-Upgrade Two-Story Top-Floor Villa with two lanai.

-One of the two premier beaches on St. Thomas.

-Premier building on Sapphire Beach.

-Premier view of St. Johns, British Tortola, Jost Van Dyke, Grass Cay, sailboats, charter boats, ferries, jet skis, parasailing, cruise ships, and more.

-30 feet from the Caribbean water.

-Close to gorgeous private pool on 'wedding' point with unparalleled view of St. Johns and British Virgin Islands.

-Upgraded décor in Caribbean ambience including lithographs such as from renowned local artist, Jonna White.

-Cathedral wood ceiling on second floor.

Excellent privacy yet open air to bring in the Caribbean Trade Winds. (However, AC with separate controls on both levels.)

-Close (less than 1 mile) to Red Hook for ferries, numerous restaurants, shopping, chartering, and boating.

• A Million dollar view that even the Ritz Carlton cannot compete with and both from main floor and master bedroom floor.

• The best trade winds, especially when it is hotter in the summer months, and typically one can sleep with sliding glass doors with fans on, windows in master bath open, and no mosquitoes and you hear the waves. (Note: if no wind, then close the doors and use the AC, because there can be bugs.)

• Best privacy because beach-walkers and sight-seers cannot look into you Villa.

• Rennovated Villa with multiple Caribbean decorations, pictures including art work from local well-known artist, Jonna White.

• All brand new sliding glass doors on both levels in 2011. (That is important, and be gentle).

• Caribbean décor

• Two stories

• Two lanais

• Two full baths

• Million dollar views from both lanais

• Cathedral ceiling on second floor with Caribbean Tiki-like beams. No cave-like experience.

• One of the most extensive bedding options of any Villa and for which suites cannot compete (see separate bedding section below.)

• Refrigerator

• Stove

• Microwave

• Stocked dishes, plates, utensils for at least 6 people

• Small dinette table (but recommend eating on the lanais)

• Drink Mixer

• Hair dryer

• TV with DVD downstairs

• Move DVDs and games, which is always dependent on prior guests.

• Sony CD player

• TV upstairs

• Ceiling fan downstairs and upstairs

• Brand new 2012 Bassett couch with pull out double sleeper sofa.

• Brand new 2012 Bassett love seat with pull out twin sleeper sofa. (Note, both cannot be deployed at the same time.)

• Dress on main level for those sleeping on main level

• Brand new 2012 Hillsdale day bed upstairs with pull out separate trundle bed. This is in addition to King size bed.

• Beach toys, but please note, although this is well stocked each year, this depends on the courtesy of our prior guests returning the beach toys.

• Lanai furniture.

• Main level

o Two wicker chairs on lower lanai with dining table and four chairs by Built-to-Last from North Carolina, which are brand new in January 2013.

• Masterbedroom level

o Two lounge sunning chairs, but please do not take to the beach.

o Two new Dolphin Watch Chairs by Built-to-Last from North Carolina, which are brand new in January 2013.

-Bedding options

• King bed upstairs

• Hillsdale day bed with extra thick mattress (very comfortable) with pull out separate trundle bed, which also has xtra thick mattress.

• Two small mattress behind the trundle bed for children

• Two self inflating electric air mattress in King bed foot locker (one twin and one double. Can also be used on the pull out sleeper sofas down stairs.

• Brand new 2012 Bassett couch with pull out double sleeper sofa on main level.

• Brand new 2012 Bassett love seat with pull out twin sleeper sofa (both cannot be deployed at the same time).

Keywords: Caribbean Villa

More Details
Hide Details

I am Douglas Van Nostrand, the owner of Villa E303, and I purchased my Villa in 2005. I have been a physician for 35 years, and I am presently the Director of the Division of Nuclear Medicine at Washington Hospital Center, Program Director of the Nuclear Medicine Residency Program, and Professor of Medicine at Georgetown University Hospital Center. I have been active in patient care, education, and research of thyroid cancer publishing over several hundred abstracts, articles, and chapters and have authored, edited, and published 8 books. I presently live on the Magothy River of the Chesapeake Bay in Pasadena, Maryland and vacation in Sapphire Beach, St. Thomas.

The Owner purchased this condo in 2005

How did we chose my vacation Villa in this location? My wife and I have traveled throughout the Caribbean to many of the islands for 20+ years, and while traveling, we have been looking for the perfect location for our vacation villa. This was the island. This was the resort. This was the beach, and this was the Villa. St. Thomas is one of the easiest islands to travel to, and it is a United States territory with U.S. laws and justice. It is indeed one of the most beautiful islands with all the beauty of the Caribbean while also having one of the best duty free shopping areas as well as all the benefits and amenities of home such as K-Mart and Home Depot. It also has medical care in Red Hook as well as the Roy Schneider Hospital in Charlotte Amalie. It is also one of the friendliest islands, and absolutely the best 'stepping-off' point for visiting many other islands including St. Johns, St. Croix, Tortola, Jost Van Dyke, Virgin Gorda, and many more. Finally, St. Thomas has wonderful weather and warm water throughout the year, which is far superior to Florida, which may sometimes have cold days in winter and very sultry hot days in summer. Sapphire Beach is, in our opinion, the best beach on the island exceeding Magens Bay, and it is indeed THE best beach on the island where you can stay and be only 20 feet away from the Caribbean Sea with great swimming, snorkeling, and views of St. Johns, Tortola, and Jost Van Dyke. In regard to our Villa, we selected E Building because of the most magnificent views, the wonderful trade winds, and the privacy. It cannot be beaten any where--including the Ritz. Finally, because all the Villas and Suites are individually owned, it is also a very friendly resort. We now have here many many friends, who are not just owners but also guests who come back year after year at the same time. It is wonderful. This has truly been an unexpected benefit.

Some of the unique benefits we enjoy at Sapphire Beach include:

- being just 20ft from the water. We don't have to walk far to the sandy beach and water

- we have some of the best snorkeling in St. Thomas right at Sapphire

- the Marina is just a few steps away from our villa if we want to go on snorkeling/diving excursions to the BVI's or St Johns

- the waterfront pool is just steps away where we can swim and relax on the deck sunning and enjoying the tropical breezes

- dive shop on the premises for all our snorkeling needs

24 Reviews of Property 291146 on East End, Virgin Islands

Top-Floor 2-Story Beachfront Villa Spectalular View of St John
average rating of 4.9545455 based on 24 reviews
business
Top-Floor 2-Story Beachfront Villa Spectalular View of St John
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p291146vb
(443) 817-2307 (Maryland, USA)
East End St. Thomas
Connecticut
5

Outstanding View!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 12, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
We have been staying in this villa for almost ten years and we are going back again in 2015. We started with one week and now go for four weeks. The reason: Outstanding views of St John, the morning sunrise and the blue, blue waters from both balconies. With the constant warm Caribbean breezes you get in this unit, there is no need to use the air conditioner.
Snorkeling at Sapphire Beach is exceptional. This year there were many turtles, rays, barracuda and one octopus hiding in the coral reef. We always rent a car, as we like to explore the rest of the island and enjoy trying different restaurants and Caribbean foods.
As a golfer I always play a few times at the Mahogany Run Golf Course, home of the world famous Devil’s Triangle. The course also has a great place to dine, The Mahogany Grill.
I could say many other great things about this unit, Sapphire Beach and the island but coming here for almost ten years and going back again next year speaks for it self.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Top-Floor 2-Story Beachfront Villa Spectalular View of St John
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p291146vb
(443) 817-2307 (Maryland, USA)
East End St. Thomas
5

HEIDI PINCONNING MICHIGAN

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 10, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
We just returned from St.Thomas and we stayed in VRBO 291146. We arrived at night so we really could not tell what the beach and water were like',but if it was anything like the inside I knew it was going to be amazing!!!!The next morning I opened the blinds to see the most amazing view I have ever seen!!There were islands poking out of the turquoise water everywhere. ST John straight ahead!!!!!The beach is really nice with areas to snorkel, The condo was well equipped and decorated with beautiful ST Thomas artwork. Our favorite spot was the upstairs balcony sitting on the dolphin chairs overlooking the water watching the boats come and go. The resort was very well maintained and the management was very kind.On top of a great condo Van was so helpful to make sure our vacation went off without a hitch!!! The 21 page info packet was so helpful, he was so great to deal with!!! It was truly a memorable vacation villa!!!You will not be disappointed the only complaint I have is we had to leave and I just cant make a painkiller like they can on the islands!!! Thanks so much to Doug and Evie for sharing your beautiful villa with us!!!! Were already thinking about next year!!!!
Recommended for:  Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for the very nice review, and the view from our Villa to St. John's, British Tortola, Jost Van Dyke, and many cays is difficult to truly appreciate until one is actually there, but I believe you have helped capture the stupendous view from our Villa.

Thank you also for the very nice comments regarding our Villa and service. Although it is impossible to assure that everything will always go perfectly, my wife and I try our very best to help assure the best possible visit to our Villa, and through the suggestions of our prior guests, our 21+ page packet of pearls and dos-and-don'ts has expanded to over 50 pages.

Thank you.

Van
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Top-Floor 2-Story Beachfront Villa Spectalular View of St John
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p291146vb
(443) 817-2307 (Maryland, USA)
East End St. Thomas
5

Best ever!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 2, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
We have enjoyed staying at your villa in St. Thomas last week and found the view, indeed, breathtaking, the water warm and inviting, and the snorkeling outstanding! Everything was above and beyond, you certainly seem to know the good things in life and we are grateful that you don't mind sharing it with others. We have had no problems whatsoever.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Top-Floor 2-Story Beachfront Villa Spectalular View of St John
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p291146vb
(443) 817-2307 (Maryland, USA)
East End St. Thomas
Livonia michigan
5

Great vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 9, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
Thank you for the use of your condo. The view was as advertised...spectacular! We had amazing weather and will have trouble now sleeping without the sound of lapping waves against the shore. We enjoyed a day on St Johns and another at Magen's Beach. We could not find a bad restaurant in Red Hook...all good!
We hope to return to the VirginIslands in the future and will definitely recommend your condo to our friends.
business
Top-Floor 2-Story Beachfront Villa Spectalular View of St John
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p291146vb
(443) 817-2307 (Maryland, USA)
East End St. Thomas
Wilsonville, OR
5

Incredible Location!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 14, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
There is no better beach on the entire island than the ones this development fronts to! You will be lulled to sleep by the sound of Caribbean ocean waves just below, while gentle trade-winds keep you comfortable. The day and night-time views across to St. John are amazing! We loved it. Communication from the owner is fantastic. He is VERY helpful in getting arrangements made for a perfect vacation. A great introduction to the U.S.V.I.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: As the owners of Villa E303, my wife and I always appreciate the wonderful reviews. Indeed, we try do our very best and our management company on site also tries do their very best for our guests, and I believe this is why over 50% of our guests are return guests.
business
Top-Floor 2-Story Beachfront Villa Spectalular View of St John
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p291146vb
(443) 817-2307 (Maryland, USA)
East End St. Thomas
warwick, ny, usa
5

simply perfect

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 8, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
We loved the condo-It was everything the owner said it would be...And more!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Top-Floor 2-Story Beachfront Villa Spectalular View of St John
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p291146vb
(443) 817-2307 (Maryland, USA)
East End St. Thomas
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Owner comment to previous guest

  • Submitted: Jul 31, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
would like to thank our recent guests from Italy for their review. Heretofore, I have not responded to reviews and allowed them to speak for themselves, but I plan to respond to more reviews in the future.

I have visited Italy many timmes, and for me it is one of the prettiest countries that we have visted, and we have visited many countries. However, I am honored that a family from Italy came to St. Thomas, Sapphire Beach and our Villa. St. Thomas, Sapphire Beach, and our Villa are truly beautiful with the Caribbean greenery on most of the island, palm trees, cystral blue green water, white sands, wonderful trade winds, many activities for everyone as well as peace and quit with literally a million dollar view of St. Johns and British Tortola. So, for our European cousins, I recommend exploring the United States Virgin Islands. Thanks for staying with us, and I hope you join over 50% of our other guest, who repeat guests.
business
Top-Floor 2-Story Beachfront Villa Spectalular View of St John
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p291146vb
(443) 817-2307 (Maryland, USA)
East End St. Thomas
Trani, Italy
5

What an awesome view!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 31, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
I just got back to Italy today and I had planned to contact you to say thanks.

The villa was great as was the view; the construction that you mentioned (thanks for your honesty, by the way) was hardly noticed either, so it was a really nice vacation. My family and I really enjoyed ourselves and Sapphire Beach is everything you said it would be...gorgeous!

The folks in the management office were great too, so I can't make a single complaint. Thanks.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
Top-Floor 2-Story Beachfront Villa Spectalular View of St John
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p291146vb
(443) 817-2307 (Maryland, USA)
East End St. Thomas
5

Wonderful Spot!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 30, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
We would like to thank you for a great place to stay. Your villa was perfect for our needs and we discovered that we definitely like the Sapphire Beach/Red Hook areas of the island the best! Your assistance and information packet were invaluable (especially for first-timers). We hope to have the opportunity to vacation there again. Your across-the-creek neighbors, Bill and Shari Schoonmaker
business
Top-Floor 2-Story Beachfront Villa Spectalular View of St John
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p291146vb
(443) 817-2307 (Maryland, USA)
East End St. Thomas
California
5

Couldn't want for more!

Couldn't want for more!
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 25, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
Great location on the water, with an amazing view of St. John. Condo had all the amenities we needed.
Close to Redhook and the ferry to St John. Four adults were accommidated comfortably. We tried snorkelling at Coki Beach, Trunk Beach and found the best place was right in front of the condo at Sapphire Beach! We saw many tropical fish, manta rays and sea turtles! An unforgettable vacation.
Owner was very helpful.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway