Austin townhome rental - View from the street
View from the street
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps6
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 2 - 5 nights
 

Austin Townhome Rental Photos and Description
Spacious 2 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, pull out couch. Sleeps 4-6

City of Austin License #2012 119960. The two bedroom “Kaleido House” features original art and colorful decor to go along with the spacious vaulted natural wood ceilings. The master bedroom features a comfy King bed and the 2nd bedroom has 2 X-long twins that can be made up into a king upon request. The couch in the living room is a Queen sleeper. Highlighting the cedar lined bathroom is a 200 gallon double shower/hot tub with skylight*. Located just two blocks from Zilker Park and Barton Springs Pool, the Kaleido House is the perfect home base to enjoy everything that Austin has to offer. There is easy walking access to many of Austin’s famous restaurants as well as the outdoor paradise that is Zilker Park. Take a dip in the 68 degree waters of Barton Springs after enjoying a hike through the Barton Creek Greenbelt or a stroll around Lady Bird Lake. After a day outdoors, you’re only a short walk back!

The tall ceilings are awesome: the vaulted beamed knotty pine wood ceilings make the over 1000 square feet seem even bigger. The kitchen is fully equipped to handle cooking big meals, and the Whole Foods world headquarters is a short drive away. Several convenience stores are even closer.

Other amenities include: Fresh locally roasted organic coffee and fixings, washer/dryer and detergent, bath and beach towels, and a Brita water filter to keep fresh water in the refrigerator.

Barton Springs Pool in Zilker Park: We are located less than two blocks from the single best swimming pool in the universe, Barton Springs. Located in the heart of Zilker Park, use our beach towels and enjoy the spring fed, chlorine-free waters of this over 1/8 mile long watering hole.

Also enjoy the hike and bike trail, boating on the river, frisbee golf, the Nature Center, the Botanical Gardens, the playground and the train for the kids or a picnic on the great lawn.

Downtown Austin: I'm sure you've heard of the madness on 6th Street, but certainly don't miss out on the sights, sounds and eats on South Congress, 2nd Street, 4th Street and then West 6th Street. Then see a movie while eating dinner or just having a drink at Austin's favorite theater, the Alamo Drafthouse.

*Disclosure: the tub/shower is a little hard to get out of if you have disabilities, such as bad knees, and it wouldn't be convenient for bathing small children. Please call to discuss your particular situation before booking this house.

More Details
Hide Details

Peach and Cynthia Reynolds - Owns Kaleido Properties real estate company in the Zilker Park/Barton Hills area for over 25 years! Peach, the Broker in the family, is an avid golfer and likes to do anything outdoors as well as garden in his Zilker area home's backyard. Cynthia is a real estate agent and works with Peach in their business and now manages all 7 of their vacation rentals along with their son, Jay. Cynthia loves to cook the vegetables that Peach grows and take long walks!

Jay Reynolds or Cynthia Reynolds purchased this townhome in 2004

We love living in this area and sharing it with others!

25 Reviews of Property 290688 in Austin, Texas

Awesome Kaleidoscopic 2 BR near Zilker Park, 2 miles to downtown! King bed!
average rating of 4.857143 based on 25 reviews
business
Awesome Kaleidoscopic 2 BR near Zilker Park, 2 miles to downtown! King bed!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p290688
+1 5129446888
Austin Austin area
5

Look no further

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 6, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
This home was easy to find and all the ammenities any hotel could offer you, except a pool and gym but who needs a pool and gym when you can just get your exercise in by taking a walk down to nearby Barton Springs Pool. We arrived later than anticipated and just like Motel 6, they left the light on for us so it was pretty easy to find.
The house itself was in emmaculate condition, everything was clean but if you get dirty, there is a washer and dryer you can use. Coffee was fully stocked as was a refreshing pitcher of water in the fridge, spice drawer also stocked. A stove and barbeque pit are there for you if you want to stay in and cook. the decor inside was nice, the bedding was extremely comfortable. We had to force ourselves to get out of the house and engage in outdoor activities, so we took a short drive out to dripping springs (hamilton pool) to go on a hike with our 2 sons. When we returned, we walked the neighborhood and played outside in the front yard. The place had a variety of dvd movies for us to watch as well as an assortment of board games to play. We taught our 6 yr old how to play chess and he has asked to play everyday since we got back to our home in Corpus Christi, TX. There is a table for 6 and you can request a high chair and/or booster seat at no additional cost. Iron, hairdryer, additional bedding are all located in the closet. Basic toiletries were also provided (shampoo/soap/body wash as well as guest towels). The giant oak tree located in front of the porch has to be at least 100 yrs old and provided nice shade and privacy. The shower /tub could easily fit four people, that's how big it is and you have 2 shower heads hitting your body on each side.
The rate was much pricier than what we're used to paying, we stayed at the Austin Motel on South Congress on our last visit, which is in a great location but during our last trip we lost a good 2 hrs of sleep after some guests were having a conversation right outside of our room. I said "never again" and on this trip, I made it a point to do better research on places to stay in Austin, I came across some very small font on "google maps" and saw the words Zilker Vacations on the map. I clicked on it as I was intrigued and it led me to the website. I read reviews and booked it for the date that I wanted, full payment is expected 2 wks prior to date of arrival. Everything was perfect, can't say enough about this place which is why I used all space allowed on here. :)
Owner's Response: Wow! We can't thank you enough for the glowing and thoughtful review. We have taken a lot of time to try and think of every little thing to make this property a great place to explore Austin and also obviously enjoy your time when you're not out exploring. We look forward to having you back and also offering you our 10% return guest + left-review discount! Come see us again and try one of our other 6 properties we have at ZilkerVacations!
business
Awesome Kaleidoscopic 2 BR near Zilker Park, 2 miles to downtown! King bed!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p290688
+1 5129446888
Austin Austin area
5

Awesome Austin Vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 16, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
This was our second visit to a Zilker Vacations property and were just as impressed as the first time. The property was spotless and well equipped for our stay. It had enough linens and cookware for the four of us, everything worked as advertised and it even had a washing machine and a dryer! We would highly recommend a Zilker Vacations property for a great place to stay in a great city.
business
Awesome Kaleidoscopic 2 BR near Zilker Park, 2 miles to downtown! King bed!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p290688
+1 5129446888
Austin Austin area
5

Another awesome Austin vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 16, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
This is our second stay with Zilker Vacations. It is also our second property we've stayed in and this one was just as clean as the first. It was also well equipped for our stay. Enough beach towels, linens and cookware for 4 people. It is also close to Barton springs where we went swimming almost every day. To top it all off, it was also equipped with a washer and dryer so we came home with no laundry to do! We look forward to future stays using Zilker Vacations properties soon!
business
Awesome Kaleidoscopic 2 BR near Zilker Park, 2 miles to downtown! King bed!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p290688
+1 5129446888
Austin Austin area
4

Great location; amazing amenities

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 28, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
For an amazing stay in a cozy neighborhood close to Zilker Park (along with all of it's attractions) Kaleida House fills the vibe. My husband and I have stayed in some very nice (and one not-so-nice) condos all over the US and Cayman Islands, but have never been so overwhelmed with amenities. The list far exceeded our expectations and previous experiences: local coffee, spices, shampoo, conditioner and body wash, organic teas, condiments in the fridge, toilet paper, dish soap, dishwashing soap, laundry soap; hand soap, trash bags, foil, coffee maker, coffee grinder, tea kettle, tea pot, recycling bin...Generally we have had to either bring or buy all of these things; they're the little things you take for granted at home and exceeded the amenities of hotels. Also loved the location: within biking distance to Zilker and downtown - starting with a lovely hill that was great going down. I had to walk my bike back up. Enough parking for our adult children to visit, and enough space at the kitchen table for eight of us to gather to eat and play games. Double showers were great; the tub is definitely a bit of a climb getting in and out, but the cool factor outweighed the strange factor. Just another quirk in this very "keep Austin weird" place. Pictures show the painted furniture and bright rooms, but they don't really do justice to the feel of the condo. Two couples could easily stay without running all over one another. The porch provided a nice outside location to sit and visit, and we were treated to a little bit of guitar playing and singing by the neighbors one evening. Extremely relaxing. Finally, the bed was comfy. I'm just not as young as I used to be, and I like soft beds. We will definitely stay here again.
business
Awesome Kaleidoscopic 2 BR near Zilker Park, 2 miles to downtown! King bed!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p290688
+1 5129446888
Austin Austin area
Houston, TX
5

Amazing Vacation Rental in Austin!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 31, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
First of all, the pictures on the website were spot on and it's actually bigger on the inside than what you see online! The description was accurate and it was clean and very well-maintained. We received a few emails from the owners before our arrival to let us know about our stay and ask if there was anything we needed before we arrived. The location was great, just down the street from Zilker Park, and there was plenty of room for our close family to celebrate our son's 2nd birthday. We plan on making another booking with this property in the future.

-The Guillemette Family
business
Awesome Kaleidoscopic 2 BR near Zilker Park, 2 miles to downtown! King bed!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p290688
+1 5129446888
Austin Austin area
Spring, TX
5

What a fun place to stay!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 10, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
We had a wonderful stay at the Kaleido house. The house was clean and just as described in the listing. The decor, in bright colors in keeping with the kaleidoscope theme, was charming. The beds were great; even the queen size sofa bed was the most comfortable our son had ever slept on. The kitchen had everything this foodie family needed to prepare some great meals. There were so many thoughtful extras provided with this house~from beach towels and family games, videos and books, to a kitchen supplied with many extras including coffee beans & a grinder! Our kids loved the huge spa tub/shower. Everything functioned perfectly~from the air conditioner to the washer-dryer to the well-equipped kitchen. The owners were very hospitable, with Jay emailing us us ahead of our stay with all the info we needed about the house and surrounding area. Another one of the owners, Cynthia, even emailed me with a link to a free concert during our stay. The third owner, Peach, called us during our stay to make sure any issues were addressed. All in all, their customer service was excellent. The unit is walking distance to Zilker Park, in a clean and generally quiet neighborhood. My 12 year old son just looked over my shoulder at this review, pointed at a picture of the Kaleido house, and commented "awesome, awesome, awesome!"
business
Awesome Kaleidoscopic 2 BR near Zilker Park, 2 miles to downtown! King bed!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p290688
+1 5129446888
Austin Austin area
5

MOTHER'S DAY WEEKEND!

MOTHER'S DAY WEEKEND!
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 13, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
What a FABULOUS place!! The 2/1 was perfect for our family weekend getaway. The neighborhood is nice and quiet. The interior decor is beautiful, just like in the photos. The kitchen was stocked with everything we needed, even coffee (which we forgot)!! Bathroom was clean and stocked with plenty of towels and essentials for the weekend. And let's not forget that dual shower/tub masterpiece...WOW!

Zilker Park and Barton Springs is just around the corner, and it is minutes away from some great locally-owned restaurants. The owners made renting extremely pleasant. I made one phone call, and we were set. I would highly recommend this place. As a matter of fact, we are already looking at dates to come back!!!
business
Awesome Kaleidoscopic 2 BR near Zilker Park, 2 miles to downtown! King bed!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p290688
+1 5129446888
Austin Austin area
5

Great Austin location, perfect for families

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 17, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
We loved staying in the Kaleido House! It was the perfect location to visit Zilker Park, Barton Springs, and downtown Austin -- especially all the restaurants we love in Austin. We brought our toddler and were supplied with a high chair and portable crib. The neighborhood was wonderful and the owners were very attentive when we ran out of supplies. It was a great experience and we will definitely be back! We would definitely recommend to anyone traveling with children.
business
Awesome Kaleidoscopic 2 BR near Zilker Park, 2 miles to downtown! King bed!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p290688
+1 5129446888
Austin Austin area
5

Perfect Christmas Week!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 30, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
We spent a wonderful Christmas week in this cheerful, large, comfy 1/2 duplex. Everything was fresh and clean and well stocked, just as described. We cooked up a great Christmas Eve dinner for 6 of us and we were happy to find a small grocery store just a couple of blocks away for the things we forgot to get at HEB and Whole Foods!

The location was absolutely perfect for exploring the city. We walked to Zilker Park, Barton Springs and the hike and bike trail EVERY day - and one of us bicycled almost 100 miles total on both sides of Lady Bird Lake while there. We loved being close - but not too close - to our daughter who lives in Travis Heights, a quick and safe bike ride away. Near to lots of restaurants and some great coffee shops as well, although the owners provided us with local organic coffee beans.

We would recommend this rental to anyone wanting a real home away from home. Jay, Cynthia and Peach made it easy to book our stay and gave us lots of information on things to do and made us feel at home. We did not need a thing except nice weather, which obliged until the last day! We highly recommend this rental!
business
Awesome Kaleidoscopic 2 BR near Zilker Park, 2 miles to downtown! King bed!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p290688
+1 5129446888
Austin Austin area
5

Perfection

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 10, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
Where to begin? From my first correspondence with the owners I felt comfortable and at ease. There is certainly a plus to dealing with professionals. They provided info on the area before I even arrived.

When my 9 year old daughter and I got there, we were instantly blown away by the place. The photos are accurate...this place is colorful and clean and beautiful. They provided coffee beans and a grinder so I could grind my own coffee...it was a treat! There is a binder filled with area info that we used daily. There were menus, coupons, maps, etc. The owners really did think of everything. Beach towels, filtered water in the fridge, DVD's and games on the bookshelf, an umbrella if it were to rain, bug spray on the porch...it was all there.

We walked to Barton Springs Pool one day, and rode our bikes the next. The location is perfect. We enjoyed our stay so much, we extended it an extra day. I will definitely be back. This place felt like home.

I already miss it. I could have moved in. I would rent this again in a heartbeat. I actually would recommend any of their properties knowing how well they maintained this one and how awesome their communication was. I even received a call the day we checked in to see if we needed anything. Their hospitality was wonderful. I knew if I did need anything or have a question they would be a phone call away.

I also loved the keyless entry...how great to not have to carry keys anywhere. Thank you again, Jay and Cynthia. You have a new renter. I hope to come back every year.

You can tell you put a lot of thought into your decorations, amenities, and paint colors. I will be spreading the word (although the selfish part of me doesn't want anyone to know about my little home away from home so it will always be available when I need it). :)

Thanks again for a great vacation.