Alameda apartment rental - Sofa Sleeper for extra person, Hispeed Internet,cable T.V.
Sofa Sleeper for extra person, Hispeed Internet,cable T.V.
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps4
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay nights
 

Alameda Apartment Rental Photos and Description
Apartment, 1 Bedroom, 1 Bath, (Sleeps 4)

This peaceful apartment is on the ground floor with the entrance off the garden. Alameda was developed in the late 1800's as a beach resort community. Today this 3 by 5 mile island is known for its tree lined streets and large collection of Victorian and Craftsman architecture not to mention the cute California bungalows.

Coming on to the island is like stepping back in time where people walk either the interesting neighborhoods or the beach. There are many owner run business from restaurants, nurseries, old fashion hardware stores, ice cream parlor, coffee shops, bike shops and our own nationally noted Rosenblum Cellars, and their award winning zinfandels. You'll also find Rock Wall Winery and St. George Spirits plus new wineries opening around the area frequently.

This oasis is just a ferry ride from San Francisco. Or you could drive across one of the bridges to Oakland and catch the Bay Area Rapid Transit. Oakland (5 miles away) is home to Major league baseball, football, and basketball. An hours drive will take you to the wine country of Napa/Somona or to the coast at Half Moon Bay. A 15-30 min drive will take you to one of the Easy Bay Regional Parks with over 1,000 miles of hiking trails. Of Course there is the interesting town of Berkeley just about a 15-20 min drive north.

Just a note- the apartment isn't located where the map shows It's near the South Shore Shopping center near Willow and San Jose.-sorry can't get the map changed.

Keywords: Apartment

More Details
Hide Details

14 Reviews of Property 28987 in Alameda, California

Peaceful Garden Apartment on an Island in San Francisco Bay
average rating of 5.0 based on 14 reviews
business
Peaceful Garden Apartment on an Island in San Francisco Bay
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p28987vbi
(510) 521-6796
Alameda The Bay Area
5

This was great.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 7, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
This was great. I would definitely stay here again.
In some places a "garden apartment" is in the basement, but in this case it is an apartment in a garden setting.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Peaceful Garden Apartment on an Island in San Francisco Bay
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p28987vbi
(510) 521-6796
Alameda The Bay Area
Alameda, CA
5

Cozy, warm and perfect space for mom

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 12, 2014
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
My mom stayed here for 5 weeks over the holidays. It was the perfect place for her and she now refers to it as her "apartment" in Alameda. We had to call the owners a couple of times with questions and they were extremely responsive and nice. i would highly recommend.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Peaceful Garden Apartment on an Island in San Francisco Bay
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p28987vbi
(510) 521-6796
Alameda The Bay Area
Where do you live?
5

Cozy, clean, and comfortable

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 27, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
We enjoyed our stay in June 2013 during a military transfer. The apartment is in a great location, in the heart of Alameda, in a quiet neighborhood, close to restaurants, shopping, playgrounds, and the beach. We appreciated the shaded courtyard and free parking. Betty is a wonderful hostess. She lent us beach toys and chairs and even provided home-made banana bread on our first day! The apartment is cozy, clean and comfortable, and was an excellent extended stay option for our small family.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children
business
Peaceful Garden Apartment on an Island in San Francisco Bay
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p28987vbi
(510) 521-6796
Alameda The Bay Area
Boca Raton, FL
5

Wonderful location, very clean & peaceful

Wonderful location, very clean & peaceful
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 20, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
My husband, son(15) & I recently stayed in #3. It was perfect for us, reminded us of our first apartment together. Free WiFi for my son kept him happy & the location & peacefulness of the area was perfect. Everything was very clean, & the apartment had everything we needed. The shower was really good which is a big plus in my book. Beds were comfy. B was great to deal with...we'd definitely stay here again. We were also walking distance to St. Joseph's Catholic church & walking distance to Blue dot cafe, which was our favorite! We highly recommend B & this lovely apartment. P.S. having a designated parking spot was a HUGE plus. It's the little things that add up.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Peaceful Garden Apartment on an Island in San Francisco Bay
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p28987vbi
(510) 521-6796
Alameda The Bay Area
Royal palm beach, Fl
5

Our stay in Alameda, Ca

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 15, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
We visited Alameda in July 2012 for 1 month. We absolutely LOVED it! We (3 adults and 1 infant) stayed in the 2nd unit. It had a full size bed and a pull out couch. The kitchen had everything we needed. The unit was clean and comfy. The closet space was just right. It also had drawers in the living area and in the bedroom. The bed was comfortable and the pillows were soft. The outside had a welcoming feeling. It was very well kept. Every morning there were newspapers ready on the outside table. There is also a driveway for your car. This was perfect because that would have meant I would have to parallel park on the street!

The location was perfect too. It was walking distance to the main strip "Park Ave" which had plenty of shops, restaurants, and things to do. The grocery store was also walking distance. It was in a shopping plaza that had Khols, panera, marshalls, and Petco. The neighborhood was family oriented and clean. The apartment was located near everything that I could have asked for. Also close to SF- about 20 min drive.

To the owner: Thank you for making our stay memorable and fun! I would definitely recommend this place to my friends and family. I would also come back again.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Peaceful Garden Apartment on an Island in San Francisco Bay
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p28987vbi
(510) 521-6796
Alameda The Bay Area
Sanibel, FL
5

Visiting our daughter in Alameda

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 21, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
This is a great location in Alameda, a very well appointed apartment in a quiet, lovely neighborhood. The kitchen is especially well equipped for small meals (breakfast) or bigger meals (dinner) if one chose to cook in. The location is ideal, and for us, being within two blocks of our daughter, afforded us a good opportunity to walk in the neighborhood which is a fascinating, artistic experience in itself. The apartment heats up significantly in the summer afternoons, so fans are critical and are provided; temperatures cool down quickly in the evening. Good cable and wi-fi connectivity.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Peaceful Garden Apartment on an Island in San Francisco Bay
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p28987vbi
(510) 521-6796
Alameda The Bay Area
Hyde Park, VT
5

Wonderful rental: quiet, sweet, and well-appointed

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 24, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
The owner was absolutely wonderful and we felt like guests at a friends' place. The bed was very comfortable with beautiful linens and plenty of pillows, and the shower head was great: two things about which I would never remember to ask but which make a world of difference. The kitchen had much more than I expected: even a blender to make smoothies! The owner was very kind, and obviously cares about her guests' experience. Thanks for everything, B, especially for providing a child-friendly rental.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Peaceful Garden Apartment on an Island in San Francisco Bay
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p28987vbi
(510) 521-6796
Alameda The Bay Area
Sierra Vista, AZ
5

Wonderful Place and Centrally Located in Alameda!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 19, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
I stayed at this one bedroom apartment and it's soooo convenient to almost all that Alameda offers. It's only one half block to the biggest Catholic church on the island-City and just three blocks to the Park Street shopping district. The Park Street shopping district has many good restaurants, places to shop, numerous coffee shops, places to sit outside and enjoy the wonderful year-around weather of Alameda and it's also close to the cinemas, the City Hall, and City Library.

The apartment is just off the street yet quiet, has off-street parking (a BIG plus in this crowded urban City!) and does offer laundry machines for a nominal fee. I highly recommend this apartment for anyone who wants a "cosy" atmosphere yet close to the many amenities of a major business district.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Peaceful Garden Apartment on an Island in San Francisco Bay
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p28987vbi
(510) 521-6796
Alameda The Bay Area
Ohio
5

Wonderful time in Alameda

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 8, 2011
  • Stayed: Apr 2011
We chose this property on VRBO after seeing so many, as it seemed to meet our needs and price range perfectly. When we arrived after a long car ride, the flat was everything we expected, exactly as described and pictured. Although this is better for two or three, there were four of us and we had plenty of room. The flat is very well equipped with just about everything that anybody away from home could need. It was clean and beautifully decorated. The location was perfect for us, a walk to a nice shopping area and the beach, and a short car ride to Fruitvale BART or the Alameda ferry. Alameda itself is a delight to stay in, a small town feel in a big city environment. Lots of great shops to peruse, a safe place to walk and enjoy the lovely houses. Getting into SF is easy with the aforementioned BART or ferry, and if necessary Oakland and San Leandro shops are close. At a pinch, the bus runs by a couple of streets over and the place is a cab ride from Oakland Airport, so you could get by without a car, but the off street parking is a real bonus.
Finally, Betty was incredibly helpful, always available, and could answer any questions that we had.
Will happily stay there again and recommend to friends and family.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 6/6
business
Peaceful Garden Apartment on an Island in San Francisco Bay
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p28987vbi
(510) 521-6796
Alameda The Bay Area
Tamuning, Guam
5

Home Away From Home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 5, 2010
  • Stayed: Dec 2009
My huband and I have stayed in 3 of the apartments on our trips back to the Bay Area from the islands. Betty truly knows how to make her guests comfortable and welcome. The units are well appointed and have everything that you need for your stay.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing
Helpful votes: 3/3