Santa Monica house rental - Our spacious Craftsman living room, with dining room beyond.
Our spacious Craftsman living room, with dining room beyond.
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps7
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights
 

Santa Monica House Rental Photos and Description
2 Bedrooms with Queen beds+ Queen-size sofa sleeper + Queen Airbed

OUR HOME: Our fully furnished 2-bdr, 2-bath 'Beethoven's Retreat' vacation rental accommodates up to 7-8 guests and is the ideal vacation home for a couple, a family or business group. This 1300 sq-ft gem has been a 'top pick' on several vacation rental websites and is decorated with an eye for historical detail, with hardwood floors throughout. Situated on the lower floor of our historic California Craftsman duplex, its airy layout features 2 large bedrooms (one with skylights & loft), each with their own beautifully tiled bathroom (main bath has a Jacuzzi tub) and plenty of closet space. Free phone, high-speed internet (6 megabyte speed!) with Wi-Fi and premium cable TV with a 42-inch screen are included. Our large living room leads into our adjoining dining room (seats up to 8) and to a full sunny kitchen with all amenities (stove-top range, broiler, microwave, large refrigerator, dishwasher, disposal, and breakfast table) looking out onto our backyard garden with lemon and orange trees.

OUR BACKYARD: The Retreat has its own terra-cotta patio framed by colorful bougainvillea and our beautifully green and flowering backyard gardens with fountains and fruit trees (a real hit with the hummingbirds!). After a day of sightseeing you can relax on the back patio, pick a few lemons from our tress and make our own 'secret recipe' lemonade for a delicious salute to your day. Or, rustle up dinner on our charcoal barbecue, with all supplies provided. We also offer a laundry cabina in the backyard, with washer and dryer and complementary detergent and softener.

OUR NEIGHBORHOOD: Our lovely street and neighborhood is far less congested and noisy than properties right on the beach -- and you don't have to spend 20 minutes hunting for a space to park (as you do by the beach) -- WE OFFER FREE RESERVED OFF-STREET PARKING as well asCOMPLIMENTARY BIKES to ride to the ocean or explore the neighborhood. The BUS TO THE BEACH stops right at the corner, just steps from your door.

We are just minutes from Venice and Santa Monica Beaches and the famous Venice Canals, which are directly down our street. Venice Beach is a 20 minute walk, 10 minutes by bike. Cinemas, cares, shopping and freeways all within 5 minutes. The Santa Monica Pier and Promenade is only 9 minutes by car.

More Details
Hide Details

Entertainment journalist, author and filmmaker. Harvard College graduate. Passions include film, piano, literature (Shakespeare especially), Italy and travel. Speaker of English, Italian, some French and German.

James Ulmer purchased this house in 2001

A TERRIFIC AREA where the traffic and parking is not nearly as congested and stressful as at the beach traffic yet is only minutes away from the ocean. We're also very convenient to the cafes, cinemas, boutiques and shopping of the wonderful West side. A great location in what is already a world-class 'destination location.' Lovely backyard and charming front porch, too!

Free off-street parking -- a hard commodity to find in the beach area! Complementary use of 3 bikes to ride to the beach or explore the neighborhood -- or simply take the beach bus on the corner. Peaceful and quiet backyard terra-cotta patio (with charcoal BBQ) framed by bougainvillea and fountains looking out onto our lovely backyard garden and fruit trees. Complementary high-speed (6 megabyte) internet & Wi-Fi & 42' cable TV. During your home orientation after you arrive, James can also serve as your 'virtual concierge' to help you plan your stay in LA.

55 Reviews of Property 289786 in Santa Monica, California

Last-Minute Deal on Stunning California Craftsman Home, Minutes to Beach!
average rating of 4.8333335 based on 55 reviews
business
Last-Minute Deal on Stunning California Craftsman Home, Minutes to Beach!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p289786
+ (310) 779-9389
Santa Monica Los Angeles County
Sydney
5

Californian charm

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 25, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
Dianne and I would just like to thank you so much for the use of your beautiful home Beethoven's retreat during Dec and January this year. It was everything you said it was and some. Its location and cosy atmosphere made it so welcoming every time we returned there after our day trips.I would certainly want to use it again if and when we return to your fine country.Please do not hesitate to use out name as 100% satisfied customers. By the way our 21 day Caribbean Cruise was absolutely beautiful too.Once again many many thanks for making our American experience fantastic.
with regards
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
business
Last-Minute Deal on Stunning California Craftsman Home, Minutes to Beach!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p289786
+ (310) 779-9389
Santa Monica Los Angeles County
5

James and this property are top notch!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 28, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
Beethoven's retreat is located on a quiet street and a short drive (ride) to the beach. It was clean and well appointed. James has thought of everything in this craftsman style home. Check in and out went smoothly, and after orienting ourselves we felt like we were in our own home and neighborhood. Thank you James, for your hospitality and honesty. We be back!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Last-Minute Deal on Stunning California Craftsman Home, Minutes to Beach!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p289786
+ (310) 779-9389
Santa Monica Los Angeles County
Sao Paulo, Brazil
5

A gem

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 3, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
This house is lovely and James is a fantastic host! I stayed in December and it was cold for LA but the garden is beautiful and it would be a treat when the weather is warmer. The house itself is better than the pictures. the location is great for those wanting to experience the Venice/Santa Monica lifestyle. The beds are super comfortable. There is plenty of street parking. I would definitely recommend a stay here.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Last-Minute Deal on Stunning California Craftsman Home, Minutes to Beach!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p289786
+ (310) 779-9389
Santa Monica Los Angeles County
Laughlin, NV
5

WONDERFUL, STUNNING VACATION HOME!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 15, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
My husband, I and our son very recently stayed at this WONDERFUL vacation home. It was even better than we had hoped. Beautiful, very clean, very comfortable and beautifully furnished. Has all the amenities one could think of. Beautiful landscaping and great/relaxing backyard. Very quiet, great location, well maintained, what else can I say? We would stay there again in a heartbeat. James is very personable and readily available. Want a great place to stay? It's all here! We will be recommending this to our family and friends. Thanks again, James.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Last-Minute Deal on Stunning California Craftsman Home, Minutes to Beach!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p289786
+ (310) 779-9389
Santa Monica Los Angeles County
Atlanta, GA
5

My perfect LA Hideaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 29, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
I am completely in love with this property! Quite neighborhood, centrally located to the shops, beach, West LA, and all the fantastic excursions that make the LA area a perfect place to work and play. The home owner was extremely gracious, the property was beautifully maintained. Bicycles were made available for us as well. Everything we needed was within a short walking distance and we loved it. Perfect for couples and families! Without a doubt the best rental property and management I have come across in year!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Last-Minute Deal on Stunning California Craftsman Home, Minutes to Beach!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p289786
+ (310) 779-9389
Santa Monica Los Angeles County
Christchurch, New Zealand
5

Above and Beyond

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 28, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
We came from New Zealand for a friends wedding and booked the house for a week. The house was immaculate, cosy and a home away from home for us for a week.
Everything you might need or had forgotten to pack is thought of and provided. James gave a great introduction and was full of helpful details about the neighborhood and surrounds. We had an incident where several suit jackets were accidentally left in a taxi during our stay. For reasons known only to the driver these were left on the doorstep after our departure. Not only did the housekeeper collect them and kept them safe in a wardrobe but James tracked them down packaged them up and mailed them on to us and we now have them back much to our delight. Great host, great house - can't recommend this place enough.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Last-Minute Deal on Stunning California Craftsman Home, Minutes to Beach!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p289786
+ (310) 779-9389
Santa Monica Los Angeles County
Sunshine Coast, Queensland
5

Aussie Ladies from QLD

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 15, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
We found this accommodation to be excellent, great location bus at front door. We actually walked to Venice Beach and Santa Monica from the house - vey enjoyable - lots to see. House is well equipped with everything you need. Lovely peaceful garden/outdoors area. The downstairs area we were in is most suitable for 2 couples and or two friends like ourselves as we had a bedroom each with our own ensuite, very comfortable beds. Bikes are available if you feel like biking it instead of walking around. Grocery store within easy walking distance.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Last-Minute Deal on Stunning California Craftsman Home, Minutes to Beach!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p289786
+ (310) 779-9389
Santa Monica Los Angeles County
California
5

lovely in every way

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 12, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
My girlfriend, her son and I stayed at Beethoven for four nights. It was spacious, clean,quiet, calm and convenient. Nice touches on decoration and convenient to both Venice and Santa Monica beaches. Highly recommend it!

Tiny caveat - very tough to fit two cars in the off street parking if they are anything beyond compacts, but I was always able to find street parking within a few houses....
Recommended for:  Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Last-Minute Deal on Stunning California Craftsman Home, Minutes to Beach!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p289786
+ (310) 779-9389
Santa Monica Los Angeles County
Lund, Sweden
5

Just what we had hoped, perfect

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 3, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
A very nice house wich was perfect for our family, 2 adult and 4 children. A wonderful garden with lemon and orangetree.
The kitchen was well equiped with everything that we needed.
We really recommend this property.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Last-Minute Deal on Stunning California Craftsman Home, Minutes to Beach!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p289786
+ (310) 779-9389
Santa Monica Los Angeles County
5

Charming retreat with unique amenities-Highly Recommend!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 6, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
Our family thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Beethoven's retreat last week! The house is simply charming! Upon arrival (midnight) we found a beautifully decorated and very clean retreat. James had it well lit and a nice bottle of wine waiting for us. We were anxious for the next morning to see the house in daylight with not so tired eyes! We awoke to a beautifully serene area in the back filled with fountains, flowers and lemon/grapefruit trees. We sat out there each night to unwind from the all the sightseeing we did!

James has put a lot of time and thought to make Beethoven everything a person could need while away from home. We felt right at home and wished our stay could have been longer! The house is very spacious and the photos reflect exactly what the home looks like. Located on a quiet street except for rush hour when traffic-be careful parking on street during that time.

Highly recommend the retreat! You won't be disappointed! Unfortunately we were not able to meet James in person but he was available to answer all questions we had by phone.
We did meet and speak with the gardner who has done a beautiful job with all the flowers and landscaping around the home. He happened to stop by and water/mow while we were there.

Thank you James for having such a wonderful retreat to share with us! Loved it!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2