Santa Monica cottage rental - The Cottage's queen-size bed with Tempurpedic mattress & plenty of closet space
The Cottage's queen-size bed with Tempurpedic mattress & plenty of closet space
 
  • BedroomsStudio
  • Sleeps3
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights
 

Santa Monica Cottage Rental Photos and Description
Studio Cottage w/ queen-size bed, separate bathroom w/ shower, sleeps 2

This delightful, furnished & light-filled studio cottage sleeps 2-3 & is perfect as a quiet vacation hideaway or relaxing spot to catch up on work. French doors open onto a charming backyard patio & garden with fountains and lemon and orange trees.

The cottage offers a full kitchen with all utensils, glasses & cookware,refrigerator, gas range and oven, & new microwave. Ingenious use of space allows you to use the tiled counter top area as a computer/work space and as a dining area, as well as an extra counter space for preparing your groceries from the nearby markets.

The apartment comes with cable TV (]including all premium movie channels), WiFi and broadband DSL, DVD /CD player and phone, all included in the rent.

Our queen-size bed features an exceptional Temper-Pedic mattress and a view out to the garden & fruit trees. We also have an electrically-inflatable air mattress for a third guests, if needed. The bathroom features a new corner circular shower and heat lamp. And next to the bougainvillea in the backyard, there's a convenient washer-dryer cabana. Plenty of curbside parking, too!

Entertainment journalist, author and filmmaker. Harvard College graduate. Passions include film, piano, literature (Shakespeare especially), Italy and travel. Speaker of English, Italian, some French and German.

James Ulmer purchased this cottage in 2001

A TERRIFIC AREA where the traffic and parking is not nearly as congested and stressful as at the beach traffic yet is only minutes away from the ocean. We're also right amongst the cafes, cinemas, boutiques and shopping of the wonderful West side. A great location in what is already a world-class 'destination location.' Lovely backyard and patio deck, too!

Complementary use of 3 bikes to ride to the beach or explore the neighborhood -- or simply take the beach bus on the corner. Peaceful and quiet backyard terra-cotta patio (with charcoal BBQ) framed by bougainvillea and fountains looking out onto our lovely backyard garden and fruit trees. Complementary high-speed (6 megabyte) internet & Wi-Fi & cable HDTV. During your home orientation when you arrive, James can also serve as your 'virtual concierge' to help you plan your stay in LA.

39 Reviews of Property 289785 in Santa Monica, California

Echanting Cottage & Garden at Bargain Rates! Bike to the Beach
average rating of 4.875 based on 39 reviews
business
Echanting Cottage & Garden at Bargain Rates! Bike to the Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p289785
+ (310) 779-9389
Santa Monica Los Angeles County
Michigan
5

Lovely Cottage!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 15, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
Great Place! Everything was just as described. Loved being able to use the bike. Owner was very nice and quick to respond. Nice location and quiet neighborhood. I used public transportation during my stay and the bus stops were within walking distance of the cottage. Loved being able to use the washer and dryer during my stay!
business
Echanting Cottage & Garden at Bargain Rates! Bike to the Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p289785
+ (310) 779-9389
Santa Monica Los Angeles County
Where do you live?
5

Charming!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 8, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
Not getting around to this review has been bothering me for six months! Me and my two teenage daughters stayed here last summer. It was just awesome.

I was so impressed with the bottle of wine to greet us, the sweet and private little backyard, the quietness of the neighborhood, and the accessibility to everything, including the beach.

The cottage was the best part of our Santa Monica stay. I wouldn't recommend for more than 3 people, but it was perfect for us.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Echanting Cottage & Garden at Bargain Rates! Bike to the Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p289785
+ (310) 779-9389
Santa Monica Los Angeles County
New York
5

Charming Cottage!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 13, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
We loved our stay in LA. Beethoven's Cottage was perfect - great location, well equipped and very comfortable & clean. We were given great maps & we could bike almost everywhere (bikes come with the rental. We highly recommend this cozy cottage!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Echanting Cottage & Garden at Bargain Rates! Bike to the Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p289785
+ (310) 779-9389
Santa Monica Los Angeles County
5

Highly Recommended

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 26, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
Great rental! Very clean, quiet, and comfortable. I would definitely stay there again.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Echanting Cottage & Garden at Bargain Rates! Bike to the Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p289785
+ (310) 779-9389
Santa Monica Los Angeles County
Nixa, Missouri
5

Great vacation place.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 13, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
The cottage description was accurate. The yard was wonderfull! It smelled great with the flowers blooming and the lemon and orange tree. The cottage was clean. It was a quiet area. Would recommend to family and friends.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Echanting Cottage & Garden at Bargain Rates! Bike to the Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p289785
+ (310) 779-9389
Santa Monica Los Angeles County
Nixa, Missouri
5

Great Place to Stay. The yard smelled so GOOD!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 13, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
The cottage description was accurate. It was clean. Would recommend to friend and family. The yard smelled so good, the flowers, lemon and orange tree was wonderful! Would stay again.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Echanting Cottage & Garden at Bargain Rates! Bike to the Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p289785
+ (310) 779-9389
Santa Monica Los Angeles County
United States
5

Perfect Location!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 30, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
We stayed at this lovely bachelor apartment for five days and found it an ideal proximity to Venice Beach and Santa Monica. We were able to easily catch public transportation to and from LAX as well as to Hollywood and Universal Studios. Our favorite part of the vacation was the availability of bikes that came with the apt. We loved biking to both Venice and Santa Monica along the fantastic boardwalk taking in all the sights, shopping and the beach. The apt is quiet, clean and close to Albetrson's and Costco as well as restaurants. With the bikes everything was easily accessible. James is very personable and will answer all inquiries promptly.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Echanting Cottage & Garden at Bargain Rates! Bike to the Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p289785
+ (310) 779-9389
Santa Monica Los Angeles County
Gainesville, VA
5

Great little find!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 16, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
If you're looking for a large space, then this cottage isn't for you. If you're looking for a cozy, charming place that has everything you need, then this has your name on it. We were very comfortable, and only wish the weather was a bit warmer so we could have spent more time in the garden - truly lovely and relaxing. The only downside is that the driveway is quite narrow, so driving in and out (especially out) can be quite challening. Luckily, there is on-street parking.

I hope we have the opportunity to stay again someday. Thank you, James!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Echanting Cottage & Garden at Bargain Rates! Bike to the Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p289785
+ (310) 779-9389
Santa Monica Los Angeles County
St. Louis, Missouri
5

Beethoven's Bungalow in Santa Monica

Beethoven's Bungalow in Santa Monica
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 16, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
We loved the little cottage! It is a sweet, charming retreat in a lovely neighborhood. It is close to Venice Beach and convenient to Santa Monica. Parking was no problem, we were always able to find street parking. The small backyard retreat was delightful and we opened our doors every evening to enjoy the fountains and cool breezes.

Things to consider: The entire place is small, about the size of the average hotel room. You can see this if you look at the pictures so we were not surprised. It does not have air conditioning but this made us open it up and enjoy the backyard. We did not really need AC during our stay. We were not aware that many places in LA do not have air conditioning because it is usually not needed.
Recommended for:  Age 55+
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Echanting Cottage & Garden at Bargain Rates! Bike to the Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p289785
+ (310) 779-9389
Santa Monica Los Angeles County
Texas
5

Wonderful!!!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 11, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
The cottage was a wonderful place for a first time visit to the area. The location was perfect, many restaurants and plenty of places to see. James was great to work with, and has put together an awesome directory of places to see, restaurant recommendations, and general info. The cottage was very comfortable and well equipped. Sometimes the little things like having all the necessary supplies are overlooked by other places I've rented, but James has this place well stocked. Nice benefit. The cottage was also very clean and inviting in all ways.

Will defintely book this cottage for future trips to the area.
Helpful votes: 2/2