Tucson house rental - Private fenced yard
Private fenced yard
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps2
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Tucson House Rental Photos and Description
Studio with king bed,1 bathrm, sleeps 2 adults comfortably.

Very bright, sunny, and cheerful studio guesthouse with soaring ceilings and a spacious feeling. King size bed, sitting area with sofa, coffee table, flat screen HDTV, and wireless broadband Internet. Dining area, fully stocked kitchen, large walk-in closet, and desk with office chair are just some of the comforts of this home away from home. French doors lead to a private, flower-filled lush patio with gas BBQ and table and chairs. Covered parking adjacent to private entry.

Property Information: The Abington guest house features excellent new construction and a Spanish tile roof. It is suitable for all ages - families as well as couples on a romantic retreat. Its excellent location in northwest Tucson has the rural feel of the desert, but is just a mile from shopping, restaurants, and the interstate. Please get in touch with the owners if you have any questions.

My name is Jen Richardson and I am your primary contact. I am an attorney with 14 years of experience and the mother of 2 children - Madeline - 10 and William - 6. My husband, Bill, and I moved from central Tucson to our current home in northwest Tucson in February 2009. We have lived in Tucson for over 15 years and both of us went to the University of Arizona. We have two dogs - Cowboy and Ginger - who are very friendly and enjoy life in the AZ Sonora desert. Bill is an electrical engineer in the solar field. Madeline is beginning 6th grade and William is beginning 1st grade.

Jennifer Richardson purchased this house in 2009

We enjoy renting out properties. We own and manage two vacation rentals in central Tucson in addition to the guest house located on our property. When we bought our house we thought it was the perfect location for people visiting Tucson and the guest house located next door to our home seemed like an excellent vacation rental. We enjoy meeting people from all over the world and have had wonderful experiences getting to know our guests. We respect the privacy of our guests and do not allow our children or dogs to be close to the guest house and the way our home is set up it's easy to offer our guests privacy and peace and quiet.

The Abington Guest House is 100% powered by the Arizona sun. Our large solar field (located at the east end of the property) generates all the electrical power used by the guest house.

17 Reviews of Property 289034 in Tucson, Arizona

Northwest Tucson - Private Guesthouse on Serene Desert Property
average rating of 4.8235292 based on 17 reviews
business
Northwest Tucson - Private Guesthouse on Serene Desert Property
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p289034
+1 5209063950
Tucson Arizona
5

Home Away Perfection 289034

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 1, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
This little guest house is just perfect! It is sparkling clean, quiet, and has all the amenities a person could want to feel "right at home". From the linens to the light and airy feel of the rooms, it just makes a person happy from the moment they step into it. The private patio is wonderful for catching some afternoon sun and enjoying refreshments. As a person who travels on business, I can highly recommend the guest house. You get all the perks of a top-drawer hotel, without the annoying noises and impersonal aspects those hotels also deliver. My hosts were wonderful and made my stay so great, I will be back every year they will have me!
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Northwest Tucson - Private Guesthouse on Serene Desert Property
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p289034
+1 5209063950
Tucson Arizona
Monroe Mi
5

Perfect home away from home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 1, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
I stayed in Bill and Jen's guesthouse during Christmas week and couldnt have been happier. I want to say its a nice little place, but its not really little. Plenty of space, great area of Tucson. Saguaro National Park is just a short drive away. I would highly recommend going to the Sonoran desert museum. And don't miss the Free Raptor show its incredible! Thanks for that tip Bill..I also spent time driving-hiking Mt Lemmon..Sabino Canyon was awesome..Tombstone-Bisbee..Titan Missle base..Pima Air-Space museum..And a lot of great reasturants in the area..

Thanks again Bill and Jen
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Northwest Tucson - Private Guesthouse on Serene Desert Property
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p289034
+1 5209063950
Tucson Arizona
Albuquerque, NM
5

Desert Getaway!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 9, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
We just returned from our 5 day stay in Tucson. The guest house is perfect. It is so nice to return from a day of hiking or biking and be able to relax on the patio. The coyotes made themselves known at sunset each night and the quail or bunnies made the rounds in the morning. The guest house has all you need and is in perfect condition. Everything is clean and maintained. It was really nice having a king size bed, and the washer & dryer are a definite plus in our book. We cooked all of our meals and really enjoyed using the microwave/oven combo, especially since the handbook was readily available! The location, while rural, is still a short drive to any and all attractions.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Northwest Tucson - Private Guesthouse on Serene Desert Property
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p289034
+1 5209063950
Tucson Arizona
Cordes Lakes, Arizona
5

Pleasant Stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 18, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
A pleasant stay in a quiet place. My little dog Pooh was welcome and really enjoyed the fenced patio. The guest house is large and airy, clean and comfortable. I was in Tucson for business and the quiet was a welcome relief. I will stay in the guesthouse in the spring.
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Northwest Tucson - Private Guesthouse on Serene Desert Property
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p289034
+1 5209063950
Tucson Arizona
5

Best place in Tucson

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 28, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
Wow - what a find! This place is ideally situated outside of the city limits but close enough to get to everything you need without driving a long distance. Close to many attractions and National Monuments. It's immaculate, large, airy and has everything you need for a short or long stay. The enclosed patio was a great place to end the day and watch the stars. Even though it is located by the main house it is private and has shaded parking! A must in Tucson.

Jennifer and Mike were knowledgeable and friendly and gave us a great recommendation to one of the best places we have ever eaten! So good that we went there two nights in a row!

Highly recommend this to any traveler! Oh and great views of Mt Lemmon!
Helpful votes: 10/10
business
Northwest Tucson - Private Guesthouse on Serene Desert Property
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p289034
+1 5209063950
Tucson Arizona
St Boswells, Scottish Borders, UK
4

Pleasant Cottage in the Countr

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 29, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
We had a very relaxing week stay in the cottage. Everything needed was available, simply furnished and with a very comfortable king sized bed.
Set in a rural setting (noisy Javelinas at night!) it was a 10 minute drive away from shops, restaurants etc.
We would definitely stay there again.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 8/8
business
Northwest Tucson - Private Guesthouse on Serene Desert Property
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p289034
+1 5209063950
Tucson Arizona
Ogden, UT
5

Perfect get-away cottage

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 24, 2012
  • Stayed: Jan 2012
This detached cottage, with its peaceful and wild location, and very hospitable (next-door) owners, is the perfect home base to explore Tucson, and southern Arizona. Or just relax and rejuvenate. It was all we hoped for, including a very well provisioned kitchen, great king-sized bed, private patio, hundreds of birds, bunnies, saguaro and great views. We highly recommend this property to everyone!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 8/8
business
Northwest Tucson - Private Guesthouse on Serene Desert Property
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p289034
+1 5209063950
Tucson Arizona
Florida
5

Very Nice Week

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 13, 2011
  • Stayed: Oct 2011
10/31/2011
Just got back from spending a week in Tucson at this wonderful desert cottage. It's in a very quite location and Jen was very helpful upon our arrival with suggestion of what to see and where to eat.
The cottage is very neat and tidy. The King bed is nice. Each morning it was fun to look out the east facing windows and see what birds were going to show up for breakfast. The view of the Mts is a treat for us folks from Florida. Would stay here again. Great value and location.
Gary
Recommended for:  Age 55+
Helpful votes: 9/9
business
Northwest Tucson - Private Guesthouse on Serene Desert Property
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p289034
+1 5209063950
Tucson Arizona
Chilton, WI
5

Awesome Autumn Vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 28, 2011
  • Stayed: Oct 2011
My husband and I stayed at the Guest House from October 8th through October 15th. It was a wonderful place to stay. Very quiet, out in the country, serene. Bill and Jen were totally awesome. We generally made breakfast at the Guest House and then traveled around the countryside. Bill and Jen had numerous suggestions as to where to go, what to eat, what to do available. The Guest House is perfect for two people. Grocery stores, shops, restaurants and walking trails are all near the Guest House. Make sure to stop at Lil Abner's for a wonderful BBQ steak or chicken. It truly was an experience. Mount Lemmon was breathtaking from the very top. Make sure to take the ski lift up.
Thanks again Jen and Bill for opening your guest house to us. We had a wonderful time.
Andy and Pat
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 7/7
business
Northwest Tucson - Private Guesthouse on Serene Desert Property
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p289034
+1 5209063950
Tucson Arizona
4

A pleasant stay outside Tucson

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 8, 2011
  • Stayed: Sep 2011
We had a very pleasant four night stay at this guesthouse outside Tucson. The property is completely separate from the owners house with it’s own undercover parking place. There is a small enclosed patio at the rear.

The guesthouse is comfortably furnished with widescreen TV and DVD player. The layout has been reversed since the photograph was taken which does mean the TV is a long way from the sofa, but it has a long cable fitted.

The kitchen is well equipped with a combined microwave / oven and separate portable hotplate. The instruction books are with them but the terminology used is not what UK residents are generally familiar with so it takes a little time to understand them. The washing machine and tumble dryer worked well.

There is a small office desk with a good Wi-Fi connection. There is air-conditioning and two ceiling fans in the guesthouse that brought the temperature down to a minimum of 23 C.

A car is essential as the property is outside the town and there are no local shops, the unadopted road up to the property from the main road is only a few metres.

There is plenty of information on places to visit in the property. We went to Tombstone (take your passports, the Border Patrol stopped us and wanted to see them when they found we were ‘Aliens’), have a drink in the Crystal Palace. Old Tucson studios (lots of biting bugs, take some repellent spray), Saguara National Park. From here you can drive back to the property on an unadopted road through the desert, only slightly rough, our hire car made it ok!

Had a good evening meal at the Bluefin Bistro, 7053 North Oracle Road in Tucson, pleasant outside table, good atmosphere.

We would use the guesthouse again if in Tucson.
Helpful votes: 4/4