Gallipoli and Troy apartment rental - View from master bedroom
View from master bedroom
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps8
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Gallipoli and Troy Apartment Rental Photos and Description
Apartment, 3 + Bedrooms, 2 Baths, (Sleeps up to 8)

This spacious, sunny 2 story flat on the 5th & 6th floors has city views and elevator! Charming and comfortable, and best of all is its location in central Cihangir, surrounded by cafes and next to Cihangir's central tea garden and antique alley.

Sleeps 5 in beds (3 bedrooms, 1 1/2 baths) and can sleep up to 8 with use of sleeper sofas in the salon. Ask about our other flat (identical layout) just below this one for large groups.

Much of Cihangir is hilly, but this flat is located in a flat location. On the first floor of the building is a delightful restaurant, and there are literally dozens of cafes within a few steps away. This flat is just a short walk or tram ride to all the major sites. http://bit.ly/17lDVlp

Lots of tile and wood and Turkish textiles throughout this 2-story, 3 bedroom flat. It has an inside staircase as well as separate entrances accessible by elevator. City views. Decorated with a mixture of antiques and modern furniture and art from Turkey and Indonesia.

Has a large fully supplied kitchen. 1 toilet + sink in bathroom downstairs, bathroom upstairs includes 1 toilet, sink, + shower/bath. All rooms in this house including the living-dining room can be closed off with solid wood doors to allow for greater privacy. Beautiful wood and tile floors throughout.

There are 2 standing balconies. The balcony upstairs is enclosed.

Large sunny eat in kitchen with antique table and chairs. The living room is spacious and cozy and can be closed off with a door to create a 4th bedroom with 1 large + 1 single sleeper sofa.

This spacious flat has a very homey feeling to it and is in an excellent location (for this hilly city!), with cafes just downstairs and all around (and they deliver!). For a taste of Istanbullan life, this is the flat! Cihangir's main tea garden is just next door.

Just a few minutes walk from this flat puts you just about anywhere you want to go. There is a taxi stand across the street. The tram is down the hill. Antique Alley (Cucurcuma) is one block away. Walk to Taksim or Istiklal Avenue in 5-10 min.

Feel like you live in a charming village in this flat as it is surrounded by traditional and modern cafes, and is just one block from Cucurcuma - also known as Antique Alley.

Ceiling fans in each room. A.C. Lots of windows and light and breezes in this flat. Lots of counter space and a real oven in the kitchen.

Located in the charming Cihangir neighborhood populated by artists, foreigners, and locals in the film business. Neighborhood has a bohemian, turn of the century feel to it.

40% off regular rates Nov 1-April 1, 2014! (holidays not included)

50% off regular rates for long term rentals Nov 1 - April 1, 2014

Regular Rates

2 Nights $ 210.00 per night

7+ nights $200.00 per night

14+ nights $158.00 per night

30+ nights/monthly rate $4200 per month

Rates are for 1-4 guests. Additional guests are $20 more per night.

Rate includes wifi, phone, satellite tv, air conditioning and radiant heat. We can arrange a driver to meet you at the airport holding up your name for a small fee. There is a one-time cleaning fee of $70.

You will LOVE this flat.

Keywords: Apartment

More Details
Hide Details

I am a travel writer who rents flats in my favorite places on the planet to global travelers. I believe that when we 'live' in the places we visit, even briefly, we connect on a deeper level. After all, it is mostly the residents who make up the character of the places we visit. I began renting flats to stay in myself when I traveled many years ago, and learned that my experiences were far richer when I traveled in this manner. And so, I look for my favorite neighborhoods and apartments in my favorite cities, and provide them to other global travelers. Connection is what excites me. Ask me for my blog address for more information. By the way, I was in Istanbul during the demonstrations and I am still here, in fact extending my stay because it is a heartwarming time to be here. I realize that most of what you see is the news lately are protests, but that was contained in specific areas, easy to avoid. All is peaceful now and the current movement is a grass roots one - a reaching out to the people of Anatolia to inspire them to also stand up for freedom of speech. Turkey is evolving and it is an exciting time to be here. (written Aug 2013). You will be entirely safe. 99.9% of Istanbul was entirely unaffected by the demonstrations.

Robin Sparks purchased this apartment in 2007

Perfect location in a charming neighborhood surrounded by cafes and tea gardens. The layout of this flat will give you lots of room and privacy. And you can get to all the sites easily from here. Right next door to Antique Alley in Cucurcuma.

If you have a large group, ask about the flat below this one. If available, they can be rented together. I love this location as I can get anywhere I want to go in minutes and the area is very safe. Out of all our flats, this one has the most neighborly feeling. City views. And this apartment happens to be in a flat area in a city that is full of steep hills.

11 Reviews of Property 288687 in Gallipoli and Troy, Turkey

40% winter discount! Cafe life, central.3BR,2BA,Elevator,Cafes, tea garden
average rating of 4.888889 based on 11 reviews
business
40% winter discount! Cafe life, central.3BR,2BA,Elevator,Cafes, tea garden
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p288687vb
Gallipoli and Troy Istanbul and The Marmara
Calgary, Canada
5

Great location; Comfortable apartment.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 26, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
We are a 60 something couple and stayed in the Firuzaga apartment for 3weeks. Robin arranged a ride from the airport and Elif arranged our ride back to the airport. All went off perfectly. Highly recommended. Apartment nicely furnished. Elif responded very quickly to requests. Apartment is in a great location only about 10-12 minutes easy slight uphill walk for us. There were some protests in Taksim that reached as far as the apartment but being on the 5th & 6th floors we could not have felt safer.

We generally walked up to Taksim then took the funicular down to Kabatas to catch the tram to the old city. We found the walk down the hill hard on our knees. The Istanbulkart is the way to go. They advertise that up to 5 people can ride on one card (which sounds very convenient), but be forewarned, only the first rider gets a discount on transfers. If you do a lot of rides on the metro & trams it adds up in a hurry.

All in all... Highly recommend this apartment.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
40% winter discount! Cafe life, central.3BR,2BA,Elevator,Cafes, tea garden
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p288687vb
Gallipoli and Troy Istanbul and The Marmara
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

We had a very nice stay in this apartment

  • Submitted: Sep 8, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
We had a very nice stay in this Firuzaga apartment. Everything was clean and the apartment was very nice and clean. Your manager Elif was very helpful and answered all our questions and requests.
business
40% winter discount! Cafe life, central.3BR,2BA,Elevator,Cafes, tea garden
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p288687vb
Gallipoli and Troy Istanbul and The Marmara
Los Angeles, CA, USA
5

My Favorite City in The World

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 5, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
I have traveled through 20-30 countries across all of the continents and nothing quite compares to the beautiful and mesmerizing mix that Istanbul offers--culture, night life, history and amazing food. Istanbul has it all and renting from Robin makes it that much better. Her properties offer the best views, best neighborhood niches and best locations.

The place was clean, comfortable and perfect home base to come back to after our adventures on the city. We couldn't have asked for more.

Thank you!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
40% winter discount! Cafe life, central.3BR,2BA,Elevator,Cafes, tea garden
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p288687vb
Gallipoli and Troy Istanbul and The Marmara
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

USA Family - We loved this flat and will be back!

  • Submitted: Aug 29, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
'Our family of 4 (2 adults and 2 teens) had a fantastic stay in Robin's flat. We had been excited to come to Istanbul after making our plans months ago. Then a short time before our departure, the protests over Gezi Park, etc broke out. We closely watched the news, and kept in touch with Robin. Numerous family and friends felt we should just remove Istanbul from our itinerary. Are we ever glad we didn't change our plans! We have travelled far and wide across this city (to the ancient sites in Sultanehmet via tram, across to Karakoy, in Asia, via passenger ferry, to historic Balat & Fener neighborhoods via city bus) and haven't felt unsafe or threatened at all! We had planned to avoid Taksim entirely, but went up there the very first day and nearly everyday since. (Mind you, we are simply observers, keeping a low profile, with a clear exit plan if things were to escalate.) Seeing the citizens standing in silent protest was actually quite moving. Although there was a heavy police presence, there is currently no interaction between the 2 sides. Even if unrest was still occurring, it doesn't feel as if you'd ever notice in other areas of town: this is a huge city, and it shouldn't be defined by that one area. Thankfully, Robin's words of encouragement were spot-on, and we had nothing to worry about!

Now to the flat and neighborhood: one word- wonderful! We loved everything about the flat: we all had room enough to spread out, and it has all that you need. Plus it's really nicely decorated. Enjoyed and actually looked forward to the call to prayer (even the 4:30 am one)! Living above and among all the cafes, bakeries, markets and shops was awesome! Talk about great aromas and outstanding food choices just steps from the front door.

Elif, who initially met us and showed us the appt was sweet, friendly and kind. Davide, who we hired to take us on a half day tour was very informative and fun to be with! We strongly recommend doing this if you want to feel comfortable getting around like (and with) the locals! Plus we got a feeling for the areas we most want to spend our time at.

Our visit to Istanbul exceeded our expectations; we'd love to live here.

Greetings from Washington State, USA, Jeff, Lynne, Sarah & Ethan Johnson''
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
40% winter discount! Cafe life, central.3BR,2BA,Elevator,Cafes, tea garden
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p288687vb
Gallipoli and Troy Istanbul and The Marmara
Paris
5

Nice flat in the heart of Modern Istanbul

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 15, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
We were a group of eight people and really enjoyed our stay at Firuzaga flat rented by Davide & Elif. The flat is situated in one of the best corner of Cihangir area in Beyoglu: it's a dynamic nearby and safe area where you cross real inhabitants of Istanbul downtown. There are several bars and cafe around the building, as well as grocery store, bakery, local commerce and even carrefour supermarket. it has a good view sight at 5th and 6th floor, and hopefully the lift works well, that's one of the reasons we choose this flat for our senior parents. The photos reflect well the colorful inside paintings and beautiful little carpets as internal decoration. The only weak point is lack of large saucepan in the kitchen if you are a big group and wish to cook once. Don't worry about the noise of the mosque beside, the voice is not very powerful and you'll be used to that typical short song soon. Davide welcomed us at arrival for check-in and Elif came to say us goodbye at check-out, they are both kind and available by tel and email, they may arrange your transfer service to airport if you wish. it is ten minutes from Istiklal avenue, so ideal also for shopping and night life. I recommend this apartment, you'll like it!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
40% winter discount! Cafe life, central.3BR,2BA,Elevator,Cafes, tea garden
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p288687vb
Gallipoli and Troy Istanbul and The Marmara
North America
4

Ideally located comfortable apartment

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 3, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
Our family of six had an enjoyable stay in Robin's apt. We were very pleased about the location and we, as well as the previous reviewer, had to consider our trip closely with respect to the protests going on in Taksim Square. We decided to not let that affect our plans. We were in Taksim Square every day and though there was always police presence there, we felt safe even if the activities re protests were a little overwhelming at times, it was certainly no reason to change travel plans over. If anything, it added some cultural interest to the trip!

The neighbourhood has every possible convenience. I have a little tip re public transport. It would be more cost effective to walk DOWN to Karakoy tram station rather than UP to Taksim to take the funicular down where you would hook up to the tram to get into the old district. The walk is almost the same distance and better downhill (note that up to Taksim from the apt is not too steep - not a problem at all but why walk up so that you can pay to go down?). The public transport system is not expensive but each portion of the journey is a separate fare. Then I would recommend on the way back from a long day of sightseeing to take the tram across to Karakoy and take the funicular up to Taksim and walk down to the apt. Also, it is best to use the Istanbul card so that value can be added onto the card and can be used up to a maximum of 5 people. There is a magazine stand in Taksim Square that apparently sells them, however he was sold out when we needed them. Ironically, they are not sold in the funicular station at Taksim square. It was a bit of a wild goose chase to find them. We finally found the cards along the Bosphorous in the area where are the cruises depart from (across from the spice market).

APT: All was as stated and shown in pictures. There was plenty of room for us all. I was only just a little disappointed with the kitchen (this is a personal thing and I can understand that this is likely a non-issue for many people). We like to cook for ourselves and I found the kitchen without airconditioning in summer to be way too hot at the end of the day to cook in. Perhaps if there were some blinds to keep the heat out, a/c air could have circulated better from the living room. There were also some key task lights in the kitchen that had burnt out bulbs.

Robin and Elif were helpful and available. Correspondence was easy and this was much appreciated.

Thank you!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
40% winter discount! Cafe life, central.3BR,2BA,Elevator,Cafes, tea garden
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p288687vb
Gallipoli and Troy Istanbul and The Marmara
Washington state, USA
5

Great time in Istanbul

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 23, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
Our family of 4 (2 adults and 2 teens) had a fantastic stay in Robin's Firugaza flat. A short time before our departure from home, the protests over Gezi Park, etc broke out. We closely watched the news, and kept in touch with Robin. Numerous family and friends felt we should just remove Istanbul from our itinerary. Are we ever glad we didn't change our plans! We have travelled far and wide across this city (to the ancient sites in Sultanehmet via tram, across to Karakoy, in Asia, via passenger ferry, to historic Balat & Fener neighborhoods via city bus) and haven't felt unsafe or threatened at all! We had planned to avoid Taksim entirely, but went up there the very first day and nearly everyday since. (Mind you, we are simply observers, keeping a low profile, with a clear exit plan if things were to escalate.) Seeing the citizens standing in silent protest was actually quite moving. Even if unrest was still occurring, it doesn't feel as if you'd ever notice in other areas of town: this is a huge city, and it shouldn't be defined by that one area. Thankfully, Robin's words of encouragement were spot-on, and we had nothing to worry about!

Now to the flat and neighborhood: one word- wonderful! We loved everything about the flat: kids had their own rooms, we all had room enough to spread out, and it has all that you need. Plus it's really nicely decorated. Enjoyed and actually looked forward to the call to prayer from the next door mosque (even the 4:30 am one)! Living above and among all the cafes, bakeries, markets and shops was awesome! Talk about great aromas and outstanding food choices just steps from the front door. Haven't had a bad meal yet, but our favorite so far was Mucver's just across the street. We had a sampler of their "homemade items", and loved every one.

Elif, who initially met us and showed us the appt was sweet, friendly and kind. Davide, who we hired to take us on a half day tour was very informative and fun to be with! We strongly recommend doing this if you want to feel comfortable getting around like (and with) the locals! Plus we got a feeling for the areas we most want to spend our time at.

Our visit to Istanbul is exceeding our expectations; we'd love to live here (but not drive here) :-)

Greetings from Washington State, USA, Jeff, Lynne, Sarah & Ethan
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
40% winter discount! Cafe life, central.3BR,2BA,Elevator,Cafes, tea garden
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p288687vb
Gallipoli and Troy Istanbul and The Marmara
United States
5

Just Right!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 8, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
Our group of three (though there was plenty of space for more) found this home-away-from home apartment to be the ideal headquarters for a 10-day visit to Istanbul during June 2012. The location is perfect: a homey, picturesque, and vibrant local neighborhood with plenty of restaurants and traditional shops for every need as well as a couple of small supermarkets only a block or two away. There’s a public transit hub at Taksim Square, a ten-minute walk and, almost at the front door, plenty of Istanbul’s inexpensive taxis cruising by for the weary or lazy. A ride to or from the city’s furthest tourist destinations can be had for about 15 Turkish lira, or about $8.00. (If you’re returning to the apartment by taxi, be sure to tell the driver “Cihangir, Firuzaga Cami” [mosque], which will get you the right corner. Trying to use the actual address will take you on an endless odyssey with puzzled drivers stopping to get contradictory instructions from passersby.)

The apartment is pleasant, functional, comfortable, well-equipped and maintained. The local managers are accessible and most helpful. The muezzin intoning the call to prayer at 4:30 A.M. from powerful speakers at the mosque directly across the way may awake you briefly from your slumbers, but you will soon fall asleep again with a smile of satisfaction about being in Istanbul and staying in such agreeable digs.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
40% winter discount! Cafe life, central.3BR,2BA,Elevator,Cafes, tea garden
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p288687vb
Gallipoli and Troy Istanbul and The Marmara
Chicago, IL / USA
5

Great spot, great location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 24, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
Highly recommend. We were in Istanbul for a week for a wedding that was out at the Swissotel. Half our friends stayed at the Swissotel, the others in the Old City, and we had by far the best spot - easy walks up to Istikal Cadessi for dinner & shopping at night, easy walk to Sultanahmet for touristy stuff and a great vibe around the nearby Cihangir & Galata areas. Felt like we could get to all the tourist stuff we needed to while still feeling part of a more authentic & vibrant part of town. Apartment was cozy, but functional - we went with two families including 3 kids under the age of 10, and worked for all. Minor problem with the A/C but the property manager was very responsive, had it fixed in 24 hrs.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
40% winter discount! Cafe life, central.3BR,2BA,Elevator,Cafes, tea garden
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p288687vb
Gallipoli and Troy Istanbul and The Marmara
Nashville, TN
5

Perfect 3 bed room!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 20, 2010
  • Stayed: Oct 2010
We were 4 women traveling to Istanbul for the first time. This is a lovely roomy apartment and in an artsy neighborhood. Great location for sightseeing, shopping and eating.Easy booking and very nice caretaker who answered all our questions and even recommended her local hammam.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers
Helpful votes: 2/2