Kehena house rental - High ceilings, bright and airy living room
High ceilings, bright and airy living room
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps6
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Kehena House Rental Photos and Description
1 Bedroom + Loft, 1 Bath (Sleeps 2-6)

Welcome to your beautiful, private island retreat! Walk through the sun-dappled yard as the steady ocean breezes embrace you. Be delighted as you enter this custom, open-planned vacation home, thoughtfully designed with high ceilings, ample windows and light-filled spaces. Allow the magic of the Big Island to enter your soul, as you feel yourself begin to relax and rejuvenate. The living room floor and entry has a surround of Chinese green slate, carpet in the center. The ceiling soars above while a view of the ocean is seen beyond the French doors as you enter the rear covered deck. Furnished in a relaxed/Zen style with a large sofa, a large quantity of pillows, a banana-leaf woven lounge chair, and a simple Asian cabinet which conceals the entertainment center (Panasonic 32' flat screen TV, Sony DVD player and Surround sound system). Furnishings are carefully chosen for comfort and quality.

Additional House Details: The kitchen has ceramic tile flooring, natural wood custom cabinetry with easy sliding drawers, a large pantry and refrigerator, wall oven, gas range top, granite bar with alabaster lighting, and custom wood-framed windows that slide easily letting in the nearly constant NE trade winds (the kitchen sits in the NE corner of the house). The dining room adjoins the kitchen, just beyond the bar counter. It boasts a Danish retro-modern teak and cherry wood dining table with six original matching chairs, new bamboo flooring, and it opens onto a great covered deck which has privacy and ocean views, plus an additional outdoor dining table and four chairs. The deck also has a sweet little love seat and a teak Adirondack chair.

The bedroom is private from the rest of the house and has incredible ocean views as well as sunrise and sunset vistas. The floor is slate tile and opens onto a sunny deck from the sliding glass door. One can occasionally see the red/orange glow from the lava flows in the west. Orange, tangerine, tangelo, and meyer lemon trees produce abundantly just outside. White pineapple patches guide the way to the new meditation pavilion while ohia, monkeypod, fig, loquat, dragon fruit, soursop, starfruit, plus many tropical flowers, grace the yard in their turn.

This house just feels right!

To Do Options & Recommendations: 10 minute drive to view lava river flowing into ocean with steam plume, swim with dolphins at Kehena Black Sand Beach, watch whales from the cliffs November-March, swim with or view turtles (honu) in Kapoho (15 minutes drive), star-gazing, warm ponds, tide pool exploration, steam vents, volcanic crater lake (Green Lake also called Hale Mahina), farmers' markets (SPACE market at Belly Acres on Saturday mornings; Maku'u Market on Sunday near Pahoa). Events and classes such as yoga, dance, and healing arts at Kalani Resort and also at SPACE.

Check in time is 4pm. Check out time is 11 am. You may request late or early check in/out and I can see if it's possible. Aloha.

More Details
Hide Details

I'm fortunate to have been a longtime resident of the wild and spectacular Puna Coast since 1981. I've witnessed the powerful and creative force of Pele firsthand, and I'm thrilled to share this unique experience with new visitors. I am a home builder and designer and I consider this one to be my finest. I love to cook, and designed the kitchen to be functional and beautiful. I love plants and enjoy gardening and landscaping, which is reflected in the park-like grounds. I hope you find my home to be as comfortable and yet inspiring as I have over the years. It is my joy to offer this home to you.

Lisa Bartoletti purchased this house in 1990

I built my former home here shortly after purchasing the lot in 1989. There's no other spot like it! It sits on a slight hill at the edge of state land, which is unspoiled 1955 a'a lava covered in grey-green lichen and dotted with young ohia trees, beyond which the blue pacific ocean beckons.... Kalapana is in the sun-drenched 'blue belt' of Puna, where it is more likely to be bright blue sky and gentle flowing breezes. The area is wild and free, where many report they can sense the creative volcanic energy.

14 Reviews of Property 288108 in Kehena, Hawaii

Beautiful Private Kehena Retreat with Ocean Views~ Now with FAST Internet
average rating of 4.857143 based on 14 reviews
business
Beautiful Private Kehena Retreat with Ocean Views~ Now with FAST Internet
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p288108
+1 808 938-0031
Kehena Puna District
United States
5

An AMAZING place, more beautiful than it looks!! And it looks incredible!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 20, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
My family of four stayed at the Pu'ulena House in Nov. 2012, and we had to say how amazing a time we had here! It is more gorgeous than even the great pics reflect, you will not be sorry for taking the time to stay here.
Everything here was just as promised, and the cleanliness, the architecture, the landscaping, the fresh fruit (Suha fruit is so pretty!) is truly unforgettable. It rains almost daily this time of the year, and each rain brought a rainbow of which my children and I adored. You can see the ocean over the lava field nearby and it is breathtaking, to see so much life evolve literally through the hardened lava was incredible to us.
The view of the stars was mind blowing, you will NEVER see so many stars in one sky on the mainland anywhere, it is so clear you can easily make out the milky way!!! The laundry machines in the house were very useful for my wife and kids. The loft area was a complete hit with our children also. The mediation pavilion (what I called it anyway) was truly serene, there was always a gorgeous gecko there with 3 vivid orange 'splashes' on their backs, so pretty!
Lisa gave us amazing information on the area and home, we ate at the local Kalapana Village Cafe and used the grocery store there and sincerely enjoyed the area and moreso the people!
Sleeping in the bed was very restful, and the music orchestrated by the frogs, lizards and birds at night was mesmerizing, we recorded the night sounds to have a re-playable memory of this amazing music from nature.
Our experience was unforgettable, and we will most definitely be back. The location made visiting everything on the East side of the Big Island so convenient, Hilo is a close drive, as well as the Volcanoes Natl Park, also you are extremely close to the Kalapana Lava Viewing fields which blew our minds as well.
If you are looking for serenity, Hawai'i Nei, and a place to stay on the East side of the Big Island, Pu'ulena House will not disappoint you!!
HIGHLY RECOMMEND, thank you Lisa, it was truly a surreal experience for my family! We will be back!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Beautiful Private Kehena Retreat with Ocean Views~ Now with FAST Internet
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p288108
+1 808 938-0031
Kehena Puna District
France
5

Rental close to volcano

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 6, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
The house has a design different from others , is very spacious and peaceful.
Best location to see flowing lava also it requires some walking at the time we were there.
The area is green and rain can be expected on this portion of the island.
All commodities are available and better to do its own cooking.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers
business
Beautiful Private Kehena Retreat with Ocean Views~ Now with FAST Internet
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p288108
+1 808 938-0031
Kehena Puna District
5

Beautiful retreat in great location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 26, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
Lisa's house was the perfect place for me and my teenaged son for the week. It is close to great snorkeling and lava viewing, but also away from it all - especially because it is at the end of the cul de sac overlooking the lava field. My son loved the "man cave" in the loft - and we enjoyed biking around the area. The kitchen was well equipped, and we were serenaded every night by the coqui. We were sorry to leave!
business
Beautiful Private Kehena Retreat with Ocean Views~ Now with FAST Internet
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p288108
+1 808 938-0031
Kehena Puna District
Seattle
5

Beautiful, Serene Getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 17, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
We had a short, but wonderful stay in this lovely Kehena retreat. Beautiful and private house that worked out well for our group of four. We loved mornings and evenings in the backyard - relaxing in the meditation hut that overlooked the lava flow. The spacious kitchen and dining room were a treat - as were the beautiful, comfortable, and tasteful furnishings. Definitely planning a much longer visit next time! This part of Puna has so much to offer and is such a verdant and magical paradise!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Mahalo for such a wonderful review. I'm happy you enjoyed the meditation hut--I'm never sure if it gets used the way I'd imagined. I will look forward to your next, longer booking! Aloha nui loa ~ L.
business
Beautiful Private Kehena Retreat with Ocean Views~ Now with FAST Internet
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p288108
+1 808 938-0031
Kehena Puna District
Pacific NW
4

Puulena House

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 12, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
Wonderful house on edge of lava fields. Grounds tropical. House very airy, with high ceilings. Lots of wood to give it character. It was easy to live in and did not look like a rental. You really had the feeling this was a home built with care for the environment. You do have to add your own privacy. No door to the master, so I hung a sheet over the opening, for instance. This actually added to the charm, as I felt like I was in my own breezy tent. I very much enjoyed my stay here and all ameneties are there also, like easy tv reception, for instance. Gas cooking, kitchen worked very well. Great experience!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Beautiful Private Kehena Retreat with Ocean Views~ Now with FAST Internet
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p288108
+1 808 938-0031
Kehena Puna District
Vancouver B.C. Canada
5

A House which was a Home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 6, 2011
  • Stayed: Nov 2011
My Partner, Nicole and I had the good luck to choose Lisa's home in the Puna distreict over several others we looked at and based on the 18 days we stayed there , our decision was the right one. A reminder that homes in this area south of Hilo ,in a country setting, will have occasional power outages,ants ,mosquitoes,and cell phone blackholes ........if you can deal with those ( remember you are in a tropical rural setting ) , it was a fabulous experience , not only at Lisa's home , but the area itself.The atmosphere and inhabitants slow down your pace and suddenly stress and tensions of city life fade .The home was clean and ammenities abundant to feel comfortable . Internet access very good ( i needed to be connected every morning ) comfortable furniture, the main bed ( ZZZZZZ) and Lanai ....excellent. Land line and TV more than adequate .....lots of fresh filtered water for kitchen and bathroom use.I have no hesitation to recommend Lisa's home for vacation use in this district ....As for the Puna district .....expect rain almost daily ( still warm and the sun does appear).coqui frogs.lots of places to go and markets to get that community flavor .....felt like a Kama'aina almost from day 1

Grant and Nicole
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Beautiful Private Kehena Retreat with Ocean Views~ Now with FAST Internet
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p288108
+1 808 938-0031
Kehena Puna District
5

Ein perfektes und wunderschönes Haus

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 22, 2011
  • Stayed: Oct 2011
Wir waren für zwei Wochen in Lisas Haus und sind rundum begeistert: Das Haus und der Garten strahlen Ruhe, Gelassenheit und Harmonie aus und bieten so einen perfekten Rahmen für einen gelungenen Urlaub.
Die Beschreibung bei HomeAway entspricht in allen Einzelheiten der Realität; die Vermieterin ist außerordentlich liebenswürdig und war jederzeit hilfsbereit.

Unbedingt zu empfehlen!

Gudrun und Klaus, Bonn, Deutschland
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Beautiful Private Kehena Retreat with Ocean Views~ Now with FAST Internet
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p288108
+1 808 938-0031
Kehena Puna District
5

Great Getaway and Views

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 29, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
My husband and I stayed at this property during our anniversary and the property exceeded my expectations. The owner was very accommodating and friendly. The pictures are true to the home. There is some privacy from neighbors, especially the master bedroom which butts up against a field of lava rock, a beautiful sunrise view from the bed, and cooling breezes from the east. The house was roomy, clean with plenty of linens, and a nice shower. The weather was warm with intermittent light rain, and an occasional gecko was spotted by the rafters, but being from South Florida that didn't bother us at all. We explored the rainforests (very easy walks to waterfall views), zoo (free and so many great animals), volcano park (we recommend the tour of the Kazumura lava tube), and had a romantic dinner at Kaleo's while here. It was a 45 min+ drive to most places, but we liked being removed from everything during the morning and evening. A great plus was its proximity to a local black sand beach (though I would recommend it for adults only). We would absolutely recommend this property to others.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Beautiful Private Kehena Retreat with Ocean Views~ Now with FAST Internet
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p288108
+1 808 938-0031
Kehena Puna District
Tucson, AZ
4

Beautiful Home

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 21, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2011
This house was wonderful. It's at the end of a road which is usually quiet although there was construction of a house next door when we were there (still wasn't too bad and we weren't bothered). We loved the fruit trees and helped ourselves to lots of citrus fruits even though we didn't know what they were. They were delicious! We also loved the white pineapples which were just ripening when we got there. We ate 4 of them!
The pantry was stocked with a lot of spices and that was helpful since we did a lot of cooking. There is a farmers market right around the corner once a week. Wonderful beaches and tidepools in the area. The internet connection was a huge plus. We were glad for the laundry facilities. The teen boys loved the loft 2nd bedroom.
The only reasons I didn't give this property an Excellent rating is because of the kitchen sink area, which needs replacing, and the furniture, which has white covers, was so damaged and dirty that I covered them with sheets so we could sit on them. Also, the wicker love seat out back was broken and dangerous.
Even with these few problems, I'd definitely stay here again and hope we do!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks for your feedback on some of the issues that weren't so nice. I've since addressed the issues on a visit to Pu'ulena house in August, 2011. The outdoor furniture has been reinforced and all seating is now solid. The cotton canvas covers, which were stained, but not dirty, have been re-bleached with excellent results. The sink has a corner of rust, which has been addressed. I plan to replace the sink on my next visit in December.

Thanks again, I am constantly improving Pu'ulena House, and seek to satisfy and delight each and everyone of my guests. Best Regards, Lisa
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Beautiful Private Kehena Retreat with Ocean Views~ Now with FAST Internet
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p288108
+1 808 938-0031
Kehena Puna District
New York, NY
5

Gorgeous home provides comfort, beauty and instant serenity!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 22, 2010
  • Stayed: Aug 2010
We only got stayed a few days but were instantly sorry that we were not there longer. The house is just as great as it looks in the photos and as soon as we walked in we started checking out all of its neat features. We were treated to some great surprises, such as gecko television (there's a window in the shower!), and watching the morning sunrise without having to leave the bed! The backyard features fruit trees and a beautiful ocean view. The house is also stocked with snorkel equipment, beach mats, and boogie boards. It's also a great location if you're planning on visiting the volcano, which we did, along with the Kapoho tide pools and Kehena's Black Sand Beach. We absolutely loved our stay here and really hope to return.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4