Reykjavik apartment rental - The apartment has a very high ceiling and is very bright and open
The apartment has a very high ceiling and is very bright and open
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps6
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 3 nights
 

Reykjavik Apartment Rental Photos and Description
1 bedroom - 2 sleeping areas - 2 bathrooms - kitchen - dining area - TV area

Lindo Penthouse is a beautiful fully furnished self catering penthouse apartment that sleeps 6 adults. It is perfectly located in the center of Reykjavik, in only 2 min. walking distance to the main shopping street and all main attractions, restaurants, bars, shops etc. but still in a quiet residential area.

Lindo Penthouse is fully equipped, 80 sqm. big (860 sqf.) with restaurants, cafes, cinemas, museums, galleries, clubs, transportation and shopping, all at your doorstep. A perfect accommodation to rent for a vacation or business, individuals, couples or families.

Summary:

1 bedroom - 1 mezzanine - 1 sleeping area - 2 bathrooms (1 in the basement) - TV area with sofa - fully equipped kitchen - dining area with a dining table for 6 - washing room in the basement with a private washing machine

I grew up in this house like my whole family of 6 siblings and my mother was also born in this house. In 1994 me and my wife bought the penthouse apartment in the house that my grandfather built most of but he was a carpenter and a house builder and we lived there for about 14 years.

When we moved to another house we didn't want to sell the apartment because we love it so much. Therefore we turned it into a holiday apartment which has turned out very nicely. We love meeting new people from all over the world and to be able to take part in their holiday in Iceland this way. We are very grateful for the opportunity to be able to still keep this beautiful apartment in the family and help travelers to stay in a cozy, bright and beautiful apartment which is perfectly located in the center during their stay in Reykjavik.

Sveinn purchased this apartment in 1994

Lindo Penthouse is quite large or about 80 sqm. and bright since it has lots of windows and has an exceptionally high ceiling. It fits families perfectly, especially with kids because they simply love the mezzanine.

The location is simply perfect. It takes you 2 minutes to walk to the main shopping street Laugavegur and from there it takes you about 7-10 minutes to walk to the center square Ingolfstorg which is located at the end of the main street. Even though the apartment is so close to everything it is still in a quiet residential area, two short blocks from the main street. Therefore you should be able to get a good nights sleep even on weekends which is rare in Reykjavik, even in the most expensive hotels.

The benefits of this apartment is how big it is since it easily fits families and groups of 6 and we can add a baby cot if you have a 7th. baby family member. And of course the location which is simply perfect, close to everything, the main street, the ocean and the center square but still in a quiet residential area.

11 Reviews of Property 287489 in Reykjavik, Iceland

A beautiful and spacious penthouse apartment in Reykjavik center - Free Internet
average rating of 4.7272725 based on 11 reviews
business
A beautiful and spacious penthouse apartment in Reykjavik center - Free Internet
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p287489
Reykjavik Iceland
Burnaby BC Canada
5

Great property and location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 19, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
The location of the property was perfect - near restaurants, sites and transit. The place was clean and roomy - lovely view of the water. The host Sveinn was prompt in answering our questions and we highly recommend his jeep tours.
Recommended for:  Tourists without a Car, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Hi again Mark and thank you so much for taking the time to write this wonderful review. I'm very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and our super jeep tours. It was such a pleasure meeting you all. Hopefully we get the chance to meet again someday. Until then, take care and continue to make good music. Warm regards from Iceland, Svenni.
business
A beautiful and spacious penthouse apartment in Reykjavik center - Free Internet
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p287489
Reykjavik Iceland
Texas
5

Great location and value

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 4, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
Our family of four spent a week in Reykjavik visiting friends. This apartment worked quite well for us, and the price is more than reasonable. Our teen and pre-teen daughters liked their loft space, and the darkening shades dimmed the apartment enough that they had no problem sleeping. The small amount of street noise wasn't an issue, either. No sound from the nearby bars and clubs - only random noise from pedestrians on the street outside the building.

We arrived during what sounded like a child's birthday party in the main house. We were hesitant to knock and interrupt, but we texted Sveinn, the owner. He met us outside and graciously helped us (well, me) cart our excessive luggage up the stairs. A brief tour of the apartment later and we were on our way. We didn't have any need to contact Sveinn during our stay.

The location is only a couple of short blocks from the main shopping street, allowing us to easily cover the entire downtown area on foot. I was a little concerned about the availability of street parking, but we had no problem at all finding free spots within a block (mostly less) of the door. A couple of grocery stores are within several blocks - perhaps a 10-minute walk.

We wouldn't hesitate to stay here again ourselves or recommend this place to our friends, as long as they didn't require the privacy of a second bedroom.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
A beautiful and spacious penthouse apartment in Reykjavik center - Free Internet
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p287489
Reykjavik Iceland
5

Lindo Appartment

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 22, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
First trip to Iceland and we could not have chosen better self catering accommodation in Reykjavik. Went for self catering in case we needed to spend time indoors due to bad weather - as it worked out we had no rain in 6 days. The location was excellent with all downtown bars, restaurants and other activities on your doorstep (including the 2011 Culture Night - fantastic). The appartment was clean, warm, bright and spacious with all required facilities. Comfortable beds sleep 4 easily and 6 at a pinch. Bathroom fine but there is also a super strong shower downstairs if required. Last, but cetainly not least, the appartment was excellent value for money and the owner was very personable and helpful. Very highly recommended.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Hi Mike and thank you very much for your kind words. It was a pleasure to meet you all, such happy people and pleasant to be around. I hope you come back someday so we can have a drink and a chat.

Cheers,
Svenni
business
A beautiful and spacious penthouse apartment in Reykjavik center - Free Internet
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p287489
Reykjavik Iceland
Reading, UK
5

Am unforgettable 30th Birthday :)

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 11, 2011
  • Stayed: Feb 2011
The location of this apartment is perfect. Just a few minutes walk into town. There was 5 adults on our trip and the apartment was the perfect size. It was very clean and have everything you need in there.

Sveinn (the owner) is not just an amazing owner of the apartment he was the perfect tour guide too. He was so knowledgeable and very welcoming. Recommended us places to go and visit and places to eat, he was very honest with everything. I would highly recommend the private 4x4 super jeep tour he also run, that was the best birthday I've had for a long time and the homemade lunch was just amazing.

I would highly recommend this apartment to all my friends and family who is thinking of going to Iceland and I will definitely go back and stay at Sveinn's apartment again.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Hi Cheuk and thank you very, very much for your kind words. I'm so glad you enjoy your stay in LINDO PENTHOUSE and of course our tour to Thorsmork on your birthday was so much fun. As always it's all about the people and you were such a great and fun group to be around that me and Anton (the other driver/guide) could easily forget that we were working : ) Here are some pictures and a video from the tour: http://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=129849320421289&set=a.127613477311540.24893.127590380647183&type=1&theater

I'm truly looking forward to meeting you next time around.

Give my best to the others,
Cheers,
Svenni
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
A beautiful and spacious penthouse apartment in Reykjavik center - Free Internet
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p287489
Reykjavik Iceland
Gothenburg
4

Excellent location

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 9, 2011
  • Stayed: May 2011
The Lindo Penthouse is located close to the central parts of Reykjavik. It take about 3 minutes to walk to the main street. It is easy to get to all the museums, shops and restaurant. It was easy to find a available parking spot for our car. The apartment was clean and have all the things you need. Don´t let the outside of the house fool you.The pictures of the apartment gives you an accurate description of the apartment. We where satisfied with our stay at the Lindo penthouse. Svienn was helpful and easy going. I would recommend this to a friend or colleague.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
A beautiful and spacious penthouse apartment in Reykjavik center - Free Internet
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p287489
Reykjavik Iceland
Gijón, Asturias, Spain
5

Perfect headquarters!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 8, 2011
  • Stayed: May 2011
We took a family/business trip for 10 days to Iceland and chose to stay at an appartment, since it was cheaper and more comfortable than a hotel (we were 5 adults and a 5 month old baby). Lindo penthouse looked great in the pictures and it really was beautiful in real life! Cozy, big, comfortable, sunny (when there was sun!) and quiet, even if it is right downtown Reykjavik. Perfect for relaxing after a day of working, hiking or driving around. And so close to everything that we could decide on the go if we wanted to go out for dinner or stay "at home". Plus, Sveinn was absolutely great, helpful and nice. We recommend Lindo Penthouse without a doubt (except to anyone with mobility problems, since the stairs to the penthouse are VERY steep)!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Hola Laura and thank you for your wonderful review. It was a pleasure to meet you and baby Tomas was so cute I still remember his beautiful smile. If you are ever in Iceland again, please feel free to contact me if you need any help or information. Give my best regards to everyone in the group and to beautiful Spain.

Sveinn
business
A beautiful and spacious penthouse apartment in Reykjavik center - Free Internet
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p287489
Reykjavik Iceland
Chicago, IL USA
5

winter escape to Iceland

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 25, 2011
  • Stayed: Jan 2011
Our stay at the Lindo Penthouse was absolutely wonderful. The apartment was bright, spacious and clean in a quite location with an amazing view of the water and mountains while also being just two short blocks off the main shopping street + downtown. It was great to be able to wake up and make breakfast before heading out to explore, something that is hard to do in a hotel! We also were in love with the large tub (it has a sprayer in case you were wondering), which was perfect after being out in the very strong winds all day.

Sveinn was great; he picked us up and dropped us off at the airport and gave us detailed instructions on how to find what we wanted to see from the apartment. He also provided a cell phone with his number and an emergency number programmed in which we thought was a nice touch.

Also, if you are staying at Lindo (or even if you're not) make sure to book a tour with Sveinn! We took the Golden Circle tour which was surreally beautiful, walked around on the Langjokull Glacier, and had homemade lamb and flatbread sandwiches with hot tea that Sveinn packed as a snack at the Kerid crater lake. We had such a fun time learning about Iceland and joking around, I can't imagine the bigger tour companies are as personable.

We can't wait to come back to Iceland and see the country in the summer, and we already know where we're staying. Thanks so much Sveinn!!
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
A beautiful and spacious penthouse apartment in Reykjavik center - Free Internet
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p287489
Reykjavik Iceland
Denmark
4

City center and small fjord view

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 19, 2010
  • Stayed: Oct 2010
Great atmosphere in the apartment - really cozy and with a fantastic light coming from all the windows. The location is perfect - right in the city center and still with a tiny view of the fjords, giving you that feeling of space and the ability to watch the ever changing weather fenomenon - absolutely beautiful now and then!
Professional and super friendly customer service.

I only missed a shower in the apartment (there is one though in the basement) instead of getting your daily wash sitting in a bathtub - but that`s only minor details. All in all a really nice experience, so I will definitely use this appartment in the future.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
A beautiful and spacious penthouse apartment in Reykjavik center - Free Internet
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p287489
Reykjavik Iceland
Jersey City, New Jersey USA
4

Spacious Apartment with awesome location

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 16, 2010
  • Stayed: Nov 2010
The Lindo apartment was a great place to stay during our Iceland vacation. It was charming and clean with comfortable beds and sofas, and lots of space for 4 adults. It had an open floor plan with 2 twin beds in the loft, a double in the bedroom, and a large sofa bed in the main living space (separate from the sofa in front of the tv). The bathroom was huge with a nice tub.
We had a fantastic view of the bay and the snow-capped mountains from the kitchen, dining room and living room area. Plus it’s located on a quiet street that was a very short walk to the main shopping area, bars, restaurants, museums, tourist information center, and the pond. The famous hotdog stand Baejarins Betzu is just down the hill across the large parking lot! The only downside was for us shower-loving people - the shower was all the way downstairs!
Sveinn(Svenni), the owner, was a great host. He made us feel instantly at home, and was kind enough to bring our bags up and down the apartment. The apartment is located on the top floor (3rd floor). Throughout the booking process and while we were there, he answered all our questions promptly and knowledgeably. He is honest and forthcoming. We had a fabulous time with him hunting for the northern lights on our 3rd night in Iceland.
I would certainly recommend this apartment to friends and family. I would also recommend the super jeep tours that Sveinn offers. It’s a one of a kind experience. He is a fun host with a wealth of information about Iceland.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
A beautiful and spacious penthouse apartment in Reykjavik center - Free Internet
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p287489
Reykjavik Iceland
CHASETOWN, STAFFORDSHIRE, UNITED KINGDOM
5

"Hooper family vacation"

"Hooper family vacation"
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 19, 2010
  • Stayed: Aug 2010
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in a quiet location but it was also very near to the Centre and supermarkets/restaurants ETC in town. The view from the kitchen window overlooked the sea and we were able to watch many ships pass by.

We travelled extensively whilst in Iceland covering a large part of the South-west area but our trip with Sveinn to the 'Naughty' Eyjafjallokull volcano proved very exciting.
We travelled through many fast flowing rivers with magnificent scenery all around and saw quite a few black sheep in the fields.

We also visited the blue lagoon and really enjoyed our afternoon swimming in the wonderfully warm water.

We hope to return some time in the future.
Owner's Response: I want to thank you for your wonderful review and say that I'm very glad that you decided to stay in LINDO PENTHOUSE on your vacation in Iceland because then I got the chance to meet you all.

I truly enjoyed all of our discussions about cars and travelling and of course our tour together to Thorsmork and Eyjafjallajokull and I'm looking forward to meeting you again someday soon. Best wishes from Iceland, Svenni.
Helpful votes: 2/2