Bonaire villa rental - The Bonaire Sunset Villa with the tropical garden.
The Bonaire Sunset Villa with the tropical garden.
 
  • Bedrooms5
  • Sleeps10
Minimum Stay nights
 

Bonaire Villa Rental Photos and Description
Villa, 5 Bedrooms, 5 Baths, (Sleeps 4 - 10)

The villa is build at a unique location on Bonaire with direct access to the ocean. A beautiful tropical garden, sundeck and porch make this a very nice place to relax and enjoy your holiday. It doesn't matter if you are with a group of divers, as a family or in a wedding group. During the day you can snorkel or dive the famous Bonaire reef right in front of the house. The sunsets are stunning to see.

Sunset Villa has five bedrooms. Every room has a safe, TV, refrigerator and air-conditioning. It has just recently been redecorated. After a busy day you can relax in the garden or in your room, take a nap, read a book, work on your tan or enjoy a lovely barbeque in the garden.

This villa is ideal for divers. From the bottom of the garden steps there is a natural pathway through the reef to the famous Cliff Dive. The house also has beautiful underwater pictures on the walls, all taken on Bonaire.

The house has been renovated with divers in mind. There are secured lockers with special hangers for dive gear, two rinse tanks and an outside shower. There is also a dive bench, easy to put on or take of your dive gear. On the same bench you also can store your air/nitrox tanks safely.

This is all easily accessible from the parking lot should you do a dive on any of the many other dive sites on Bonaire.

Keywords: direct access to the Caribbean sea, diving facilities, (wedding) groups, family's, alarm system, wifi.

More Details
Hide Details

In 2003 our friends and we visited Bonaire on holiday and fell in love with the island. In 2005, after several vacations on Bonaire, we had the opportunity to buy this villa at the seaside and we did. We immediately started to renovate the villa and upgraded it for divers. Two years later we packed our stuff in the Netherlands and left for Bonaire, for good. We bought a small house to live in ourselves, which provided us with the opportunity to keep the villa in premium condition for other people to enjoy.

The Owner purchased this villa in 2005

We bought this villa because we liked the view over de carribean sea from the first time we were standing in the garden of the villa. After all the renovation, which we knew we had to do, we could enjoy the sound in the early morning and the evening, rolling waves and nothing else. AMAZING.

The villa also has an alarmsystem to protect your valuable things.

Wifi to stay on contact with your family and friends and of course the social media.

Lately we have made an arrangement about using the swimmingpool of the Hamlet Oasis resort which is just behind us. Starting from now you can use the pool of the resort.

31 Reviews of Property 300299 in Bonaire

Seafront Villa with Beautiful Tropical Garden 4 - 10 Persons
average rating of 4.967742 based on 31 reviews
business
Seafront Villa with Beautiful Tropical Garden 4 - 10 Persons
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p300299vb
+599 786 8602 (Netherlands Antilles)
Bonaire Caribbean
Mount Pleasant, MI USA
5

Great Villa!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 17, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
First I would like to say that Lamber, the owner, was great to deal with in booking this villa and also very conscientious about returning emails promptly. Also, Lamber would go out of his way to make sure everything was perfect for your stay. We got to the villa late at night and Lamber had stocked the refrigerator with snacks, beer, wine, cheese etc and also supplies for breakfast the next day!
Our group of 10 adults stayed for 10 days. We all said we would come back to Sunset Villa if we came back to Bonaire.
The villa is set up great for 10 people with each bedroom having an ensuite bathroom. The kitchen is large enough for cooking meals and has lots of cupboards and counter space to work on. Even though the villa is great, it is the outdoor areas that make is superb! There are lots of gathering areas and 2 tables that seat 10 people, as well as a charcoal grill for outdoor cooking. We spent most of our time in the garden areas. There is also a swimming pool a short walk away (less then a minute walk) for cooling off. Also on the property are some lockers for hanging your snorkel or dive gear and also rinse tubs.
Our group are avid snorkelers and snorkeled many shore reefs around the island, but found the best reef to be right in front of the villa. There, we saw many octopuses, eels, turtles, rays and many other fish.
If you are considering going to Bonaire, you won't find a better place to stay than Sunset Villa!
business
Seafront Villa with Beautiful Tropical Garden 4 - 10 Persons
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p300299vb
+599 786 8602 (Netherlands Antilles)
Bonaire Caribbean
5

Beautiful villa, garden, location; gracious host

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 4, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
I don't often return to a vacation spot (there's so much of the world to see!) but I just might return to this waterfront gem. The ocean-front garden was beautifully landscaped and our family would congregate there in the late afternoons in anticipation of the gorgeous sunsets. The location is walking distance to Captain Don's, just far enough from town to be away from the hustle and bustle. And the dive/snorkel site "Cliff" is directly in front of the villa. We travelled with my parents and my 3 children, including a 4-year old who "snorkeled" on a raft with us. Beaches are somewhat hard to come by on Bonaire, but there is a sandy approach to the sea just a few villas over, which was much appreciated by my mother and daughter. But most able-bodied people will be able to traverse the pieces of coral that make up the shoreline in front of the villa without much difficulty.

Lamber was a gracious and accommodating host. He arranged our transport from the airport to the villa, where he met us upon our arrival to show us around, give us keys, etc. He even stocked the fridge for a wonderful breakfast - much appreciated after our red-eye flight. Lamber also arranged our car rentals for the week and had an agent deliver them directly to the villa. When the water stopped working briefly one afternoon (some work was being done to the main line down the road), Lamber was very responsive and was able to reassure us that it would be restored within the half hour.

The house itself is quite spacious and would be good for a family or group traveling together as each room has its own key. The kitchen appliances are all high-end and we made good use of the waterfront charcoal grill. My kids loved the pool and climbing the poolside palm trees. For divers, there is a shop where you can rent tanks, etc. right in the same development.

All bedrooms have airconditioning and ensuite bathrooms, save the one bedroom on the first floor, whose bathroom is just outside its door so it serves also as the main bathroom. Each bathroom has a shower, but no bathtub. There also is an outdoor shower, 2 dive gear wash tubs and a lockable outdoor closet for gear.

We also enjoyed a 1/2 day sail with Woodwind to Klein Bonair, which boasts some of the best shallow reef snorkeling in the world - a must do! Our favorite beach was Te Amo, just across from the airport: turtles, squid, octopus, tons of fish. Cliff also was excellent and we saw turtles, angelfish, butterflies, parrotfish ...
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Seafront Villa with Beautiful Tropical Garden 4 - 10 Persons
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p300299vb
+599 786 8602 (Netherlands Antilles)
Bonaire Caribbean
5

Totally Awesome!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 27, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
We were so excited to finally arrived at the Flamingo Airport in Bonaire on Sunday October 6th. Lambert was there with 2 trucks for the 5 of us to load our luggage and dive equipment! We followed him to the truck rental and rented 2 trucks. That's right, trucks rather than convertible cars!! We then followed Lambert to the Bonaire Sunset Villa. Wow!! It is breathtaking. So big and spacious and clean! Of course the view is spectacular. It is right on the beach. Totally awesome.
Lambert gave us a tour of the house -- so spacious we got lost after he left!! Each guest has their own key to their decorative bedroom with their own private bathroom. Nice!! The dive shop was within walking distance two doors down which was heaven. As soon as we unpacked we all walked down the stairs to the beach and snorkeled!! Lambert was generous with groceries including wine and our wonderful vacation began.
The accommodations are to die for. The kitchen is huge. There are so many dining options outside the villa but our favorite was the beautiful handmade dining table under the trellis overlooking the ocean with breathtaking views.
There were so many private diving locations that each day was a new experience. We so loved buying fresh tuna instead of splurging out for dinner about 3 different nights! The outdoor grill is a must for us and we put it to good use! The outdoor shower was divine. We stocked it with soap and shampoo since we were all using it every day after diving/snorkeling.
We highly recommend Bonaire Sunset Villa. We would return in a heartbeat. Thank you again Lambert!
Elaine and Lynn, Don and Cynthia and Bob! :) :)
business
Seafront Villa with Beautiful Tropical Garden 4 - 10 Persons
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p300299vb
+599 786 8602 (Netherlands Antilles)
Bonaire Caribbean
Atlanta, GA. USA
5

Perfect house for a diving vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 28, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
Upon arriving at the airport Lamb?rt had us picked up by a van that held all 6 guys and our luggage and dive gear. When we got to the villa Lamb?rt was there to great us with cold beer. He gave us a tour of the house and answered all of our questions. After that he showed up a few times during the week to drop stuff off and to talk about out stay. He genuinely cared about our satisfaction and did anything we asked of him.

The house was great. Six guys and five rooms-so two had to share. We couldn't figure out how to seperate the beds, but we also didn't ask him for help. After a long day of diving, the two friendsd crashed and didn't mind sharing a large bed, but we should have asked how to split them. All bedrooms were large and well lit. TV's and a safe and fridge in each. Clean and comfortable. There was plenty of room to find your own space, as long as you didn't mind fighting off mosquitoes. The view from the back sitting areas was great and we used every inch of the house. Trucks were deliverd to our house for getting around and while they got us where we were going, they were pretty worn out. The dive shop is around the corner and very convenient for getting more tanks.

Everyone on Bonaire was friendly and made us feel welcome. We cooked all but two nights in his modern kitchen, and the two nights we wend out we walked to our restaurant. Two rinse tanks were a great asset and it is set up very well for divers.

If I go back, I wouldnt take a chance on going anywhere else. It was a great week!!!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Seafront Villa with Beautiful Tropical Garden 4 - 10 Persons
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p300299vb
+599 786 8602 (Netherlands Antilles)
Bonaire Caribbean
Atlanta, GA. USA
5

Perfect house for a diving vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 28, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
Upon arriving at the airport Lamb?rt had us picked up by a van that held all 6 guys and our luggage and dive gear. When we got to the villa Lamb?rt was there to great us with cold beer. He gave us a tour of the house and answered all of our questions. After that he showed up a few times during the week to drop stuff off and to talk about out stay. He genuinely cared about our satisfaction and did anything we asked of him.

The house was great. Six guys and five rooms-so two had to share. We couldn't figure out how to seperate the beds, but we also didn't ask him for help. After a long day of diving, the two friendsd crashed and didn't mind sharing a large bed, but we should have asked how to split them. All bedrooms were large and well lit. TV's and a safe and fridge in each. Clean and comfortable. There was plenty of room to find your own space, as long as you didn't mind fighting off mosquitoes. The view from the back sitting areas was great and we used every inch of the house. Trucks were deliverd to our house for getting around and while they got us where we were going, they were pretty worn out. The dive shop is around the corner and very convenient for getting more tanks.

Everyone on Bonaire was friendly and made us feel welcome. We cooked all but two nights in his modern kitchen, and the two nights we wend out we walked to our restaurant. Two rinse tanks were a great asset and it is set up very well for divers.

If I go back, I wouldnt take a chance on going anywhere else. It was a great week!!!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Seafront Villa with Beautiful Tropical Garden 4 - 10 Persons
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p300299vb
+599 786 8602 (Netherlands Antilles)
Bonaire Caribbean
Moore, South Carolina
5

Diving with 5 friends

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 26, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
I just finished a wonderful week of diving with 5 friends. The Sunset Villa and the owner Lamber were terrific. From the minute we arrived until we left the owner checked in on us to make sure our stay was memorable. The villa was in excellent condition and well stocked with all the utensils needed to prepare all your meals if you desire. The diving amenities were top notch. We utilized the pool and found it very relaxing to enjoy a cocktail after a day of diving. You can't go wrong to stay here when you come to Bonaire.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Seafront Villa with Beautiful Tropical Garden 4 - 10 Persons
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p300299vb
+599 786 8602 (Netherlands Antilles)
Bonaire Caribbean
5

Sunset Villa Is A Great Place To Stay In Bonaire!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 26, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
Each year a group of guys and I go diving, and this year we went to Bonaire and rented Sunset Villa from Lambert. There were 6 of us, so two of the guys shared the downstairs bedroom, and the rest of us had a room to ourselves.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, and I would highly recommend renting this house from Lambert if you have anywhere near the right number of people. I'm not sure how small a group would be too small. He prices it by the person, so if in doubt, just ask Lamber!

The kitchen is nice and roomy and was recently remodeled and has a nice granite counter-top, under the counter lighting, etc. All of the modern kitchen appliances, all in great shape. We cooked most evening meals here and while I was not the one doing the cooking, it seemed that the guys that did cook had everything they needed.

One of the best things about renting this house is Lamber himself. He was VERY helpful via email all throughout the planning and booking phases, and he was provided all sorts of additional information about Bonaire, dive options, etc. We did, of course, pay for the rental, but the whole experience felt more like we were visiting a friend that happened to own the house and we were borrowing it from him.

The houses in The Hamlet, where this villa is located, are closer together than it looks in the pictures on the website. But that was no problem, and the way the housese are built, you get plenty of privacy from the adjacent properties.

Also, I remember when I was first looking at the pictures and description of this house, I was not 100% clear whether it was actually on the ocean or not. It definitely IS on the ocean. Not all houses in The Hamlet are. And that back patio is awesome; you have a million dollar view of the sunset each evening, and there is a large table you can enjoy your meals at, and there are I think 4 nice chaise lounges with nice comfortable pads to relax in as well. I spent a lot of time out there!

Since you are renting from an individual owner, you can choose to dive with any operator you want to. But just 200 feet or so away from this villa is one of I think 5 locations of Dive Friends, so we chose to use them. They were a great choice! Also, Lamber can make reservations for you at Dive Friends and get you a little discount on the cost of your diving (including boat dives), which we did.

Another cool thing about diving with Dive Friends that I learned during this trip (about the ONLY think Lamber did not think to tell me a
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Seafront Villa with Beautiful Tropical Garden 4 - 10 Persons
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p300299vb
+599 786 8602 (Netherlands Antilles)
Bonaire Caribbean
Harrogate, North Yorkshire. UK
5

Fantastic

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 6, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
Excellent, comfortable and well maintained property and garden - it has a really homely feel to it. The property has the use of a beautiful pool at the Hamlet Oasis which is opposite the house.
Lamber the owner is incredibly helpful, kind and welcoming and made sure we got the best out of our holiday.
From the back garden of the property you walk (about 10 seconds!) down to the dive site 'Cliff' which we found was one of the best on the island. We snorkeled and saw something new every day (always a riot of colour underwater), including turtles and enjoyed swimming up to Uncle Don's to watch the Tarpon.
The view from the property is amazing and the sunsets are spectacular. The garden is idyllic and has some shady spots for when you're not in the water.
A fantastic week enjoyed by all.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Seafront Villa with Beautiful Tropical Garden 4 - 10 Persons
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p300299vb
+599 786 8602 (Netherlands Antilles)
Bonaire Caribbean
Hickory, North Carolina
5

The Bonaire Sunset Villa and Lambèr are fantastic!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 12, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
Our group of 9 arrived at different times on Saturday, June 1, 2013. Lambèr made everything from our transportation from the airport to rental cars a breeze. He is an informative, accommodating and gracious host. I would highly recommend the villa and letting Lambèr handle many of your details.

The villa was well maintained and clean. What you see on the web is exactly what you get with the Bonaire Sunset Villa. You almost feel the need pinch yourself every time you walk out the back door. We really enjoyed our group dinners at the large table by the water. The sunsets are fantastic! The bedrooms all have air conditioning, so we were very comfortable. The main living area is not, but the breeze kept it from becoming too uncomfortable. We spent most of our time on the back porch and by the water. The landscaping gives everyone, even with a large group like ours, somewhere to relax.

The villa is also set up perfectly for divers. From the rinsing sinks to the tank bench/storage to The Dive Friends Shop (just around the corner) to the beautiful reef steps away.....it was great! I have never been on a dive trip where the diving is SO convenient.

Be prepared to become friends with the villa's permanent resident.... a large Iguana that lives near the stairs and trees that are back by the water. It was fantastic to see him hanging upside down on the trunk of a tree right next to my wife without her even seeing him. She got startled....to say the least and we all had a great laugh. The encounter didn't seem to phase "Iggy" (that's what the girls named him) at all.

The only negative comment I have about the whole week is about the mosquitoes. There were a couple of evenings when they were troubling, but nothing some repellent and the zappers provided by Lambèr couldn't handle. For some reason, there were a couple of people in our group that they liked more than the rest of us.

I highly recommend the Bonaire Sunset Villa for any large group going to Bonaire! You will be happy you did!

Let me take this last opportunity to thank Lambèr one more time....WE HAD A BLAST!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Seafront Villa with Beautiful Tropical Garden 4 - 10 Persons
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p300299vb
+599 786 8602 (Netherlands Antilles)
Bonaire Caribbean
5

A Fantastic Vacation at the Bonaire Sunset Villa

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 30, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
Our April visit to the Sunset Villa in Bonaire was all that we hoped it would be! The temperatures were in the 80's, the sky was blue and sunny, and the water was warm and filled with beautiful tropical fish right in the waters in front of the villa. My son and I enjoyed snorkeling around the nearby reefs; while my husband, daughter & her family, enjoyed the splendid scuba diving areas along the shoreline within short drives from the villa.
The Sunset Villa is ideal for a family rental with its five bright and airy bedrooms with lovely ocean views, its large kitchen to accommodate all of us preparing our breakfast and lunch, the outside grill for cooking our dinners, and the wonderful table under the arbor where we ate all of our meals enjoying the ocean view and breezes and sunsets. The outside closets, sinks, bench and shower, make preparing to scuba and rinse off afterwards, an easy process. Everything is so convenient and well laid out. Even the Dive Shop is only a short walk for rental of equipment and air tanks!
Our host, Lamber, was very helpful in getting us reacquainted with the villa, renting a truck for us, giving us a discount voucher for the Dive Shop and suggesting some wonderful nearby restaurants. This was our second visit to The Sunset Villa and we hope to return again next year! It offers everything we want in a vacation ~~ beautiful surroundings, tranquillity and easy access to all the things we want to do.

Marlene & Jack Smith
Plaistow, NH
Helpful votes: 1/1