Puerto Morelos house rental - Villa Mango Sunrise, view from beach
Villa Mango Sunrise, view from beach
 
  • Bedrooms5
  • Sleeps10
  • 4 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 5 - 7 nights
 

Puerto Morelos House Rental Photos and Description
5 bedrooms, 4.5 Baths, (Sleeps 10)

Completed in January 2010, this large home has everything you need to have a great vacationl! Hand-painted Mexican tile sinks set the traditional but tasteful Hacienda tone, along with lavish use of colorful tiles...some created uniquely for this home. Located 12 miles south of the Cancun airport on a quiet stretch of beach north of the fishing village of Puerto Morelos, the gorgeous ocean view from your covered terrace is bracketed by the piers of Desire Pearl Spa/Hotel and the national marine research center UNAM.

Plan your extended family vacation here or bring 3 other couples! You'll have two spacious master suites (one on the main level and one upstairs) with king beds, plus enough room for a crib or rollaway for a small child. The 3rd bedroom has a King bed and 4th bedroom has twin beds that can be made into king and also has a trundle to accommodate more children. A 5th bedroom with its own bath/shower on the first floor is equipped with twin beds that can be made up as king and functions as a 'lock-off' for smaller families but is included in pricing for groups of 8 or more.

We have a Pack & Play-type baby crib and a roll-away, plus 2 trundles w.thick pad to give flexibility to your sleeping arrangements. All 4 bedrooms have space for these additional sleeping accommodations.

A local artist created gorgeous Stained-glass entry murals to enhance the curved brick Mexican traditional boveda hallway. The kitchen features granite countertops and lots of space. A GE Profile dishwasher, garbage disposal and double-sink head the owner's list of favorite amenities, matched by the GE Profile double-door refrigerator with ice-maker connected to a bottled water system. A GE Proflie microwave, Bosch glass cooktop, TEKA gas oven and the custom range hood with powerful extractor fan complete the kitchen luxuries...but you don't want to miss out on activities while in the kitchen, so the open divider bar lets you take part in the pool and beach activities. Watch the waves roll over the reef while you prepare dinner. If you don't want to cook, there are several local catering services and plenty of restaurants around the town square.

Keywords: beachfront, villa, house, large, sleeps 10, Puerto Morelos, beach, luxury home, private lot,

More Details
Hide Details

We're Charles & Lucy, 'Los Ancianos' (elderly ones) as the plaque made as a joke says beside our front gate. Our gray/white hair (and children with gray hair!) says it all, anyway. We met 30 years ago while working in Saudi Arabia, then moved to England, so living overseas was nothing new to us. Originally from Louisiana & Tennessee, Colorado has been our home for almost 26 years at 7500 ft. elevation. Following Charles' early retirement from Mobil Oil, we have worked at running successful real estate companies and alpaca ranching in Colorado. Purchasing our first Puerto Morelos condo sight unseen in 1995, we spent occasional weeks here, wishing always that we could stay longer. After selling our real estate business, we were able to stretch the weeks to a month and then several months. Feeling the need for more space than our condo could provide and wanting bedrooms to accommodate more visitors (our 7 adult children and their families, in particular), we designed a colorful 'dream' house to fit the tiny beachfront lots in the Puerto Morelos area. Charles, early riser that he is, fell in love with the bright sunrises over the ocean. I called the bright gold and peach colors 'his mango sunrises' and when it came time to pick colors and name for our Mexico house, we decided on Villa Mango Sunrise. Now we can enjoy them from our own terrace!

Lucy H. Farrar purchased this house in 2010

We bought a condo in Puerto Morelos since 1995 and have enjoyed the town since then. It has quaint charm, friendly people and the beach is fantastic. In retirement, with more time to spend in Mexico, we looked for beach lots up and down the coast from Cancun to Tulum and finally located the lot of our dreams right under our nose: 2 lots down from our condo at Costa Blanca. Getting clear title to the land in 2008, we located a builder and finalized plans in December, preparing to begin construction in early 2009. When our builder, Josh Shulz, said the house would be done by December, we laughed! 'It's Mexico, you know, so what year?' But it all happened in 2009: good weather, with no hurricanes, and a crew that worked steadily as planned...and by December it was ready for a test rental over holidays, complete with tree! We lived in it for 3 months in early 2010 and got the kinks out, so it was in excellent shape for rentals starting in April 2010.

Our seven adult children and their families enjoy a wide range of activities: some are divers and find the reef incredible at Puerto Morelos; others snorkel, tour ruins at Tulum, Chichenitza and Coba, try out the jungle zip line just south of PM, or simply veg out in the hot tub and the loungers around the pool. In our 70's, our chief enjoyment is walking the beach, having lunch or dinner at our favorite restaurants, playing with grandchildren and relaxing in general. Puerto Morelos has a more laid-back environment than Cancun or Playa del Carmen, which we truly enjoy.

5 Reviews of Property 287078 in Puerto Morelos, Yucatan / Mayan Riviera

Luxury Beachfront Home with Modern Conveniences
average rating of 5.0 based on 5 reviews
business
Luxury Beachfront Home with Modern Conveniences
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p287078vb
(719) 488-0986 (Colorado, USA)
Puerto Morelos Quintana Roo
5

AMAZING

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 24, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
We spent New Years with another family at Villa Mango and could not have been more pleased. The house is beautiful, the pictures don't really even do it justice and it was a perfect vacation spot for two families with kids. Lucy and Angie were so accommodating and easy to work with. I would highly recommend this house to anyone!!!!
Recommended for:  Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Luxury Beachfront Home with Modern Conveniences
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p287078vb
(719) 488-0986 (Colorado, USA)
Puerto Morelos Quintana Roo
5

Beautiful !!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 15, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
Our stay at Villia Mango Sunrise was wonderful! We enjoyed the spacious house with two other couples. Enought room for all and very private. We enjoyed dinner on the patio and grilled out every night. Short walk into town market. Enjoyed the boat taxi for the trip back to the house. Friendly natives. Highly recommend for families or couples! Thanks for a lovely home to stay in!! Erica Fields
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Luxury Beachfront Home with Modern Conveniences
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p287078vb
(719) 488-0986 (Colorado, USA)
Puerto Morelos Quintana Roo
Monterrey, N.L. México
5

GREAT FAMILY VACATION TIME!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 5, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
Our time at Mango Sunrise was Great!!! We really enjoyed the house... the view from the pool, terrace, from every window... Everything was perfect!!! The house had EVERYTHING we needed. We fell in love with the house.
Armando is a nice person and he help us to have the beach, pool and garden in excelent conditions everyday. Puerto Morelos is a perfect place to have some action and rest a lot. We really appreciate the time we spend there. We enjoyed the Cenote ride, go fishing, dinner at town, Xcaret, etc. We didn´t want to live.
We truly hope that you'll allow us to stay in Mango Sunrise again soon.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
Luxury Beachfront Home with Modern Conveniences
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p287078vb
(719) 488-0986 (Colorado, USA)
Puerto Morelos Quintana Roo
Lubbock, Texas USA
5

Wonderful stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 11, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2011
Mango Sunrise was perfect for our family of 7 including 2 grandsons, 1 & 2 years old. The home is in brand new condition and top notch construction in every way. The kitchen had every gadget you could want, the TV had Dish network from back home and the beds were just right. My wife wanted to buy the place from the moment she laid eyes on it!

We watched our grandsons swim in the pool with the ocean in the background while sipping on a cold one...it don't get much better than that.

The location was ideal, about a 20 minute stroll along a beautiful beach into the quaint fishing village of Puerto Morelos with shopping and lots of very good restaurants. The town square has a nice playground with swings and slides that the boys really enjoyed. The town of Puerto Morelos is like Mayberry in Mexico; everyone seems to know each other, the streets feel very safe and everyone you run into is friendly.

Lucy was a pleasure to do business with and everything was just as described in the listing. We would stay here again without hesitation.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children
business
Luxury Beachfront Home with Modern Conveniences
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p287078vb
(719) 488-0986 (Colorado, USA)
Puerto Morelos Quintana Roo
Aurora
5

No More All-Inclusive for us!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 28, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2011
Lucy & Charles,

We just returned from staying a week in your fabulous home. We've stayed in week-long all-inclusives every June for ten years, and took a "chance" at Villa Mango Sunrise this year instead. We regret wasting our money and time for all those years. By hiring Pilar to cook for us and staying in your truly wonderful home provided a vacation that was the end-all. Your recommendation to hire Pilar was spot on! She was an absolute delight, her food was magnificent, and our children loved her. We consider her a friend. I'm not sure how we could ever come close to matching this experience! Thank You!!

I tried and tried to find a prettier house in the Puerto Morelos area, including the mayor's place across the street, but could not. It is the prettiest house in town. Even the folks walking on the beach would look and point. "That place looks really nice." they'd say...

From the magnificent tile entry to the superior layout of the home, the wonderful pool and beach access, the water and ice dispenser from bottled water, the wi-fi and the really cool satellite TVs to the well kept grounds, the upstairs hammock and the sea kayak, this place rocks! For us, trading the constant bomp...bomp...bomp of the AI entertainment staff for the absolute solitude and quiet of Villa Mango Sunrise - for the first time - made us truthfully not want to leave. Even though a tropical depression hit us on the last day of our trip, my family had to rip my arthritic fingers from the door jambs and load me into the car to come home.

I truly hope that you'll allow us to stay here again.

- Rick
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers
Helpful votes: 4/4