Kailua Kona condo rental - Entry way
Entry way
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps4
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 30 nights
 

Kailua Kona Condo Rental Photos and Description
Condo, 1 Bedroom + Loft, 1 Bath, (Sleeps 4)

Recently renovated and refurbished in January 2014, this nice top floor unit offers you a great view of the beautiful South Kona Coast and Hualalai Mountain.

The loft provides a private sleeping area with a double bed and an open office space overlooking the living room. For your comfort, you will find in the living room a rocker/ recliner chair as well as a sofa with two recliner seats. The entertainment center is equipped with a flat screen TV, DVD/VCR, CD/stereo player that is i-Pod ready. The one bathroom has a large shower unit with two seats and is accessible only through the master bedroom. A small utility room houses the washer/dryer. The kitchen is well equipped for all your culinary skills. Dining is available indoors or outdoors on your private lanai facing south. You may also choose to dine on the common lanai as you enjoy the sun setting on this beautiful tropical west coast.

Common areas also include a big parking lot, swimming pool with shower and bathroom, as well as a BBQ area.

Our condo at the Royal Kailuan offers you a quiet place for relaxation with a local flare.

Keywords: Condominium

More Details
Hide Details

Kona is a special place for us because it is where we met and got married! We love the local lifestyle, the weather, the beach, the ocean, sipping a glass of wine as we watch the sunset and keep an eye open for the famous green flash :) We also love watching the Humpback whales in the winter months.

Jackie Fulgham purchased this condo in 2001

We love our place because it is on the outskirt of town. Swimming and snorkeling beaches are within ten to twenty minute drive and it is only a ten minute walk from Coconut Grove where there is dining, shopping and night life. We also like the fact that it is very quiet at night and it is nice to sit on the lanai for conversation. We can watch people parasailing every morning as we enjoy breakfast outside and occasionally spot some whales and dolphins!

Great view from our lanai! You will find that there is a nice air flow coming through due to the trade winds. Another fun thing to do is to walk to Lava Java, enjoy a great cup of Kona Coffee by the water before walking to the Farmer's market which is open Wednesdays through Sundays. Huggo's by the Rocks also offers you happy hour every day from 3pm-6pm. It is a great deal, $3.00 a drink as well as pupus (appetizers) as you enjoy the sunset and entertainment. All of this within ten minute walk!

15 Reviews of Property 286653 in Kailua Kona, Hawaii

Quiet and Local Condo Getaway with Ocean View
average rating of 4.8 based on 15 reviews
business
Quiet and Local Condo Getaway with Ocean View
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p286653vbi
(707) 822-5600 (California, USA)
Kailua Kona Kona Coast
4

Kim

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 22, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
We stayed for a month at Royal Kailuan. The property may not be the most modern but the condo is well kept, clean and well maintained. It is furnished and cared for as a home rather than just a rental property, and the owners treated us as visiting family too- giving helpful tips and local knowledge on what to do.The position was well suited for us - close to but not quite in the middle of everything, and only a short stroll to Coconut Grove and Ali'i Drive. The kitchen - galley style- has every accessory needed- and maybe more. The downstairs bedroom is spacious, and great to have an onsite laundry. The stairs to the loft are steep, and there is no room to move around the bed, but the loft provided a bit of a retreat for our teenage daughter to do a bit of schoolwork and escape the adults.
We were there for ironman, had a great time and would definately do it again, and stay here again too.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review. I truly appreciate when people take the time to do this since it may help the next person to have an idea of our place. Your description of the loft is quite accurate :0) and is the reason why it is more suitable for teenagers or pre-teen. Glad to hear it worked out well for your family and would be happy to have you as returning guests!
business
Quiet and Local Condo Getaway with Ocean View
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p286653vbi
(707) 822-5600 (California, USA)
Kailua Kona Kona Coast
San Francisco, CA
5

Great Condo

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 4, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
Nice location in walking distance to dining and shopping along Alii Drive. Convenient to parks and beaches-you do need a car to get to the surf spots. Kitchen is stocked with everything you could possibly need. It's quiet and comfortable with a nice mix of age groups in the complex, from young students to us seniors. A number of CD's and DVD's are provided for those nights you want to spend an evening in. The unit is nicely decorated and comfortable. The office area in the loft was useful to me; printer/scanner/copier came in handy several times. WiFi connection is DSL so don't expect to watch movies online. The stairs/ladder to the loft provides a chance to work off the calories you pack in without having to go to the gym. The unit is adjacent to empty fields so there is privacy, although the light on the lanai will attract bugs at night; it's a great place for morning coffee. The deck overlooking the pool is a great place to enjoy the sunset. I didn't use the pool because: you've got the whole Pacific ocean! (But it is a nice pool.) There are a couple of boogie boards and some beach chairs for you to use. Appliances are relatively new and work well. Restaurants - Bongo Bens, Big Island Grill, Quinn's, Jackie Ray's, Huggo's, Bite Me Fish Market. Comfort food- L&L, any of the local Deli's, KTA. Tours- I think the Body Glove Dinner cruise is well worth the money. If you get up to Waimea check out the "Hawaiian Style Cafe" - 6am to 2pm. Coffee & pastries- Lava Java or Kope Lani. Beware: you will gain weight during your stay in Kona!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Mahalo for the great review! Sounds like you had a great time in Kona and I am happy to hear that someone has finally seen the "positive side" of the stairs to the loft :0)
business
Quiet and Local Condo Getaway with Ocean View
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p286653vbi
(707) 822-5600 (California, USA)
Kailua Kona Kona Coast
United States
5

Wonderful Property!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 13, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
We would recommend this property to everyone! It was immatulate! The rental offered anything you would need including kitchen full of appliances, dishes, pots and pans. A Bath of fluffy towels, a bedroom of nice, comfortable bedding,a living room with recliners, flat screen TV, stereo and books if you needed them. This property is close enough to the town of Kona to walk. The patio,kitchen and livingroom have a wide water view to enjoy also. We didn't use the pool but the area was clean.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you! I enjoyed reading your review :) Very happy our place met your expectations and that you enjoyed it...
business
Quiet and Local Condo Getaway with Ocean View
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p286653vbi
(707) 822-5600 (California, USA)
Kailua Kona Kona Coast
Allen, TX
5

Excellent Place

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 1, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
My wife and daughter spent 6 days in Kona during Thanksgiving holidays. The condo was perfect for us and it accurately reflected listing description. Condo was clean and well equipped. My daughter loved the loft area..Jackie even provided beach towels, chairs, boogie board. It is close to all the grocery shopping and restaurants. For early morning breakfast, you can sit on the lanai and enjoy the view of the ocean. Condo has internet access and parking was not an issue for us. We will definitely recommend this condo and consider this property again. Only drawback, if you plan to spend whole day inside the condo, is that condo might get really hot since there is no A/C. However, it is much cooler during night time and fans provided in the condo are more than enough to get a good night's sleep.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Glad to know you have enjoyed your stay! I really try to anticipate and provide what my guests may need for their vacation. It is always nice to hear when it is appreciated :) Putting the blinds down in the kitchen and especially the solar one on the lanai truly helps keeping the condo cooler during the day. Leaving the ceiling fans on to move the air around also helps... Mahalo for the positive review!!!
business
Quiet and Local Condo Getaway with Ocean View
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p286653vbi
(707) 822-5600 (California, USA)
Kailua Kona Kona Coast
Kristiansand, Norway
5

A wonderful place ...

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 3, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
My wife and I spent 5 weeks in Hawai'i during the summer 2012. We'd been in Kona before - and just had to come back! We were so happy to find the "Jackie Condo" available for us. And what a delight! The condo suited our needs perfectly. We felt at home from the first moment. There were welcome flowers (and a box of chocolate!) on the table - along with a personal welcome greeting from the hostess. Thank you so much, Jackie.

Our youngest daughter (16) attended a YWAM summer camp during those days. She, and a friend, came to live with us in the condo for a number of days. The queen bed in the loft was just the right size for good friends. Although the condo is ideal for a couple, and very suitable for a company of three, we faced no problems during the two weeks with four people living there. [OK, maybe there was some waiting time for the bathroom facilities (you know, with two teenage girls there), but good friends grant each other some flexibility, right?]

We toured the island with our wonderful Jeep Wrangler 4WD rental car, and visited Mauna Kea, the volcano, and all the other "must-see" places on the Big Island. We even took a weekend tour to Oahu and explored "the small island".

On a scale from 1 to 100, our time in Hawai'i was at least 98. This great score is partly because of the most wonderful housing arrangement that we could have hoped for...

Again, Jackie - THANKS!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Always happy to know that our place feels like your home away from home :0) Thank you for the great review!
business
Quiet and Local Condo Getaway with Ocean View
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p286653vbi
(707) 822-5600 (California, USA)
Kailua Kona Kona Coast
Sacramento
4

Great place!

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 6, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
This place is right next to everything! My husband and I walked to the strip almost everyday. We would definitely stay here again.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and would consider coming back. Thank you for the good review and for letting others know about the great location of our condo!
business
Quiet and Local Condo Getaway with Ocean View
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p286653vbi
(707) 822-5600 (California, USA)
Kailua Kona Kona Coast
SF,CALIF, USA
5

wonderful week on the Big Island

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 2, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
The condo is close to the center of Kailua-Kona via a short walk or by car. All of the things you need for living, cooking and for the beach are at the condo. Perfect accommodations for two to three persons. Shopping for all your cooking and beach needs are a short drive away, as well as easy access to snorkeling at Kahuluu Beach, to Keahou Bay, and the coffee farms in South Kona. Quiet hours are observed at the condo complex, which is perfect for those who enjoy peace and quiet.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you John for posting this nice review. The location, quiet hours and the view are major reasons why my husband and I love our place so much :) We are glad that you did too. We try to anticipate the need of our renters and are very pleased when we hear about the great time you had and that everything was satisfactory.
business
Quiet and Local Condo Getaway with Ocean View
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p286653vbi
(707) 822-5600 (California, USA)
Kailua Kona Kona Coast
Stony Plain,Alberta,Canada
5

Our Kona vacation.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 1, 2012
  • Stayed: Feb 2012
We enjoyed 4 weeks on the Big Island expolring and relaxing. Our stay in Kona at the Royal Kailuan was very enjoyable and we were very satisfied with the condo. Jackie the owner was very helpful and easy to work with.The location in Kona was great for our needs and the ocean views were excellent. The condo has been well kept,was very well equipped and had all the ammenities of home. We did however miss having internet access and not knowing if the visitor parking would be available after returning home from a long day did cause some anguish.

Looking forward to our next Hawaiian vacation.

Murray and Jane
Owner's Response: Thank you for your input, your feedback is important to me as well as future renters. I can appreciate that not having the internet right at your disposition can be a negative for some. For others, it is refreshing :) I am still debating about adding that feature... I must weigh the pros and cons. I am sorry that the parking situation cause you some stress, not what we want while on vacation! There is quite a few visitor's parking stalls and it never has been a problem before. I will make sure to pay close attention to that situation on my upcoming trip. I am glad you had a nice vacation and hope you will be a returning customer! Aloha.
business
Quiet and Local Condo Getaway with Ocean View
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p286653vbi
(707) 822-5600 (California, USA)
Kailua Kona Kona Coast
Klamath Falls, Oregon
5

Royal Kailuan Condo

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 28, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
Immaculate well appointed condo. The spirit of E Komo Mai abounded. Wonderful place to relax and enjoy all the beauty of Hawaii. Everything we needed to make this our best trip to the islands. Thank you Jackie for sharing your home with us. We will definitely return! Mahalo and Aloha!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers
Owner's Response: Thank you very much for the review. It is important to us that our guests feel at home right away and just enjoy their time in Hawaii. We are very pleased that you were able to do so! Would love to have you as returning guests.
business
Quiet and Local Condo Getaway with Ocean View
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p286653vbi
(707) 822-5600 (California, USA)
Kailua Kona Kona Coast
Ontario, Canada
5

Three week stay - November 24 to December 15, 2011

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 3, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2011
My wife and I just returned home after three wonderful weeks at this condo. We really can't say enough good things about it. It is not right at the oceanside, but it does have excellent views from the lanaii. As for the condo itself, it was equal to or better than the listing description in all cases. There is almost everything in the condo you could possibly need for a wonderful vacation; beach towel, mats and chairs, binoculars, tons of books, videos, etc., etc. My wife and I like hiking, snorkelling, exploring, etc. so we asked the owner, Jackie, for some recomendations on things to do. By following her list we managed to have three full weeks of memorable adventures doing something different almost every day, although we did revisit a few spots that we had really enjoyed. We have stayed at many condos listed on the VRBO website. All of them have been good, but this one has to rate as the best; especially for the service and value we received. We have recommended this condo to our friends and family. Thanks for letting us share your home.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: "Mahalo nui loa" as we would say in Hawaii :)
It is always fun to have visitors that truly enjoy the islands!!!
I appreciate your wonderful comments and am very pleased that you loved our condo and your time here in beautiful Hawaii. Hope you will visit again...
Helpful votes: 0/1