Lajitas lodge rental - Terlingua House, Your Own Big Bend Lodge!
Terlingua House, Your Own Big Bend Lodge!
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps8
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Lajitas Lodge Rental Photos and Description
Lodge, 3 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2 Baths, (Sleeps 8)

Terlingua House is located in the heart of the desert mountain country of West Texas. For the price of a nice single hotel room, this unique guesthouse is like having your own personal lodge for your trip. It is a three-bedroom, two-bath, adobe-style property located two miles west of Terlingua, Texas between Big Bend National Park and Big Bend Ranch State Park.

This safe and secure 15 acre, semi-secluded property with easy access, has a grand view of the Chisos Mountains of Big Bend National Park while still being only minutes away from restaurants and local river rafting, hiking, biking and jeep tour outfitters.

Pricing is based on two factors: (1) occupancy - how many of you there are; and (2) season - the time of year. For 6 or more people during high season this runs about $50 per person per night before taxes. For 4 people it is under $75 per person per night. Please see specials below for discounted pricing.

The base price for Terlingua House is $245/night with a two-night minimum for up to 6 people. For groups over 6 add $45 per night for each additional person 10 years old and older. There is an additional one time cleaning and restocking fee of $100 up to 6 plus $15 for each additional occupant. This includes all three bedrooms and the kitchen. Chili Cookoff week (first week in November) is $300/night base price with a 5-night minimum. This is a little over $50 per person per night for 6 before taxes. Sorry, no pets, horses, firearms or ATV's.

Specials:

One Free Night: In January, after the New Year's Holiday, February, May, June & July with every two-night rental, you get one night free. This equates to about $33 per person per night for groups of 6 or more and about $50 per person per night for 4 people - all before taxes.

Two Free Nights: In August, September and the first two weeks of December for every two nights you rent, you get two nights free. For 6 or more this is about $25/person per night. For 4 people it is under $40/person per night, again all before taxes.

For exact pricing and reservations please call. Reservations more than a year in advance are always welcome.

Please visit our Availability Calendar (link to the right) and Web Site at TerlinguaHouse for more information. When ready to make reservations please call 325-473-4400. Normal business hours is prefered.

Go and enjoy!

Keywords: Private Lodging House (Guest House)

More Details
Hide Details

Texas' desert southwest is a remarkable landscape.

10 Reviews of Property 28658 in Lajitas, Texas

Big Bend Area's Original Guesthouse (Terlingua House)
average rating of 4.1 based on 10 reviews
business
Big Bend Area's Original Guesthouse (Terlingua House)
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p28658vbi
(325) 473-4400 (Texas, USA)
Lajitas Big Bend
Houston, TX
4

Another great stay at Terlingua House!

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 24, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
Our family just enjoyed spending another wonderful spring break at Terlingua House - this was our third stay visiting since 2006. I think this property and a visit to Terlingua and Big Bend country is all about expectations... we camped outside the park the first couple of times we visited this area and while rustic and down to earth - we wanted more comfort. After our first stay at Terlingua House, we felt as if we were Brewster County royalty. It's private and quiet (when cars aren't passing along the highway below). It's ideal if traveling with a couple of families or extended family as there are three separate sleeping areas with a semi-connecting bath (2 baths total). The drive to BBNP is a breeze, the ghost town is just a couple of miles down the road and Lajitas is a short drive west. The owner has acknowledged that there are some areas for improvement and they are being implemented but, in our opinion, any minor inconveniences are far outweighed by the many pluses this property has to offer... walk up the slope and take in the sunrise over the Chisos, have a beverage on the deck above the patio at the end of the day, make a small camp fire in the rock ringed fire pit next to the studio. We really treasure Terlingua House for its simplicity and enduring desert charm. Thanks also to the house manager, John, who stopped by a couple of times during our visit to help us with some minor incidentals. Christmas wish... a light over the sink in the kitchen.
Recommended for:  Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Big Bend Area's Original Guesthouse (Terlingua House)
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p28658vbi
(325) 473-4400 (Texas, USA)
Lajitas Big Bend
COLDSPRING, TX USA
1

UNSAFE, VERY REMOTE, UNCOMFORTABLE

  • 1 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 9, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
A LANDLORD SHOULD PROVIDE A TENANT WITH REASONABLE SECURITY WHEN RENTING A RESIDENCE. TERLINGUA HOUSE IS ON A VERY RURAL ROAD, UNMARKED AND DIFFICULT TO FIND. THERE ARE NO SECURITY GATES SURROUNDING THIS PROPERTY NOR ARE THERE ANY STURDY LOCKS ON ANY OF THE DOORS AND NO EXTRA BOLTS TO MAKE TENANTS FEEL SECURE AT NIGHT IN THE OUTDOOR BEDROOMS IN SUCH A REMOTE LOCATION.
NO ONE GREETED US UPON ARRIVAL FOR "CHECK IN". THERE IS NO PRINTED INSTRUCTION MATERIAL FOR THE HEATERS IN THE BATHROOMS WHICH WERE NON-OPERATIONAL THE FIRST NIGHT IN LESS THAN 30 DEGREE WEATHER. THERE IS ONLY ONE INTERIOR BATHROOM; THE OTHER ONE IS LOCATED OUTSIDE WITH TWO UNLOCKED DOORS, THE HORRIBLE TUB HAS MOLDY, RUSTY PIPES WITH A NASTY SHOWER, PLUS THERE IS CRUMBLING PLASTER ON ONE WALL. NO TOWEL RACKS ARE IN EITHER BATHROOM, NO WASTEBASKETS IN OUTDOOR BATHROOM AND ONE BEDROOM. THEY LIST 2 BATHROOMS ON THEIR WEBSITE; HOWEVER, WHAT THEY FAIL TO MENTION IS THAT ONE IS ONLY ACCESSIBLE FROM OUTDOORS. AND, THAT SINGLE BATHROOM FUNCTIONS AS THE ONLY ONE FOR POSSIBLY 10 PEOPLE IF ONE INCLUDES THE TWO OUTSIDE BEDROOMS AND 2 BEDS INSIDE THE KITCHEN. GUESTS ARE REQUIRED TO HAUL TRASH DOWN A HILL TO A DUMPSTER. THE SO-CALLED LINENS ARE RAGGED, TORN, MISMATCHED, UNACCEPTABLE AND SCRATCHY. THE OUTDOOR FURNITURE IS DIRTY & THE GREEN IRON CHAIRS/TABLE ARE RUSTY AND DIRTY. ONE OF THE CHAIRS WAS BROKEN WHICH MADE IT VERY UNCOMFORTABLE TO SIT AND ENJOY A MEAL OUTDOORS. THE TERRAIN AND SURROUNDING VIEWS ARE RUGGEDLY BEAUTIFUL; HOWEVER, THE LACK OF SECURITY MAKES THE AREA UNSAFE TO ENJOY ESPECIALLY AT NIGHT.
Recommended for:  Sightseeing
Owner's Response: This rental ended with us charging the renter extra for leaving the property littered with used feminine products and dental floss. It was not pretty. We are pushing 1000 rentals with many of our guests repeat customers. We have two independent heating systems, electricity and propane. The propane is basically used as a backup system now, the electric heaters work fine. In this case the propane tank had been filled just before they arrived. Our propane supplier turned off the tank while filling the tank then failed to turn it back on. Although the electricity and electric heaters were working, these folks wanted the propane heater running, it failed due to the supplier leaving the main valve off. It is unfortunate that it happened but no one was in danger of sleeping in the cold. Over the past 10 years we have continued to make improvements, variable towels has been a consequence, as recollection serves, there is both green and brown towels, they are good towels. Building construction and design is unique. About half of the property is built of true adobe - mud bricks formed by hand and stacked individually then covered in stucco. Not just the design but the actual construction is consistent with ancient building methods dating back thousands of years. A couple of consequences are exposed pipes and clay swelling. The shower pipes can't be run in the adobe walls so they are exposed on the inside. The pipes are copper and copper tarnishes. At two of the joints there was tarnishing, I think we got that wiped down pretty good. When adobe clays are exposed to water, like around a shower, they tend to absorb the water and swell. This micro swelling has the consequence of causing the paint to peel. And there was at least two square inches of peeling paint. That was adequately cleaned up also. As to security with regard to the shared bathroom, we don't split the property up with different guests. When you rent Terlingua House, you rent the whole property, you are not sharing with anyone you didn't come with. No one has broken the bathroom latch in 10 years. Big Bend, Terlingua (physiography and culture) and this house are all unique. It isn't the Anatole in Dallas nor is it meant to be but for 10 years we have addressed every issue that has arisen, some are easy, some not so, easy but we persist. In the case of this renter we had at least 15 phone calls plus extra trips to the house to try to accommodate their needs. We were thanked with a disgusting mess to clean
Helpful votes: 2/3
business
Big Bend Area's Original Guesthouse (Terlingua House)
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p28658vbi
(325) 473-4400 (Texas, USA)
Lajitas Big Bend
5

Great Thanksgiving stay in the Heart of Big Bend Country!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 1, 2014
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
Terlingua house was a great place to host our family Thanksgiving! The house is in a great location just South of Terlingua Ghost town and North of Lajitas. This provides great access to Big Bend State Park and the beautiful drive along the Rio Grande and 2 minutes from Ghost town and 20 min from the entrance to the Nataional Park. The three separate bedrooms had plenty of cozy furnishings and room for all. The kitchen was a comfortable gathering place for dinner and Thanksgiving dinner. The fire pit offered a fun outdoor gathering area. The property managers also provided great service. I would highly recommend for a family getaway.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Big Bend Area's Original Guesthouse (Terlingua House)
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p28658vbi
(325) 473-4400 (Texas, USA)
Lajitas Big Bend
Brenham
4

Terlingua house 4 night stay

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 7, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
We had a good time and visit. Great views and weather. The house could use a good cleaning. Very dusty in areas. Pest control needed as well. We had a mouse eat an IPhone case and ants in the kitchen. The stove/oven is too small for a kitchen that size. It works well, we made bread, cakes and cinnamon rolls
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing
Owner's Response: Thank you for bringing the dusty areas and the mouse to our attention. We immediately alerted our cleaner. While we strive to keep Terlingua House perfect for our guests, please remember Terlingua House is "in the country", on 15 acres and in the desert. It has its challenges along with its charms. - Bud
business
Big Bend Area's Original Guesthouse (Terlingua House)
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p28658vbi
(325) 473-4400 (Texas, USA)
Lajitas Big Bend
Lake Jackson, Tx
4

Secret Amoeba Society of Texas

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 22, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
Had to buy toliet paper and paper towels. There was no shampoo of any kind, would be nice if guests could leave hotel containers for emergencies. Teflon skillets need to be replaced (one rounded bottom dangerous and the other pealing). High chairs on deck need to be replaced with wooden bench, they tip over too easily. Tract lighting in kitchen needs to be fixed (poor lighting while cooking) Hot Water heater in kitchen was not working, but boiling water is no big deal (water pressure seemed to be low). OVERALL experience was still Good to Great. We always have a great time here. Pizza next door was excellent and the beer was 31 degrees.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Big Bend Area's Original Guesthouse (Terlingua House)
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p28658vbi
(325) 473-4400 (Texas, USA)
Lajitas Big Bend
Pearland, Tx.
3

Ghost Town

  • 3 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 9, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
The setup was nice but the place could have used some serious spring cleaning. There was dust under tables and on the shelves around the dishes. The bath room connected to the one casita was always very hot even with the fan running. Other than that the I would have been happy with my stay.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Big Bend Area's Original Guesthouse (Terlingua House)
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p28658vbi
(325) 473-4400 (Texas, USA)
Lajitas Big Bend
Austin, Texas area
5

Getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 24, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
I live in the suburbs and commute to work in a large city with horrible traffic (Hint, hint....Austin, Texas). I was so looking forward to peace, solitude and the beauty of Big Bend. My family and I got that and then some. Since returning, I've spent a lot of my free time thinking about when I can get back. If you can appreciate the beauty of Big Bend and you're looking for solitude with all the comforts of home, this is the place for you.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Big Bend Area's Original Guesthouse (Terlingua House)
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p28658vbi
(325) 473-4400 (Texas, USA)
Lajitas Big Bend
Richardson, Texas
5

Newlyweds from Richardson

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 4, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
Upon arrival we were absolutely blown away. Terlingua House was just perfect for us. The property is extremely well maintained and perfectly decorated. It has everything needed to make a stay convenient. We will definitely return and highly recommend.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Big Bend Area's Original Guesthouse (Terlingua House)
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p28658vbi
(325) 473-4400 (Texas, USA)
Lajitas Big Bend
Terrell, Tx
5

Awesome place to stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 18, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
This was our first stay at the Terlingua House. It is an awesome place to stay & we will definitely stay there the next time we visit Bibe. 
When you drive up you have the kitchen on the left & bedroom 1 along with a bathroom attached to that  bedroom.  There is a large outside deck area that connects the two rooms. On the deck is a gas grill & 2tables. Also there is an upper deck with 4 director chairs where you can relax & enjoy the view of the Chisos Mountains in the evening or while having your morning cup of coffee. 
This bedroom is spacious, it has a queen bed that is very comfortable, 1 twin bed & a sitting area that has 3 chairs & a TV with a DVD&VCR. There is plenty of room to unpack your belongings if you choose not to live out of your suitcase during your stay.  This bathroom is nice and big. It of course a toilet, the sink area has plenty of room to lay all of your toiletries out & it has a large shower, no bath tub.  They supply plenty of towels&wash cloths in both bathrooms.
This bedroom & bathroom are connected by a small entry way with 2 windows and a door leading outside. The only negative thing about this bathroom is there is no AC & I would suggest they put a ceiling fan in each of the 2 bathrooms. You have to leave the door to this bedroom open to get air in there.  It really is not that bad just would be nice to have AC. It is probably is much cooler Oct-April. Still it is tolerable in August. I just thought I would point this out.  Room #2 is the kitchen, dining & living area combo. It is also nice & big. It has  2 fridges. One has an ice maker & the other has ice trays. This worked out great as we did not have to buy a bag of ice everyday for our cooler. It has a dining table with 4 chairs & in the living area there is a chair & ottoman along with a long sitting area along 1 wall with 2 twin mattresses to sit on or 3 people can lay & watch TV. The TV has a DVD&VCR combo in it &Directv in all 4 rooms. There is no library of movies or games in the house. You must bring your own.  Bedroom 2, bedroom 3 and the 2nd bathroom are on the right when you drive up. B-Room 2 has a queen, 2 twins, a chair, couch & coffee table.  One wall is glass block & the other side is a wall of windows.  I thought you would be able to hear the cars going down the road since it is on the edge of hywy, but you can't hear anything with the AC on. Bedroom 3 has a queen, 1 twin & a futon couch & a sink. The second bathroom is between these 2 bedrooms. It has a to
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/2
business
Big Bend Area's Original Guesthouse (Terlingua House)
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p28658vbi
(325) 473-4400 (Texas, USA)
Lajitas Big Bend
texas
5

Oasis in the Desert

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 27, 2010
  • Stayed: Nov 2010
This is a unique property. Three buildings hold the rooms and one is the kitchen/dining. The first room has a private bath but is a bit smaller. It has a queen bed, a twin bed and a sofa. The second room is the largest with a queen bed, sofa, sitting chair and two twin beds - this room has cool lighting features. The third room has a full sized bed (possibly with a trundle) a futon and a twin. The second bath with washer and drier is between the second and third room. The fourth building is the kitchen / dining - this room also has two built in day beds for sleeping of lounging, two refrigerators and a separate freezer. Lots of outdoor space, patio, fire pit, picnic tables and lots of parking. There is AC, heating and ceiling fans in all the rooms. This is a different type of guest house. Many different switches for all the lights, fans, etc - ya gotta look around for them all! You will not be disappointed here. But be warned, this whole area is on septic tanks... research it, it requires special bathroom etiquette - don't be the ones that break the system.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3