Bar Harbor house rental - House at Millbrook Falls
House at Millbrook Falls
 
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps10
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 7 nights
 

Bar Harbor House Rental Photos and Description
House, 4 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2.5 Baths, (Sleeps 10-12)

** Reservations for Summer 2014 are now open **

Nestled in a secluded spot between two wandering streams, this house is impossible to compare to others in the area. Explore the mountains and trails of Acadia or immerse yourself in the inviting peace that surrounds this home... the choice is yours. A walking trail leads from our back door along the shady steam to two gorgeous waterfalls, one with a swimming hole perfect for hot summer days. From there, you can hike into the National Park without ever getting into a car. Later, pick berries from the garden, grill out on the deck, and toast marshmallows by the campfire or nestle up to the warmth of the fieldstone fireplace on a cool night before falling asleep to the sound of the waterfall. These are just a few of the amenities that will help to rekindle your connection to nature and family.

The house has an open floor plan, with exposed beams, maple floors, and lots of natural light. Downstairs, there is an open kitchen with granite countertops, well-appointed with chef’s supplies, a large cherry dining table that seats 10 comfortably and a maple game table that seats 4. In the large living room there is a cathedral ceiling, fieldstone fireplace, built in bookshelves, a children's area, and an internet-ready television for streaming your favorite shows or movies from your Netflix, iTunes, or Amazon accounts (no cable/sat). You can connect your ipod directly to the house stereo system. Also downstairs there's a separate reading alcove (our 'away space') with double futon, and a half bath. Upstairs, there is a spacious landing and balcony, full bathroom, and comfortable sleeping for ten. The master bedroom has king bed and en suite full bathroom, with a sitting area that has a double futon. The second bedroom is just as large as the master and has two queen beds. The third bedroom has a twin bed with trundle, and the fourth bedroom has single-over-double bunk beds. Perfect for two families. A crib is available upon request.

You’ll be just 3 miles from the entrance of Acadia National Park, and 6 miles to Bar Harbor for shops, restaurants, bike rentals, art galleries, golf, day sails, and whale watches. There is a free shuttle around the island and through the park. Freshwater lakes with beaches for swimming or boating are about 4 miles away. Hadley Point beach is an under-visited gem on the northwestern shore of Frenchman Bay just 3.5 miles from Winding Brook Road.

Notes: Summer reservations do not open until Jan 1 of the year. Base rate is for 8; there is a $200 pp charge over 8.

Keywords: house, acadia, waterfall, woods, stream, hiking, biking, family, pets

More Details
Hide Details

8 Reviews of Property 286484 in Bar Harbor, Maine

House at Millbrook Falls | Large, Family Friendly Retreat
average rating of 5.0 based on 8 reviews
business
House at Millbrook Falls | Large, Family Friendly Retreat
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p286484vbi
970-349-7470
Bar Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
Washington DC
5

Beautiful home in a great location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 12, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
We had a great week on Mt. Desert Island at the House at Millbrook Falls. The home is warm and beautiful, very expansive and yet comfortable. It was spotless and well maintained. It felt personal and lived in. We had 2 families with 9 people, and didn't feel crowded. The kitchen is extremely well stocked, and there are wonderful games and toys for little kids. It was awesome being able to plug in the iPhone to the house speakers. The falls are amazing, though a bit too rough for swimming when we were there. The tree house is for real; something every kid should experience (rather than the prefab playsets that dot our neighborhood). The whole place is unique and charming. Unfortunately, it was a bit wet during our stay, otherwise the fire pit looked great (they even have marshmallow roasting sticks on the ready). The area is remote, and it requires driving to get anywhere. However, the most amazing carriage trails and hiking are just a 5 minute drive, and there are a few good restaurants and lobster shacks within 10 minutes. The house is centrally located, so it's easy to get to Bar Harbor or Southwest Harbor or the quiet side. Would definitely recommend the bike around Eagle Lake, dinner at Town Hill Bistro, the blueberry pie from Town Hill Market, Sand Beach and the hike just north of there, hiking near Bass Harbor at Ship Harbor Trail, taking a schooner trip at Bar Harbor.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
House at Millbrook Falls | Large, Family Friendly Retreat
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p286484vbi
970-349-7470
Bar Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
Spokane, Washington, USA
5

Incredible House in a beautiful spot.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 16, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
A group of five of us spent an absolutely wonderful week in Bar Harbor. This home far exceeded our expectations. It seemed to welcome us to this magical place. The home is beautiful and has everything and more that one could ask for in a rental. The open floor plan, the beautiful furnishings, the comfortable beds, and the designer kitchen were all terrific. And the fireplace was magnificent! (Since it was a bit cool, we used the fireplace daily and it kept the home nice and toasty). One member of our group played the piano and the sounds traveled nicely throughout the home. The grounds were also wonderful, with the trails through the woods to the waterfall being quite special. We also enjoyed trips into Bar Harbor and, of course to Acadia National Park. What a gem! We cannot recommend this home enough. We thank Ira and Holly (the owners) for allowing us to stay in their home.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
House at Millbrook Falls | Large, Family Friendly Retreat
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p286484vbi
970-349-7470
Bar Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
Pennsylvania
5

Perfect vacation home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 16, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
I could not agree more with the reviewer below - the pictures do not do justice to this lovely home. Clean, well-stocked, perfectly located, the owners thought of everything. We could not have had a better vacation.
Our children loved the yard, the waterfall, the swimming hole, the fire pit, the toys and games. It really felt like a home away from home.
We can't wait to return!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
House at Millbrook Falls | Large, Family Friendly Retreat
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p286484vbi
970-349-7470
Bar Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
New York
5

A wonderful home away from home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 15, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
My family, my sister and her family and our parents stayed at the House at Millbrook Falls for a week in August and enjoyed it immensely. I cannot say enough about this home. From the minute we walked in, my sister said how comfortable and inviting the house was. After our first evening, we all agreed that we cannot remember a more relaxing night in ages. The kitchen is well stocked and beautiful. The children loved the sunken living room where they enjoyed the toys while the adults can both watch them and still have their space and quiet too in the spacious ground floor. Adults and kids had a grand time exploring the waterfall and swimming hole and we all had a blast around the fire ring making smores and doing our "fire dance". It was a wonderful base to return at the end of an active day of hiking, biking or rock climbing.

My elderly parents loved the house too but one should be aware that the house is not near the MDI bus so a car is necessary for them to visit the town or other sites when we were out.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
House at Millbrook Falls | Large, Family Friendly Retreat
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p286484vbi
970-349-7470
Bar Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
New Jersey
5

The Perfect House in the Perfect Location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 30, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
We had a wonderful week at the House at Millbrook Falls. It comfortably fit our group of 10. The campfire pit was a huge plus in the evenings. The kids loved the swimming hole, treehouse and the library of family DVDs in the house. The location is perfect for exploring the island. The owner is great to work with and responded very quickly to all our inquiries. We would definitely recommend the House at Millbrook Falls and would definitely stay there again.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
House at Millbrook Falls | Large, Family Friendly Retreat
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p286484vbi
970-349-7470
Bar Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
Easton, MD
5

Perfect home for families

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 12, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
We all thoroughly enjoyed our week in this lovely home. Our group of 8 included grandparents, parents, and 2 grandsons. ages 2 and 3. This house has it all- convenience to Bar Harbor and Acadia, great views, and plenty of space. The fire pit (and s'mores) were a big hit as were all of the toys in the home. If you are bringing little ones, you won't need toys or books from home. The kitchen is well equipped and the house comes with all of the essentials and most niceties. The home was clean with fresh flowers in the dining room. Dinner at Poor Boy's Gourmet was delicious and the lobster feast is a bargain. Our dogs loved the place also.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
House at Millbrook Falls | Large, Family Friendly Retreat
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p286484vbi
970-349-7470
Bar Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
Littleton, MA
5

Extended family fun

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 21, 2010
  • Stayed: Jul 2010
We just can't stop talking about our wonderful stay in Bar Harbor. The description on this property is spot-on. The house is spacious and lovely and was clean as a whistle when we arrived. There were even fresh cut flowers and locally made soaps set out for our arrival. Our teenager and pre-teen boys explored every nook and crany of the surrounding woods, waterfalls, and even the tree house. Our dog was happy to roam and pounce around safely in the ample yard. It was great being so close to both the entrance to Acadia, and downtown Bar Harbor.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
House at Millbrook Falls | Large, Family Friendly Retreat
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p286484vbi
970-349-7470
Bar Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
Englishtown, NJ
5

vacation with friends

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 12, 2010
  • Stayed: Aug 2010
The pictures do not do this house justice. They cannot convey the warmth and personal feel that you get when you arrive. There are so many personal touches, like the fresh cut flowers from the yard, and all of the plants inside. You really get a feeling of calmness and serenity staying here. The waterfall was a slight let down, because of the lack of rain recently there wasn't much water falling but it was still a beautiful area to explore. The 5 children we had with us loved it! There were two families on our vacation, 9 people, and we had plenty of room. The fire pit was another hit, perfect for a large group. The proximity to Acadia and Bar Harbor can't be beat.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 4/4