Durango condo rental - The Alpenglow of the Needles Mountains - A Perfect Romantic Canvas.
The Alpenglow of the Needles Mountains - A Perfect Romantic Canvas.
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps7
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights
 

Durango Condo Rental Photos and Description
Condo, 2 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2 Baths, (Sleeps 6-7)

Come Relax in the coziness of our “Cowboy Comfortable Interior” with Gorgeous Mountain Views, just a 2 Minute Walk to the Lifts. Members hot tub, heated pool overlooking the slopes & Fitness Center use Included!

A stone wood-burning fireplace greets you as you enter our spacious open loft style mountain lodge. The magnificent views of the Needles Mountains, the quality western furnishings and the warm lodge style of our vacation home will make you feel like you have escaped to your own cowboy cabin with all the comforts of home!

Ski down to the bunny slope not more than 25 yards walk to the tunnel, or a 2 minute stroll to the main lifts. Enjoy fresh morning coffee or BBQing on your private Mountain View deck. From the living room, large glass doors gaze over the bunny slopes and the Columbine ski run and the glorious mountain views. The upstairs loft area shares these same views. Even the bathroom has a view of the slopes!

Enjoy the HEATED POOL, HOT TUB and FITNESS CENTER with your Durango Mountain Members Association (DMMA) Guest Membership which is included with your stay.

Our 'Cowboy Comfortable' condo is filled with beautiful woodwork and sleeps 6-7 guests. It is very comfortable for 4 adults and 3 children. Sleeping options include one private queen bedroom downstairs, 1 upstairs open loft with a queen bed and views of the Columbine slope and Needles Mountains, and a sleeper sofa in front of those gorgeous mountain views. We also have a full size futon perfect for cuddling in front of the fireplace. Our upstairs bathroom features a walk-in shower, double sink and views of the ski lifts and slopes. The downstairs bath has a bathtub/shower. Both bathrooms have been updated.

Enjoy rich slate flooring in the entry and kitchen. The stainless refrigerator has an icemaker and our cabinetry is solid wood. Ample spices and cooking tools are stocked in the open kitchen where family can gather round and swap slope stories!

The Village is just a minutes’ walk, and the lodge, Mountain View pool with slide, hot tub and well-equipped fitness center are seconds away. In summer, spring and fall the DMMA privileges also include use of the tennis courts across the road, by the lake.

There is wonderful hiking and fly fishing a few minutes’ drive up the resort road to Hermosa Creek, with horseback riding also available. In late October and November Elk Hunting is also popular on the mountain. We are a short and scenic 30 minute drive North of Historic Durango and the Durango-Silverton Narrow Gauge Railroad. Durango boasts 'Music in the Mountains held each summer at the resort: festivals in the fall, chili cook offs, art galleries, darling boutiques and ample restaurants. Thanks to Ft. Lewis College in Durango there is a strong theatre, visual arts and music scene as well. If you still have energy, try some mountain biking, river-rafting, and kayaking or always free, rock hopping!

Winding down, take a family drive to explore the old mining towns of Silverton and Ouray. The mountain drive is easy and goes past waterfalls and amazing red mountains affording endless opportunities for budding photographers and professionals alike! Regardless of age or activity, if you love the great outdoors you will love the Durango area and your stay at Durango Mountain Resort!

Keywords: Cowboy Comforts, Ski Condo, Durango Mountain Resort, Slope side, Steps to Lifts, Views , Durango Train, Mountain Views

More Details
Hide Details

Back in the 70's we (Stephen & Toni) shared Durango family fun and the Durango-Silverton Narrow Gauge Railroad with our son and his Grandma Margaret. Little did we imagine our son his wife would 're-discover' Durango and bring it back into our lives. We loved their East Rim Condo and fly-fishing on the mountain so much, we decided to get our own! We are excited to create new family memories with our 3 daughters & son, their wonderful spouses and our 8 beloved Grandchildren. We also look forward to our Guests enjoying the ambiance of mountain home that we are blessed to have. We fell in love with the interior charm right away (we've always dreamed of a log cabin)and the location makes it easy to play.

Steve & Toni Qualls purchased this condo in 2010

Too many things we love about Durango to fit into a little paragraph! Just to name a few: Ample places to explore for Fly fishing (how much gear do you have Steve???), wonderful walks along Hermosa Creek, the refreshing mountain air with morning coffee, superb selection of restaurants, BBQing on the mountain view patio, Great selection of Churches and downtown activities, the old cowboy mining towns of Silverton and Ouray (is that more than a few?)

We are so wonderfully close to the slopes, lodge and village. Down our steps, and a few meters across the brave can ski right down to the bunny slope and transit lift area. 'Rule-followers' Ha Ha, have just a 2 minute walk right to the main lift area. We joined the DMMA, and pay an additional 8% that we include in our rates so our guests can also share in the enjoyment of the outdoor pool (heated in cool months, hot tub, well-equipped fitness center, tennis courts and valet ski check & Spa (the last two are optional and do have additional fees for us as well, however the DMMA key you receive at check-in gives you access to the areas).

36 Reviews of Property 286313 in Durango, Colorado

Slope Side Fantastic Views~ Warm Cowboy Style, Pool & Hot Tub
average rating of 4.939394 based on 36 reviews
business
Slope Side Fantastic Views~ Warm Cowboy Style, Pool & Hot Tub
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p286313vb
(951) 691-2776
Durango Southwestern Colorado
Norco, CA
5

Second time around even better!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 25, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
We love this slope side condo! We stayed here in the fall once and now during ski season. It was really clean and comfortable and beautifully decorated. I love the paintings on the wall! :> The views were amazing on the balcony overlooking Durango Mountain Resort. The gym, pool and shopping were right across the street. They do allow dogs and our goldendoodle had a blast playing in the snow. The beds were very comfortable and the contemporary cowboy theme made it really cozy w a rustic but updated decor. The kitchen was equipped with everything we needed to make our own meals. The linens were very high quality and the place looks like a photo from a magazine. Steve and Toni were a delight to work with. They suggested local restaurants and things to do in town or up at the resort. Thanks Steve and Toni for an awesome vacation place!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Slope Side Fantastic Views~ Warm Cowboy Style, Pool & Hot Tub
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p286313vb
(951) 691-2776
Durango Southwestern Colorado
5

very comfortable and convenient

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 19, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
This is a lovely comfortable condo up slope of the beginner lifts and at the base of the intermediate/advanced lifts. Both are easily accessible. We also paid a resort fee and really enjoyed the use of the spa at the neighbouring Purgatory resort. We came early in the season (4 dec) and were very lucky to have heaps of snow for skiing. It is worth noting though that while the ski season opens at this time, the lifts aren't necessarily open. This was not made clear on the durango resort website, and when we got there we were told that they don't usually open lifts until the following weekend. This would have been a BIG disappointment, so beware of this if booking any place. As it was, they only opened the higher lifts, making it a bit tricky for some of our beginner family members, but thanks to plenty of powder and good weather everyone was able to have a great time on the available runs. Anyway, if you want a very comfortable and stylish condo in a fantastic location this is for you. The owners were very helpful with any questions as well so we felt well looked after.
Recommended for:  Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you for taking the time to post this review. We are glad that you had a nice time while you were here.

Wow!, we are shocked that the ski lifts were not opened. We called the Resort a few days before opening (and after the massive snow storm) and were assured that the Resort would be opening as scheduled. We assumed that being open meant that the lifts would also be open. We now know that being open doesn't really mean being open. We won't make that mistake again. Hopefully you were able to get in enough skiing anyway. Steve & Toni
business
Slope Side Fantastic Views~ Warm Cowboy Style, Pool & Hot Tub
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p286313vb
(951) 691-2776
Durango Southwestern Colorado
mesa,az
5

Cowboy Condo

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 29, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
Great location, fun condo decoration, great owners
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Teenagers
business
Slope Side Fantastic Views~ Warm Cowboy Style, Pool & Hot Tub
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p286313vb
(951) 691-2776
Durango Southwestern Colorado
5

Impressive, Whimsical, and Most Important, Hospitable Property

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 6, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
The fantastic view of the deck is what caught our eye when booking this property. We were not disappointed; spending the morning sipping coffee and planning our day was a delight.

Our party enjoyed the cozy feel and fantastic decor, we found ourselves looking forward to the return from a long day of exploring all the sights of Durango.

Food Recommendations:

Serious Texas Bar-B-Q
Oscar's for breakfast
Fired Up Pizza

The drive to Ouray/ Silverton was amazing and well worth the drive.

Our host Steve, was a gracious, wonderful resourse when we needed help or questions answered. He was always accommodating and a pleasure to deal with.

Our only regret was not having more time to enjoy the area, property and fly fishing.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Slope Side Fantastic Views~ Warm Cowboy Style, Pool & Hot Tub
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p286313vb
(951) 691-2776
Durango Southwestern Colorado
5

Excellent stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 2, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
Thank you Steve and Toni for this excellent vacation getaway for our family. The property was exactly as you described and had everything (and more) that we needed. The area is absolutely gorgeous and the Resort has some great ammenities. We will be back.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the nice review and the picture you sent of your family having fun in the Mountains of Colorado. We can't think of a better place to be, Winter or Summer than the Durango area. Next time you come try to spend a little more time because there is plenty to do.

We will be looking forward to talking to you again soon.

Steve & Toni
business
Slope Side Fantastic Views~ Warm Cowboy Style, Pool & Hot Tub
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p286313vb
(951) 691-2776
Durango Southwestern Colorado
Goodyear AZ
5

Beautiful! Felt like we stayed in a mountain Log Cabin!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 1, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
Thank you for a great week at your Condo. We all loved the way it was decorated. Everything was well stocked. The condo was in great shape, very clean. The views from the deck was beautiful! Looks even better than the pictures! We definitely would recommend this condo. I spoke to owner 3 different times and was very easy to talk to and he was very helpful and answered all questions we had. We loved how it was centrally located between Durango and Ouray Co. Kids had a great time on the bob sled and pool at the resort. we took a ride on the Silverton train, spent the day in durango on the river, rented a Jeep for a day in Ouray Co. , also went to the hot springs pool in Ouray too. So much to do in the area. We cant wait to come back again!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Slope Side Fantastic Views~ Warm Cowboy Style, Pool & Hot Tub
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p286313vb
(951) 691-2776
Durango Southwestern Colorado
Texas
5

Beautiful Place & Lovely Owners

Beautiful Place & Lovely Owners
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 13, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
This one of the most well designed and decorated condos we have stayed at. The kitchen is an amazing feat of efficiency. I was worried that it looked so small in the photos (I am a cook), but it's layout worked extremely well. The condo is adorably decorated and very clean. The owners are very easy to work with and responded quickly to our inquiries. The bonus of getting to use the fitness center and whirlpool was appreciated. Oh and did I mention the view....fabulous. Just a great place to kick back and relax.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Slope Side Fantastic Views~ Warm Cowboy Style, Pool & Hot Tub
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p286313vb
(951) 691-2776
Durango Southwestern Colorado
Houston tx
5

Spring Break Durango Mountain Resort

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 23, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
Couldn't ask for a better place! Perfect!!!
Recommended for:  Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Slope Side Fantastic Views~ Warm Cowboy Style, Pool & Hot Tub
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p286313vb
(951) 691-2776
Durango Southwestern Colorado
Arkansas
5

Skiers

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 8, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
We enjoyed our stay at this property; I particularly appreciated being provided paper towels, laundry detergent, spices, condiments, shampoo and shower gel. It is very nice to have available. We were pleased with the accommodations and location to the ski resort.
business
Slope Side Fantastic Views~ Warm Cowboy Style, Pool & Hot Tub
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p286313vb
(951) 691-2776
Durango Southwestern Colorado
Cedar Crest
5

Cabin Style

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 22, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
We had a great time staying at the condo. The decor is so eye pleasing and everything you need is provided. The condo is clean and very comfortable to stay in. There was plenty of room for four adults and the kiddos. We recommend this to families skiing at Durango. We are looking forward to returning in February.
Recommended for:  Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Thank you for the great review. We strive for maximum enjoyment and comfort when you stay with us. We are ordering in some fresh powder for when you return next month.

Steve & Toni