Submitted: November 23, 2010
Stayed: October 2010
RENTERS FYI: If you think unforeseen crisis could befall you or your family, seriously consider this possibility before renting this property. I had such an experience and was charged a full month rent for occupying the unit less than 1 week. (Rental rate schedule has been updated on website since the referenced booking.) Yes, there was a rental agreement that was breached due to a medical emergency. The owners of “Pinecone Cottage at Hosmer Pond” refused to extend an occupancy adjustment for a documented medical emergency. The airline and rental vehicle company extended a courtesy adjustment in consideration of the circumstances; the owners of “Pinecone Cottage at Hosmer Pond” constituted the only travel entity refusing such consideration. Consider purchasing trip insurance if you sign a rental agreement for this property!
The cottage does not have sweeping pond views, as might be inferred from the website photos. It is located on a moderately busy street with loud road noise. The sitting room and upstairs bedroom are cramped and oddly designed. Egress in case of emergency from the upstairs bedroom is limited to a narrow wooden staircase. Poorly illuminated, uneven rock stairs leading from the parking space to the front porch are difficult to see at night. The front door is secured with both a deadbolt and keyed entry door knob, however the sitting area has a small door opening to a wooded hillside that opens outward and is secured with a low security locking door knob.
Owner's Response: Please allow us the owners of Pinecone Cottage to respond to the negative review we received from the Dr. from Colorado. She signed a two month lease to rent our cottage during her stay in Camden. Rent for the first month and a security deposit were paid to us from her employer. After a weeks time I received a call from the Dr. stating that she would be leaving the next morning due to medical issues she was having. The following day I went down to the cottage after her departure and began the cleaning process. Many food items were left, she moved the furniture all around and had been burning candles and incense leaving black marks on the walls and cabinets.
I immediately contacted her employer's travel coordinator and explained the situation to her. We agreed that we would be keeping the rent and that we would return the security deposit in full. We also agreed that should we find another renter quickly to fill her spot then we would return a portion of the rent. We previously turned away two other potential renters when we committed to rent to the Dr.; she then breached the lease. The Dr. never produced any medical documentation to us as to why she abruptly left.
Weeks passed and as far as we were concerned this matter was finished. A few days ago I received an email from the Dr. requesting us to return the rent money since her employer was now making her reimburse them. I simply told her that whatever problems she was having was between her and her employer, not us. The Dr. obviously did not like my response and then wrote her review because she harbors negativity.
As for the cottage and her comments we have learned that you cannot please everyone. The photos speak for themselves. Hosmer Pond is directly across the street from the cottage. Our road is a residential two lane road with a thirty mile per hour speed limit that accommodates bicycles, joggers and cars alike. The size of the cottage is small, that was the idea. Many other people who have stayed in the cottage have commented to us that they love how it is cleverly designed to utilize space. The outdoors staircases are lit with solar lights. We have just installed a motion flood light which shines directly on the steps. The wooded hillside is our property and leads directly up to to our home. We have lived here for over ten years the only intruders we have are the deer who come to eat in the garden. Please refer to the other reviews and contact us.
Helpful votes: 5/9
Did you find this review helpful?