Upper West Side apartment rental
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps3
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 3 nights
 

Upper West Side Apartment Rental Photos and Description
Apartment, 1 Bedroom + Convertible bed(s), 1 Bath, (Sleeps 2-3)

If you need a haven in NYC this beautiful one bedroom apartment is it. It is newly furnished, excellent linens, crisp and new, beautiful building on Columbus Avenue with good view and lots of sunlight. The building has a BRAND NEW (Jan 2013) gym and pool and many amenities. This is so much better than any hotel room and more affordable. I use the apartment for housing actors, directors, composers when I am producing a show. It is often empty and much better than any hotel room. Kitchen is fully equipped. We will meet you and arrange theatre tickets and help you enjoy your stay in NYC.

Keywords: Luxury Apartment

I am a theatre producer of Off Broadway and Broadway shows. I am married to an architect and we have four children. They do not use this apartment. It is a professional apartment for my use. We love traveling and I know this apartment is better than any hotel room you can book in NYC. We have created the kind of apartment we would like to stay in when we travel.

Katy Wadsworth purchased this apartment in 2009

New York City--no place in the world more exciting

This unit is welcoming with full amenities. The building is central to all of NYC.

18 Reviews of Property 285913 in Upper West Side, New York

~NYC~ Luxury 1 Bedroom with Pool and Gym - Upper West Side
average rating of 4.2222223 based on 18 reviews
business
~NYC~ Luxury 1 Bedroom with Pool and Gym - Upper West Side
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p285913vbi
212 575 1301
Upper West Side Manhattan
5

Great Find!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 1, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay! The apartment is well appointed, clean and functional. It was large enough for us to stay with 4 people--two kids 5 and under (on the futon). The amenities in the building are amazing--we used the gym every day, the playroom was a source of endless amusement for my kids, and the pool as well. The ease of picking up the key with the doorman made for a seamless visit. The fact that there is a Whole Foods downstairs was also amazing. There is playground in Central Park just 2 blocks away and the B/C subway is 1 block away. For a vacation in NYC with small children, we could not have asked for more! We will be back!

I forgot to mention that the heater was making loud noises and the owner had submitted a work order and it was fixed in hours. Very responsive and helpful!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
~NYC~ Luxury 1 Bedroom with Pool and Gym - Upper West Side
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p285913vbi
212 575 1301
Upper West Side Manhattan
Boise Id
5

Great place to stay for NY marathon

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 7, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
My husband and I really enjoyed our stay at the apartment. It was in a perfect location near the subway, dining, shopping and Central Park. It was clean and had all the amenities we needed. I would stay here again. We had a wonderful time!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
~NYC~ Luxury 1 Bedroom with Pool and Gym - Upper West Side
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p285913vbi
212 575 1301
Upper West Side Manhattan
Lake Forest Park, WA (Seattle area)
4

Great New York Home Away from Home

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 4, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
My husband and I had 2.5 weeks in this wonderful apartment. The location was perfect for us - Upper West Side between two subway lines, just a couple of blocks in either direction. Building was staffed by friendly doormen, Whole Foods Market on the block. We especially enjoyed the rooftop club room and garden area. It was like being in a private park (almost). Newer building, quiet side of the building, very comfortable!
Down side, we arrived to less than clean towels, bought new ones for our stay. Housekeeping still could use some work. And fold-down sofa for third guest was good for one night at best.
Would definitely want to rent this apartment again.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
~NYC~ Luxury 1 Bedroom with Pool and Gym - Upper West Side
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p285913vbi
212 575 1301
Upper West Side Manhattan
5

Mr. and Mrs.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 25, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
Our experience was great. The first night however was noisy from the other building having a party so we closed the windows and it seemed to work. The other 3 nights totally quiet. The apt. was a nice size compared to a hotel room. Everything was very clean. The only thing that was missing was a fan. It helps with air movement and possible noise. We left one in the closet. If we visit NY in the future we will see if this place is available. Location great to Central Park as we are runners so that was convenient. We used the pool on the 3rd floor. Wonderful! The lounge area was wonderful too! Overall excellent!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
~NYC~ Luxury 1 Bedroom with Pool and Gym - Upper West Side
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p285913vbi
212 575 1301
Upper West Side Manhattan
Grand Rapids, Michigan
5

Great spot on UWS

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 30, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
This was a wonderful apartment, conveniently located on the Upper West Side. Easy access to subways, Central Park and large number of restaurants and shops. The owners were very accommodatiing to our last minute rental request, even making the apartment available for an early check-in time. The space was exactly as pictured -- very clean, comfortable bed, small but efficient kitchen. Building is home to many families with children and yet the apartment was very quiet. Fully staffed doorman 24/7 were very courteous and helpful. We visit NYC a few times each year and will most definitely plan on returning to this great apartment.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car
business
~NYC~ Luxury 1 Bedroom with Pool and Gym - Upper West Side
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p285913vbi
212 575 1301
Upper West Side Manhattan
San Francisco
5

Great Location Great Apartment

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 27, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
Stayed in this apartment over Thanksgiving and it could not have been better.The owners assured us that they hired a new cleaning service and they did! All the linens and towels were fresh and the apartment spotless. The doorman were lovely and helped us with taxis and directions. The owners work in the theatre and helped us get tickets for a Broadway Show on Thanksgiving weekend! Really a perfect stay for our holiday. We would comeback without a doubt!
Recommended for:  Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks Betty...Happy to help our guests with theatre ticket advice and anything else...Glad you could appreciate the extra attention to cleanliness....We love our apartment and are glad you had such a great holiday.
business
~NYC~ Luxury 1 Bedroom with Pool and Gym - Upper West Side
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p285913vbi
212 575 1301
Upper West Side Manhattan
MO
4

lovely west side apartment

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 6, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
My daughter lives in a tiny NY apartment and I have been looking for somewhere to stay when I come visit that is not a hotel. I just stayed in this condo for a week and thought it was lovely. The location is great- very much a neighborhood. Everyone in the building was helpful. The restaurants around the area are real, not touristy places. The accommodations were exactly as portrayed and expected. Everything was clean. I will certainly come back to this condo as often as my daughter invites me- she even stayed with me for a few days since it was much larger than her place. We had a blast.

I've read some of the reviews below and wonder if they have the wrong address! The comment about the tiny TV was especially silly- who goes to NY to watch TV??
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks for you review...Hope to see you again when you vsist your daughter...
business
~NYC~ Luxury 1 Bedroom with Pool and Gym - Upper West Side
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p285913vbi
212 575 1301
Upper West Side Manhattan
Silicon Valley, CA
4

With a Little Care, This Could be Excellent

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 17, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
This apartment is located in a convenient area, upper Upper West Side, very near Central Park. This area has lots of upscale young families, and is a bit away from the heart of Manhattan, though it's easy to get everywhere via nearby subways and buses. If you come here, you must try Turkuaz nearby on Broadway, also Pearl's fusion Asian, and the Flor De Mayo Peruvian. Broadway Bagels has good bagels, and all the NYC-style pizza places nearby are good. Whole Foods downstairs is very convenient, though we spent as much for a week's worth there as we do for a month at home in Silicon Valley. A ubiquitous Starbucks across the street is there is you tire of French-press coffee or just need a cappuccino fix. You do need to be aware that north of 100th starts the projects, though the area around the building seemed quite safe, I wouldn't venture too far north along Columbus.

The building presents as quite luxurious, the attentive and helpful doormen greet you as you come in, and there is a semi-circular drive off of Columbus that is handy to avoid double parking on the street when you are dropping off. The lobby is clean and spacious. The common areas include a very nice 3rd floor outdoor area with tables and chairs (outdoor dining if the weather is right), plus a well-equipped little gym which always had aerobic equipment available, though the weight machine sometimes got backed up. The pool is huge, and nice. Adequate for-pay laundry facilities in the basement, though avoid Sundays! The apt. is modern, adequate sized, minimally furnished. The dining area is small but fine for four. The BR has a comfortable, but low platform-style bed, someone with mobility issues might have difficulty getting up from it. Decent closet space. The LCD TV in LR is a tiny joke. The kitchen is minimally equipped, I bought and donated a toaster, since we couldn't deal with a month without toast. No sharp knives or sharpener, no blender, no cutting board, no microwave bowl. We donated wine glasses, too. Cleanliness was ok, not perfect. Smoke detector still disconnected!

The apartment faces the western back of the bldg., so traffic noise is minimal, but the proximity to the 100th street NYPD and NYFD stations means sirens at random times all day (and night) long, plus, the buildings in back are under major renovation with construction noises all day, so keep the air conditioning on and windows closed.

I'm pretty sure this is a sublet, not owned as this appears to be a rental bldg.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing
Owner's Response: Thank you for the toaster... The apartment is equpiied for 4 with glassware/wine glasses and dinner and flatware. Perhaps some have been broken . But we will make sure that anyting missing will be replaced. Honestly most guests do very little cooking so I have not equipped the kitchen for major cooking. But for a month I totally understnd that you needed a better kitchen. pLease come back and visit again and I would be happy to provide a great bottle of wine for the 2 glasses and toaster you purchased...
business
~NYC~ Luxury 1 Bedroom with Pool and Gym - Upper West Side
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p285913vbi
212 575 1301
Upper West Side Manhattan
St Thomas, Virgin Islands
3

Not Entirely Up To Expectations

  • 3 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 28, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
My husband and I and our 20 month old daughter stayed in this condo in early August 2012 for a week. Everything was in order when we arrived and we able to get the keys from the reception and access the apartment as soon as we arrived at the building. The building itself is new, all of the general building amenities are great. The location is okay. It is almost at 100W so quite high. It was however a huge plus to be steps away from Whole Foods and there was a good selection of restaurants and shops of all sorts in the vicinity - typical upper west side scenario.
The condo itself is small but in NYC, that is to be expected and it was manageable. It was not however, the cleanest of places. We were greeted by trash in the kitchen garbage bin right upon our arrival. Under the bed looked like it had not been swept in ages (with a toddler, things fall on the floor so I had cause to look under there, unfortunately). For a week's stay, we had a handful of bath towels, if that and one set of sheets for the bed. Just not enough in my opinion. I'd say that the listing description and the photos for this condo are accurate and it is a very decent place with a nice contemporary finish and decor. My issue was really with the cleanliness of the place and the lack of amenities to some extent.
The owner was helpful prior to our arrival and answered all questions promptly. However, I felt that she could have been alot more helpful in providing us with information about the area other than by way of the few brochures and menus that were left in the kitchen. We visit NYC every summer and always stay in VRBO sourced accomodation and found save for this experience, the owners of the places we have stayed to be so much more helpful in providing tips, guidance and information about what to see, do, where to eat etc in the vicinity (local inside information if you will) and that has so enhanced our experience in the past. We did not get that from this owner.
All in all, a decent stay but I don't think we will stay here again.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing
Owner's Response: We have hired a new clenaing service recently so I am happy to report all is spit spot...as for information we afre happy to provide information about Broadway and Off Braodway tickets but we did not hear from you...Most people who come to NYC know what they want to do but we are here to help if you give us a shout out!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
~NYC~ Luxury 1 Bedroom with Pool and Gym - Upper West Side
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p285913vbi
212 575 1301
Upper West Side Manhattan
mississippi
2

not clean

  • 2 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 6, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
Just wasn't clean. I was not comfortable in the space when I arrived because of this. Carpets in hallways to apartments were stained and tired, hair on floor in bathroom, dingy floor mat, dead bugs in corners of den, tons of dust on window sills, air vents caked with dust,scared to look under bed, walls and trim on doors were dirty and needed painting, fridge had open food left in it, fridge shelves were dirty, not enough linens, a/c in den not as cold as one in bedroom, mold on plastic shower curtain, outer shower curtain stained, used bar of soap left in shower--yuck! I called the owner that evening and she instantly said she would have someone come the next day and clean again. I left a list of things I saw and they did do as much as they could on the list. some of the dust was still on the windows/ on the air vents, but I was much more comfortable in the space once they returned. It seems like the owner is a busy lady and she would have her assistant clean the space instead of professional housekeepers, but not really sure. On the day I left, she sent me a text that she was having a cleaning service come in and when I spoke with her on the phone earlier that week she told me she would address the other things like the walls, but couldn't do them in the time frame when I wasn't in the apartment.
The most dangerous thing I saw was the smoke detectors (2) in the apartment that were disconnected. I only saw hanging wires from the devices. Not sure if they are suspose to be in there are not--maybe the building has another system in place, but it was quite alarming to see this. I did make her aware of this too.
If all of the above is addressed and fixed, I think this could be a decent place to stay in, but for now I would be weary.
Owner's Response: We have hired a new cleaning service and the apartment is inspected before anyone arrives by the owners rep.
Helpful votes: 2/2