Barre apartment rental - Maple Grove Farmhouse
Maple Grove Farmhouse
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps6
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Barre Apartment Rental Photos and Description
2 bedrooms, one twin in study, one full bath, sleeps 6

Come stay in an apartment in the Maple Grove Farmhouse built in 1823. The house is surrounded by 140 acres of fields and woods for great hiking. Take a walk to the beaver pond that sits at the foot of the hill; if you get up early enough you will see the beavers. Swing under the huge maples or walk through flower beds and vegetable gardens or just sit and write. Cozy up inside with a good book or whip up a great meal. This is a wonderful place to get away from it all. Whether visiting family for a few weeks or viewing the magnificent colors of our New England fall foliage or on a romantic winter escape, enjoy your own five rooms of tranquil space.

Visit Brimfield, the Antique capital of the world, Sturbridge Village, see life as it used to be, Quabbin Reservoir with hundreds of acres of trails, Wauchusett mountain skiing or disc golfing at the Barre Falls Dam. If attending a wedding at Allen Harding Estate, Hartman's Herb farm, meditating at Barre's Buddist Insight Meditation Society, or visiting your student at Eagle Hill School, Maple Grove is right nearby.

Maple Grove Farmhouse is the house I grew up in. We lived here surrounded by fields, woods, and a beaver pond. We were a family with eight children and a large dairy farm. Now we enjoy the swings and lawn chairs under the beautiful maples.

I love our small New England town, stone walls, and beautiful town common. The townspeople are the best! When we had a fire in 1963 and half the house was gone, Barre townspeople volunteered and helped my Dad rebuild. That's why I love living here!

Our house has plenty of room and lovely outdoor spaces. It is quiet, rural, and friendly. Perfect place to come for a month and visit relatives, a girls get-a-way, to spend quiet retreat time, or visit New England's attractions.

14 Reviews of Property 285909 in Barre, Massachusetts

Charming Wing in Country Farmhouse, Private-Romantic, Graced By Beautiful Maples
average rating of 4.857143 based on 14 reviews
business
Charming Wing in Country Farmhouse, Private-Romantic, Graced By Beautiful Maples
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p285909
+1 978 355-6582
Barre Central Massachusetts
5

Wonderful experience

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 15, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
The location provides for a quiet and relaxing experience. The owner (Rebecca) was always accessible and very friendly. The units (2 & 4) I stayed in were well appointed and I felt very much at "home" here. I want to thank Rebecca for providing a lovely place to stay!
business
Charming Wing in Country Farmhouse, Private-Romantic, Graced By Beautiful Maples
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p285909
+1 978 355-6582
Barre Central Massachusetts
5

Clean and Quiet, a great value

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 6, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
Nicely appointed, fully equipped, better than advertised. Owners are good communicators. Community is quiet and small, but there are grocery, gas and other merchants nearby. WiFi service strong and reliable, also--this was a surprise--cell phone service (AT&T). Appliances all in working order, kitchen well stocked with plates, dishes, pans, silverware, glasses. Beds comfortable. Furniture sturdy and clean. Plenty of room for 2 adults and three teenagers.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Charming Wing in Country Farmhouse, Private-Romantic, Graced By Beautiful Maples
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p285909
+1 978 355-6582
Barre Central Massachusetts
3

out in the country

  • 3 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 15, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
We had a nice stay at Maple Grove Farms...a lovely old farmhouse. It was clean and spacious and well equipped. We did not spend a lot of time there because we were up there from Virginia for a family reunion and spent much of our time visiting relatives all around the area so we didn't see much of Barre either and can't really recommend any restaurants, etc either. But Rebecca was a very gracious hostess. We would definitely recommend staying here if you are looking for "your own space" when traveling to that area. It's a beautiful part of the country. Just know that the kitchen and bathroom are on the first floor while the living/family room and 3 bedrooms are on the second floor. I would recommend bringing nightlights or a flashlight if you are inclined to get up during the night. Fortunately we had a flashlight in the car. Otherwise everything we could possibly need was there.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Charming Wing in Country Farmhouse, Private-Romantic, Graced By Beautiful Maples
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p285909
+1 978 355-6582
Barre Central Massachusetts
5

Worth Every Penny and More!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 4, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
My fiance', son and I flew over from England and stayed in the cottage during our transition back to the US. We arrived late but found the lights on and it felt like we were visiting family. The cottage is fully equiped with everything right down to an iron and ironing board. The owner came by to make sure we had everything we needed. We came in, turned on the television and broke out our laptops. We were home. The next few weeks were spent visiting the sites nearby and taking long walks in the evenings -- just relaxing enjoying the sun, fresh air and wildflowers. It was a much needed break after a VERY busy hectic year. Downtown Barre is full of those old New England wood frame buildings you expect to see when visiting New England. Not far from Barre is another beautiful town, Hardwick. Both are picture perfect. The locals are very kind and helpful. And now we have a new favorite restaurant Barre's, 'Kozy Kabin'. The food is too good! We kept going back until I realized how much weight I had gained. I highly recommend this charming farm cottage. It's truly worth every penny and more. ~ Candice Howard and Andrew Stewart Jamieson
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Charming Wing in Country Farmhouse, Private-Romantic, Graced By Beautiful Maples
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p285909
+1 978 355-6582
Barre Central Massachusetts
5

Worth Every Penny and More!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 4, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
My fiance', son and I flew over from England and stayed in the cottage during our transition back to the US. We arrived late but found the lights on and it felt like we were visiting family. The cottage is fully equiped with everything right down to an iron and ironing board. The owner came by to make sure we had everything we needed. We came in, turned on the television and broke out our laptops. We were home. The next few weeks were spent visiting the sites nearby and taking long walks in the evenings -- just relaxing enjoying the sun, fresh air and wildflowers. It was a much needed break after a VERY busy hectic year. Downtown Barre is full of those old New England wood frame buildings you expect to see when visiting New England. Not far from Barre is another beautiful town, Hardwick. Both are picture perfect. The locals are very kind and helpful. And now we have a new favorite restaurant Barre's, 'Kozy Kabin'. The food is too good! We kept going back until I realized how much weight I had gained. I highly recommend this charming farm cottage. It's truly worth every penny and more. ~ Candice Howard and Andrew Stewart Jamieson
Helpful votes: 0/1
business
Charming Wing in Country Farmhouse, Private-Romantic, Graced By Beautiful Maples
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p285909
+1 978 355-6582
Barre Central Massachusetts
5

Worth Every Penny and More!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 4, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
My fiance', son and I flew over from England and stayed in the cottage during our transition back to the US. We arrived late but found the lights on and it felt like we were visiting family. The cottage is fully equiped with everything right down to an iron and ironing board. The owner came by to make sure we had everything we needed. We came in, turned on the television and broke out our laptops. We were home. The next few weeks were spent visiting the sites nearby and taking long walks in the evenings -- just relaxing enjoying the sun, fresh air and wildflowers. It was a much needed break after a VERY busy hectic year. Downtown Barre is full of those old New England wood frame buildings you expect to see when visiting New England. Not far from Barre is another beautiful town, Hardwick. Both are picture perfect. The locals are very kind and helpful. And now we have a new favorite restaurant Barre's, 'Kozy Kabin'. The food is too good! We kept going back until I realized how much weight I had gained. I highly recommend this charming farm cottage. It's truly worth every penny and more. ~ Candice Howard and Andrew Stewart Jamieson
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Charming Wing in Country Farmhouse, Private-Romantic, Graced By Beautiful Maples
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p285909
+1 978 355-6582
Barre Central Massachusetts
5

Comfortable and Relaxing stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 2, 2012
  • Stayed: Jan 2012
I had the chance to have a long stay at the Maple Grove Farmhouse and I am happy to say it was a joy throughout my stay. The setting, town and accommodations were exactly what I had hoped for and then some.

I will be recommending this to anyone who is looking for a country escape.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Charming Wing in Country Farmhouse, Private-Romantic, Graced By Beautiful Maples
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p285909
+1 978 355-6582
Barre Central Massachusetts
5

Comfortable, clean and cozy!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 11, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2011
My husband and I stayed in the apartment for a month beginning in late November to be near our son, daughter-in-law and grandson in Worcester. We found it very easy to settle in to our temporary home. Everything was clean and welcoming. We prepared a lot of meals in the big country kitchen, but also enjoyed visiting some of the local restaurants in Barre. This was our first lengthy stay in housing with adjoining units, so we were not quite sure what to expect, but we had plenty of privacy. We really enjoyed meeting Rebecca and Dot and they obviously delight in wecoming guests to the farmhouse. Sunrises and sunsets were quite spectacular! My sister, brother-in-law and niece visited for a short time, and they fell in love with the farm and the area. We hope to visit again in the future. Thank you, Rebecca and Dot for helping to make our experience so wonderful! L and T
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Charming Wing in Country Farmhouse, Private-Romantic, Graced By Beautiful Maples
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p285909
+1 978 355-6582
Barre Central Massachusetts
5

Fantastic Place...peaceful and relaxing.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 2, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2011
I rented this very nice apartment for the month of March 2011. The owner made me feel right at home from the start. The place was very clean, and well stocked with cooking utensils, and appliances. She also left some detergent and soap for laundry and dishes.

The TV room is very comfortable and has Satellite TV. The owner even provided and extra table for the room.

The bed in the master bedroom is very comfortable, and the view from the bedroom is fantastic. (Note that the bathroom is on the first floor, so there is a small walk from the bedroom.)

The town of Barre is quite nice. I highly recommend Picasso if you want fine dining. The owner Ari is very cool, and the food is top notch.

I highly recommend staying for both short and longer term rentals.
business
Charming Wing in Country Farmhouse, Private-Romantic, Graced By Beautiful Maples
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p285909
+1 978 355-6582
Barre Central Massachusetts
Milwaukee, WI
5

A wonderful place to stay! Excellent!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 13, 2011
  • Stayed: Sep 2011
This is the second time I have stayed at this lovely farmhouse and I will gladly stay there again. It is super clean! Very roomy; plenty of space. The hostesses are great. It makes me believe in all this website has to say. It is just outside a cute small town and close to many sites. I highly recommend!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3