Perry cabin rental - Aerial view of Birch Point, Perry, Maine
Aerial view of Birch Point, Perry, Maine
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps6
  • 1 Bathroom
 

Perry Cabin Rental Photos and Description
New Cedar Cabin, 2 Bedrooms + Loft, 1 Bath (Sleeps 6)

Looking for solitude, great views, ocean breezes, fields, rugged coastline, and woods to explore? Then you will not be disappointed at this remote, 200-acre, former salt-water farm, situated on pristine Cobscook Bay. We offer a return to the past when life was much simpler, a restful, scenic location for relaxation and a remote setting not often found on the coast of Maine. Stroll along gravel beaches, explore the seaside trails and coves, enjoy the wildflowers, go fishing or clamming. We have bikes and kayaks for your use or just curl up on the porch with a good book. Watch the incredible sunrises and sunsets or just view the stars. However you spend your time, it will be an enjoyable experience.

Nature: At Birch Point you will rediscover nature. Famous for its bald eagle population, Cobscook Bay has some of the highest tides in the world. Sea birds such as loons, ducks, sandpipers, coot and terns abound. Wildlife such as moose, deer, rabbits and foxes may also be seen. Seals are often spotted on the low-tide ledges soaking up the sun.

More Details
Hide Details

8 Reviews of Property 285821 in Perry, Maine

Bayview Cabin
average rating of 5.0 based on 8 reviews
business
Bayview Cabin
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p285821
207-9444049
Perry Downeast and Acadia
5

Crackling fire, moose, smell of balsam and pine

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 21, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
What a special place! Even before we left, we were talking about making Birch Point a yearly tradition. Really good reasons to choose this property: CLEAN! (Always my #1 priority). We had everything we needed--plenty of towels, one of the best-stocked kitchens I've seen in ten years of renting along the Maine coast, comfortable beds, hot showers, firewood cut and stacked on the sunporch. Then there were all the extras that make a Maine coast vacation a ... well, a Maine coast vacation. Fantastic views over Cobscook Bay (we stayed in the Bay View cottage); a toasty fire crackling in the woodburner on chilly mornings and evenings; moose (sighted twice on the property during our stay); helpful owners who are delightful neighbors and there if you need them; and being surrounded constantly with the smell of balsam and pine.
A reason not to choose Birch Point: no electricity. If you must have television or extended hours on the computer, then this one is not for you. We, however, did not suffer! The almost-new cottage has very modern gas appliances and lights, and we give this property the very highest satisfaction rating. We'll be going back as soon as possible.
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Bayview Cabin
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p285821
207-9444049
Perry Downeast and Acadia
Bedford, MA
5

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 5, 2005
  • Stayed: Aug 2005
Our family of six (four children ranging in age from 8 yrs to 22 yrs) had a fabulous time at this gem of a place. For the past nine years, we have traveled from the Boston area to vacation in Maine, and have sampled many fine cabins in many fine locations along the way . . . thus, it is no small compliment when we say that this is the best of the best!

The cottages are clean, well equipped, cosy, and spaced for privacy. Everything you would want is there: bedding, grill, kitchen supplies, modern refrig & shower, puzzles & games, woodstove. The decor is simple but charming, especially the quilts on the beds. The gas lights were fun to use and it was a wonderful experience to "get away from it all" and say goodbye to TV for a week. Dick was available and extremely helpful, but never hovering.

We went kayaking, hiking on the paths on the property, kept track of the bald eagle that flew over the bay, picked blueberries & made blueberry pie, drank coffee on the deck and enjoyed its amazing panoramic view. The children loved the bikes & kayaks provided with the cottage. For day trips we went mini-golfing and visited Campobello Island and St. Andrews-by-the Sea (both in Canada and well worth seeing). We spotted lighthouses everywhere, and lay out at night under the stars and saw the Milky Way. Favorite local foods were fresh corn on the cob & haddock and scallops. The kids checked out books from the historic library in Eastport and of course checked their emails there. (The town also has a convenient laundromat.) We heard from other vacationers that the sailboat out of Eastport is a "must do" for sighting whales & porpoises. We can't wait to see them for ourselves on next year's visit.
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Bayview Cabin
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p285821
207-9444049
Perry Downeast and Acadia
Winslow, ME
5

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 15, 2005
  • Stayed: Jun 2005
We always have such a wonderful time at Birch Point. It is so great to escape from the heat and humidity in July and relax by the ocean. Love the walks on the beach and in the woods with our dog ,the swimming, clamming, kayaking, bird watching, etc. The cabins are always so clean and comfy and the views are breathtaking and ever-changing with the tides and the time of day--sunrises, sunsets, and stargazing are truly amazing. Even our 15-year-old found plenty to do. Can't wait to get back there again this summer!
Rick, Patty, and Justin
Maine
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Bayview Cabin
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p285821
207-9444049
Perry Downeast and Acadia
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

  • Submitted: Jul 30, 2004
  • Stayed: Jul 2004
Thank you for sharing your wonderful cabin, kayaks and
boat....with all of us! The views were breathtaking, the weather
perfect - a vacation we will always remember!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Bayview Cabin
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p285821
207-9444049
Perry Downeast and Acadia
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

  • Submitted: Aug 30, 2003
  • Stayed: Aug 2003
Thank you, Thank you for sharing with us another year in
"Perrydise" See you next year, same time....same place!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Bayview Cabin
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p285821
207-9444049
Perry Downeast and Acadia
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

  • Submitted: Jun 24, 2003
  • Stayed: Jun 2003
"Our time here was perfect.....restful, beautiful and fun. Thank you
for your wonderful hospitality!"
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Bayview Cabin
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p285821
207-9444049
Perry Downeast and Acadia
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

  • Submitted: Aug 31, 2002
  • Stayed: Aug 2002
"What a glorious week we have had, perfect days, cool nights and
the unique opportunity of simply painting what we see in front of
us. This area is exactly what we'd hoped it would be. As an artist,
it's been a feast. Thanks for having everything so well thought out
and planned. It made living here so comfortable."
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Bayview Cabin
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p285821
207-9444049
Perry Downeast and Acadia
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

  • Submitted: Jul 6, 2002
  • Stayed: Jul 2002
We enjoyed hiking Shackford Head in Eastport and Bold Coast
State Park in Cutler, (dramatic coastline views! ) Went to
Campobello Island. We liked seeing the eagles and loons, being
in the kayaks and the gracious hospitality of Dick and Linda. It has
been a memorable vacation and we look foward to another stay at
Birch Point!
Helpful votes: 1/1