Downtown - Washington DC house rental - Private entrance through gate at side of the house
Private entrance through gate at side of the house
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps6
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay nights
 

Downtown - Washington DC House Rental Photos and Description
2 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 1 Bath (Sleeps 4-6)

Area is long time established neighborhood with single homes, tree covered streets, wonderful long time residents, easy access to public transport, food, medications, groceries, churches nearby. The world is just a ten minute walk away from the front door using the DC Metro Red Line @ Takoma Station. Close to Walter Reed where one can spend an hour or a week just being with folks who enjoy and appreciate having visitors.

Property lends itself so very well to our interests; provides privately accessible accommodations and areas for gardening and pursuing our other hobbies.

It is a home not a house. And a home in Washington DC... what a town!

8 Reviews of Property 285650 in Downtown - Washington DC, Washington DC

2 Bedroom Metro Red Line - Quiet & Cozy
average rating of 4.75 based on 8 reviews
business
2 Bedroom Metro Red Line - Quiet & Cozy
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p285650
+1 503 803-4346
Downtown - Washington DC Washington DC
Ohio
5

great location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 11, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
Loved the neighborhood we were in, people were friendly and helpful. Perfect spot for anyone looking to discover while walking, train station is near by as is the bus.
The unit it self was excellent, loved the kitchen but most of all the washer and dryer :). Perfect.
The unit is clean and comfortable with a place to sit down at night and talk or watch television.
The property has a stunning garden and everything is well look after.

The owners are very knowledgeable and more than willing to help.
We loved our stay in Washington DC and would love to return one day.

Thanks from the South Africans.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
2 Bedroom Metro Red Line - Quiet & Cozy
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p285650
+1 503 803-4346
Downtown - Washington DC Washington DC
Rhode Island
5

Cozy, Queit, and Convenient

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 30, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
We rented this lovely basement apartment for our DC trip during Spring Break. Our family consists of two adults, two teens, and two girls ages 5 and 6. It was a little tight for all of us, but we are use to that when we travel and you cannot beat the price or the location.

We spent all three days visiting the museums and the zoo. It was wonderful to return 'home' to our little apartment and relax. It was a short walk to the Metro station and a short drive to the National Zoo. There is also a schoolyard playground on the walk to the Metro Station.

There is a Middle Eastern neighborhood nearby as well with many restaurants. Helen and Tom, the owners, live on-site, and were wonderful hosts. We had a great trip and enjoyed our stay! We would definitely recommend this property to other people visiting DC.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
2 Bedroom Metro Red Line - Quiet & Cozy
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p285650
+1 503 803-4346
Downtown - Washington DC Washington DC
5

Great Place to Stay While in DC

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 30, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
Rented the apartment for a week and it was perfect for the two of us. Quiet neighborhood. Very comfortable beds. The kitchen came in handy. Within easy walking distance to public transportation - we rented a car only one day to go to Skyline Drive to see the fall colors. Owners were very friendly, accessible, and helpful. Stairs to this basement apartment are a bit steep, so I would not recommend for anyone with mobility issues. I would recommend this to individuals and small families.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
2 Bedroom Metro Red Line - Quiet & Cozy
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p285650
+1 503 803-4346
Downtown - Washington DC Washington DC
Athens, Tennessee
5

Tennessee family of 4....Dad, Mom, 2 teenaged daughters, nephew

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 25, 2011
  • Stayed: Oct 2010
My family visited DC in late October 2010...The accomodations were very nice, comfortable and located in a nice neighborhood, everything a family needs if you want the comforts of home. We came to visit our Marine nephew and to sightsee.We arrived by car and chose to use the parking permit, a very good deal for those who drive. The short walk to the metro on tree lined streets with leaves turning, walking past an elementary school with children laughing and playing are only a few memories we have of our stay. The metro Red line at Takoma is a short trip into the heart of Washinton DC, a very convenient way to travel..and I made several friends on the train during our 5 day stay...Shopping is very close, major grocery chain, drugstore, gas and convenience store..fast food etc...We didn't get to meet Tom on our trip, he was out of town on business but I have to give him a big thumbs up on his beautiful landscaping..Our friend Helene is the most gracious host my family has encountered while vacationing...She helped us out in so many ways and made our visit to DC a great experience! Peace an love to all
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 13/13
business
2 Bedroom Metro Red Line - Quiet & Cozy
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p285650
+1 503 803-4346
Downtown - Washington DC Washington DC
Atlanta, GA
5

Charming House and Wonderful Owners!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 17, 2010
  • Stayed: Apr 2010
Our family visited during spring break and it was a great little place! The owners couldn't be more friendly! We loved the location! We parked our car for the week and walked everywhere or took the metro! It was a charming and clean basement unit with 2 bedrooms and an open kitchen/family room. The unit had plenty of windows and the kitchen was perfect for breakfast and take-out in the evenings! There was no kitchen table but adequate counter space and stools to grab a quick bite. The washer/dryer was an extra plus for us with kids. We loved this location because at the end of a busy day site-seeing it was nice to go back to a place that felt like home!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 11/11
business
2 Bedroom Metro Red Line - Quiet & Cozy
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p285650
+1 503 803-4346
Downtown - Washington DC Washington DC
Cape Town South Africa
5

Unmatched hospitality

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 29, 2010
  • Stayed: Sep 2009
Tom and Helene's place was our first stop of a 10 month stay in Washington from Cape Town on a research fellowship. Not only did they collect us from the airport and provided us with the warmest possible welcome, but they stayed dear friends. Without them our stay in Washington would have been much poorer. The amenities were absolutely fine. For quality hospitality it would be difficult to find better.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 6/6
business
2 Bedroom Metro Red Line - Quiet & Cozy
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p285650
+1 503 803-4346
Downtown - Washington DC Washington DC
Florida
5

Great experience!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 28, 2010
  • Stayed: Jul 2009
My family and I were the very first guests at Elder Street guesthouse. It was a wonderful experience. The owner treated us like family and took good care of us. My kids have very fond memories of their stay there. If we go back to D.C. for vacation, we will stay there again. Thank you so much for being wonderful hosts.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 8/8
business
2 Bedroom Metro Red Line - Quiet & Cozy
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p285650
+1 503 803-4346
Downtown - Washington DC Washington DC
California
3

Centrally located basement unit

  • 3 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 23, 2010
  • Stayed: Aug 2010
The owners were lovely and the garden was beautiful. However, it was a basement unit and the ceilings were too low for my 6' 4" husband. Also, it felt cramped for two adults and two teenagers, with nowhere for all four of us to share a meal. The free Wi-Fi was bonus.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car
Owner's Response: We appreciate your comments.

In DC these areas are known as English Basements (i.e. lower level units with own private entrance and outside windows.

Ceiling Heights: What to say? Have had many taller and many shorter guests. Sorry it was a problem for your particular family.

Eating Space: Most folks enjoy sitting around and relaxing after busy day in town in the quiet coziness of their own private space. They use wifi and cable services. How many DC area hotels have kitchens, dining rooms @ affordable rent? Guess it's a choice on has to make.

Hope we did not have a part in creating your false expectations that were not met.

Can we give you another chance? Thanks for your review
Helpful votes: 17/21